The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

daisygal

i heard that an outdoor banquet can only be done for 70-80 pax...wedding coordinator didn't sound too nice, hope she's better in real life!

violac

an outdoor banquet? will it be rather warm?

my Holy Matrimony will be in the lawn, and the maximum no. of chairs is 100. i suppose some of my guests will have to stand... something i'm not too keen on, but i guess that'll just make it more relaxed for them to walk around a bit, especially those with babies.

the wedding cooridinator didn't sound very enthusiastic about clinching our sales (i don't know if we're talking about the same one). that's why i kinda got worried and posted the question above on whether she will actually call me up before time to follow up with regards to food-tasting and such, or will I have to call her. I actually expect to be called up and I think that's a reasonable expectation from a 5-star resort. But so far I have heard only compliments, so I'm not too fussed as long the co-ordinator gets the basics done.

you gotta admit, there are no other hotels in singapore that offer the facilities that The Sentosa has. Maybe that's why they have the upper hand in negotiation ;)

daisygal

had a look at The Sentosa, it's beautiful. My fiance and I are ALMOST sold! We are abit tentative about the wedding coordinator tho, she doesn't sound very warm... are all wedding coordinators like that?

Also wondering if they have food tasting for buffet menus too?

touraco

hi daisygal
the other time the coordinator told me that if you want the buffet, they will ask u to come and have their normal buffet spread in the hotel as food tasting.

daisygal

Hi Touraco, thanks!

The buffet at the Cliffs? Are you gonna hold your wedding at The Sentosa too?

queen

Just pop by...

Touraco,
you are still active here!
Time flies, my baby is already 10.5 months old. The thread has gone really quiet.

BTBs,
I got married at Beaufort in March last year.
Love the place. Then the package wasn't so expensive, prices range from $688+++ to $888+++.
But I think now it's at least $100+++ higher right? Had the conventional solemnization at the lawn and then Chinese sit-down dinner at the Grand Salon. The ballroom is simple, but once the curtains are drawn up, it has a really resort romantic feel to it.
I pretty much DIY, had my own florist and bought my own wedding favours. Had my own wedding cake too.

Here's a link to some of the pictures taken for my wedding:
http://www.kodakgallery.com/Slideshow.jsp?Uc=13wax8x5.3lv4gyal&Uy=t6t4fv&Upost_signin=Slideshow.jsp%3Fmode%3Dfromshare&Ux=0&mode=fromshare&conn_speed=1

violac

great queen, thanks for sharing!! you and i have similar tastes!! from the "no-champagne fountain" to the pine gardens wedding cake!!

by the way, how did you do your toasting? 'cos i definitely don't want the yam-sengs (that's why we requested to take away the fountain). i'm thinking probably get my fiance's best friend to make a speech.

daisygal, have you made up your mind for your banquet yet?

miu66

daisygal

i had my wedding there in jan last year, with a buffet spread. they don't give you a food tasting, in the conventional sense, instead they let us have a voucher for the buffet dinner at The Terrace for 6-8 ppl (can't rem how many friends we brought).

stickymouse

like queen, i had my solemnisation at the ginger terrace, got my own florist, made my own invites and my aunt lovingly made our wedding cake. i also got additional giant candles to line the aisle.

i think i posted previously, i have absolutely no regrets abt having my wedding there, in fact, i'd do it again if i had to. most importantly, my husband and i enjoyed ourselves and it was a nice relaxed evening. we took the villa for the night as well, and had a small after-party for our friends. no complaints at all. the wedding coordinator last time (sun sun, who has since left) was very accomodating, i hope the new one is just as helpful.

daisygal

hiyo
yea we want to go for it but the wedding coordinator is on leave so gotta wait for her to come back to confirm everything. Quite excited abt the place, it's beautiful but my mom is not very happy about the decision about 1) the buffet and 2) the location.

Will bring her there to convince her, lucky she only voices her opinions but usually let me do what i want.

Yea... i'm probably doing away with the yumseng, champagne fountains, fake cake and the march-in because well, im part of a very casual couple (i keep saying that..haha). So hopefully my mom can take it. keke. seems like BTBs going for beaufort has quite the same tastes!

Queen, your gown is lovely, where did you get it done?

queen

stickymouse,
Yah, I did away the champagne fountain cos it feels so cliche to me, does not have much significance to me leh...
I did "Cheers" instead of yumseng.
I opted for a small stage placed at the corner of the ballroom so it's not possible to have a yum seng gang up onstage. So we did "cheers".
But when I make the rounds at the tables, my colleagues not' happy' they started an impromptu yum seng anyway!

daisygal,
I bought my gown from Allure Charix for $699. Actually trying to sell it off, but no takers yet.
Like I mentioned before, my entire wedding is pretty much DIY. Bought my gown from Allure, HB got his suit made in BKK, got our cards from BKK, bought Thai silk from BKK for my jie meis' dresses (my mom tailor make for them
)own cake, own florist, took our pictures in Melbourne (sourced for a Melbourne photographer), got a close friend to be AD photographer...

violac

hi miu66! your feedback is certainly assuring. i hope we'll really enjoy ourselves too. our idea is not to be too stressed out over nitty gritty details and aim to be the princess-bride, but just to celebrate our love and union with our closed ones. i'm quite sure the venue can provide that cosiness.

by the way, it appears that most people top up for florists to decorate the place. is their floral decor so jia lat?? i'm not really keen on spending in that area though..

daisygal my elder sister married at M hotel and my parents were fine with it. when i told them about The Sentosa, they were like "so far away!!" i replied that it's barely 10 mins from M Hotel. Think Singaporeans still have the old mentality that Sentosa is very 'ulu' and far just because it's another island. if i'm not wrong, the light rail track has already operating from Vivocity?

violac

hahah yah queen and daisygal, i'm doing away with things such as first dish march-in... champagne fountain and fake cake. our plan is to march in officially as Mr and Mrs at the beginning of the banquet ('cos we will not march out of the lawn after Holy Matrimony, instead stay to mingle) but no second march-in for us lah..

i'm keeping the option of bringing in instruments to be placed on the stage.. 'cos i have a lot of friends who play music (and i intend to play for my fiance as well)... so our stage probably will have to be big enough...

daisygal

stickymouse: thinking of "live" music too but the kind of music i like vs the kind of music my friends play v different, so gotta work out details.haha!

queen..what's your size ar? :p also, who's your photographer contact in melbourne and how much did it cost? did my studies in melbourne and loved the place v much..considering doing something overseas and attend friend's graduation at the same time. queen...maybe u can PM me or something?

met an old church friend today who held her wedding at The Sentosa last year and she got her corkage waived completely with the previous coordinator. But it really doesn't seem possible now...sigh..

touraco

hi queen
wow...10.5mths old liao... must be very fun to play with now.

daisygal
like what miu66 says, they will give u voucher to take their buffet dinner at the terrace

for my wedding, i manage to get my corkage waived and brought in my own wine. heehee. my coordinator is sun sun and she had left the place already

my holy matrimony was held at the ginger terrace and followed by my dinner at the grand salon.

i top up some money to the appointed florist for flowers for the flowergirl, a floral tiara for the flower girl, 2 bouquets for mum and MIL, 1 bouquet for my maid of honor,flowers on the ginger terrace, flowers and ribbons along the stairs to ginger terrace as well as flowers on the stairs leading to entrance of grand salon reception area.

i even manage to ask sun sun to give me tealights on each table as well as the stairs

i had my cake from pine garden as well. i had 2 strollers to march in with my first dish and had papers on each table for dedication of songs. the strollers will also go to each table and perform.

my hubby made his suits in BKK as well, got our wedding favors from BKK, made our cards locally.

we went changed the banquet dinner menu to our liking.

it was really memorable.

daisygal

Hi Touraco, did you pay for the ginger terrace? I really feel it's very not worth it to pay $1500 for 1 hr use of the terrace...

Anyone used their in-house wine? How are they?

i_c_e

hi racherlle, being there once, i know of their inflexibility. and coz there's a management change, perhaps the new person taking over sunsun is under the tight control given by management (who is known to be rigid).

haha..loads of comments, but not convenient to shoot here. *wink*

fudi

Hi there!

my Fh & I are really interested to hold our weddin at beaufort but the price for the BBQ buffet dinner is really steep. does any1 knw if they allow us to customise the menu & reduce the price?

I was informed that i need to pay $1500 for the lawn as well.. we have abt 120 guests & was told that we can only use the ballroom. no idea if it is inconvenient for the guest to move from the lawn up to the ballroom. does any1 have any photo of the ballroom to share?

We have yet to see the place or meet up with Kendy yet. we were told that there will be a small reception at the lawn b4 dinner in the ballroom. so far i have not seen any1 mentioned that in this thread. Any1 has any experience to share?

Rings, we are also in Feb 07. wats your date? =>

We have so much to do.. but venue not confirm yet, its rather difficult to start..

Thx!!

kanchi

Hi, Fudi:
Mine is Feb. 10, just confirmed last week.
My is fairly small, should be 70 persons. Thus, my venue is Ginger Room with outdoor grassland (the grassland is free).

Which lawn? The ballroon is level 2. Do you mean the lawn is at the level 1?

The max capcity of the Ginger room is around 70 pax, thus you need to use ballroom (yours is 120 pax). But I don't know whether you need to pay extra charge for the grassland outside the Ginger room.

I suggest to view the venue firstly, thus you could know the location of the "lawn" at least.

contact me at [email protected]. hope to discuss u more.

daisygal

Hi I heard that parking is a major headache at The Sentosa and guests are usually left pissed and angry because of that.

Anyone has any experiences to share?

cactus_79

I dun know about The Sentosa.. but it is a big headache at Rasa Sentosa... some guests left halfway at my friend's wedding last month.

lovely_33

Hi daisygal, no worries regarding parking at Beaufort. Besides Beaufort's carpark, your guest can also park at Sentosa Country Club and there is another carpark beside it. My guests were quite impressed with the availability. I would say much better than Rasa Sentosa.

So no worries. Besides Beaufort is smaller in function rooms scale comparing to Rasa.

violac

to the ladies who have had their wedding... how much did you all top up for flowers? reckon my $500 budget is sufficient?

queen

Hello mummies...
I was a Beaufort bride early last year.
No regrets having my wedding there.
Then my coordinator was Sun Sun and she's quite accommodation.

I_C_E,
did you have your wedding banquet there?
No housefiles experience for me.

stickymouse,
I didn't use Beaufort's florist... engaged a freelance florist to do the setup for me.

queen

daisygal,
I'm a size S.
Oh dear....missed out your questions on my Melbourne photoshoot. Busy with my 1 year old boy.
I think it cost me about AUD1300+ (can't remember liao) for the photoshoot which includes makeup, hairdo, flowers, limousine, and album. I actually surfed the net for Melbourne photographers and saw this lady photographer. Got my sis who's studying in Melbourne to meet her and visit her studio. And negotiations with her were done through emails... her website is www.wildberry.com.au , Had a fantastic time doing the photoshoot in Melbourne. Weather was superb, people there are so warm and friendly. When they see us in wedding gown and suit, they'll shout 'Congratulations' across the street!

i_c_e

hi queenie.mi will never hodl my wedding there coz i was a staff there b4. haha....but Sunsun is realli nice..I know her personally too.

raine978

Hi gers,
I am in the midst of confirming my banquet with Beaufort. May i know any chance to get additional perks from them?

flabby

BTB and I eyeing The Sentosa. And one of the regular questions fielded by friends/family is , "IR building how lei?".

The SOP answer is "no no, won't affect other side of island." Wondering if anyone has other info on this?

zksl

I'm going to be Beaufort bride this Dec! Going to sign my contract soon...
Found some very good advise in this forum also

can anyone share your Beaufort wedding pics with me pls? [email protected] thanks a million...

zksl

Hi Charlyn,
Congrats to u 2!! i signed up wif Kendy....didn't manage to get much perks from her though......which ballroom did u book? Did u manage to get any additional perks from her as well?

raine978

Hi zksl,
Thanks... I sign up with Kendy too.
She very firm in not giving perks to me too... i reckon thats their policy bah.
I book the Grand Ballroom.. how abt urs?
When is your AD?

sailor_p

Hi Charlyn

Same here. I signed with Kendy - quite hard to get perks from her. Seems like she's the only wedding planner around. I booked the grandballroom too. When is your AD? Mine is in Dec 07. Is yours the $868+++ package?

ahbao114jp

I'm keen on The Sentosa too. My AD in March 08. Any idea if their 2008 package is out?

Those who've had their wedding there on a Sunday, how was the transport & crowd like? I'm concerned that if there're 3 weddings, then parking problem. Guests will be crowding the area too.

I've checked out the map of Sentosa & area where IR will be. It's on the same side of the island as the hotel but a distance away. So I think not affected. Pls correct me if i'm wrong. Thanks!

zksl

Hi Charlyn,

I booked the Grand Salon. My AD is in end Dec 07. Are you having solemnization in Beaufort as well? Did you manage to get any free cockage from them? Think they used to give.

kanchi

to share my pictures in Ginger room
it was very nice event. We took a real cake from four-leaves, delicious. Recommend this place, if u like an "outdoor" theme.
457300.jpg

457301.jpg

457302.jpg

457303.jpg

457304.jpg

457305.jpg

457306.jpg

457307.jpg

kanchi

To sailor_p: The photographer is my friend, who is not professional, but likes photography.

The following are from our own DC. Just for your information on how the venue looks like. quite nice, heihei

We asked for extra flower decoration on the staircase and scattering on the grassland. The package only includes: 01 center piece per table, 01 piece on reception table, 02 standing.

457445.jpg
457446.jpg

457447.jpg
457448.jpg

457449.jpg
457450.jpg

457451.jpg
457452.jpg

sailor_p

Hi rings

thanks a lot for sharing. did you go to the beaufort's official florist? I heard we need to go to this florist in harbourfront to choose the flowers.

kanchi

hi, sailor:
yes, the official florist. (harbor front or marina square)

You need to choose the color/flower, also u can ask for more whatever you like.

Note that you need to make appointment with them in advance. We once walked in at the first time, but they said they were too busy to talk to us. so we had to go for second round.

The service and flower quality of this florist is good, although the price is a bit expensive. we took 2 table center piece back home. now 5 days passed, the roses are still alive :p

sailor_p

Hi Rings

Thks for your advice. How was your experience with Beaufort so far? I am having my dinner at the ballroom. Is Kendy your wedding planner for your big day?