The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

gngoh

hi tanya

i just had my wedding in June at the resort. Was great! How can I help? I highly recommend the bbq buffet. The food was even better than what I had at the trial session. Highly recommended!

nihonjin

Hi gngoh, I am interested in the Beaufort wedding too cos I like the tranquil and cosy atmosphere over at the resort. How was the buffet? Which package did u choose, is it the most expensive one?

Did you enjoy your stay at the deluxe suite?

gngoh

Hi nihonjin

Yes we took the most expensive package. But we may quite a number of changes to the menu and the food was really good. i was kicking myself for not eating more!The hotel is really flexible. I had some muslim friends who didn't want the buffet so they allowed me to bring in my own food with no additional charge. They also allowed me to order a separate kids' menu which was way cheaper than the buffet. I was pretty lucky I guess coz they even let me use the ginger terrace for solemnisation for free. But only becoz no one booked it that day.
The deluxe suite was really nice. It has an adjoining living area. Some of my helpers bunked over becoz they were too drunk after the wedding! And there was plenty of space for everyone if they didn't mind sleeping on the floor with cushions.

jazzybabe

I'm wondering if anyone has had their solemnisation at the villa?
Do u know if they r very strict abt the no. of pple staying over?

nihonjin

hi gngoh, thanks for your reply.

seems like u had a really good deal for your wedding. u are so lucky to have gotten the ginger terrace for free! i am keeping my fingers crossed that i would get it FOC too ;) by the way, when did you host your wedding? was it a weekday? how many guests did u invite?

when i was there for the wedding show, i actually asked the wedding co-ordinator if food-tasting was allowed prior to the actual event, but i got a negative answer... did u manage to sample the food before the wedding?

i was a bit worried when i read some comments that the management was inflexible and the huge hidden costs incurred during the wedding preparation... now i feel more reassured after reading your compliments about the resort. i am pretty sure that beaufort is the place for me and my FH

gngoh

hi nihonjin
My wedding was on a weekend and we had about 250 guests. The hotel doesn't do food sampling like other hotels but they gave us a free buffet dinner for 6. You can sample the quality and see if there's anything you like in particular and you can request for that.

I made quite a number of changes to my menu. If your budget permits, I would advice going for the bbq seafood menu. For $10 per head, the difference in food quality and variety is amazing. Everyone ate so much fresh prawns, yabbies, fresh oysters and grilled crayfish!

wannabebride

If I'm not wrong, the hotel does provide a six- course dinner for 6 pax for the food-tasting but that is only for those who are taking the chinese dinner. No food-tasting is provided for those who are going for the Buffet Dinner.

gnny

harlo
i'm new year. considering using beaufort for church wedding cum dinner in dec too! but havent negogiate the package yet. can anyone tell me if you are using the ballroom at the ground level? the one that has full glass window?

i read that the rental of the garden, is $800. yesterday i called up but the person, i think is lena told me its extra $1k if i am not using the small function room beside the garden. cos it might be too small to squeeze in my relatives and fwends.

for brides who have already had their wedding at the garden or ballroom.. do you have photos or exp to share?

thks for answering my strings of questions... =P

marrying

Hey i had a fren who loved the venue but the service from the catering staff wasn't up to standard at all! Not accomodating, anything that my fren asked the reply will be $$$$$! At least the catering staff should checked before saying yes or no or $$$$$! Think the staff probably had too much business and just wanted to stop guests from going there so that she can have less work?!

gnny

marrying..
that's bad! so, ur fwend dropped beaufort and looked for other places? personally, i have not been there to talk to the staff yet, only over the phone and got them to email me the proposal.
thks for your feedback!

soap

Can I hear past experience from Beaufort couples?
I am thinking of holding my dinner there for abt 12-15 tables.

gnny

hi soap
i hv not had my wedding there yet, will be doing it in jan next year. however, with 12-15 tables, you can only consider the Ballroom. (min-10, max-16)if you are hving a solemnisation and you wish to have a "garden" kind, you can consider the ginger garden. but its really a small piece of grass patch only..
i am also hoping that other ppl can share their experiences too.

03bride

I had my wedding there in the Grand Salon (the bigger ballroom). I also held my solemnization at the Ginger Terrace (the lawn next to the Ginger Room). They quoted me $800 for the use of the green lawn, it should not be $1000.

We had a beautiful wedding and are really happy about the location itself. I had a Chinese dinner and despite my initial reservations, was pleasantly surprised that the food was good. We had free food tasting but had to change a few dishes so as to balance the types of food served (meat, seafood, veg). The service staff for our wedding dinner were also very professional.

I agree that the coordinator and her manager were very inflexible compared to other hotels about giving free stuff or changing items (other than food). But my experience with them is that you have to be very firm and negotiate hard. They did allow me to change some items and give me lower corkages nearer the wedding day as I was unhappy about some items.

Soap: for 12-15 tables, the smaller ballroom will be sufficient. You can also opt to open up the two function rooms at the ginger terrace. I've seen pictures for a buffet dinner where the buffet table is set on the outside lawn with seatings in the rooms. You have to ask them if the two rooms can fit the number of tables that you are looking for. I'm not sure about that. But the ginger terrace is really beautiful and tranquil.

gnny

hi SH Tan
i'm so glad that you respond. i was waiting for veri long.. hehe
O, the wedding coordinator is veri inflexible, i should say.. *sigh*
i will also be using grandsalon. planned to have long banquet tables. and having church wedding at the grand salon terrace. is the decor nice? tried asking san san to show me photos of past weddings but she said that they dun have.. so, do you mind sharing your photos if you have it online?

thks!!!!

jaycee

Greetings! I'm also considering Beaufort for my wedding next May. Think the place is gorgeous! Some of my friends are complaining why I don't choose a place on 'mainland' though : P

Has anyone tried the Chinese sit down menu? Not sure how the food is, heard some bad comments abt it....

Want to have my soleminization ceremony at 6pm but not sure whether at the lawn or terrace (balcony outside Grand Salon). Any advice?

gnny

hello juliana
i will be u sing the terrace outside grand salon as well, for church wedding. the max no of chairs you can place there is 120. usually the rental of the grandsalon and the terrace starts at 6.30pm. cos if they hv prior booking for afternoon event, it will end at 5pm.

soap

Hi SH Tan,

Thanks for yr feedback.

I have attended a colleague's wedding last Jun at Grand Salon (the bigger ballroom). It is indeed very nice & romantic (pics capturing a nice clear blue sky... to a baby blue sky and ending a black sky, wow, so nice). When I asked her what are the problems that she faced, she didnt comment alot.

For cockage (red wine) per table, it is only entitled to 1 bottle and they dun accept duty free liquior, unless u/relatives serve on yr own

gnny

harlo soap
i see.. thats nice to hear. i will be using the same room as well. hope my pic also will have the different shades of blue. hehe
so have u met up with san san from beaufort?

soap

Helo Gnny,

I have not met san san yet, will arrange an appt with in her early Nov.

I am still thinking of whether to hold a dinner or not? Now having headache

jaycee

Hi Gnny & Soap,

Great to hear there are more potential Beaufort brides!! : ) I've met Sansan before, nice lady. But I get a feeling they are quite inflexible, everything must charge!! But like the place, so still considering it...

Gnny, I'm thinking of doing the same as you... church service at the terrace, then dinner in the Grand Salon.. 1 question, are you concerned that if we start at 6.30pm, and ends at 7.30pm (usual service is abt 1 hr), it would have turned completely dark by then? I was actually hoping to start earlier at 5.30 or 6.00 so that when it ends at 7, I'd still have 30 min of dusk light to take some outdoor pics... what do u think?

Also, do u think the terrace is too cramped? I was told that the terrace can take 100 guests max. My BF n I are scratching our heads how to cut down our 200+ guest list!!

sigh... stress... : P

gnny

hi juliana
WE HAVE the same prob as you.

1)wanted an earlier matrimony.. but earliest earliest is 6pm! by the time we end, not much time to minger around, gotta proceed to dinner straigt.. thats wat we dun want.. those formal, conventional kind of wedding u know.
are u thinking of having a stage in the terrace?

2)then another prob, max chairs they can squeeze is 120 at the terrace! but my members and fwends can stand around, somehow i think got more atmosphere that way.. seems more packed. haha
how big is your guest list?

3)inflexible... did you mangaged to see any photos of other weddings being held there? i want to know how it really looks like but seems that not much of help from beaufort.

4)the lobby area is veri warm when we visited it the previous time. is it always that way?

soap
how's ur meeting with sun sun?

jaycee

Eh, we were told tt it's 6.30pm earliest, and if the Grand salon is not booked that day, then maybe 6pm but can only confirm 2-3 weeks before... which would be too late cos the wedding invites would be sent out already...cannot possibly put on invite
"will start at 6 or 6.30pm depending on whether the function room is booked'....

Thought of having a stage too so tt the guests can see but the terrace is already so small, may seem even more squeezed. But perhaps with a small 100-120 sitting arrangement, a stage wouldn't be needed...more cosy and intimate that way...

My dinner guest list is abt 200+. How big is yours? Another option is to rent the lawn which can hold 140-150 pple, but have to pay $1000 (from 6.30pm onwards), $1500 (if before 6.30pm), heart pain and what if it rains!!???!!!

I saw some Beaufort wedding pics in the latest Females Brides mag. You can check out the Female Brides website, there's an article on a wedding held at Beaufort lawn and Grand salon...beautiful, i was so inspired after that! : )

Ya, the lobby was very hot when I went down too, probably not air conditioned...

Whens your wedding? I'm hoping to do mine next May...

gnny

juliana
haha.. cant possibly put that in. heheee..
think thats wat she told me too.. to be advised nearer
the date of wedding.
you mean the lawn at the basement. which is the ginger terrace?
its EXPENSIVE to book a small piece of land for $1000 !!!!
come to think of it, maybe i also wont hv a stage.

thks! i read the mag too. but cant really see
veri much from there. hey, if you happens to take comfort cab with mobile
tv, you can select "lifestyle" and you will see something call "wedding planning"
the first one is on beaufort.. you will be able to see the layout of the
grandsalon terrace, the decor of the hall.. veri nice!
but dun know if the couple did extra decor.. thats why so nice.. mmhh

my guest list ... 250pax but after RSVP... should be 220. actual turn up
might be 200. MIN number in grand salon is 200 mah..
was actually looking for dec 03 but fully booked, so can only go for early jan..
so disappointing.

actually, we are also looking at sheraton towers (dining area beside the
waterfall) can only accomodate 150 pax. but i think they have the date
that we want.. so yet to decide. =)

soap.. how abt you?

jaycee

Hey I just went for lunch buffet at Sheraton Towers, the waterfall is very very nice! The only concern is it's at the lobby so quite public leh...can they corner off the place?

Eh, seems like this thread only the 2 of us.. soap soap u there? : P

gnny

isit? hehe.. its a pretty nice place huh? at the far end of the lobby. hows the good like? i think there are two restaurants there right? which one did you go to?
dunno leh. my husband asking them lor, dun if they got back to him oreadi? hehe..

soap soap.. ya, where are u? *sob sob*

pianokey

Hi Juliana, gnny:
We're planning to use all the 3 ballrooms, the 2 bigger ones upstairs and the smallest one next to the lawn. We are expecting 400 over guests(sigh, many relatives). I hope they'll give the lawn to us for free, can't imagine them giving that piece of grass to someone else when we've practically booked the place down.

Kind of apprehensive cos like what everyone said, they don't allow this and that. I suppose everything is possible if we paid extra. It just feels terrible when they are so stingy over everything. Instead of trying to sound interested in helping us put together a nice wedding, they seem like punching the calculator at every little request we make.
What to do, when I really really like the place. There isn't anywhere else tranquil and can hold that number of guests.

How gnny and juliana? You both confirm with Beaufort already? =)

gnny

hi pianokey
wow you have lots of guests!!! which means.. your guests will be seated seperately? then you have to walk up and down? i think i rem that if you book the ginger room (the room next to the lawn), then the lawn will come FOC. which also means that no one else will be able to book it.

have you tried other places that can accomodate your number of guests? i am sure there are many hotels that can... provided you stil have time ahead to make reservation. (not like me. hehe) moreoever beaufort is not that cheap also.. wat abt rasa sentosa, heard from fwends its veri nice as well.

havent confirm confirm taking beaufort, now i have to choose between sheraton towers and beaufort. for sheraton towers.. will be taking the dining area beside the waterfall.. but can only sit 150 pax.. and cannot have a proper church ceremony. but still waiting for the wedding planner from Sheraton to call us back.

panzz

Just got married at Beaufort. My wedding was really beautiful. For those considering having their solemnization at beaufort, perhaps you might want to consider having it in their villa. I had mine in a villa, it was really dreamy and romantic. Sun Sun, Michael, Desmond, if you are following this thread of discussion, a Big thank you to all of you for making my wedding such a success!

jaycee

Think will be confirming with Beaufort. We thought of other venues but in the end still feel tt in terms of ambience and uniqueness, Beaufort is the best! Will be taking the terrace even though I prefer the lawn becos very 'heart pain' to pay $1000+ for a plot of land for 1 hr...as my BF says, u can't bring tt pc of land home anyway so why not spend the $ on something else like honeymoon or house...sigh, men are so practical!! : P

Pianokey, wow, u hv lots of guests!! Ya, the lawn shld come FOC if u book the Ginger room. When's yr wedding date?

Panzz, congrats on getting married!! Glad to hear your wedding was beautiful! Any pics of your wedding day to share if u dun mind? BTW how much did u pay to have the soleminization in the villa? How many pple did u invite? We did think of that but wondering how many pple the villa can take....

gnny

hi panzz
Am happy that you had a great and beautiful wedding!
can i check with you, where is the villa? and is it FOC? like juliana, would like to view ur photo if you have any.. hehe

juliana
you veri busy durin weekends ah? ya, we also think it is not worth to pay $1k for a piece of small lawn.. its also not sheltered leh.

panzz

Villa isn't FOC
But looking at all your comments, I would rather spend some money to get the villa than the lawn. Beaufort's package comes with one night stay at the deluxe suite and by topping up with 800++, you get to stay in the villa instead. It's huge and you will love it. I'm not sure whether the amount i quoted is still applicable, you will have to check with the hotel wedding planner/manager.

The villa probably can take like 20+ or even more people, just that some people need to stay in the living room while the rest move out to the poolside.

Just got my actual day photos but they are kinda huge in size cos the photographer took them in high resolution so that they will turn out clear if we develop it in bigger dimensions. Perhaps you gals can email me separately and I see whether I can share with you some of my photos.

jaycee

Hah hah... we were actually thinking of squeezing 100+ pple into the Villa, dun think Beaufort will be too happy abt it... : P

Gnny, I usually logged on during weekdays cos my home internet speed is very slooowww...

Panzz, just checked your profile. Ur bridal boutique is Le Galleria!!!! That's one of my shortlisted BS even though I haven't got time to go down yet. I really like their gowns in mags but when I walked past it the other day, the place seemed so dusty I didn't want to walk in...

Can u email ur pics to me at [email protected]? Thanks!! Would love to look at your pics!!

gnny

harlo juliana
you havent decide on your bridal boutique yet? =) i am with divine! and their gowns are soo... divine. haha

panzz, thks for offering your photos. [email protected] O, thats the villa.. think i cant liao. cos i am having a church wedding with 200 guests!!

pianokey

Hi Gnny,
Not many places as nice as Beaufort. Alkaff is closed right? Don't really like the idea of having it at Fort Canning. Having it at Rasa Sentosa is like having in just another ballroom. Aiyah, Beaufort just very nice lor, I'm sure you know what I mean. But where else would you suggest? Chijmes is too small.
So, yes, will have to run 3 places. Have to convince the old folkies that it's ok to separate the guests. We'll have a walk in at the terrace, somehow, before all the guests are invited into the rooms for dinner.

Julianna: Ya, big family. And our friends exist in big collective groups. Invite 1 must invite all. We have 3 dates in mind, after checking with Beaufort, only Oct 04 is left for us.

About the lawn, wedding only once, spare no expense! =) sigh.

Panzz: Glad to hear yours went wonderfully! May I see also? [email protected] Thanks!

panzz

Alright. Mine seems like a small event compared to you gals
anyway, no prob. Sending photos over but I probably send one at a time cos they are really kinda big. My husband is currently designing our website so when it is up, I will share with you all the photos.

Legalleria is also cool. My studio photographer as well as our videographer, photo montage designers are all fabulous. But I shall not bore the rest in this thread of discussion on my wooos and ahhhs. Shall say more in my emails.

gnny

harlo pianokey
its sad that alkaff is closed. we booked it before it ceased operation, though they said wil continue with events in 2003. but we are not veri sure and secure with the idea.. therefore withdraw. Sigh.. there is no place like alkaff, i really love it. after seeing the place, the rest of the places that i visit is nothing compared to it. so, have to make do lor. =(

O, will u be placing some guests in the lawn (outdoor area) as well? that would be something informal and *light*.. juz something that me and my huby would like to have.

wa, beaufort is booked so far ahead? i guess we must be quite blessed to have a jan date though we checked out rather late..

gnny

hi panzz, so yours is more of a quiet cozy affair? i like that idea too.. but too many relatives. and like wat "who said" .. cant find the name when i scroll up, end of day, mind not working well. haha "invite this, also cannot leave out that person" kind of situation lor.
so you had your dinner at the grand salon or the ballroom?
did any one of "swop" the anniversary night earlier to the 2nd nite of wedding banquet?

panzz

If you had your solemnization at ROM, I think at most also about 20 people? I don't see the need of having everyone at the solemnization. Both our parents, elders, brothers, sisters and their families are the only people who are really important to us. As long as they are there, I didn't really bother about the rest.
They simply hung around in the two bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, the living room, the tiny little pantry etc...Some of my best friends were at the grand salon helping me decorate the place. So there you go.. as long as you want it to be small, it can be done.

Yap, my dinner was at grand salon. And I had my anniversary night brought forward to allow me to stay the second night at beaufort. Thought it made more sense cos you will be so beat the first night and won't be able to relax. You will truly enjoy and relax the next day

gnny

hi panzz
thks for your email, i replied you as well.
O, i had solemnization at ROM oreadi and will be having a church wedding at beaufort. so cant use villa i guess.
so other than the florist that was provided by beaufort, you did additional decor isit? i didnt get to see any photos done by the florist, so, duno if it will be sufficient...

pianokey

Hi panzz,
Thanks for the email!
I want to get married now. =)
Topping up 800 for the villa, is that for both nights?

Gnny: No guests will be sitting on the lawn, using the tiny room next to it. We have about 3 dates in mind for next year, the first 2, one room is booked, so can't have the whole place.
Also thinking about whether we need more flowers.
We've also ROMmed already.

panzz

Yap, all these excitement makes me want to get married one more time.. haha.. but of course to the same person.

Nope. 800 is not for both nights. I would certainly wished that was the case!! As for beaufort's florist... ar... No comments ;) And gnny, yes, I did a tiny little bit of additional decor. Got my girl friends to help me out to lay the ground with rose petals and put candles on the stairway. Had wanted to tie some ribbons but I kinda screwed it up by buying the wrong type of ribbons. But never mind, the place was still beautiful without ribbons.

gnny

panzz
no comments ah.. mhh that sounds a bit "scary" haha. yeah, you can have a first year anniversary at another hotel again next year! ;)
which means, i might also need my fwend's help to doll up the place.

jaycee

Thanks Panzz! I saw your pics, the villa looks nice!

I went to a wedding at Beaufort n saw the flower decor... er, not my style. But I think u hv a choice of flowers and to a certain extent can ask the florist to do the style tt u like?

I'm thinking of moving the anniversary stay to the 2nd nite stay as well, more time to enjoy the place....

I'm getting my BF's friend to do the additional decor. He's actually a full-timer and he did the bouquet tt my BF proposed to me to, so it's actually quite meaningful to get him to do the wedding as well. I'm just telling myself not to get too excited and spend a bomb on flowers! : P

panzz

ya.. to a certain extent you can tell the florist to do the style you like but I think you should really have a good idea of what you want before you meet with them.

Flowers are never cheap if you engage others to do it...

jaycee

Oh oh...I have no idea when it comes to flower arrangement! I better 'talek' on the flowers, otherwise will go broke... : P

gnny

hi panzz
did you go to the florist to take a look at their pictures before you decide what they want? do they only have a few fixed theme for you to choose from? i hope wont spend too much on decor too..

juliana
me thinking of shifting the anniversary to the 2nd night too. since the first night will be dog tired after a whole day event and sure sleep until noon time... if got to rush to check out of the hotel, veri xianz.. hehe

panzz

Gnny, yap, i went down to take a look at the pictures. There will be some standard stuff like the number of centerpiece flower arrangements (based on the number of tables you have), one for the recep table, 4 or 6 flower stands depending on the number of tables you have. As for the flowers and color theme... you choose from the pictures. Frankly speaking, I didnt' quite like what I saw and had to dictate some of the flowers used, the color combination etc.

If scattering petals is something you are looking at... try asking some florists on whether they can help you get those fully bloomed roses from their suppliers. They usually discard it so you can pay a minimum sum to get it from them.

pianokey

Hi pple.
most places only provide the standard 4-6 flower stands and centrepieces, which is kind of sad. It's definitely a great idea to get girl friends to help with extra decor, I'm sure they won't mind helping, have loads of fun and do a great job!

gnny

o i see, so maybe the video clip that i saw in the tv mobile was extra decor that the couple did themself. its real nice! =)

panzz
you have any idea the name of the florist? its at the WTO right?

panzz

There was a clip in tv mobile? I do know that there was this couple who lined the stairway with red rose petals, decorated the pillars, tied flowers and ribbons to the railings outside grand salon, decorated their villa etc. and spent like a few K just on that. It was really beautiful but also very very expensive.

Gnny, yap, the florist is at WTO... Audrey's...that's the name of the shop.