Suntec Singapore

the loss one

I would like to seek for some advice on having our wedding dinner at Suntec City. The price & package seem quite reasonable, but I still would like to hear more about it...
Is there any good or bad experiences? I would like to have it on weekday, is it advisable?
Pls give me some advices.

The Loss One

bad encounter

Hi Loss One,

I had a not so good experience with them. Sales staff service is lousy. Follow up is slow.

the loss one

Oh really...
But how about the actual day? Is everything turn out fine??? May I know who was the Sales staff that u were meeting with?

The Loss One

soo

Hi! I would also like to know what are other pples' experiences at Suntec... how's the food & service? The package does seem reasonable. =)

bad encounter

Hi loss one,

Sorry to reply soooo late ...... was out of town on and off ...
Well, I don't wish to mention names but the person I met is a lady. She is an executive. But then, when I met up with the manager, she wasn't friendly either .....
I didn't take up the package with them in the end .....

linda

Yah yah yah! The executive who served is a lady, she doesn't know her work. Follow up is LOUSY with a capital L. She is supposed to get abck to me on the following Monday when I went to see her on a Fri. And she didn't even after I booked with Marina Mandarin. Apparently I have been forgotten. Not that I wanted them too, the price is okay, comparable to some hotels but the floor is BIG and accomodate up to 100+ tables and they have a LARGE and spacious foyer...Very elegant..Bad thing is that shoppers can see you from outside.....

Next stupidest thing is that they require us to pay a 30% of the actual banquet price as a deposit!!!! And they "graciously" allowed us to pay by installment up to 6 months before the date of dinner. 30%!!! At that time I had 80 tables! and 30% is a whooping $15K! Got $$ also not give them like that right? Crazy! And hor, payment of the banquet MUST be paid right after the banquet. Cannot wait till you check out cos Ritz Carlton (yes! They give you a night's stay at Ritz...GREAT! But not worth the trouble and lousy service) and them are not afflicted. Imagine having to settle payment after all the drinking.....

So one thing I concluded, Suntec, good only if you have a lot of tables and you want a place which can accomodate and yet sounds better than Yunan IMM (those with more than 60 tables, other than OH, Yunan, Suntec, Shangri La, Westin...Bo liao!) But Suntec gives lousy service, lousy rules.

Hi Linda,

There are some more hotels with a capacity of more than 60 tables. There are Grand Copthorne Waterfront, Grand Hyatt, Mandarin, Marina Mandarin, The Pan Pacific and The Ritz Carlton.

Well, for quick reference, you can look at the banquet listing page at

http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquets.htm

linda

Thanks Chin Leng,

But I checked, Grand Copthorne, Pan Pac, MM has 60 + 1 or 2 max. That time I had 80 tables!!!!!! But now hubby 'chop' MIL's tables... so HENG AH!!!! Now got 60+ tables I booked with MM...so max is 64....
Thanks for pointing that out!!!
But Suntec really terrible!!!!

Hi Linda,

You are welcome and thank you for your feedback. Guess that Grand Copthorne, The Pan Pacific and Marina Mandarin may have updated the maximum capacity. We'll confirm with the hotels and update the list when we revise the listing in October again.

linda

Wow Chine Leng! I am beginning to think that you dun have to sleep!!!! 2.19am in the morning!!!!! I am sleeping like a pig in hubby's arms liao...Doesn't your wife ever complain?

Hi Linda,

My wife was working late too, so I stayed up to accompany her.

linda

Hehhehe...They both stayed up late working..hmm....I thinking of something naughty.....
Working on Babies?

BTW, honestly Chin Leng, have you any kids yet?

Hi Sunny,

Thanks for the applause.

Hi Linda,

Well, you can find out when you join us in the gathering next week.

monica

hiak hiak. Working late and making babies.
Wah you both can really MULTI TASK huh. hiak hiaks

Yipee yipee!!!! does that mean that Blee is joining too????

dovetail

Haven't been many postings on suntec as a banquet venue. Has anyone held their wedding dinner there recently? Was wondering how the service is like and if they are generous about perks and stuff like that...

james wong

Just wonder anyone had attended any wedding dinners at Suntec? The Convention Centre? Hows their service and food? anyone got any comments?

linda

Yucky service in the sense the girl who served me forget to get back to me. Even until I signed up with Marina Mandarin. I didn't call them until one fine day, someone else called me up 3 months after I went down to ask me "how is my consideration"......Lousy.....
And I have to pay a 30% deposit of the total banquet cost!!!!! That's abt 15K for me at that point in time!!!! MM charges me only $2K. And I will have to settle the bill the night of the dinner cos Ritz carlton is not associated with Suntec...so no paying the day after during your checkout.....
Price was slightly cheaper than most hotels. Orchard Hotel was similar to it and can also hold up to 90 tables.
The only reason why Suntec was shortlisted cos of it capability to hold 1000 guests...Other than that, it is horrible service I have received.

james wong

Dear Linda,

Just wonder which lady called you, I've just attended their wedding show recently, quite tempted to sign up with them, but wish to hear more from u ppl out there before i made the final decision

linda

I can't remember quite clearly but I think it was Agnes or Angie....
Their offer can be quite attractive esp with the free flow of beer. But watch out for their services.

sweetiee

Hi James,

I had attended dinner at Suntec Convention Centre before. The serving of food was very generous, I must say... but a lot of leftover coz the food is just average only. And the lighting and decor, I do find it a bit cold for weddings as it is meant to be convention halls.

james wong

So got any more comments on this venue, cos I'm very keen to place the deposit with them, need more comments from them

jocelyn

I was so disappointed with their arrangement cos I have already make a reservation and yet in the last minute they can call me and tell me that they have another event on that day and so they cannot reserved the place for us anymore and I'm not the only couple who was affected.

karin

Dear Jocelyn,

Which is the date that you've booked? So who's the co-ordinator you've liaise with? I'm quite surprise that they can cancel the reservation at last minute, so did did you ask for any compansation?

orchid

Hi James,

Let's just say that Suntec screwed-up my friend's wedding (60 tbls & with international guests). The people coordinating was unprofessional, the video setup was lousy, the projector did not work (video turned out green!!)...

karin

Dear Orchid,

They screwed-up your friend's wedding, ok. How about the food and services? Issit ok? So when is your friend's wedding? Issist recently?

jocelyn

Hi Karin,

I booked on the 9 NOV 02, and it is a Saturday now I will need to look around again as my mum prefer it to be on Sat cos it will be easier for the guest.

bing

Anyone went to the Suntec Singapore roadshow over the weekend? Any comments about the food and services from Suntec?

just

i juz had my weddin in Suntec last Nov. fantastic service from my co-ord Jasmine and Samantha, but both are not there now.

but must say, they are quite accomodating to my needs and responsible..

food wise, so far no -ve feedback on it.. but service abit slow coz there was 7 weddings that day .. thus we cannot expect much since most are young chaps..

bing

Hi Just,

Thanks for the reply. Samantha is still around. I have spoken to her.

Btw, how's the food?

just

hi Bing
is Sam really ard?? hmm, tot she left Suntec liao.. send my regards to her!! my wedding was on Nov 30, @ ballrm 1

shd go for food tasting and give her feedback and she will try to accomodate to your need and request.

must say the food was met according to our request eg. we requested for diced chicken for our Yam ring dish coz they served luncheon meat during food tasting.. so do take note

and i also requested for red been soup with white lotus.. which was not in menu..

as said, i had not got any -ve feedback from my guests. except that the service was quite slow..

overall.. i give thumbs up for their personal service!!

bing

Yeah, Just. She is still around. Will help to send your regards to her.

I feel more comfortable after hearing your comments about the food and service. Thanks a lot!

babestaurus

Does anyone attended or seen the Suntec Convention Ballroom? There are hving promo over their ballroom this wkend...

Heard bad comments on the food at Suntec last time, not sure whether the food has been improved? But the ballroom set up is really very nice (high ceiling, high stage, special lighting effect and floral set up...etc)! Most impt is their promo package simply attractive at $688nett...!

But come to think of it... the "IMPRESSION" of the venue at Suntec is not as grand as in hotels rite?

Please feel free to drop yr comments!

worry

Sounds attractive.. wat is the min and max capacity? who prepares the food? where is the promotion. is the price for both weekend and weekday?

i agree with your cocerns though.
but if the pricing is really attractive, jus go for it in such econ. do they provide free flow beer.

babestaurus

Hi Worry,
There hv got 3 ballrooms im sure can accomodate any no. of tables. Not sure who is e chef or caterer? The promo is for the ballroom, function room and the concourse. All price are the same for wkday & wkend. They actually hv full set up these 2 days, can go take alook!

As for beer, 2 x 30L so i guess is more than enuf!

celt

The food is average hotel standard. The ballroom package is very worthwhile for the set up. The usual price for the ballroom is about $800. Guess now is a good catch.

kite~

yesterday saw abt 3 to 4 weddings holding on the same day at suntec city. saw 1 bride gg to march in and i find e bride quite pretty. anyone out here? hehe anyway i viewed the ballroom before, it's very long aisle with high ceiling. but then it's sharing of foyer with other wedding couples, not very exclusive.

trizia68

Hi just checking if anyone has just had their wedding or attended wedding at Suntec function room or ball room, I am planning to have it there but seem that from 2000 to 2001 the feedback on their was very bad.
am quite worried.

eileen78

I had my wedding help at suntec ballroom last nov! My personal comments r the reception area is very big as i used the last ballroom fr the escalator and nearest to the toilet too. Their ballroom r pillarless and hv very high ceiling which makes the ballroom looks very grand! Food wise also good! So far most of the comments fr my guest r good. The suite they provide is fr Conrad hotel! very nice suite!

melodie

Hi Eileen

I'm thinking of holding my dinner at Suntec Ballroom. You chose ballroom 3? How many tables did u have? Heard that min. 28 right?

Care share with me more details so that I can convince myself? Tks

smilez_bride

Hi Patrizia & Melodle,
I have attended my colleague's wedding at Suntec function room end last year.. not bad... but function room kind of small, ballroom is bigger. Hmmm.. it is very cold outside the ballroom and function... service and food so-so standard... their wedding favors are nice, esp for ballroom one..
hope this helps...

For those who are considering Suntec Singapore, you may like to take a look at their virtual tours of their ballroom, concourse, gallery and function room. You can also download the wedding package details too in the Suntec Singapore page. All are available at,

www.singaporebrides.com/venue/suntec/

fiona_wpy

I intend to hold my wedding at Suntec Concourse and need you guys comments. Is the food taste nice?? Anyone ever attended the dinner at the concourse and will it be too EXPOSED & weird when the music is ON and during the YUM SHENG?? Any special requests that i can ask for??

melodie

Hi Fiona

My fren just had her wedding there. From wat i heard, the food and service was great!

Dunno abt the concourse atmosphere b'ços i've only seen the ballroom setup before...

But the concourse looks really spacious and romantic.

You can chk with the wedding co-ordinators for more info.

fiona_wpy

Thanks MeLodie...

We've oreadi checked with the coordinator there..that's y we came to know abt this venue!But overall we found that the prices for all the wedding venues in Suntec r comparable to hotels..That's y we r still considering whether to sign up!!Bcos for these prices, we can actually book a good hotel i.e. MM..Now we're in dilemma...

melodie

Hi Fiona

Make ur decision based on ur priorities.

For me the food, service and ambience are the most imp. factors.

Yes, the prices are comparable but not the set-up and venue

Take ur time to recce more venues...

Just my personal comments