Taiwan F&E

idono

ok, will email link when i upload all the pix, been v. busy clearing my work backlog

so where's your next destination, Angeline & pierced?

cute_koala_123

Hi Jlwc, thanks for the info.

However, I think we may go F & E.

Han, how much do you pay for a nite at Royal Castle? Is it near the MRT? Any comments?

Designfreak, may we are going on 12 Oct too. Yet to be confirmed. Which hotel u staying?

cheepo

anyone can advise me how to go from XMT to Jiufen / Shifen/ Keelung & miao kou Night market?
need help urgently .. going to Taipei on friday 22/9/06

irenepeh80

Hi CheePOzz,

Hope this can help u ...

1. MRT to Taipei Main Station; train to Rui-fang, then bus to Jiufen. Once u reach Fui Fanf Train Station, u ask around,they will tell u which bus to take.
2. Bus to Keelung (for "miaoko")
3. Train to Taipei
4. MRT to Ximen Station (for Ximending)

idono

There is a bus from taipei direct to Jiufen & Jinguashi. Its an alternative.

1. Additional info, walk out train station (pass all those taxi) and cross the only road infront. The bus stop is across the road infront of the convenient store.

1. The street far infront of train station leading stright further down hv roadstores open at night. like a mini-night mkt. the food centre further in is actually quite good. can try

2. if u go Keelung, remember go before sunset. there wont be train to taipei from Keelung after sunset. but buses still runs

5. to go shifen, go ruifang train station to change train

pierced22

designfreak, congrats.gg for hm rite? rem to try out all the clubs.so u will be mostly in taipei and nowhere else.

Idono, no prob. take ur time...i had probs loading up all mi pics too when i came back.
heh, i juz came back fr a 6days cambodia trip during the sept hols. a break from the city holiday.

cheepoz, the bus that take u along jiufen and it heads to keelung as well. i took the bus fr jiufen to keelung and asked the driver to tell mi where to drop for the miaokou night mkt. fr there, u would have to take a train back to taipei.
shifen is like what idono said, have to change to the Pingxi rail line fr Ruifang train station, u will have to buy an additional tic for it. and u can drop along all the stops.

idono

wah, pierced, u v. lucky leh, always hv time and money to travel here & there.

We can only target next yr June or Dec.

yukii2

hi i tink mst ppl gg to taipei, wat abt taichung and kaohsiung??? im planning to go there nxt yr, any infos to share???

ah_bb

Idono,

Planning to go Bangkok next Jan if my hubby's company permits his leave! Another round of shopping spree!!!

Designfreak,

Im leaving on 15 oct for package tour & own extension.

idono

I'll recommend tashun over wonstar. Its newer & currently hving 50% discount which makes it the lowest priced hotel in XMD area.

baby,

if city is your cup of tea, taipei itself have the most variety. What u can find in taipei can be found in the other cities.

foreverhappy

hi gals those going for F& E can kindly share with me the total cost. Me still thinking whether to take F&E or tour package.

wyy

apple,
i think package better if you wanna travel the whole taipei. F&E perhaps when you return the second time

I may be going back to TP perhaps those offer ticket by SIA ($290+ for 1d/N to and fro) and think this time I will choose to stay near Taipei Main Station. Basically for handicraft materials and also PSP, PS accessories and games.

pierced22

Idono, not really la, always have to wait till peak season to travel too. i oso have to wait till dec to travel. juz managed to squeeze a short break in btw.

baby, i went around taiwan island, stop by at taichung and kaohsiung too, but i dun find taichung that nice. only went there for a day trip bef gg onto kaohsiung.

Apple, it depends on what u want. how many days u planning to go for? i went F&E the first time, wont save u much money but do leave u with lots of free time and planning as u go along. if u not the type to like to plan as u go, gg package would be better.
oso ur F&E refers to juz Taipei or around tw??

designfreak, good...taipei is nice hahaha!

angeline, dao bian and ting bian wont affect u seriously, itz only confined to a certain place, not the tourist areas. i went in june and they had it then too but dun even hear of anything.

icy

I am over at Taipei with my hb as expats. Just wondering if anyone knows where to get value for money bedsheets and clothings. I havent done much homework.. and only been here for like a weekends. Anyone been to try the hot spring?

ah_bb

Pierced,

Hopefully it would affect the tourist spots!
Heard that they having an uprising on 10 oct
(their National day), forcing the president to step down!

pmum

hi han, whats the agency name? can share? what's the total cost of the tics + 3 nights hotel stay?

thanks in advance

lv120481

Hi pmum,

My air tix + aitprot tax+ hotel stay is $596.

Travel agency is Travel GSH at people's park.

Hi apple,

I am going on 6 oct. U also travelling?

jlwc1974

3 nite stay at 3star hotel and travel by budget airline at $600 is not cheap ... dun forget u must pay for transport , etc ... tink package tour is better , travel by SQ +airport tax+ 6N stay at 4/5star hotel with all transport + sightseeing + food inclusive at just $1000 is just $400 more ...

lv120481

Hi jlwc,

I check this is the best price. If I need to pay $400 for a 4hr better flight + 4/5star hotel, I might as well spent it or shopping spree in taipei. Flight n hotel is not my piority. Only for 4hrs plus flight not those long hrs flight and hotel is just to sleep n bath only. It is just my view. Hope u r not offended.

jlwc1974

Han, $400 for SQ and 4/5 star hotel and 3 more nites (yours is only 3nites) + transfer to Hualien , Taichung , etc (yours is only Taipei) , should be very reasonable :D

pmum

han.
ya $600 is very reasonable. i'm looking to travel in dec. will jump at any promotion by jetstar. maybe can get ard $500. was looking to book either rainbow or royal castle hotel.

btw, is your package inclusive of airport transfer from airport to hotel( to and fro)?

sharky

Hi Icy,

My hubby and I have been in Taipei for a while now since he's working here. Did you just come over? Which part of Taipei are you at? Wanna meet up sometime? I'm quite free in the weekday afternoons since hubby's working... I got bedsheets from Ikea and clothes from all over the place (mainly Zhongxiao E Road, Shilin night market and Ximending)...

Hi Mitzi, Angeline, YY, Pierced, Idono... you guys are still so active in the thread! I'm back in Taipei again... Idono, thanks for sharing your photos! Your boy's so cute...
I've been to Danshui, Shifen, Jiufen this time round... So more photos uploaded to my website if you guys still have it... Wore a red polo shirt last weekend to Shifen and Jiufen with hubby's colleagues and they said noone dares to wear red or green during this time... thought those coming soon might like to take note of that!

sharky

Hi Angeline, I'll be around till the end of October... We can meet up if you have time!

Jule, I'll be here except for the 6th-10th of Oct... That's the long weekend holiday for the Taiwanese... Are you going on a package tour or F&E?

jule

why except ? I din know 6-10 Oct was the long weekend holiday till last week, but I had already booked my air tix long ago.

Im going F&E.

ah_bb

Hi Kat,

My taiwan trip from 15 Oct - 23 Oct.
Okie, will meet up with u if i have time!

Perhaps uc an bring me around

wyy

Cute Koala....sent!!

Now every tuesday 830 is showing Taiwan with Ann Kok..... show is after HDB TaiTai (Zhong Qin and Chen Liping)

renshen

Can i ask those who went Taipei F&E... do we have to pay airport tax at Taipei airport before departure or is the NT$300 inclusive in our airticket that we purchased from SQ?

foreverhappy

Wong Y Y i saw that show.
Will try to look at it before my trip to taiwan. Me planning to go next march. Hopefully things there is normal by then.

sharky

Hi renshen, you pay your taxes together with your air ticket. You don't have to pay additional tax at the taipei airport.

Angeline, I'll be leaving Taiwan on the 19th of Oct for good... Hubby's found a new job and we're returning back to Singapore...

Hi Jule, will not be around during those days as we're making a short trip to Korea for the holidays...