Switzerland

moshi

Hi Mocha & Snoopy,

sorry for the delay cos I was away for a short holiday. Right, cable cars is a must to almost all mountain. Train rides only take u to probably mid-way & final transport to these high mountain is still cable car. After been travelling around Europe, I find the Swiss cable car system very safe....Swiss precision
. In fact I do have height phobia as well but somehow this just slip away cos I was so amazed at the surrounding scenery.
With Swiss pass, it allows u to travel unlimited in Switzerland, therefore, probably u only pay for the ride from the border onwards to Milan. Milan is famous for shopping & also not forgetting the famous church. Unless, u like shopping (LV, Prada ....) then it worth making the trip. On the other hand, if u like to see structural, old building then I would recommend Munich.
For more train info, www.sbb.ch

moshi

rolly1

Looking for Tunlips & Dec_gal!
I saw your previous posting on Switzerland (from Tunlips) n Scotland (from Dec_gal).

Tunlips,
May I know whereabout do u stay while in Lucerne & Zermatt?

Dec_gal,
Where are the places that u suggested going to in Scotland n any recommendations for budgeted accommodatioN?

I will be going to these 2 places in June.

tulips

hi rolly1

this is tulips!

can u pls give me your email address so that i can email the hotel information to u?

tigerlily

Hi Curly,

I planned to go to Switzerland for honeymoon, but my plan need to be stashed until later cos we bought a place, so will be going to Australia instead.

i've been collecting information. I've emailed you something... maybe you might find it useful.

curly

Hi Tigerlily

Received you email already! Will look into it. Thanks for your help. My hubby has been very frustrated about the planning stage as we still can't find a suitable hotel....... You have fun in Australia!

orchid

Hi Curly,

Ya, I encountered the same problem with lodging. I found that they're just too expensive!!!

Then I remember staying at the YHA in Australia & really liked it and thought, hey, I might look it up for Switzerland. And found that it's really of the price that we can afford & it gives us the privacy we need.

Have fun in Switzerland OK?

daffy

hi Orchid!

I stayed with YHA at new zealand too. are the YHAs in australia located centrally / conveniently? i am thinking of staying in YHA when i visit australia in future. i don't believe in spending a bomb on accomodation too

hope that you will manage to book YHA in switzerland. do consider visiting the lion monument when you are there. great scupture!

romona

I been to switzeland, the most expensive hotel that I stayed is a 3*, cost me SF360 w/ breakfast for couple per night. WOW, that was expensive. But luckly that is my FH's business trip, so don't need to pay for it. :p Then I went to Luzern and stay in YHA, cost about SF$70 for twin rm. Can park car, if you're driving.

Swiss website: http://photos.yahoo.com/der_berg

I've backpack there last Jan and and previous time is in Summer 97. The pose YHA that I've stayed is in Interlaken. Take a train up, walk up for abt 5mins, then you'll get there. Nice view, at the mountain. But dont' carry too much bags, too tiring. If you want the details, email me!

Hi romona

very nice pictures. how do you do those wordings on the pictures?

btw, i will be going swiss this mid-june and places of interest not to be missed?

romona

Hi Mint, Really, you like the pictures!!! I took it all by myself. But taking photo during winter is quite difficult, coz' I have to catch the sunlight. I use Adobe photoshop to create those wordings.
Oh, places of interested!!! Interlaken is very nice place, you shld go to the top of the world!!! Cost about SF150 per person. Takeup a few adventure sports(no pain, no gain!). But all these cost a few hundreds. Luzern is like a small town. Zurich has nice buildings! Bern their capital city, but just a old city. If you have extra cash, you shld go to Vennia, its a lovely place. They'll hold some function during summer season, like opera, singing, streetmusic, food, cityhall orchestra. ppl there a quite nice too.
If I have the time and $$, I wld like to backpack to spain in my next europe trip. ;P

romona

oh ya, not forgetting the Swiss Fondue, if you never try Swiss Foudue, you are not consider to be in switerland. Just like going pasir but never visit their Effle Tower. A swiss friend take us to a traditional fondue restaurant in Zurich, cost SF100 for 3 of us. Just bread, coke and Fondue. Very expensive.

orchid

Hi Daffy,

Yeps, the YHA in Australia is pretty well located. I had lots of fun there meeting all the independent travellers. Somehow it's just alot more relaxed and friendly atmosphere than hotels.

taddess

I would really like information on switzerland, scotland, UK and paris as well? Do you have any? can you email it to me too. As for those of you who have the planned iternary, do you mind sharing...could do with a little help in the planning of routes and hotels.

m&ms

Just got back from Swiss trip.. i love it there... we spent abt oni 5 nites in switzerland, rest in germany.. touched Lausanne, Geneva, Interlaken and Zurich...

We drove in from Blackforest into Basel, then down to Lausanne and stayed there for the nite. Went around Lausanne town, visited the famous cathedral and took in the nice sights from atop of the town.. den checked into YHA in Lausanne, which is very near to Lake Geneva... took a nice evening stroll along Lake Geneva, plenty of sails and ducks and little fishes in the water... and not to mention my 1st sighting of the Alps (it was the french alps)... gorgeous!! saw a very beautiful sunset on that day...

Second day drove to Geneva... went around town.. cathedral again and went up to the north tower, bird's eye view of the whole geneva city.. den visited UN HQ.. late afternoon started drive to interlaken... we opted to take the mountain road and drove into France - Evian town.. but my advice for you guys is don take that way to interlaken... cos the mountain roads were too hazardous, windy and narrow.. lucky my bf is a v good driver, else i will die of heart attack!!

The next few days at interlaken, we took day trips up to Grindelwald First, and JungFrau.. trekked lots at grindelwald first... it was breath taking.. but mind you, lotsa of tourists and locals too... and rem to bring your own lunch and plenty of water.. cos the stuff up there are v expensive... Tried summer skiing at Jungfrau at the beginners slope.. oni CF30 per person, includes gear, and ski wear, can ski for as long as you like... rem to bring a good jacket up.. and don wear jeans.. else will be very cold... try to wear a pair of good waterproof and wind proof track pants..

Last day was spent at Zurich..

Best is to try find YHA accomodation that has a kitchen to prepare your own food.. food is expensive in Swiss.. a MacDonald meal will cost you CF12. hmmm.. if you are not driving, then get the swiss rail pass.. unlimited travel by rail all throughout switzerland... not sure if it wil include the rails up to the alps though...

anyway, if you do have the time, can take a day trip up to Fussen, Germany, to pay the famous fairytale Neuschwanstein Castle a visit.. Fussen is juz very near to the swiss border...

Hope it helps..

strawberry

would like to check if anyone's planning to go Switzerland for honeymoon?
and what's the weather like in Jan?

thanks!!

val

Hi strawberry,

Switzerland is also one of my consideration...Thot of going skiing there also..hehe Erm...I think it's winter during Jan from the msgs I saw above...Can anyone help us on that? Are you considering package tour or free and easy?

hazel

Hi strawberry n Val,

I went to Switzerland for my honeymoon in Sept.

I think Jan shld b winter. Niway, Switzerland is a very nice, can do free and easy cos it's really veri easy to move ard in Switzerland.

Let me know if there's any info i can provide.

val

Hi Hazel,

How long did you spend at switzerland? Does it take very long to travel from town to town? Erm...I have not done any homework on which are the places to visit etc...Can you advise? On average, how much did you spend for both you and hubby for the whole honeymoon including the air tix and everything...

Hmm...alot of qns huh?

hazel

Hi Val,

We oni spent abt. 5 days in switzerland. b4 we arrived in Switz, we still had completely no idea wat to expect.. totally free n easy, without planning type.

We bought F&E tix from Chan Brothers which include air tix + 3 nites' acc. in Zurich... think it was ard. $1.7K-1.8K. But was flying on Air France (an airline dat we won't ever want to try again).

On top of dat, we bought e Swiss Pass... which is valid for train rides in Switz, cheaper dat way.. but i can't rem. e exact price we paid, could be 100+ Sing or US$... there's diff. pricing for diff # of days' usage

But u really do not hv to worry abt. travelling in Switz. cos' it's really easy n convenient. Every morning, we set e target location we wanna visit, walk to e train station, make enquiries at e tourist counter. They speak English, so no problem. When we reach our destination, we'll go to e tourist counter again, get a map of e town, n do our own walking from there.

Depending on which town u wanna go, but Switz is not dat big, we've oni travelled on train, Zurich to Lucern, Bern was abt 1-2 hrs' train ride if i rem correctly.

We've oni managed to cover Lucerne, Bern, Zurich, Jungfrau (a must go), me not e adventurous type... heheh... n we juz wanna relax when we were there.

We spent a lot for our whole honeymoon cos' we joined an Insight tour b4 we go to Switzerland... so our expenditure will not reflect well on e cost. All in, we've spent abt. 12K for both, for a total of 15 days' in Europe, covering Italy, Switzerland and Southern France. The amt. spent is v high as we had good accomodation n food, thus e great difference.

I think for Switz. alone, we cld hv spent abt. $5K+ (air tix + accom + transport + food). Accom. in Switz is esp. expensive, we stayed an additional nite in e 3* hotel provided by f&e package (not as gd as all those provided by Insight), it cost abt. $300 per nite, no air-con wan, but got bath-tub lar.

no worries abt. asking qns lar, i'll b glad to help if i can. Can email me too if u like.

besse

Hi Val

Maybe you can get a lonely planet guidebook on pure swiss alone.. check on the peak seasons - eg, any festivals etc.. cos that can result in accomodations being more expensive and less readily avail if you plan to go on F&E.

We took a car and drive in Swiss.. easy to drive cos all major cities are connected on the highway.. but one warning, don try driving on the mountain roads.. cos the roads are narrow and windy, and can be stressful on not v competent drivers..

Food and accomodations expensive in swiss.. but think if you go for 2 weeks, can budget for abt 6K a person.. should be enuff..

If you wan more info, can oso email me by clicking on my nick..

Hav a good week ahead

val

Thanks Hazel and Besse. I'll discuss with hubby abt how we wanna go about it first cos honeymoon...if change hotels everyday (on tour package) also like very sian...but if dun change hotels, I worry may spend alot on travelling time, waste time...You gals are really helpful..

besse

Val

Hahah.. yeah, change hotel v sian.. not to mention that the tour groups will always rush you from tourisy place to place.. you cant enjoy the local sights and sounds, not to mention the nice off beaten tracks..

Maybe i can suggesst that you stay a couple of nites in the few major cities - eg, Lucerne, Lausanne, and interlaken, as well as the south eastern part of zermatt..

carol

Hi Hazel,

My husband and I will be going to Switzerland for our honeymoon in Jan. Just booked airtickets & accomodation yesterday at CTC. We wanted emirates but can't even get on wait list. So in the end, only Air France is available. Can you share with me what happened during the flight that made you and your hubby upset with them? Its a 15 hrs flight so really didnt want to suffer the entire journey, plus the fact that it is $350 more than Emirates per pax.

hazel

Hi carol,

We oso had Air France cos' dat was e oni available pair of tickets for us after calling many agencies. Well, maybe we were pure unlucky with Air France, niway, it's just our personal experience to share with u.

To cut long story short:
1. Our connecting flight from Paris->Milan was cancelled due to Pilots' strike at Air France. Cos' of dat, we were strandled in airports for abt. 12 hours and oso had to spend additional $ on cab fare to reach our assigned hotel on our own.

2. Thru'out our long hual flight from Sin->Paris, both our sound system were spoilt. So, we could oni stare at e entertainment system wif noise from e earphones for e whole journey.

3. Back from Paris->Sin. Flight was delayed for abt. 45 mins, dunno y.

4. Long hual flight from Paris->Sin, my entertainment system was spoilt. Staring at e same screen for e whole journey. Again, no entertainment.

5. Seats on Air France are small, not v comfortable, maybe same as other airlines (but heard Emirates' are comfy ), and their trays are flimsy, and my cup holders on one of e flights is oso spoilt.

6. Our conclusion: no more Air France. We would rather pay more for SIA in future, but gotta book early lar. At least neber hear of SIA strike rite? European airlines strikes are so common these days, spoil our holiday. Oh, Swiss Air is v much better than Air France, if u r considering. We had Swiss Air from Zurich to Milan and we could feel e difference instantly.

carol

Hazel, thanks for the feedback on Air France. We will really want a more comfortable flight since we will be stuck there for 15hrs. Will still try for Emirates but chances are slim. Or, will have to pray for hard that there will be no strike and no spoilt items.

b

can try MAS.. or Thai airways..

me took MAS to Frankfrut.. quite alrite.. cos price is good too..

diasy

M thinking of going Switzerland for honeymoon this June. Saw in the previous messages that quite a number of u have went there b4. Wd like to tap into your experiences

Is it easy to drive around Switzerland? What the car rental cost like & what's the estimated budget for a 12-15 day trip to Switzerland & Paris?

Thanks!...

idono

We're also considering honeymoon in Switzerland during early july period.

My information so far suggest that we get the rail pass instead of driving as rail transport in switzerland is really comprehensive

jan03

Hi Idono,

so you also thinking of going Switzerland. We went Europe for our honeymoon too. We spent a week in Switzerland, and two weeks in Paris and England.

You are rite! Get the swiss pass. It gets you anywhere in switzerland. Can be used on train, boat etc. very very good.

Hi Snowy, my advice is dun drive in switzerland and NEVER drive in Paris. Its crazy, you will realize why you need bumpers on cars when you are in paris cos cars are parked so close to each other that you have to hit the bumper to get out. We took the Metro (like our MRT) everywhere in Paris. It is very convenient once you learnt how to read the directions. But do be careful of pickpockets though. A lot of tourists also take the Hop-on/Hop-off buses. You buy a day-ticket and you can hop on/hop off at tourist spots.

Food in Switzerland and Paris is expensive, so you must budget a little more for that. You can find sandwiches for about 3 plus euros, so that is about S$7. And if you really are on budget, you can forget about buying coke cos its expensive in the restaurant. Usually its about S$7 too. Suggest you buy bottles of Evian from mini-mart instead.

If you want to drive, you can consider going to England. We took the Tube (MRT) in London but rented car to drive from London to Manchester. Guess there's no need to explain why we went Manchester except to visit Old Trafford. Car rental is expensive. We paid about $400 singapore dollars for 3days and that is cos of the weekend promotion. Do call a few car rental companies before deciding.

A honeymoon in Europe is really great, but cost wise, it can get a little steep, we spent 12k for nearly 3 weeks (excluding shopping). For girls who love LV bags, pls buy in Paris, its v worth it after the tax refund.

idono

Hi Jan03,

You're the Jan03 from Eden?
Did you just say 12k for 3 weeks?! Err... need to confirm again leh, coz I dun print tht much money. I was thinking like $6k for 2 weeks. I should be touring 10D Switzerland and then spend 4D in Germany.
If so ex, then no choice liao, hv to go cairns or seattle.

everafter

hi idono,

i am also planning for my honeymoon to Europe....
.....thinking of signing up with contiki / trafalgar for their 16 - 21 days land tour to have a feel of those major cities / tourist attractions and extend another week at london (free n easy).....it's a must to catch Phantom of the Opera there......heard it's superd!!

a package with trafalgar / contiki cost abt US$1.4k for 16 - 21days, excluding airfare. idono, me also dun print that much money.....you may consider this (should be a cheaper option)....my colleague followed contiki 2 years back n commented that the hotel accomodation and food are quite good and great service from the native tour guide too.

contiki will be having a minor exhibition this thur at suntec.....they will keep me posted if there are any special deals / discounts by this wed.....

jan03

Hi Idono and everafter,

yes, I am Jan03 from Eden. We also dun print money lah, but I guess the bulk of 12k went to airfare, accomodation and transportation. We really quite budget with food already. Dun forget we are using euros and pounds in europe. At that time, the exchange rate was 1.85 for euros and 2.8 for pounds. So can you imagine...

Agree with everafter that it will be cheaper to take a package tour to europe. We did everything F&E, and in the process actually chalk up a lot more. But on the other hand, we get the flexibility and its not so tiring.

Anyway, if you manage to get cheaper airfare, it is definitely possible to spend 7-8k for two. My friends did that but for some nites, they put up at not so good motels.

The months that you travel also matters. Think peak season like July, the accomodation is also more expensive.

idono

Err... I just bought 2 tix to Seattle on the spur of the night moment, thru internet. Its rite after my wedding banquet.

diasy

Thanks, Idono & Jan03,
Yah, I've heard that it's gd to travel by rail in switzerland but we were juz thinking of the hazzle of carryin our luggage from place to place instead of just dumping them all in the car when we drive around Switzerland.. dunno whether it's practical.

Anyway, apart from about 8-12 days in Switzerland, oso thinking of another 4-5 days in either Paris or another nearby country..

Any idea whether a budget of $10k for 2 is enough?

idono

Hi Snowy,

You just echoed my gf...haha, err.. FW

Her first comment when I told her by rail is the more logical choice, she went "Does that means I've to carry my own luggage?"

heh... Cheers

I think $10k is sufficient for your plan. I think can cut on hotel stays to keep the cost lower. Use hostels or motels

jenjen

hi snowy, there are big lockers almost in every train station... there's plenty of space to dump ur luggages for 1 day for CHF6 to CHF8...

everafter

hehee.....that's mean there are 3 edeners here.....jan03, idono n myself.....

heard we can stay at B&B and it's really quite cheap compare to hotel.....a lot to choose fm in London and Scotland.

jan03, i agree with u that F&E is more fun cos can travel at our own pace......but it is much more exp as the agencies able to offer more competitive rates but bad pt is it is really very very rush......can see only n little time to enjoy,

mewz

Will be going to F&E europe trip with my FH and another couple fren in mid June for 2 weeks....bought the tix to Paris duiring the UOB promo...plan to go mainly Paris, Swiss... Austria/Germany maybe oni touch abit, thinking of duno whether to go Neuchanstein castle and the black forest...we plan to take the train in Paris...and drive in Switzerland...anyone got good recommendations for accomodations in the places mentioned?...we dun want to spend too much..working at budget of $5K per pax for our trip...hmm..dunno if it is realistic...

How about driving tips in Swiss, Austria and germany??? any comments?

diasy

Haha..,idono, the 'dumping luggage in car' was my husband's idea. Maybe he's scared that he'l end up carrying all my luggage :p.

Btw, everafter, what's edener? Is Eden where u all are staying??

kit kat

Good morning everyone!

Am going to Switzerland this April 03 and desperately need help in planning.....

Other the the usual Bern, Luzern, Interlaken, Zermatt I still have 1-2 days left unplanned. Can someone please advise if Lugano or Lausanne is nicer? If neither, how about St Moritz or Geneva?

I did not plan in Zurich and Geneva at this moment cos I am trying to avoid Cosmopolitan cities, I would love to have more mountain, lakes and scenaries.

What do you all think?

Thanks a lot!

Kit Kat