Tasmania Anyone?

garfield

cody: can i check with you u fly to tasmania directly or took a domestic flight from melbourne?

i now abit confused....whether to take qantas to hobart or to melbourne then take domestic flight.

abit troublesome to book the domestic flight on my own leh.

is it possible to fly to melbourne by any airline then take domestic flight to tas then fly straight back from tas.i dun wan to take domestic flight from tas to mel then from mel to spore.

by the way...all domestic flight is at the same airport izzit

sep03

hi garfield...actually it's very conve to book domestic flights over the internet....jus need to watch out for special promos for domestice tics. jus leave your email and they wld notify you. that's how i got the syd-mel tic for $70 on qantas...

orchid

Hi garfield,

there is no direct flight to melbourne. you MUST transit at Melbourne and take an internal flight to Tasmania. you can book the flights from any travel agent via Qantas - SIN-Hobart/Launceston-SIN (via MEL). Time your itinerary to spend Saturday at Hobart Salamanca market.

if you want to safe money, fly to Melbourne by Emirates (if can get the ticket), and book an internal flight to Tasmania. Go to:
www.qantas.com or www.virginblue.com.au. it's about $99 for mel-launceston (i think it's return).

Another way to go to Tasmania is by the "Spirit of Tasmania" cruise. it's abt $100 per person one way (cheapest no room ticket) overnight. The cruise also has very good Tasmania accommodation packages - you must travel at least 1 way. go to: www.spiritoftasmania.com.au and request them to send you their latest brochures.

You can fly there and cruise back.

jo

There is a direct flight - but only available in NOV/DEC operates by TRADEWINDS.

ultramouse

I think there is a direct SQ flight from Singapore that arrive at Hobart every Sunday morning.

My girlfriend and I were in Tasmania for a 7 days package Tour last December 2002. Nice place for honeymooners. Great scenery. When we reached there on the 3rd Dec, it was just the 2nd day of Summer. Weather is still cold around 16degC in the day and 10 degC in the evening. Recommend everyone who want to go to Tasmania must visit see the Cradle mountain, and enjoy a overnite stay at the lodging house.

There many small towns around, where we have our toilet stop. Many small cafes around for small bites. Must also go to Salamacan Market in Hobart(only available on Saturday morning), which is like our Pasar Malam. Many people will setup their store to sell self make art n craft, food, bags etc. Good for ladies who want to buy lots of things.

Never go to Tasmania without a camera. Remember to bring many rolls of films because 1 rolls of film in Tasmania = 2 rolls in film in Singapore.

enid

I agree with Ultramouse - must bring many rolls of film. Otherwise, bring digital camera.

I would like to recommend an accomodation at Stanley. If anyone going there, juz let me know. If u like ctry style home, i'm sure that u would like this place and there's seaview too (cos it's near the beach). The host is a very nice couple and they cooked very superb breakfast and dinner (dinner own expense). If i got chance, i will go there again.

freesia

hello people

I am working with SQ and this is just to clarify abt the flts...SQ doesnt operate scheduled direct flts to Tasmania but it usually does operate charter direct flts towards the end of the year. These charter flts are operated for tour packages to Tasmania during these times.

For those who wish to travel to Tasmania, you will need to fly to Melbourne first and connect a domestic flt to one of the airports in Tasmania i.e. Launceston, Hobart, etc.

As for QF, I dun think they operate direct flts to Tasmania either...you will still need to stop-over at Melbourne and connect a domestic flt.

Hope this helps...i went to Tasmania for my honeymoon too and it is really beautiful!

chopstick

Hi Freesia,

what is air ticket cost for SQ to tasmania?

how's the weather like in tasmania in April/May?

freesia

Hi, Chopstick

As mentioned previously, SQ does not operate scheduled direct flts to Tasmania so I cant tell you how much the air ticket cost. Sorry. If you wanna fly to Tasmania, the best way is to get a ticket to Melbourne and then connect to Tasmania. Look out for SQ or QF promotions..you can get a ticket to Mel for as low as $500 sometimes. For the domestic ticket, you can buy an e-ticket from QF's website. We did that for our honeymoon and it's very convenient!

As for the weather, it shld be autumn/early winter in Tasmania liao...shld be pretty cold! Weather in Tasmania is kinda weird..it can be sunshine one minute and heavy rain the next! So, do bring along an umbrella

honeymooner

can anyone help? we r thinking of going to Melbourne and Tasmania for our honeymoon in May 03. Wonder if it a good time to go? And which lodge should we stay for Cradle mountain? WE like sceneric view....
How sould we travel? iterinaries?? were there glowworm cave as well???

poohbear

Hi Honeymooner,

U could try the NATAS fair, if u've not today. They've got a lot of stuff on Australia. We went to Cradle Mountain during our honeymoon too. Stayed at Cradle Lodge. That was the most romantic part of our honeymoon!!

cody

Honeymooner: May will be quite cold coz its approaching winter. Nevertheless, Taz is a nice place.

If you like, i have a short write up on my trips to Tas and Mel. Leave me your email address if you're interested.

If scenery is what you like, Tas is THE place to go. Great Ocean Road will also be ideal.

We stayed in the Cradle Mountain Lodge. It was sooooo beautiful. Must go for all the walks. Same goes for the Freycinet Lodge (wineglass bay).

lkf

hello cody

do u still have the writeup on Tasmania and Melbourne? If u do, do u think u can email that to me @ [email protected].

I am thinking of going there free & easy (self-drive) for my honeymoon in Nov.

Thanks a lot.

may

lkf, go to the town of Bicheno and stay in Comfort Inn Diamond Island , they offer free guided tour to on-site fairy penguin rookery where you can see the penguin.

lkf

Cody n May

thanks for the info. am thinking of going there for abt 10 days or so, but i dun think we will be able to go round the island as we also plan to spend few days at Melbourne.

lkf

cassie

http://www.discovertasmania.com.au/

was there a few years back. must not miss cradle mountain, freycinet, port arthur (must go for the ghost tour!), salamanca on a sat morning, horsebackriding, whitewater rafting, wildlife fresh oysters! we felt the things that could be given a miss are launceston, wine tours (unless you like wine tasting, there's nothing much to see), and definitely the chocolate factory (nope they don't give you loads of chocolate to take home ;-) )

cradle mountain rains almost every day of the year, so bring a raincoat. and self-drive is a must.

btw freycinet only if you're fit
the climb up to wineglass bay is up up up all the way, but the scenery up there is spectacular.

most important, don't rush the holiday. tasmania, with the nature and scenery and great outdoors, should be enjoyed leisurely. skip places if you must.

ava

Hi Cody!

I would love to read your write up too!
and if you've any tips ;) 'cos I'll have only abt 7 days and Cradle Mountain & Hobart is a must for me

THanks in advance!

interested

we are planning to go Tassie early sept..

anyone cld advise me on the weather.. is it the end of winter... is it too cold to go? is the scenary as nice as summer?

btw, anyone been with SA Tours for their tour package to Tassie? How's their service, meals, lodging and the places they planned for the visitors? Saw in their package that they include one night stay at the cradle mountain.. is it true? really wanted to stay there.. cos saw the lodge and its surrounding.. is simply so nice.

Thanks!!!

mango

though it is end winter, it will still be colder than e rest of the Aussie Cities . Why not u check out the climate before u go?

enid

I've been to Tas in last Nov, although it's spring, however, the wind is pretty strong, so it's quite cold. Do remember to bring lot of warm clothings.

I went to Cradle Mountain too, but didn't stay there. Luckily, it's a sunny day, cos my travel planner mentioned that most of the time it rained.
I didn't book with any travel agency in S'pore.
I liaise with a travel agency in Tas and we booked the car, accomodation thro' him.

interested

thanks for the advise on the weather..

btw, have came across scenic tours (based in Aus), thought the packages there were wonderful. Anybody been with them b4? Is it more expensive to go with them than by local tour? How's their service, meals & lodging? And do you liaise directly with Tasmanian Travel Ctr?

also, anyone cld advise on the cheapest flight? Qantas, British Airways, SIA or etc.....

really appreciate if anyone there cld advise me. Thanks!

may

planning to go to Tas in Oct. I have booked a ticket on SQ to Mel. Anyone has any idea where I can get cheap domestic flight from Mel to Hobart?

jojok

Hi Enid,

Could you advise if there is any land tour (we book it in Lauceston) to Cradle Mountain? Reason being, I am not comfortable driving in a mountaineous area. Is the road v winding as I m the only driver & not v skilful.

enid

Hi jojok,

You can chk with tasmania travel. website is stated as above. Perhaps they can help u.

Yes, the road is winding.

cody

hi jojok

i drove up to cradle mountain.
the road is winding, but its drive-able.
Just don't speed and follow the road signs.

A normal saloon should be able to bring you to most parts of the mountain, except certain parts that are restricted to 4WD vehicles only.

The cradle mountain lake is accessible by 4WD only.

erowen

hi people
i am very interested to visit tasmania and melbourne in end sept for our honeymoon.
problem is i am confused...should i fly in to melbourne or hobart first?

another question is how do i get from hobart to lauceston?

cody

there are no direct flights from Sin to Hobart unless its a specially chartered flight from SIA (only avail during school hols - organised by tour agents).

You should fly into to melb first, and then take a domestic flight (approx A$100 per person one-way) to Hobart. Look out for domestic air ticket offers, it can sometimes be A$50 only.

From Hobart, you can also take a domestic flight to Launceston, or you can drive there (approx 4 hours no-stops in bewteen, but i highly recommend that you stop to look around coz its soo beautiful!).

If you intend to tour the whole or majority of Tas, i suggest you fly to Hobart and depart from Launceston or vice versa.

erowen

hi cody
thanks for the info.

i am planning to spend 4 days in melbourne and 1 week at tassie.exact tour details we yet to plan out yet. a few places in mind.

now hope that quantas will have promos for city hopping.

cody

the domestic air tickets can be very cheap when they have a promotion. i suggest that you sign up for the e-newsletters at the qantas.com.au to be updated of the latest promos. Besides, you also get 1st hand info!

the city hopping offer qantas sometimes offers in singapore is not always cheap.

meow

Hi Cody,

I am also planning a trip to Mel and Tas this coming mid Aug.
Would appreciate if you could forward your write-up.
my email: [email protected]

I saw that SQ having promotion SIN-MEL-SIN at $580 pax.
Still pending whether to take up free & easy (on our own) or to take up free & easy package from travel agent.
Could any one advise??
Thanks a zillion...

cody

meow, i'll send you the write-up shortly.

Definitely go free & easy on your own! It's alot more fun and the number of days you want to spend there is up to you!

Going free & easy can save some money on accomodation; those packaged free & easy tours come with hotels. When you're on your own, you can stay in a clean decent motel at a fraction of the hotel price!

Just rent a car and you're all set for your free & easy!!

dino

I'm planning a trip to Mel. Planning to drive around at Mel. Anyone can share if there's cheap airfares?

Hi Cody,

Pls share with me info abt Mel, thks
. My Email: [email protected]