Tempered glass computer table

tasha

Saw a tempered glass computer table, quite like it. Has anyone got something alike too? May I know how durable it is?

tasha

Hi Sarah,

I saw it at V-hive, it's a L-shape one. About $300+ if I did not remember wrongly. Personally think it's quite refreshing. You keen as well? Not sure if it's durable or not hor?

michell

i saw a tempered class table at IKEA.

anyone know, can tempered glass table hard enough to hold the computer on top? will it break/crack? how about tv console? coz i saw 1 tv console top is tempered class.. very nice.
but i scare the glass not strong enough to hold the tv leh...

pls adv............

tasha

Saw the one at Ikea already, but it's not what I am looking for, looking for a L-shape one. The one at V-hive is out of stock and will be only available on a few months time. Anyone saw something similar elsewhere?

Michell, I think it should be durable, just my guess :p I mean since it's made as a TV console and computer table. Hee.... Maybe jst confirm with the staff their weight capacity. But Ikea products sometime must cross finger.

questy

Hi to all,
I think u try not to put a monitor on the tempered glass table, cos I feel tat it's quiet dangerous, remember the shattering of the bathroom glass door of HDB? Thus even if it's considered "durable", the potential danger puts me off for tempered glass items.

But if u r interested to use it as a writing table, then it shld be ok hoh.

just my own personal opnion

sarah

Tasha, yes...I am interested too. And I am also looking for a L-shape kind of tempered glass computer table. $300 for the L-shape table shd be quite cheap right? I am not sure if its durable or not but I prefer tempered glass to wooden table.

michell

Hi Tasha,

i saw few TV console with tempered glass design.. the staffs told me it can hold till 34inch TV.
but i never ask about the table lor... like wat Questy said, not so durable put monitor on top... and CPU leh?? quite heavy leh if all put on top the table.....

Hi Questy,

Bathroom glass door? can i know wat's the bad experience u had before? is it the shower screen broke? can share with me? coz i decide to install a shower screen in my toilet master room which is tempered glass without frame... is it durable?

turq

i believe d tempered glass shower screen shattered. some mths back

mine is a plastic screen with frame. v scared...

tasha

You mean you saw the tempered glass computer table as well? You said "I never asked about the table"... were you referring to the computer table? May I know where is it huh? As for me, I think I will put the CPU on the floor and limit the table top for monitor and printer only, should be better I guess.

I have a framless glass shower screen in my master toilet. My contractor told me he did not encounter any problem from his clients so far. Those that shattered happened from HDB appointed contractor only for those design and build houses...??? Anyway, ask for 10MM one if you insist of having one.

Sarah, the one I mentioned to you earlier from V-hive is out of stock now. They have a bigger vision one but is about $500+ if you don't mind, stock will be arriving end of this month as I heard. It's quite nice with more writing space.

tasha

BTW, worst come to worst, upgrade to laptop or plasma TV... HAHAHA.... just joking. Really headache sometimes thinking of all these factors.

michell

Hi Tasha,

err..sorry for make u confuse.

ok, i saw the TV Console & Table(actually not consider as Computer Table) tempered glass at Ikea. When I ask the staff there, i juz ask about the TV Console only... never ask about the table.
So dun know can hold heavy things or not lor...
I like the table so much, but my hubby keep making noise said that table not durable, this & that.
About the shower screen, i asked the contractor b4, they also said so far everything ok... no clients complaint about that...
but hor, yest i went to S'pore Expo, got 1 ladies (1 of the wholeseller) said frameless shower screen not good lah, easy to spelt water out lah, and not durable lah..etc etc... ( she's selling some shower screen with frame & very old fashion) so i dun like...and the price she provide also exp... about 700 plus for 1 shower screen...
how much u did last time?

tasha

I did mine for $580, 10MM frameless tempered glass. Spelt water out??? Errr.... how to? I mean I showered a few times and no problem so far leh. A friend of mine has the same thing and has been staying in for almost a year plus already, also never hear her complaining. I think alot of people are doing tempered glass shower screen now, should be quite ok. Think about all the hotels too. My renovation contract comes with a 3 years warranty, so I am quite at ease.

michell

hi Tasha,

oh...ok, i'll ask the contractor how thick is the glass.
ya lor, i also feel confius when the lady told me that water will spelt out lah, and the door easy to tear down lah.... dun know why she said that!
thks again 4 ur adv....

questy

Hi Michell,
There's a case whr a 10 yr old boy got hit by the shower glass when it shattered, it's on the newspaper, think he's at the D&B, not the first case for D&B shower screen to shatter liao.

My Fh also had an experience with his work place, whr the glass just shattered, and luckily no one was in the bathroom, tat's why he hv no intention of hving tempered glass shower screen. My grandma's home ones also got some pblm, cos u need to close it after every use, think the maid did not close it, thus it has slide down abit.

This is just my personal experience hoh, and others have good experience with it, so u must chk it out and get a good contractor to install for u, so dun save on it and get the best grade one hoh.

blur liao

What I'm interested in is how tempered glass shower screens can spell. :p

turq

v-hive...

there's one at great world *hubby & my fav*, funan, compasspoint... think there're some more

questy

There's one in causeway point, think is level 3.

Oh, I saw the tempered glass computer table at v-hive today, it's a two tier one rgt? (If i nv remember wrongly) It's very nice, if ur monitor is the LCD kind, then shld be not much pblm, but if it's the normal ones, then hv to reconsider loh.... he....

michell

Hi Questy,

oh is it? so terrible leh... make me confius now. worry leh... i think i better chk with the contractor 1st, scare later he provide us the low grade jia lat liao!

sorry ah for so "sua ku", can i know v-hive is a furniture ctr or selling table only?
and where is it located?

questy

Hi Michell,
Dun be affected by me, although the kitchen bathroom one got pblm, but the bed room one is still ok. I think is how u handle it, must be gentle loh, he...! And the shattering is at D&B flats, u knw lah, Hxx...... even the flooring also got pblm, cos they mass prouduction. Mayb u can go talk to variuos contactors in shops, then see what they say abt the TGS, if they can give u the same comment abt a certain screen, then tk it. This is how i assure the things I get is well commented by the professionals, it's abit kia su, but it does ease my mind loh. Again, dun be scared by me k, others are hving good comments on it, mayb can ask them which brand they r using, then u consider hoh. Sorry to mk u so worried..

V-hive is a furniture shop which sells most of the furniture. The locations are mentioned in the above postings.

michell

hi Questy,

thks!
will search few contractor b4 confirm use TGS. Dun wan regret later....

ok...will go c.point c c for this furniture shops.
but r there cheap/ expensive?

questy

Hi Michell,
I think also not cheap lah, best is to go those industrial area to source around, I think shld be cheaper. Actually most furniture is made of chip boards nowadays, so it depends on u whether u willing to pay ornot, and the solid wood ones wld cause a bomb. I myself also headache abt which to choose, he....!

Happy shopping!

michell

Hi Questy,

ya lor...like Ikea also not cheap leh! we went to courts b4, price reasonable but the quality & design dun like! ai....all the nice & elegant furniture, price like bomb!
headache.... sianz.

crapster

Hi michell,
my wife was the one who told you about the V hive locations. I think she forgot to add that in every v hive store, you get a different feel.

If you want nice furniture, try Funan centre or Great world city.
Compass point is a bit small but causeway point's shop is more embarassing. U may have a wrong impression of Vhive.

if you dun mind, give me budget and what u looking for, I can probably suggest where to go .

That's what the forum is for .. to help one another. No need to be shy. we wun meet anyway.

crapster

I bought the frosted glass study table with the Z-legs for about $260. it looks more modern than the L shaped legs. will get it soon and then inform you about the condition.

My branch in Funan told me can get next week. no need to wait a few months.

Free delivery and free set up

U can also opt for the instalment plan with interest free with DBS credit card. split the bill into 12 months

michell

Hi Crapster,

opps! r u Questy hubby? (if im not wrong)

thks 4 ur help! actually my hubby looking 4 a comp.table which is durable like woody types.. but for me, i dun like woody furniture. i more prefer stainless steel or glass types. so he keep nagging said tempered glass table not durable!
thats why im here to confirm is it true/false.

we went Ikea, Courts, Furniture Mall, Novena, Lorenzo... but cant find the furniture we like.
I saw 1 at Ikea, but my hubby keep saying the tempered glass table will break. actually i never heard V-Hive b4, until im here.
I'll go GWC & Funan Ctr look 4 V-Hive. Thanks for ur infor...
Oh yes, u ask me bout how much budget i willing to pay rite? emm.....

Comp Table - 200
TV Console - 550
Dining Table - 400
Coffee Table - 300
Side Table - ?? (no idea)

Can get this price at V-Hive?

tasha

Base on your budget and if you are going to get from V.hive, maybe you will need to top up another $100-$200 for some of the items you mentioned. But it very much depends on the design and quality too. I personally prefer the one at Great World too, feel that they have bigger selections there, you may want to try.

michell

Hi Tasha,

ok.. thks!

we search up & down juz wan to find some cheap & good stuffs.. but very hard lah.
we r very tight budget, thats why not willing to pay too much for the furniture juz b'coz of the design unique/ diff feelings....
if i got $$, can lah.....

ai...i think V-Hive not a suitable place for us to buy furniture... but will go down c c at GWC as u mentioned b4.

orosalind

I am using the V-Hive tempered glass L-shaped computer table for ard 2 years and no problem with that. Very durable and even have frens asking where I bought that cos it's very nice.

melgal

do you know where can i get my dining table custom made with tempered glass? any recommendations? i've already got my teak dining table, juz tht i want a glass to be put on top of it. tks.

keepitreal

Hi Melgal,

Was told from a furniture shop that there's different types of tempered glass. Basically, there are 3 classes - A, B, and C.

Class A - use for the windscreen of aircraft. A 1ft by 1ft will cost abt $1400.

Class B - He didn't say.

Class C - The normal kind. A 1ft by 1ft will cost around $240

There is also a type of "tempered glass" in the market which they called it "rubber glass". Its no different to a REAL tempered glass. A 1ft by 1ft cost less than $100. The problem is u can't differentiate the rubber glass with a real tempered glass. Both have the word "tempered glass" lasered into the glass. Both, when crack, falls into small pieces.

The safest bet is to get the "safety glass". It doesn't fall into small pieces when crack but at least there's no imitation to it...YET!

Not sure if my info is correct but was told from a furniture shop when I was requesting a quote for a custom made glass top study table.

Hope u're not confused...

embeary

Hi.. Just sth tot to let you all know...

The chances of any material failing is always there. When normal glass shatters, it breaks into big pieces which could hurt people. Tempered glass is developed such that when it breaks, it will break into small pieces posing no threat to life.

From the parliament debates of 02 & 03, the percentage of tempered glass shattering in HDB flats is about 0.2% while that of a certain private condominium in the North is 1%. Hence the main contributing factor to the shattering of tempered glass, is not totally because of the thickness or grade.

It really depends on the workmanship when producing the tempered glass, the fixing of the tempered glass and most importantly how you use it. In HDB projects, the glass has to be soaked in water before and fixing to rid the glass of any impurities that would likely shatter the glass. Hence, the lower chances of the glass shattering.

So.. I think when choosing tempered glass, its not only a matter of cost but also the fixing and the usage.

charlesphoon

I just saw a triangle shape glass corner computer table at the furniture shop at serangoon central.The price of the tempered glass actually depends on the thickness and there is no such thing as grade.Hope this helps all.

dor_diego

heat soaking would not remove the impurities.
instead it would simulate a condition that shows that ok i heat soak at xx temp and it is rendered fine (did not shatter). there is still a chance that it will break into small pieces