Straits Vista @ Marsiling

always25

i used to stay at jw. and at times, i still go back for marketing with mum. realised there are more foreigners staying at jw. And from my experience after my sch at peak hrs, boon lay mrt is super packed. there are the few considerations.

missyyee

Yup. My BF and close aunt are currently staying at Boon Lay and I've always been dropping by very often. Just feel very comfy at Boon Lay.

Always25, you're right on the crowds. Gotta Q to take the stairs or escalators from the MRT and Jurong Point is very crowded all week round (but still comprehensive enough for me!)

I can't wait for the MRT extentions to be done! I was at the Jurong West Gym and I saw the readily done MRT tracks..

We seem to be singing praises of JW instead of Straits Vista! Haha...

justyou

Happy children's day!
Oct is here! selection date will be out soon...
we have waited for so long!
think they push back everything...

maybe we can start to discuss abt the blocks we want!

riversight

Just checked. Mine's on 16 Oct. Where can we find a model of the development? Think need to take a look before selection.

justyou

u mean the real model? the real model is at toa payoh HDB Hub... they will put it up when the selection starts...

the is also the e-version... under flats on offer - your application - SV brochure - 3D estate model

mine is on 12 oct

justme0_0

At last the date release today.. wait until very angry liao.. mine on 12 too..
JY dont worry u will get a date... ^^

west_ger

I also select on 12.10.08 in the afternoon.
Those units facing south are cheaper.
May I know why?
I thought window facing south is more cooling.

justme0_0

IL,
how u know the price of the units? u got the package already?
Yes facing south is very cooling... can fall asleep easily lol

justyou

I got the package too! =)
will be opting in for the OCS for both floor and door...
Also needs to prepare quite a few document...

IL, wat time is your selection? thought sunday is half-day?

always25

its been so quiet. gotten my package two days ago now me and htb trying hard t decide on the units. And we will opt in for both floor and door. Went to hdb see the displays last sun. i must sae the packages are value for money.

Good luck to those of you selecting tomorrow!

My selection is on my birthday 17 Oct. I haven't got a chance to see the booklet yet, it's with my BF.

Which level of HDB building can we go to see the flooring display? Thanks.

justme0_0

from what i observed,there are 10+ ppl giving up the selection on day 1.. so always25 and Jy dont worry, still have chance =)

justyou

Green,
u can go level 3... and they actually display the door and flooring just outside the room where u go book a unit..

JY! and always25!
Jia you for u! sure no problem!
really got alot of ppl give up...
which units are u all looking at?

IL,
we got a 77 unit!
how abt u? which unit did u choose?

west_ger

Hi Lin

I want to take unit 77 one.
But a lot of ppl take when is my turn.
So I take unit 71. What you thin 71?
Actually thougt 75 if 77 taken up. But I heard that 75 had west sun. So I take 71 lor.

justme0_0

always25,

my Q number is 30+ and my appointment time is ard 12pm plus.. IL's Q number is 50+ if im not wrg and hers is around 4pm. Last night took up rate was about 39.. so i roughly calculate 10+ ppl give up their selection.

justyou

so u got a bay window unit? i wanted a bay window unit too... but all taken by others...

if i couldn't get 77, i will get 71 too!
i think 71 is good unit...
cos 75 and 57 will definitely get the full west sun! and 71 will only get partial or may not get.. cos it will be block by blk C...
that's what i think..

can i visit your bay window unit!?! haha!

justyou

IL,
i took up both door and floor...
want to free up more cash...

u took up the bay window unit rite?
i didn't get it...

justyou

These are what we can expect for! New waterfront, another MRT line and Expressway for us!

1. "the Government has given the go-ahead to build the North-South Expressway or NSE by 2020 to cater to the projected growth in travel between the northern and city areas. With the 21 km-long NSE, Singapore’s 11th expressway costing $7-8 billion, residents in the north can expect travel time to the city to be cut by 30%. "

source : http://app.mot.gov.sg/data/s_08_01_30.htm

and

2. "The Downtown Line (DTL) will be built in three stages, with Stage 1 to be completed in 2013, Stage 2 to be completed in 2015 and Stage 3 in 2016. When fully completed, the DTL will enhance the connectivity of the Rapid Transit System network and facilitates direct travel from the northwestern and eastern areas of the island to the Central Business District and the Marina Bay. The DTL is projected to see a daily ridership of more than half a million when in full operation.

source : http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/index_proj_dtl.htm

3. Residents in Woodlands New Town get to enjoy more recreation spaces at their doorsteps

The Urban Redevelopment Authority today unveiled the design proposals for the Woodlands Waterfront, comprising a coastal promenade and a park in Woodlands. The new facilities are part of URA's plans to enhance our living environment by capitalising on our natural assets.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/skyline/skyline08/skyline08-01/text/01.htm

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2008/pr08-14.html

west_ger

Hi Lin

I just saw the changes in the johore straits.
What will they change for the mrt? near our place?

Anyway I dun get the bay window lor.

justyou

so far only know that they will make the current woodlands MRT into a interchange MRT (meaning woodlands MRT will be the interchange for the current red line and a new thomson line)

the waterfront is cool! no need to east coast park with this new waterfront! haha!

77 popular because no west sun (compare to 75 and 57..) and have good view of the sea too.

but now 77 like mostly taken up... cos i think must at least 18 floor to have a chance for the sea view bah...

some ppl also prefer to get bay window units/higher floor... depends on wat u want bah.. not nesscessary only 77 good... the rest also quite good.

but i think those south facing units have their good points too!
they get very nice wind... those facing north like not much wind leh..

bay window is a protruding window... with 550mm parapet.. so can sit on or design the parapet...
it also means bigger in size.... 95sqm, instead of 93sqm of normal without bay window..

very few units with bay window...
so it's really a bonus to get 1...
don't have also never mind bah...

must console myself! cos i didn't get 1...!

filagal..
long time no see!
where have u been?
when u selecting? looking at which unit?