Swissotel The Stamford

9ngel

hi, I'm also under the old package.
My wedding is in early dec, can anyone advise when I should start contacting the florist to view their design and favours?

spqing17

Hi 9ngel,

I will suggest you to start making appointments now! They are quite busy to meet unless you can meet them during weekdays day time.

If you want to meet them during weekdays evening time, it may not be the person in charge but the ops manager.

Otherwise, they only have appts on Sat mornings.

miss_sunshine

9ngel: hi! i'm early dec too. when's yours!?
will be going down this coming thursday for food-tasting. during which, will discuss the card printing, get the floor plan, discuss printing and florist matters with coordinator (Shalica). u done ur food tasting?

ladies, any under the harmony package? anyone tried the prawn wasabe mayo? is it too "sting" for elderlies and children?

9ngel

spqing17 -> thanks for the info. Seems like I'm late. Alot of things haven't do yet ;p Who have you met? Any recommended theme?

steff -> mine's on 6th Dec. =D when's yours? wow you are having your food-tasting so early? I'm planning to have it early-mid nov, is that too late? I'm having harmony package too ... but there's no prawn wasabe mayo in the menu. Is yours the updated menu?

spqing17

Hi 9ngel,

For the old package, i think 2 companies are listed, Impact Creative and Woodsville.

For my case, I can only meet on weekends, so meaning left with only Sat mornings cos the companies usually work only half day on Sat n not work on Sundays.

Tried to make appointment with both, super very hard to get Woodsville, like have to wait for 2-3 wks cos the person in charge is always very busy and packed with appointments when i called.

after much hoo ha (missed appts, no call back etc), i end up with Impact as they are more responsive than Woodsville.

Impact have quite a lot of themes to choose from. so really depends on your preference.

ryakris

May I know do I need to contact the hotel to arrange for food tasting or they will call me to arrange?
My wedding is coming Dec.

pearlypearl

hi everyone! i'm oso a BTB with STS, and my wedding day is in Dec!

has anyone printed your invite cards with the vendor, Jasvy, which is appointed by STS? i heard their service sucks! :S

mooncynthia

hi im a STS bride on 29 Dec. Just went for food tasting last evening, the food is really not nice, as what I have expected from words spread around: Here are my reviews:

two dishes out of 8 courses that were quite jialat that we have to complain to the chef:

1. Sauteed Scallops with celery and red pepper topped with Roasted Pine Nuts: the scallop was almost raw on the inside but it was cooked on the outside, we spoke to the chef he explained that normally scallops are 80% cooked only so that they are more juicy, but its really too raw, never ate so raw scallop in my whole life despite so many hotels and restaurant we frequent.
2. Bake pork spare ribs, capital style : pork ribs were too salty and starchy, not nice.

the other 5 dishes were not fantastic either.

However dessert warm glutinous rice with vanilla ice cream was not bad.

Imagine food tasting they also do until so jialat, sad.

Actually I have many BTB frens who have already went for food tasting b4 me and has already pre-warn me about their -ve reviews. So we sort of expected already too. :s

mooncynthia

yar, but anyway most hotel wedding banquet sucks?? ha ha..though there are some good ones too. everything i tok abt this, everyone point finger to marina mandarin lol :p

Pearl wats your wedding date?

zephyrine

Hi, I had my wedding in STS last year, and my guests only had praises for the food, even till today

good reviews were received for the scallop w pine nuts dish, the baby abalone with spinach dish and for dessert we changed it to yam paste w ginko nuts and it was really good.

just my 2 cents' worth

pameley

Just got my invitations from jasvy. I thought working with them was a breeze.
I think the draft went through abt 5 rounds of amendments and each time Jason was very quick in replying.

My AD is 20 dec. Ryakris, is yours that day too? Which ballroom are u taking?

Food tasting and choosing table cloth colour is with hotel. We must make the appt ourselves by calling, they didn't call me. Same thing with printers and decor. Everything we must diy. But so far my experience with Florence from Impact is great. She's prompt in replying and offers quite a lot of flexibility.

My food tasting will be in end nov.

ryakris

mine is on that day too. Canning ballroom. U?

Wow, you printed your invitations already? I yet to do anything...decor..invitations..food tasting..lolx

gerlyn830

Anyone can tell me what is the measurement for the invites??? I doing my church invite 1st so need to make sure it is not too big... thanks

wifey_vicky

seeing so many negative comments about STS foods, im quite worried about it already..

my PIL is quite particular about the quality of the food.. =(

what can we do then..

pameley

RKYL, yes me too! 20 Dec at Padang and Collyer. Haha, we can come out and wave at each other!
Yeah, I printed my invites, and settled the decor and favours, I'm kiasu la, coz got a lot of guests to get through *faint*

Gerger, wedding invite is 150mm by 150mm. You got printer lobang? I also doing my church invite.. i heard tommyprint not bad, but still looking around.

Vicky, I think the food at STS is okay. Not great but okay. Been there for 2 weddings, and it was not bad, and servings very large. (heh, maybe i'll fit 11 people on some of my tables, esp if there are kids.)

miss_sunshine

hi!

anyone has any pictures of themes that either woodsville or impact are providing?

hmm...what about favours? no one seems to talk about favours here.. hehehee.. anyone know the choiceS?

i see many december here.. i'm dec 5th.

done my food tasting...the chicken with prawn with wasabi dressing ain't too fantastic.. but we liked the scallop with celery, and the baby abalone (yummy!). Food tasting, for me and hubby, went well, with everyone enjoying the food. Shalica also made it a point to wait for us, explain certain things and answered queries for us before the food tasting. thumbs up!

Jason (Jasvy) was prompt too! He gave us the draft for the wedding invites within 24 hours.
We ordered littled customised ang pows with him during which as well. All in all, it was fuss-free and it took less than 20 minutes to get all things settled. So, service wise, we like it fuss free and *snap snap* quick, which Jasvy did.

Now down with meeting with Florence, and do the guo da li stuff, minor renovations to our bedroom. AhhHhhhH! so worried things are left out.

anyone booked honeymoon??

ryakris

Rather than having peanuts/potato chips at the reception, anyone decided to opt for something a little more special: picture a HUGE ice-sculpture, filled with, well, ICE, and pile on fresh strawberries, laid beside a serving table that has little dessert plates, which you then add generous servings of melted hot chocolate fudge

pearlypearl

JJ> My wedding is on Christmas day, 25th Dec.

I'm so glad so many things have been completed this week.

My wedding bouquet and flowers for the wedding car and follower cars are done with Green Point Flower florist... parents' corsages and my hair flowers are also included.

We have also met up with Ivy from Jasvy and confirmed our invite cards... we have printed the personalised ang pows too; we opted 50 pcs for the mini ones and 50 pcs for the normal red ones.

On Sat, we went to Impact and met Florence.. we confirmed our decos under the Glitzy theme but will be changing the flowers abit as we told Florence we would like to add in some Christmas feel.

As for the favours, I would say they are not fantastic, very limited. We picked 2 items to alternate them at each table; a wedding magnet and a shot glass which is out of stock at the moment.. but Florence advised she has already placed an order and waiting for the shipment.. if it is unavailable, we will be taking the mini photo frame instead.

Thereafter, we headed to a wine supplier to check out the wine and confirmed 78 bottles of red for the banquet and 6 bottles of white for the cocktail reception. My cocktail reception will display an ice sculpture with strawberries served which come as a compliment from the hotel.

pearlypearl

We have also fixed the food tasting in end of Oct... upon reading all the comments here about the food, am quite worried about the standard too... *fingers crossed*

ryakris

Anyone has comments on this dish "Stir-fried Assorted Mushrooms and Water Chestnuts with Diced Duck in Sambal Chilli"?

Any pic on this?

miss_sunshine

RK: it's very SALTY! come think about it, my family didnt like it much. it was a tinge too spicy for my liking, and perhaps the food portion was HUGE and therefore, till that dish, we didn't like it anymore.

but very salty! sorry, no pic

anyone's booked bencoolen?

ryakris

steff > I haven been to the food tasting. I changed that dish to Crispy Tofu with Shitake mushrooms served in oyster sauce . But I don't know if this change of dish is worth the price..lolx. Did you change that dish since your family didn't really like it?

ryakris

Did anyone of you print out floorplan for each of your invitation card since there will be many weddings on the same day and 5 ballrooms altogether which can be quite confusing for guests?

bkgal

hi steff, i saw ur post so tot its good to share. i suggest its good for you to arrange an apptmt with woodsville. i've sent email to cecilia and she is very prompt in her reply. Also, very friendly lady who shows u the various themes & decors.Plus the wedding favours are plenty to choose from. good for u to see as u can have a different views and can compare both vendors. I've yet to meet Impact and will do so soon. My dinner is week after urs. hope to exchange more info wif u soon!

mymelodygal

Anyone has hotel coordinator to recommend? Can send me their email address? Wanna get their 2010 wedding package from them

I’m keen to host my wedding banquet there nxt year but need to get recommendation from experience brides =)

Please help and advice if there are any areas to look at before we sign =)

bubblestan

I'm keen to hold my wedding in STS but worried about parking.

Understand they give 10% ( at most up to 15%) of complimentary parking.

Dont mind paying the extra for parking, but is finding parking lots going to be a problem on saturday evening?

Appreciate if any previous brides can share regarding parking problems.

ryakris

May I ask does Impact send a black and white contract of what we have confirmed on the theme design? Because we may not rem every details of what we have discussed nearer the wedding date. Or they will contact us again as our wedding date is near?

ryakris

cow cow > nope. I only got 1 barrel of beer free. Food tasting is free for me too. But Dannis is very good. He added in more freebies for me nearer my wedding date.

ryakris

The other florist is woodsville. But I do not like woodsville. I went down to meet them and thereafter there was no email from them to follow up though I did ask them to send me an email after the discussion. Impact is more responsive, friendly and flexible.

ryakris

did anyone of been to the recent wedding showcase in sep? Taken any pics..can send me? I need it to show my coordinator the cake design I want.

miss_sunshine

hihi!

havent been here for a while. dannis and shalica definately helped a lot when we have a tiny "crisis" recently. my wedding almost no-go. so scary. but both of them really understanding and accomodating.

i managed to bargained for free usage of projector. i very bad customer. haha.

impact is almost like one-(wo)man show. hard to make appointment with. limited choices of favours too actually. but me and hubby also not very demanding pple lar. haha.

actually...on hind sight, the price u pay is about 1.2k per table. now that me hubby looking frantically for good and affordable wines to serve our guests, we realised the importance of the hotel providing 1 per table. Since swiss doesnt do that, we have to fork out extra for that. factor that in, actually it's comparable in prices with other hotels.

just my two cents worth.

nevertheless, i love the high ceiling and pillarless ballroom. accessibility is a plus! haha :D