Teochew city restaurant at centre point

little_p

any comments on the teochew city restaurant at centre point fifth floor?
in terms of food, service etc.

tks in advance.

little_p

thanks panda fo yor comments.

we urgently need to get a place for our wedding next jan.. went to a lot of places/hotels but could not find,, teochew city is one of the few which still hav vacancies..

jany

Dear Pris,

I had my ROM there this April and will be having my wedding dinner there next Oct.

The food is delicious. Even my father who is very particular in food also gives them thumbs up.

You might want to talk to Brian Wong who is the restaurant manager. He is very frdly and easy to talk to.

You can PM me if you need more information.

little_p

hi dearie,

just pm you.

maybe we can chit chat here as well.. have you gotten a house/flat over your head? i am waiting for the duxton / pinnacle..

regardes/ prisclc

jany

Dear Aeina and Pris,

I have replied to your PM(s). Hope my replies will be helpful to you. PLease let me know if you needed more information or help.

Pris, my hubby already has a flat. Wat we need to do now is to do some minor renovation and paint the whole house.

I went there for a colleague's wedding dinner last Dec... The food was not too bad but I must say, if you are going to have many tables, then the place is gonna be very cramped!!!
Other than that, not much negative thingy abt the restaurant...

little_p

dear butter,

thanks for your feedback.. i will take note of it. to ensure not too many tables.. otherwise all become 'sardines in a can'...
.. heeheee.

little_p

dear butter,

hope to get feedback from you.. understand that the restaurant does not use napkins but paper serviettes during dinner..

as a guest, do u mind?

regards / prisclc

aeina

Hi Little P,
I havent' decided yet oh. must go down and see see first. Just wondering if seat covers for all chairs or only the VIP table.

jany

Dear Aeina,

If you want to have seat covers for all chairs, you have to bargain for it and make sure is FOC and written on the receipt.

That's wat i did. :p

aeina

Oh i see, i see.. heh heh.. i will arrange to go down after my fh back from reservist. Now he is very busy with work and going reservist soon. So sianz.. i m doing all research by myself

i_panda77

priscilla: ya lor...why is that guy always let us do the research ourselves? my hubby also leave me to do the research myself..my AD in oct. Sometimes i will say "everything also i do" then he said..where got i got help

hi priscilla

that time when I went, we got to use those napkins... u mean they are using paper serviettes now?
well, hmm... don't think I will mind... in fact, it's better coz I always find napkins like DIRTY... coz they are always being "recycled"... wash and use again kind of thingy...
142067.gif

jany

i also did alot of research and report to my hubby every now and then. not sure if he finds me naggy... little things also report to him :p

aeina

I panda,
Yeah, i agree.. sometimes, i complained, and he will retort that he helped too. W

Worse still is i research, report to him and he will forget what i say. argghh.......

Jany,
The ambience ok or not huh?? Can play our music when walk in???

jany

Hi Aeina,

you have not been to TC?
of coz if you compare to high class hotel, the ambience is not as nice. TC is one of the better restaurant lor and to me the ambience is ok.

I also want to play my own music. All these can be arranged with TC. For me I will tell Brian wat i want. He always try to give me wat i want. :p hehehehehe

little_p

hi ladiews,

yah loh,, the guys will leave research to us..maybe girs are more 'fussy' and picky about details? we tend to pick up things they don see and ask things more in details.

regards/ prisclc

little_p

dear butter,

i have asked.. confirm paper serviettes.

also, can u tell me how to get these cute icons that u had at the footer?

regards/ p

little_p

i am thinking of 29 tables in the main hall (excluding room). kindly advise if it is going to be cramped...

hopefuly those with experience holding full wedding dinner there can comment.

regards/ p

scobido

is this rest quite of cheena? n r the married couples normally teochew?

any comments on their yam paste? heard gd comments on that, one of my favourite deserts *saliva drooling*

jany

Dear All, Sorry for the late replies.

Hi Pris,
I hv checked with Brian and he told me that he will use napkins for my wedding and not serviettes.

Hi moo,
I find the restaurant okie. I dont think u need to be a Teochew to hold ur banquet there. Most imptly is do you love their food? Their yam paste is very yummy, very smooth and not too sweet.

Hi Leen,
I have booked 30 tables.

Hi Celine,
you can visit http://www.pfs.com.sg/ , go to Wedding and select Teochew City for the packages.

FYI, Teochew City will undergo some renovations in April 2005 for abt 1 mth and will have a new look after the renovation.

Please let me know if you need more information.

celine82

thanks jany.... when is ur AD?
I oso interested in having my banquet there... the food menu was good and reasonable.....hehee
but the restaurant a bit "cheena" looking... hopefully after renvoation, will look more nice... hehe...

jany

Celine: my AD will be in October 2005. No double the food is delicious.

Do you need me to introduce you to the manager there?

jany

Celine, i hv not decide on the menu yet and I may change some of the dishes. yes i did make soem requests.

marilyntay

Hi Jany,

Hope that you are still around. I am thinking of having my banquet there. Any advice??? Any idea which hotel they are offering? How much deposit did you put? What are some of the peaks that we can bargain? My AD is on Apr 06.

gs1979

Hi gals, i attended a wedding dinner @ TC last yr. Their food r v nice n price v reasonable but there r pillars leh...

jany

Hi M&M,

Sorry I just saw ur posting today. How can I help you?

Hotel stay at Meritus Mandarin which is across the street.

Since u hv sign up with TC, wat have u bargain for? I heard they just undergo some renovation,how do u feel abt TC after their reno? I hv not go to TC after their renovation.

marilyntay

Hi Jany,

After the renovation, everything look quite new. Toilet is very clean too. Hope that it's well-maintained til next year. THey will be having wedding banquet on every weekend from this week til end of june. If you are free, can drop by and take a look.

My Banquet Manager is David. We are taking the $438 menu. Free seat covers, napkins, 6 bottles of red wine and he changed the first dish to lobster salad for us. Good deal??? what about you? We book early, so I think maybe better bargain power???

jany

WOW! u got a much better deal than me. Like that I want to complain to Brian/Daivd liao. how can like that. kekekekke

I hv not decided on which menu to take but we were given free seat covers n napkins only no free wines and lobster leh.... can u help me bargain? :p

marilyntay

Hi Jany,

I feel that the deal was good too. I think one of the main reason why he gave me such good deal is because we are really sincere and told him that we can decide on the spot if he can give us the best deal. Furthermore, we book very early, One year ahead, so the bargaining power is there. Our AD is end of Apr 06. And this is the first reataurant that we personally went down to talk. We told him that we didn't want to visit so many restaurant and I even convince my FIL to have our banquet there. Whatever I say are all true, and I think he can really see that we are ready to give him the business and bring more business to him if they are really good. We are very frank with each other throughout the talk. He made me feel very safe and secure too. I may change another 1-2 dishes at the food tasting.

Personally, I dun think they will risk and let you have the lobster without knowing what menu you will be taking. Thus, your bargaining power is not there when you sign up. Where is your AD and how many tables are you taking? If you are taking the more expensive menu, of course they will be more willing to compromise with some things. The restaurant normally give 6 bottles of red wines when they advertise in the bridal magazine. So I think you can still bargain for that. However, for lobster salad, it really depend on the menu that you are taking. If you are taking the cheapest menu, I dun think they will exchange that because the profit margin is lower.

It is ok for you to quote my deal and try to bargain for that too. However, I hope that you will not use my name or mention my AD to them. THanks.

marilyntay

Jany: Please don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that you are not sincere. Sorry if I have cause you to have such an impression. We have an advisor with us on that day. My sister. SHe has very good PR skills and have been in the sales line for many years. So she actually did most of the talking for us. And of course, we keep smiling lah... The trick is also to make both parties happy. We need to make TC happy too so that they are more generous with us. That's why we settle everything on the spot and I believed that also give them the confident.

prettyangel

hi ladies, can check with you all.. the min tables is it must be 20?? I only have ard 18.. Do u gals think that they will allow? Thanks in advance..

marilyntay

HI angel,

yes, the min tables is 20. You may want to call the restaurant to check it out. However, they may open the VIP rooms for the public if you don't have so many tables. Just a note, Free beer is only for 25 tables and above. Unless you bargain. Good luck.

prettyangel

thanks m&m, i only got ard 18 tables. Dun think they will give me free flow of beer even if i bargain..
Think got to give up this venue.. unless i intend to increase the number of tables. Anyway, congratulations that u have found your dream place. The location is very gd, somemore they just renovate.

marilyntay

Mini_apple,

no free parking. Parking at centerpoint after 6pm is $1/hr.

Falvour will be either cake or chocolate

Printing of cards- No, they will provide 70% of the cards but you need to print your own inserts.

jitpong

I attended my friend wedding last year and it was one of the few restaurants that offer good food,especially the Yam paste.

Was attractive by the food and went there for my dinner on 1 May 06, to my disappointment, the service is poor from the moment they bring me from the entrance to the table.

Worst of all my dad actually overheard one of the staff called Axxxx Goh badmouthing the guests. There was this family holding his dad birthday party (few tables) with his relatives. First she say the family came so early, afraid that they wont get enough to eat.

Secondly when the family give words of appreciation to the relative for coming to the birthday dinner in teochew, this captain says if the host dun know how to speak teochew properly, then dun say.

I think i will not visit this reataurant again no matter how tasty and yammy the food is. i think there are many restaurants out there that serve good food and excellent service.

Not to discourage anyone from holding any banquets there but thot just want to share what i have experience.

blue_25

Oh dear that is very sad. But i think it will apply for almost all restaurants.. sure got one black sheep. This one perhaps just louder. I quite like their service anyway. As we are regulars, they are familiar with us. I believe service works 2 ways.

pssw_31

Hi all, my FH and I are also thinnking of having our banquet at Teochew City. Can anyone ex-TC couple share with us your package and the freebies that you have added in the package? We are just looking around and have no idea what we can bargain for. Please help Thanks