The Pines

oolivia

Planning to sign up with The Pines for my Wedding banquet, but not sure hows their food taste and overall comments...

Any brides hold ur wedding over there can advice? Those who attended wedding at The Pines can help by give us your comments? Thanks in advance!

lilieswhite

hi olivia,

i jus attended a wedding @ The Pines yest.

Overall ballroom is square shape, v cosy & small.

Food wise, average, servings quite big.

Ambience wise, average, felt that the staff do not know how to control the lightings.

Overall verdict: Average.

Btw, what is price per table?

oolivia

HI Lilieswhite,

Thanks for reply.
They had a few range of prices.. 6k plus, 7k plus, 8k plus & 9k plus... Juz paid deposite last week... Hope everything will turn out good. thanks for your comment... will take note of the lighting...etc

You attend wedding dinner there? How many tables? The cocktail isn't outdoor?

oolivia

Hi MBM,

They have few range of prices...
Weekday Weekend
$538++ $588++
$638++ $688++
There are higher package too...

You can contact person in charge for more details..
Adrian Chew
DID 6731 5724

I like the small garden beside the banquet place it can be the coctail area... you may go there to have a look the place.
When is you big day?

von

hi olivia,

oic... i know where it is liao. i hv been there for wedding dinner few year ago

von

hi olivia,

duno if my comments will still be valid anot since my visit was like 4-5yrs ago. comment @ the pt on my visit, i tink the food is so so only, ambience quite normal lo. size of the function rm is pretty small and cozy.

i haven fix a date yet, coz haven see "shifu" to pick date, but it shouldnt be lata then mid of next yr.

how abt yourself? u fixed up with the pine oreadi ?

oolivia

HI New,

Agree that the function room is quite small... We won't have too many tables... juz around 25tables.. so the space juz nice. Hope they will improve on their food... Yup, already booked with The Pines, My big day will be Oct 2006. Next year Oct will be chinese 8th month... so is hot date.. if yours after count, is on that month got to book banquet place asap.. coz some of the hotel we went already fully booked.

Last time ur friend having cocktail at the garden? did they open the glass window while the banquet gog on? What i liked the pines was, can mixed indoor with outdoor.. so will you consider the pines?

von

hi olivia,

actually i wanted a lunch, so i hope it will not be so "fully booked".

my fren did not hv cocktail @ the garden, her cocktail was juz outside the function hall. I cant remember if they open the glass window liao.

had the pine being recently renovated? i may consider lo. how's the price range for per table like ? i dun need big function hall too, juz wan mine as a small event for formality sake.

september

hi there, The Pines is also one of my shortlisted venue too and hv went down on Sat to view the ballroom and also to meet up the co-ordinator. Everything seem fine and the perks look attractive. but my main worry is the food as i understand that the banquet cook/chefs are a new team and feedback i got from my frenz are tat their food is nt nice as compared to years back. Also the co-ordinator hv confess tat a few of their couple did complain tat the food dun taste as good as the food tasting...

Any comments on the food anyone?

ashlady

hi! I'm also considering The Pines...
I wonder how's the food also..
Will be going down to take a look at the place.

oolivia

Hi New,
Recently they are renovating chinese restaurant. not sure will they renovate the ballroom or not. They have few range of prices...
Weekday Weekend
$538++ $588++
$638++ $688++
There are higher package too... If you plan for not too many table... is quite an ideal place.

Diana,
I also heard that got couple complain on their food, don't taste as good as when food tasting.. Also did highlight to the person in charge... hope they will improve on their food.

Ashlady,
Go to The Pines already? hows your impression of The Pines? I like the Place especially the small garden. Will you consider The Pines?

ashlady

Hi olivia,

I'll be going to The Pines to take a look... havent go yet. But it looks nice from the website & it's different from the hotels. Yup, will be considering it.

aw1905

heard that the food is great but they didn't reply my wedding banquet enquiry which i sent via email, seems that their biz too good, dunni anymore biz dealings, have earned enough.

september

hi ann, really they did nt get back? r u still interested? then i email u their package (tink i still hv it)...let me noe...

zierella

Hi all, i am very interested with The Pines. I think location is convenient, and price reasonable. Any brides took Pines? I would love to see pics of the ballroom at The Pines.

Comments anyone?..

september

hi zierella, from wat i heard is tat their food standard hv went down and there are pillars in the ballroom too but if u r really interested, i tink it will be better to make an appt and go down to view the venue...the place is quite nice and the package is rather attractive too...

zierella

hi diana...have u went down to view the venue? which hotel or venue u taking for your dinner..?

im a bit lost, hehe so many nice places to have ur wedding dinner at...but i must also work w/n my budget n it seems Pines is ok...

when is ur big day btw?

september

hi zierella, ya i hv view Pines before but i hv still yet to decide/finalise the venue yet coz me still waiting to attend Amara hotel wedding show before we make our decision. My AD is on 1st Oct 2006, wat abt urs?

zierella

Mine will be on Sept 23 and 24...

When is the amara hotel wedding show? Have u booked for AD photographer/bridal shop etc yet? Im overwhelmed heheh

september

hi zieralla, my BS is Whitelink but i hv yet to booked my PG and VG for AD yet....Amara wedding show is on 26th Nov 2005 as told by their co-ordinator still awaiting for her to send me the invites lor....

zierella

ah i c.... thats cool
too bad i cant go, i have somehting on that day sigh...

seems like not many ppl are having their wedding banquet at Pines eh? i wonder if there is something wrong? but to me, i think venue is convenient and the ballroom looks real nice!

ashlady

hi Zierella,
think we met at the Sept 06 thread!

I finally went to The Pines to take a look when they were setting up a wedding banquet. The ballroom is ok..except that the tables at the back wont be able to see the front-view of the bride & groom as they walk in! Coz the door is in front to the side of those tables. Heh..you have to see it for yourself. It looks nice on the website but i think it's impt to go down to look at the actual thing

I tried their food at the chinese restrauant & the food is good! Love the beancurb where they served individually! The soup is also very tasty & presented in an interesting way.

ashlady

Opps! i think i got the restrauant wrongly! i was referring to another place, not the one at The Pines! keke..

september

hi zierella, perhaps it is bcos their standard of food hv gone down....coz even the co-ordinator who we mit up also mentioned that they hv got complain that the food on the AD taste different (nt as gd) compared to the food tasting....

zierella

hi ash!
yup im also at the sept06 thread hehe.

u r rite i will have to go down and take a look at it myself, it just looks nice from the webbie and i like the convenience of the loc..

diana...the food is really that bad huh? hmmm...i guess i have to reconsider then..my dad quite particular abt taste of food.

dustydelvinia

I'm also considering The Pines and went down to see Adrian briefly. Just glad to finally see brides discussing about The Pines here. I was getting worried for a while there because there wasn't any response to my posts regarding The Pines on Style forum and Female forum!

So has anyone signed up with them yet? I haven't but will be bringing my hubby to see the place first. =)

september

hi juliana, suggest u and ur hubby go down to see the venues together and then make ur decision....for me, The Pines is fine especially their attractive package...food wise me nt too sure but heard nt as good as before...however the main reason i nt signing wif them is tat i prefer a hotel when after the dinner both me and my hubby can head straigt to the room to rest lor...hee hee

dustydelvinia

Hi Diana,

Thanks for your advice! I am definitely bringing my hubby down but we have to confirm our AD first. Waiting for 07 Tungshu to come out now.

I think Shang is pretty nearby la, so for us, not too bad loh, just across only. Getting a 5 star hotel for their table price, I'm quite happy loh! Kekeke....

So which hotel did you sign up with?

dustydelvinia

Hi Diana,

We hv settled ANYTHING yet cuz my hubby thinks it's stil too early.... our Ad is in jan 07... but I'm thinking Ritz Couture and prolly will stick to it unless I see a better BS in the next few months. Am still going BS visiting once in awhile since my time frame is quite long...

How's Whitelink? I hvn checked them out yet...

september

hi juliana, whitelink is ok..so far, my experience wif them is rather positive....saw some of their gown and it look beri beautiful lor...so i tink since u still hv plenty of time, then u do ur search careful then decide lor...but beware of Everbliss coz they got beri bad reputation lor...heard tat they will perster u to sign their most ex. package promise everyting b4 u sign then after u sign everyting cannot due to company policy and also, they will gif u those rather old looking or nt trendy gown lor...so got to be beri careful wif BS selection in order nt to spolit ur gd mood for wedding...

btw, me hv sign up wif Crown Hotel last nite at the Bliss wedding fair....30 min to 9pm...hee hee

dustydelvinia

OMG... you were at the bliss fair ah...me too leh... but I left ard 8pm i thinK... both hubby and I were very frightened by all those pushy bs and ps... I didn't even see the Crown hotel booth... only made it to show my hubby Ritz and den quickly left liao... we were hijacked by Double Up and Digio and then this guy claiming to be the photographer of Style Bridal practically forced us over to his booth... he had his hand grabbing on my hubby's arm and I was really upset...in the end I told him I don't even want to consider going to his booth at all since he is so inconsiderate and forceful! Sighz, I so hate to say such things to people man!

Ya, I heard about Everbliss man...their name is so smelly in all the major forums I'm surprised people still sign up with them....sighz... Another one is French Bridal... and they were at Bliss too... I simply refused to allow myself near them man....

So happy for you....got your venue down... I agree I still hv time... but I'm abit impatient too.... like to get things quickly done so I can do other things... kekeke.... but will go and look see more BS la... that's the fun part mah... hahaha...

When are you doing your PS? Kekeke....

september

u there too....actually me and my hubby was already on the 1st day...but tat day we are still beri indecisive then Crown booth was crowded so we did nt sign up tat day....as we was there in the afternoon, it was SO hot and wif those pushy and annoying BS/Beauty/Photography sales, we quickly escape into NAC aircon area for drink ha ha....guess wat, 1 stupid sales from one of the BS reali piss me off lor...he pass me a bookmark kind of photo then ask if i hv seen their photo and when i reply yes (of coz lying lah) he can still ask me wen lor...then i say juz nw lor...wah piang really bu tahan lor...hohoho...

so on the last day after we decide (last min. decision) then we quickly go to Crown booth straight lor...avoiding being pester again...kekeke...

PS me nt too sure...but the co-ordinator at whitelink ask us to go down for our 1st visit/fitting/selection in Feb 2006 lor...coz me got 1 MTM EG mah...

dustydelvinia

Hahaha...you also kena the horrid pushy sales peeps... abit sad that they hv to do this, which is actually bad for business and rep....

Good you managed to sign up with Crown on the last day of the show...me gonna take a break and study for my exams first....maybe start looking ard again in Dec...hehehe

september

hihi, ya lor...so sick rite...really dun like these kind of sales people lor...follow here and there...=-(

o...u still studying....Good Luck for ur exams!

dustydelvinia

hee...yalor....studying part time....working full tme....now got the wedding to prep...abit the xiong...but so far so good la...

Thanks! I hvn revised yet but next week exams liaoz.... =/

shorty_gal

I'm keen in signing up with The Pines for a wedding banquet but i saw a lot negative comments on their food!! Care to share some comments with meif u had attend their wedding dinner recently? Heard that they are renovating part of their club dunno if there is any reno done for the ballroom?

shorty_gal

I'm keen in signing up with The Pines for a wedding banquet but i saw a lot negative comments on their food!! Care to share some comments with meif u had attend their wedding dinner recently? Heard that they are renovating part of their club dunno if there is any reno done for the ballroom?

september

hi jace, this thread is rather quiet one...the last i post a qn on the food also no one reply me...but i only heard from people tat the food is nt so nice lor...so cant help u much...got to wait for someone who hold their wedding there or attend one there to answer ur qn liao...

shorty_gal

Hi Diana,

Think really no one can help me lei.....Cos my father in law is very particular about food. Now i'm worried that food is not nice!!!

hweiz

had attended my friend's wedding last month at The Pines. Food wise is so so but fav was the steamed fish
The cereal prawn not really fresh as commented by others but i think should be served hot thus resulting "soggy"

To be on the exact, its tough to bet on the food itself. The ambience look pretty cosy though

september

jace, then why nt u check wif u FIL see if he hv any place in mind...coz at times old people may get beri angry if the food nt nice as it is a matter of face lor...like my hubby cousin father, when relative complain tat the snow fish during his son wedding is nt tasty, he got angry and blamed his son and DIL for booking the venue themselves wifout telling/consulting him etc lor...u may wan to consider resturant for gd food lor...but it is still better to ask for ur FIL opinion so tat u and ur hubby wont be blamed if anyone complain on the food....

hweiz, ya agreed the ambience is nice + attractive perks lor....

kelnic

hihi.. guess this is really a quiet thread. but I would like some comments on it since it's been a month from last posting.

Anyone went down The Pines for food tasting/attended weddings? my hubby and I most prob will be taking the package with them, but is worried about the proceedings (of whole wedding + wedding planner) and food.

Any advise??