Switzerland

• Thread starter Thread starter unusual
  • Start date Start date
hi germangal,

i need your help. i am planning to go to switzerland n paris for my honeymoon. when will winter end? i want to go in spring because i can't stand cold weather. also during spring daylight will be longer.so i am not sure to go in march or april. but i am not defintely not going in spring because its still so far away n its tourist period. do u thk march will be a good time?

i try to surf the net to find the weather and temperature in spring but i could not. because most of them only show the next few days weather forecast.

hi weoseek,
how many days did u spend in paris? if u dun mind can u drop me an email to let me know which are the places that i must visit in paris and the accomodation?

many thanks gals. : )

Hi cin,

weather is very unpredictable this year. I don´t know why, but we had an august which felt like october last year and now january feels like march - 10 to 14 degrees Celsius. Our plants and animals start to get really messed up with their biological clock. A catastrophe if it keeps going like this.

In general, I would say, I´d take march over april, becaus eapril is known for unpredictable and fast-changing weather (sunshine, rain, fog, even the occasional snow... in one day sometimes)

But, as I said, weather is extremely unpredictable. May is also still in spring, but mostly rather on the milder, warmer side.

Personally, I like may and september best, not cold, not hot and the days are also quite long. June is also nice, also mostly still in spring, the 21st of june is our longest day, so no worries about daylight here!

But with our weather going crazy...I really don´t know what to tell you. No guarantees about this year. 2003 was a typical year with seasons as they ought to be, hot summer, cold winter. 2004 was already odd, no real summer, and now this strange start into 2005.

hi germangal,

oh is it?? thk i will have to bring thick clothings along. most probably going in late march.

hi moonlight,

u got your tickets already? i might either take a flight to paris and then take a train down to switzerland or the other way. yourself? how many days r u going?

Hi Cin,

i will be taking a packaged tour, lazy to plan.. heheh.. looking at a 12D10N, switzerland, london and paris tour. Have not bought my tix yet, its still early leh.

I’m in the midst of planning a trip to Europe this Apr. Consider taking up a package with Cosmos. Price: US$1710.00 (exl airfare), 18 Days and covers Holland, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Italy & France.

Here’s the itinerary:-

Day 1: Take a ferry from London to Holland, Amsterdam.
Day 2: A day in Amsterdam visiting a Diamond Center
Day 3: Amsterdam area – The Rhineland, Germany-Black Forest
Day 4: Black Forest – Titisee-Lake Lucerne
Day 5: Lucerne – Mount Titlis
Day 6: Lake Lucerne – Lindau, Germany – Neuschwanstein Castle – Fern Pass, Austria – Innsbruck
Day 7: Innsbruck-Italian Dolomites, Italy-Venice Area
Day 8: Venice
Day 9: Venice Area – Rome
Day 10: Rome
Day 11: Rome – Florence Area
Day 12: Florence
Day 13: Florence Area – Italian & French Rivieria
Day 14: French Riveria
Day 15: French Riveria – Arles Avignon – Lyon
Day 16: Lyon-Beaune-Paris
Day 17: Paris
Day 18: Paris – London.

Could you gals give me some feedbacks on the itinerary pls? Personally, find the px ex.

Thanks so much

Hi cin,
I spent approximately 4 days in Paris. 1st day to visit all the attractions..eg. notre dame, arc de tromp, champe elyse, eiffel tower, museum du lourve...etc..We just followed the map given by hotel...walk along the sceine river..(spelling might be wrong)..2nd day, Versailles ..just need to take the train to station call Versailles R.G, very easy..3rd day, lunch at eiffel tower, by the way if you plan to get up to eiffel tower, you got to expect more time in queueing up ..to get the tickets and queieng for the lift. We had lunch at 1st level, climb through the stairs to 2nd level...then from 2nd level buy a ticket to get to 3rd level. That nite, we just go to Moulin rouge to take picture ..As that day was 31st Dec, Moulin Rouge's dinner + ticket cost Euro 500 per pax.

Pls remember to bring formal wear if you plan to go and watch Moulin Rouge..I forgot to bring formal shoe..so didnt get to watch it.

4th day..I went to Paris Disneyland..

I stayed in a Gare de Lyon hotel, Euro99 per night..its not a very good hotel, room quite small..but that's the cheaper one we could get already..Its easily accessible though, its just outside the international train station.

Hi Moonlight and Cin,

it´s not that switzerland is unpredictable, usually we have a nice flow of the seasons. Just this year seems to be totally out of the normal.

In march, weather can be quite mild, especially in the "lowlands", but snow is not out of the ordinary in the mountains.

I´d say, whenever you go, take clothes to be ready to dress in layers. Like tops, t-shirts, 2 long sleeve t-shirts and a cardigan and a light cotton sweater. like that, you are ready for any weather. Of course, if you go to the mountains in winter (november-february) you will definetly need a thick sweater and at least a not-so-light-jeans.

Hi Shiny,

the itinerary covers a lot of interesting places. Just some of the days amaze me: like Amsterdam to the Rhineland to the Blackforest...what are you going to see? Is it specified in the sight seeing plan? Sounds like an awfull lot of traveling to me.

Luzern to Lindau to Neuschwanstein to Innsbruck sounds even more stressful!

The italian part of the trip seems much better timed for really getting a look at the places.

Does the tour operator say anything about the time you will spend on the bus for each of the days? I would definetly ask about that before booking.

(Neuschwanstein castle is absolutely to be seen!)

241424.jpg
241425.jpg

hi weoseek,

how was paris disneyland like? alot of peeople ask me to give it a miss. cos its not as fun as the one in states and japan.

cin,
I enjoyed myself very much there..But a lot of ppl, so didn't manage to go for every ride/show. Havent been to Disneyland in States/Japan..my sis who been to Japan one, saw my pics, said it looks exactly the same, even the rides/boats etc. Me old liao, if this yr dun go..dunno when will I hv the chance to go disneyland..by that time dun think I dare to queue for horse ride..hehe..

But I definitely prefer Disneyland more than Versailles...(I'm not so much into arts and museum) That day I visited Disneyland, was my last day of honeymoon, that night need to rush to airport already..even cried there ah..hehe..

Hi cin,

march is in the end of the skiing season, but it is possible on all the higher mountains and glaciers. The sun is very strong in march when you go up a mountain. One year I went skiing in december, not even really accqiring a tan, then I went in the following march, used the same sun screen, and came up with burn blisters on my cheeks the first day.

I should have used stronger sun block, fortunately, I didn´t get any permanent marks. The snow multiplies every ray of sun, so good sun glasses and good sun block are a must!

Hi penguin26,

april can be mild, but it tends to be a bit rainy, ranging from the occasional drizzle to pouring.

intend to go to europe for honeymoon in may 05.
issit advisable to book day tours from insight/trafalgar/contiki or to book tour package from local agencies like SA tours, Chan Brothers etc? Anyone has any experiences to share? Thanks.

Hi jj28,
i will be booking from the local tour agency for safety sake. I read somewhere in SB forum that some tour package from europe, they are a bit racist, hence, for honeymoon, i do not want to take any chances, just want a well planned and comfortable holiday!

hi moonlight,
which tour agency are you planning to book from? i understand that the prices for the tour packages are only until march...
planning to go in may... so just have to wait lor...

Hi Moonlight,
me booked 12D switzerland/paris/london trip wif chan bro in mar. signed up during natas fair last yr but the trip is not confirmed yet cos need min 20 to go.

Germangirl,
me hope to see falling snow in switzerland. hopefully still can catch some during mid march. is it necessary to go up the mountains to do that?

Hi snoop,

hmmm...mid-march could be stretching it a bit. Falling snow is possible in mid-march anywhere in Switzerland, but I wouldn´t count on it. I was living in Geneva where it is already quite mild in march, and when I visited Zermatt in about mid-march, it was still a bit like winter there and we actually had falling snow.

It´s much more likely to see falling snow going to the mountains or up the mountains. But I´ve had skiing vacations which were very cold, but at the same time dry and sunny, so for two weeks no new snow.

Since this seems to be very important to all of you: sunrise in mid march is around 6:45 am and sunset is around 6:30 pm, so all in all about 12 hours of daylight during this time, but count in a longer period of dim light, sunrise and -set are slower than in singapore.

for the past few days it´s been snowing here, and i just got off the phone talking to my best friend in Geneva. She said, they have more snow, than in any january since the 1950s !

Earlier, we have booked a tour package from an agency but since there isn't sufficent persons to set off, we decided to go free & easy on 2nd week of Feb. We are thinking of staying there for 7 nites in the same hotel at interlaken (opp to west interlaken station) becos the rate is reasonable (about SGD140 per room nite incl breakfast for 2) compared to other cities. But since day time is shorter during winter, do you think it is advisable to stay in the same place and travel to other places / cities by rail train. Will we be wasting a lot of time on travelling? We will be getting the swiss saver pass but was the railway lines complicated? Does anyone has the cities railway lines map? How's the frequency of the train? We hope to cover Interlaken, Zermatt, Lucern, Bern & Geeneva.

Also, there are quite a number to scenic train so I am confused that which one I shouldn't miss? Will there be any discount taking the scenic train if I have swiss pass. How many hours will the scenic train takes? Was it a single trip or with return trip? For example, if we want to go to mount jungfraujoch which near the interlaken, how and where do we board the scenic train? How much it cost for 2 persons?

Has anyone tried the bed & breakfast called sunny days at interlaken before? It looks so nice from the website......

Sorry for asking so many questions coz it is the first time we are going on free and easy. Hope we wouldn't get 'lost' in Swizerland

My cousin stayed there while she was in Interlaken and she strongly recommemded that B&B. I didn't stay there but in another B&B but when I was there, Sunny Days looks very beautiful.

HI whitebear..

this is what i am worrying abt, the package have insufficient no to start. Well, mine in march. pray hard then. I have no intention on F&E leh, will look into alternative package if the one 1 want failed to continue.

To get to Jungfrau cost CHF180 per person for train ticket with return trips. All you need to do is buy the ticket from the train station..its fairly easy.

But the hotel deal you've got is quite good..In Interlaken, I stay in Hotel Bellevue..quite ex CHF165 per nite inclusive of breakfast

Hi Moonlight
Which agency you took the tour package from? Mine is from Ananda Travel. Since the group tour has been cancel, we book the malaysia airline promotion very cheap @ $698 + 161 (airport tax) per person. Luckily, got this speical airline promotion otherwise I think we got to spend even more....

Blushblush & Weoseek, I found 2 reasonable price accomodations in interlaken. One is Merkur hotel (suggest by the tour agency, just opp to interlaken west railway) and the other one is Sunny days B&B (beautiful house but 5 mins walk to railway station. Both rates are the same -only CHF100 per room nite incl breakfast for 2 in winter. Since we have confirm staying 9 nites in Swiss, so we thought of staying both places....Sunny for first 4 nites and Merkur for balance 5 nites?? If you were me, which one will you choose?

Hi whitebear,

i have not make any booking yet. but have called up some agency to check the status... still and the wait and see status.. oh wonder if everyone is like me, thats why no one booked the package. :D

good that u found alternative, i have yet thought of mine yet! probably postponed it or maybe change a destination.

I will be in Geneva during 6-12 Feb and I have only one full day free to tour around. May I know which places are worth a visit during the day? I am also thinking of taking a train out of Geneva but I'm not sure where I should go. Pls advise.

i will be booking the 12D europe trip from Ananda Travel for my honeymoon for end of march 05.
consist of swiss + france...$2888 per pax
Airline - SQ
Any feedback?

Whitebear,
I went 8 days F&E so I booked my accomodation on my own at Hotel Blume no B&B. If you're going Jungfrau, I feel that it's better to stay nearer to Interlaken Ost station as you would need to change train if you take from Interlakern West.

When I was in Switzerland, we actually change accomodation every 2 days (Zurich,Bern, Lucern, Zermatt) . It was unnecessary because if you buy the swiss pass, you could actually travel quite a distance conveniently to see around every town.

Blush,
Oh..i didnt have Eurail/swiss pass..but I didnt go to Jungfrau also hehehe..Not enuff $$, cos I was travelling from Italy and still need to go to Paris before coming back..so too tight budget. Most of all, no one tell me that its actually that ex leh. Imagine for 2 pax without the rail passes its approx CHF360..almost $600 sing liao..wah..

Hopefully I will still hv chance to go switzerland again.

White bear,

Like blush, i also stay in different city, 2 days in Zurich, Lucern and Iterlaken each. But I realised that Zurich and Lucern is only 50mins train ride so you can stay in one city only. Somehow to hv a feel and not rush for trains, I thought say in different city is also nice.

Hi Blush / Weoseek,
Just book and confirm staying 8 nites in sunny days B&B near interlaken west. We decided to stay in interlaken as our base thru out the trip. The B&B Sunny Day room has small balcony that can view the Jungfrau & look cosy, but most importantly it is the cheapest & presentable accomodation that we can find in the whole interlaken, only CHF100 per room nite + simple breakfast.
Is interlaken ost station and interlaken west station far apart? Is ost station is more convenient than west station to other places as well(beside Jungfrau)?
Oh yes, I bought 8 days swiss saver pass but still not enough. Do you know how much is the fare from Zurich to interlaken west? As we want to start using swiss pass on second day onwards. Thanks for your help

Hi Moonlight
I will be going on Chinese New Year Eve.
Hope that your tour group can set off without changes becos Switzerland is really very beautiful. This is my second time visiting there. I went there with my parents about 13 years ago , when am still very very young.......

whitebear, I've no idea how much the fare is. But I'm very impressed with the Swiss transporation system. They would have a small booklet that tells you when the train/bus is departing and arriving at destination and all the clocks in the trian stations are synchronised to the very second!

Interlaken Ost and Interlaken West is about 15min apart by train. Interlaken Ost is definitely more acessible to other stations. Zurich is very far from Interlaken. If you're interested, I can go home tonight and check for you the duration.

Oh I've also stayed in Interlaken for 2 nights

Hi Dingdong,

Geneva is the second biggest town in Switzerland and the "smallest city" of the world.

The major sights are the old town with it´s cathedral and archeological site underneath, the united nations (you can take tours), red cross headquarters, the water jet ( a gigantic fountain, but it´s not turned on when the temperature is too low, otherwise the jet would cover the area in ice!), then there is the reformers memorial, a memorial of the founders of the protestant church, in the shopping district, you got lots of nice boutiques and department stores.

If you want to go on a day trip from Geneva, Lausanne and Montreux are nearby (half an hour/an hour by train) You can also go up "La Saleve" a mountain range from which you can see three countries at once (Switzerland, France, Italy) or you could go to "Les diablerets" that is also a famous mountain range for skiing and day trips.

I also really love the town of Annecy in France. Busses depart about every hour from Geneva Bus station in the centre of Geneva. Annecy is a beautiful medieval town in France, one of the buildings is among the most photographed in Europe! In summer it´s very touristy, in winter rather quiet. The shopping is unbeatable! I used to buy all my clothes there! It´s much cheaper than in Switzerland and french fashion is just awesome! I recommend a boutique called "Carroll", but there are several shops which are really nice.

Yvoire is another beautiful town in France, just about 10 km from Geneva. It is fully preserved in it´s medieval beauty, nice souvenir shops and restaurants!

For dinner, you could go to the "Edelweiss" restaurant. It´s interior is all decked out in swiss style and they have a traditional music show as well. It´s very "Heidi" and kinda far from swiss daily life, but if you don´t take it dead serious and just go to have fun, you will have a ball!

hi germangirl

thanks for the detailed description.
about the day trip, are there any tour operators that offer trips to lausanne and montreux?
i'm travelling solo so i would prefer to have someone bring me around rather than going there alone.

Interlaken west is a town, as for Interlaken Ost is the major train station, nothing much there with only a big supermarket opposite the train station. The journey is approximate CHF2.40 and it is as if take 1 MRT station in SG by train.

Zurich to Lucern is 50mins, From Lucern to Interlaken is 2hr I think. Fare also forgot..

Hi Dingdong,

there is a tour operator ofering anything from day trips in the region to trips to the Mont Blanc (which you can see from Geneva inner city by the way - rue du Mont Blanc opposite the train station has a nice view of it).

I forgot the name, but your hotel, the tourist information and the ticket counter at the bus station have the brochure and tour programme.

The tourist information is in the major post office on rue du Mont Blanc, the bus station is just one or two streets down the road.

As far as I remember they got a day trip to Montreux including a visit to Chillon Castle (awesome!) which is a bit outside of Montreux. I also think they had a combined tour of both towns. Towns in Switzerland are rather small, so Lausanne and Montreux in one day is quite possible.

Hi Blushblush
I was told the the landlord of Sunny days that from Zurich to interlaken west about 2 1/2 hours....do you know how long it takes from interlaken west to Geeneva? Coz from the map, it looks quite far.....are the trains depart hourly in every train station??

Hi Germangirl,
If we want to visit the Chillon Castle, can we take rail train? How do we go there from Mnotreux? Is there any public transport directly go there?

Which are the places we can buy cheap and nice souvinirs & choacolate??

Hi Whitebear,
so i presumed ur trip has been firmed up huh? cos its so near to the trip! have a nice trip ya!
oops.. i haven book mine yet. seems too early to do so too!

Hi Whitebear,

we went by car to Chillon Castle, but as far as I remember, there is a public bus nearby, or you take one of those day trips.

For Chocolate, I would definetely NOT go to shops in the train station or any special tourist shops. Supermarkets and departments stores all have very nice chocolates, many in traditional swiss tin boxes - very cute. "Manor" is a very good department store which you can find in most swiss towns, if you go shopping in Geneva, "Globus" is the luxury version.

"Migros" and "CoOp" are the biggest supermarket chains in Switzerland, they got nice chocolate as well.

For Souvenirs, department stores are also a good address, in Geneva, there is a specialized shop on "rue des Alpes", at the reception desk of your hotel or at the tourist information you can pick up their brochure with a 10%-off-voucher. They got everything typically swiss, from swiss army knifes to lace, dresses and anything collectible.

Basically, you will find similar shops in all swiss towns near the centre.

this might be usefull to you:

www.myswitzerland.com

it´s a web site in many languages, they got the most comprehensive collection of information I´ve seen so far. They even got example scenic tours and pics of a lot of things.

Hi Whitebear,

I found www.chillon.ch there is a local train going to chillon (station is about 300 metres from the castle) or you take bus line no. 1 which stops right in front of the castle.

247280.jpg