SPAIN HONEYMOON

starrystarry

Any BTB planning on a honeymoon with FH to Spain.
Would like to start this thread so us, ladies, can share any info we have collected on Spain

Personally, I would like to visit Madrid, Valencia and Barcelona.

What do you gals think of these 3 places?
Am thinking of a 2 week honeymoon.
Any contributions?

smoke

on your own or via agency? if on your own i must intro u to this great website -
www.iberia.com
this is spain's internal domestic airline, n u can fly inter city for as little as 18euro per person depending on when u fly n how early u book. Check it out! We went to madrid, bcn, toledo, granada, ronda, espot and seville. We flew on iberia twice. It's even cheaper than train n saved on lots of time.
When in madrid PLS pop to toledo n spend at least a night there...u wont regret....lovely medeviel place....only an hour or so coach's ride from madrid n so much to offer.

MOST impt....pls visit this FANTANSTIC website : http://www.madridman.com/
it has ALL things u need to plan trips to Spain!

HV FUN!!!!

starrystarry

Hi Smoke,

Great advise!
I'm contemplating a F&E, but am afraid that I do not know what are the places to visit.
When you were there, did you take up day tours?
Was language a problem?
And most importantly, how much did you and you HB spent on the trip?

smoke

we covered spain plus paris in 3 weeks n spent around 8/9k. we planned everything on our own...i wasn't working so had d luxury of time to do lots of net surfing etc. pls spend time on the info n forum in madridman website, really beri useful n informative.

no we cheapo....never took any day tour....haa...basically when we arrived we would use the map n walked around d place n visit well-known places...e.g. barcelona would be the gaudi architecural bldgs etc. We really loved ronda n toledo....quaint towns

Honestly speaking they dont converse much in eng but they do understand the usual stuff. useful to learn basic spanish e.g. 'gracias' - thanks. 'cafe con leche' - cafe latte 'si' - yes
But me n hubby survived by hand gestures too so nt much of problem. :D

starrystarry

8/9k is not a lot for 3 wks plus paris. Was planning a budget of 7k. Hum....should be able to make it within the budget.

Will definately surf that website. Thanks for the info

starry:

7K is reasonable for a pair of travellers for 2wks spain only. Spain is cheaper than Paris and London. If you're not planning to join day tours, or enter places that require a ticket, it can reduce your costs lower. You will find many museums and churches in europe that offer foc accesses. If you really want to tighten your belts, you can live on just water, baguettes or sandwiches.

I know, I know...it's hard to resist a tapas meal when you're there...and even harder to resist Zara and Mango, but what to do...

starrystarry

Haha....i'm a huge Mango fan....sure cannot resist *faint*
My wedding's on Oct 06. So I'll be travelling end Oct. Any idea hows the weather during this period of time?

really?!! me too but this season's collection so so only leh. I prefer Zara...
oic, that means u r only going there in end Oct 2006?

starrystarry

I agree...in fact for the past 2 seasons, quited disappointed.
I don seem to fit well into Zara clothes though. They are a little oversized, especially their work clothes

jam75

hi gals...

mi oso booked HM spain & portugal for 13days wif ananda travel...but rcvd a bad news cos mi AD in Jan will b leaving HM in early Feb but just called them they say only mi & hb going...tink most probably can't go liow...they say they will try to push for us...do u tink chances r high???

starrystarry

Hum...could be becos the chinese new year is at the end of Jan. So not many people will be travelling in beginning of Feb. Moreover during beginning of the year, not many people is in the travelling mood.
Maybe you can try free and easy? If not the next choice would be to choose another country to visit

jenng

Hi Starry/ yuletide,

I am also planning to spain end of next oct'06. me cannot resist then zara hehe

Hi Smoke

Is language really not a problem?

smoke

hi jen,

yup lang really isnt a prob, We didnt hv probs even in 'ulu' non-touristy araes like espot, hence major places like madrid n barcelona really no prob! : ) esp. barcelona which is so metropolitan. Juz dat pple there prefer to converse in spanish
in any case compared to other european countries Spanish pple are more helpful n friendly.

one thing abt zara n mango...gals dont be too hopeful. when i was there last mar/apr...sale was going on n the place was like a mad house with clothes strewn all over. zara n mango there were like our hang ten n giodano here...clothes were messily arranged n i suppose i got turn off, since me wasn't much of a seasoned veteran sales period shopper (such things need practice!). Do go to www.madridman.com where many experts there can give u ALL d ans u need.

jam75, why nt do it on your own? spain is pretty easy to get around n to book accomo etc

jam75

smoke,
both mi & hb not gd in F&E...tink to save our time & trouble to seach & get info we will better stick wif tour group...if worst come to worst we might postphone to later date...so mar/apr will b better to travel to spain??

hi smoke, jen and jam:
Agree with Smoke...Zara and MNG are high street labels like H&M, Topshop etc. But what the heck...I can't resist Spanish fashion!!! Did u see Raoul there too??? Who knows, you can grab some Real Madrid paraphernalia too, or bump into Beckham, Raul???!! "me gustas mucho!!!"

F&E is not as daunting as it sounds. It gives u a better feel of the country, cos you learn to appreciate more of the culture and the lifestyles.. Besides, you determine the pace at which u travel... Language will not be a problem in the bigger cities, but when u venture into the countrysides and smaller towns, then you'll hv to play charade with those old Spaniards! I almost died gesticulating wildly to an old electrician in Granada!

starrystarry

Actually jam75 is rite..hai...me also the lazy type. Free and easy also too troublesome for me. May opt for tour package which is simpler.

jam75

starry,
mi 2 tink troublesome for research for info...anyway we hv been busying preparing our AD already v tired liow...now HM is to relax loh...so when u plan to go?? do u hv any idea when is the best time to travel there??

gs1979

hi gals, i just went to Spain for HM recently. It was a 7days F&E trip. Hubby & i had great fun and memorable memories!! We went to Barcelona & Madrid. The weather is great cos it was summer. Food wise was ok except abit too salty. Pple in Madrid are v friendly & helpful.

Strongly recommend u gals to go Spain for HM!!

gs1979

hi starry, language wasnt a big problem. Most pple speak English. There were many china pple staying in barcelona & madrid. u b surprised cos they were from one province of china and migrated there. My hubby was there on a business trip and i took a flight there myself. 14hrs flight alone was indeed an exposure for me. heee!!
We spent around $6k cos its F&E alot on shopping...like Zara, Mango. The hotel we stayed in Barcelona was a 2star rating. But the service was excellent and they even provided free internet serv. Whereas the service at the 3star hotel in madrid wasnt so fantastic. Gotto pay for the internet serv.

My hubby was the one who booked all the accomodations before flying there. Overall, we were quite satisfied with this trip.

Btw, I can provide u gals the hotel details and other info if u all need it.

starrystarry

Hi Gintonic,

Glad to know that language is not a problem. But how do you guys get around the place and did you take any of the local tours to go to places of interest? Cos I think without a guide to introduce the place, we won't be able to understand the place well enough.

Oh, $6k isn't too much. Is that for the both of you including food, accomodation, spendings plus your own air-fare? I believe your HB's air-fare has been taken care off by his company rite?

smoke

Hi starrystarry,

in madrid we moved around on our own coz it's quite easy to do so to navigate with a map.

Like i said....u can spend time to check out www.madridman.com that offers loads of great advice from fellow spain lovers. i got great info from readers there. In barcelona we bought passes for the 'hon on and hop off' tour bus that dropped us at different hot spots to explore. pls see see some info i got from fellow spain lover as follows:

Guide to Barcelona
Transfer from the airport into the CITY: Aeroport del Prat: 12 Kms southwest of city Tourist offices, banks, and luggage storage, ATMs in terminals.
Aerobus: this is how I usually go. Simple, easy, leaves every 15 min. from 6 to midnight, 6:30 week days and holidays, and only takes 25-30 minutes to the Placa de Catalunya. From there you can catch a taxi to your hotel. Departs from right outside the international terminal. Luggage racks. It makes intermediate stops at Placa Espanya and Placa Universitat. To return to airport from Placa Catalunya, Aerobus departures from 5:30 a.m. Monday to Friday and from 6 a.m. weekdays and holidays. Cost: 3 Euros
Train: It takes about 20 minutes to get into the city from the station, but the station is a long walk from the terminal. Trains stop at all major train stations, Sants, plus Placa Catalunya and depart every 1/2-hour. Ticket costs 2,30 Euros. The Aerobus is the better option unless you’re immediately connecting from the airport to a regional train.
City Transportation:
Taxis: Can be hailed only at the official taxi stops.
Metro: Of very limited use to a tourist, but the single fare cost is only 1 Euro, and T-día, a one day pass for unlimited travel, costs 4,60 Euros, 2-dIes goes for 7,60, 3-dies for 10,80 Euros.
Bus: Same price as the metro and special day cards are valid for both bus and metro.
Sightseeing:
Hop on-Hop off, do it your way bus tours:
The very easiest, least labor/walking intensive, time-consuming way of seeing all the city attractions is to buy a ticket for the Bus Turistic. The visitor who tries to see all of BCN’s attractions his own way by foot/bus/metro wins the “dumb tourist of the year awardâ€. I’ve tried it and learned the hard way. BCN’s attractions are incredibly spread out, and some are not easily accessible by metro. For example, to reach the National Museum of Romanesque Art, you could take the metro to the Placa de Espanya stop and walk, but you’ll be walking uphill, climbing for the next 15 to 20 minutes. Even though there are escalators (“people moversâ€) to take you to the top, the last tier of escalators is a little hard to find and sometimes are non-functioning, or being worked on. Just take the Bus Turistic. I recommend buying the 2-day pass and doing your sightseeing leisurely over the next two days, doing the northern (red) circuit on the 1st day and the southern (blue), on the second.
If you’re short on time, the whole tour, north and south, can be done in a single day. There are 27 possible stops along the way. It will take you through the Olympic Port as well, plus a stop in front of the Parque de la Ciudadella, for an optional visit to the zoo, to see the famous “Copito de Nieveâ€, BCN’s albino gorilla, who’s getting quite old. Just start at the Placa Catalunya on the red (northern) route, then get off the bus at the Francesc Macia - Diagonal stop to switch to the southern blue route. Easy. TAKE THE VERY FIRST BUS; LEAVING THE PLACA CATALUNYA RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE EL CORTE INGLES PROMPTLY AT 9 A.M. YOU WON’T REGRET THE EARLY START! BY MID-MORNING, THESE BUSSES GET QUITE CROWDED. One-day pass costs 14 Euros Bus comes by every 10 to 15 minutes. We never had to wait long, even in June.
You’ll be given a little book of explanations of the sites and a booklet chock full of discounts for tours/museum entrances/cable car/â€Las Golondrinas†boat tour (not a bad way to spend 40 min. on a steamy summer’s day), etc. There’s a very limited commentary by hostesses on board in several languages. Take your guidebook along with you for maximum enjoyment.
You can read more here: www.tmb.net/eng/fes_turisme/festurisme_bus.jsp
Another discount card is the Articket, which gives you free entrance to 6 museums for 15 euros; however, you must have an interest in visiting all 6 for it to be worthwhile.
Seedy Areas to Avoid:
Avoid the lower El Raval quarter behind the lower Ramblas, particularly at night. Escudellers street, just off of and east of the Ramblas is another place to avoid at night, as well as the nearby Placa George Orwell that attracts a druggy crowd. Watch your belongings at all times when strolling down the Ramblas, or in the Old Quarter, Ciutat Vella. In fact, leave all your valuables in hotel safe; just carry a copy of your passport and essential credit cards in a neck pouch. Beware of Gypsies, don’t accept flowers, become involved in any card or dice games, ignore those who spill something on your clothing, or point to a stain and offer to clean it for you. While doing so, they’ll be picking your pocket!
Major sightseeing attractions:
Gaudí’s Modernist works, the Catalán Art Nouveau: Sagrada Familia church, a giant, open construction site where you can climb to the top of one of the spires, but elevators weren’t functioning on my last visit, can be reached easily by metro. His Palau Guell in the Raval quarter on Carrer Nou de la Rambla, 3, right off the Ramblas. Open Monday to Saturday from 10 am – 1 pm and 4 –7 pm. Guided tours in English for 2,50 Euros. His 50-acre Parc Guell. Delightful, particularly if you have kids in tow. You can visit his house/museum Monday – Sunday, 10 am - 5:45 pm for 3 Euros. The park encompasses fanciful gatehouses, fountains, arched and elevated walkways and viewing terraces, Casa Batlló on the Passeig de Gracia, 43 and Casa Milá, nicknamed La Pedrera, “the stone quarryâ€, on Passeig de Gracia, 92. Make sure to visit the roof at Passeig de Gracia for an up-close view of the surreal chimneys, Monday - Sunday, 10 am – 8 pm, 6 euros. Note the famous block to the left as you go north on the Passeig de Gracia. It’s called the Mansana de la Discordia, block of discord, where you’ll see three wildly contrasting works in a row from the three great Modernist architects: Gaudi, Domenech I Montaner and Puig I Cadafalch.
The wonderful Museu Picasso: The new museum is housed in a medieval mansion on pretty, mansion filled Carrer Montcada in El Born, to the east of the Barri Gotic. Strong on his very early works, as young as 12! Plus his blue period, a bit of his rose period and the series based on Velázquez’s Las Meninas. You can expect long lines, so go early. Open Tuesday to Saturday and holidays from 10 am – 8 pm, Sundays 10 am – 3 pm. Tickets are 4,80 Euros each. Closed Mondays. First Sun of the month is free.
A walk through the Barri Gotic: The Cathedral La Seu, open from 8:30 am - 1:30 pm and 4 - 7:30 pm. You can watch the locals form circles and see them dance the “sardanaâ€, the Catalán national dance prohibited during the Franco regime, on Saturdays at 6:30 p.m. and on Sunday mornings an noon front of the cathedral. Walk from the cathedral square to the Placa Saint Jaume, where the Generalitat, the Parliament of Catalunya, seat of the autonomous government, and the Ajuntament, the city hall, are located. You can also visit the Baroque salons of the city hall.
Las Ramblas: Take a stroll down the teeming, always lively and sometimes outrageous, pickpocket filled Las Ramblas, from north to south, from the Placa Catalunya to the statue of Columbus at the port. You’ll see human statues, vendors selling canaries and flowers, the largest newspaper kiosks in the world, card games (DON’T PARTICIPATE!), jugglers, etc. On the right side of the Ramblas heading south, you’ll find the glorious Boquería food market, officially called the Mercat de Sant Josep. It opens at 8 am daily. A feast of the senses. Go in. Immediately to your right you’ll see a little “hole in the wall†food counter with a sign above that says “Pinocho†with a drawing of Pinocchio. This is a local legend, Juanito Bayan’s famous luncheonette, known to all the foodies of the world. Grab a seat, there are only about 16 bar stools, and order what the locals are having, or just have Juan, he’ll be the ever-smiling one with the bow tie, cook up something special for you. This short order chef has been acclaimed in all the gourmet and travel magazines. Best time to go is between 10 am and 12 noon. His food couldn't be fresher and it'll be 3 deep at the bar at lunchtime, waiting for his little treats. His recipe for scrambled eggs with shrimp was recently published in the 100 best of Saveur magazine in a short piece "The Most Food from the Smallest Kitchen in the Best Market in Europe".
Also, a bit further below, on the right side going down the Ramblas, is the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house built in 1847. It was destroyed by fire in 1861 and again in 1994 before being refurbished to perfection and reopened a few years ago. Take a guided tour of this lovely, neoclassical building with Baroque décor. There are guided visits daily for 5 euros. Or better yet, see a live performance. The box seats have wonderful antechambers. In olden days each family decorated his antechamber in an individual style. The stage takes up 70% of the hall. Up in the nosebleed section there was a “clacâ€, students who could watch the performances for just a few pesetas each, but had the obligation to applaud furiously at the end. There’s also a beautiful “Hall of Mirrors†where the elite met to socialize between acts.
The theater houses 2,300 spectators. I attended a piano recital of Alicia de Larrocha, but missed purchasing tickets for Tristan und Isolde. They sell out far in advance, but last-minute return tickets are put on sale the day of the performance at 2 pm. There are totally blind seats, no view, that go for 5,25 Euros. The most expensive are 120 – 130 Euros for the opening night of an opera. The salesladies are very nice to deal with, very helpful and their web site is superb. www.liceubarcelona.com
Palau de la Musica Catalana: Off the Via Laeietana is a lavishly decorated Art Nouveau music palace built in 1905, the work of a Gaidí contemporary and other famous Modernista architect, Domenech I Montaner. The delightful guided tours, in several different languages, leave every hour and last about 50 minutes, including a 20-minute video. There’s an English language tour at 11 am. Go to the Palau store across the street to see the schedule of tours and languages, English, Spanish and Catalan, as it varies, then buy your tickets inside the Palau itself way ahead of time. Only 55 people are allowed in at a time and sell out fast! You can even call the box office ahead of time to reserve a place. Check www.palaumusica.org. This will be one of the highlights of your visit! The Palau is a bit smaller than the Liceu, holding only 2,000 spectators. The guide will explain to you how they can hide the first 3 - 5 rows of seats. They’re now expanding the Palau once again and working on the organ, which hasn’t been played in 20 years. It should be ready for next season. 600 more spectators will be able to attend concerts in a subterranean concert hall.
Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya: Take the funicular up to Monjuic, or the Bus Turistic will take you there, and then you can take the funicular back down, to visit this amazing Romanesque, Gothic art Museum. Tour the Gothic side first, as it takes longer to see because it’s filled with European masters, two Goya’s, a Velázquez, Zurbarán, Rubens, Titian and Tintoretto. One the Romanesque side you’ll see the apses of several Romanesque churches from the Pyrenees. Tues-Sat 10-7, Sun. and holidays, 10-2:30 4,80 euros. First Thurs of month free, plus the Fundació Miró, filled with Mire’s works from 1917 to 1978. It’s the largest single collection of his work in the world and building is filled with airiness and light. Also works by Calder, Henry Moore, Duchamp, Leger, and Max Ernst. Delightful. Concentrates on his final years. Tuesday – Saturday from 10 am – 7 pm and Thursdays till 9:30 during the summer. Open Sundays from 10 am - 2:30 pm. There is a Café on the premises.
Barri Gotic: While in the Barri Gotic, stroll over to the hip, happening, constantly gentrifying, think Soho, El Born district. Or see after your visit to the Picasso Museum. Be sure to visit the pretty Santa María del Mar basilica on the Placa Santa María. Open daily from 9 am - 1:30 pm, 4:30 – 8 pm. Catalan Gothic. Then go for tapas at many of the trendy bars in the area, or a great seafood lunch at the counter of lively Cal Pep.
For soccer fans: the Campo Nou stadium, home of Barça. Can stop and visit on the Bus Turistic route. Monday – Friday, 9:30 am - 1:30 pm and 4:30 - 7:30 pm. For museum: Monday –Saturday, 10:30 am - 6:30 pm, Sundays from 10 am – 2 pm.

gs1979

Hi starry, Smoke has given u the details on touring around in Barcelona. As for Madrid, hubby & me moved around on our own using maps. We took the local Metro & bus. Its v convenient & we even went to the outskirt of Madrid by bus. There were many factory outlets of various brands at the outskirts...such as Puma, Levis, Billabong..etc. By the way, rem to get a pair of "CAMPERS" shoe fr the outlets too cos its damn damn cheap as compared from spore. My hubby bought one pair which cost 98euros and guess how much its selling here in spore...its S$338. hubby regretted not getting another pair. haha!! We had our meals mostly in cafes or smaller restaurants cos its cheaper. Remember to take heavy lunches cos Spanish only have dinners @ 9pm onwards. Also most shops in smaller towns closes for lunch(2pm-6pm) so if u wanna shop in Madrid...Rem to shop earlier before they close for lunch. I try to post the names of the places of interests asap cos all my photo albums are @ hubby's place.

Hello Jennifer, this is the website of the hotel in Barcelona. http://www.hotelprincipalbarcelona.com
We stayed in Superior Room. The taxi fare from airport to the hotel is abt 20euros. A + point of the hotel is that its less than 10mins walk to La Ramblas(famous street in barcelona) & the service staffs are v helpful & friendly. Our stays included breakfast everyday..their breakfast menu is the same thru-out. The hotel rates b cheaper if u choose w/o breakfast.

smoke

Happy new year to all! Saw Gintonic's take on Madrid n i can't resist adding.....whne u r in madrid, MUST take a day trip n preferably stay a night or 2 in a quaint town 1 hour from marid - Toledo! it's a beautiful medievel town! romantic too! we stayed in this hotel : http://www.santa-isabel.com/

Both my pals also went on my rec n they never regretted! If u r only going major cities like BCN and Madrid, without the smaller feel towns like ronda etc, then throw in Toeldo...pretty and romantic

Give me your email starry. if u wan to see my pics

gs1979

Btw, Starry...we took the domestic flight from Barcelona to Madrid. Its a new flight -called Vueling. My hubby did the booking online too. U may try getting your tix. not to worry as the staffs from vueling at the airport speak well English. www.vueling.com

gs1979

Hi smoke, thanks for your pics. My hubby & i oredi set our next target after our HM in Spain - it will b PRAGUE. Ur prague photos does help us in our preparations!!

vvbbb

I'm thinking of going Spain or NZ for honeymoon. We thot that going to Spain takes too much of planning.. and we're tight with time with the wedding n reno.

How do you guys plan for it? all by yourself thru research n books? Is it hard to DIY the trip? But if take tour usually a bit rush... So so tempted to go Spain (or Italy)....

gs1979

Hi viv, the planning was quite easy cos it was convenient to travel around using their Metro, Buses & Taxis. We read abt spain's cultures & places of interests from bookstores in spore before flying over. Once there, we planned 1day beforehand so as not to waste time at certain places. f&e wasnt v rush lah..u gotto plan the timing well cos there is a tour bus which operates only up to 7pm. afterwich u need to travel your own if u still wanna check out certain nice nice places. U will sure enjoy holidaying in SPAIN!!

starrystarry

Hey Gals, Thanks for all the pics. I'm enjoying every bit of it.
Think I will not regret choosing Spain as my HM destination.
And thanks for all the info provided.

Oh Gintonic, what's this tour bus that you were referring to? Do we have to book a seat to be on it or it passes by all the famous places of interest? Is it only available in certain places in Spain?

gs1979

Hi starry, the tour bus in Barcelona is the Bus Turistic. think Smoke has oso mentioned in her post too. U may refer to the below link. There are diff ticket packages..either for 1day or few days. For me, we bought 2days for 20Euros. U b given a blue ticket and used it to go round the places of interests. Rem not to lose the ticket cos u need to use it for travelling on the next day.
http://www.barcelona.com/barcelona_city_tours/standard_bus_tours/barcelona_card

did anyone of you took the chan brothers package for Spain & Portugal in May 06?

scrumpee01

Gintonic
The link u gave for the Bus Turistic and what Smoke gave seems different leh. I checked both links and the link that Smoke gave shows cheaper prices. Are u both talking about the same Bus Turistic? I'm abit confused. The link u gave said we have to buy tickets a day in advance but the link that Smoke gave says can buy on the spot at tourist info counters. Pls advise. Thanks

did any of you chance upon the loewe boutique in Spain or POrtugal? Are their bags cheap? Ho wmuch cheaper?

Also, i need some advice as to how much should I bring over for expenses for shopping, makan etc. How much does the food cost and is it a must to tip?

smoke

hi chloe,

sent! but sorry, captions broken abit....n the pics nt that well taken....actual scenaries r much BETTER!!! Must go - toledo! Ronda!

Yes scrumpee, there are 2 tourist hop-on-and-off operators in BCN....u can buy tics fr either one of them on the spot....or to play safe, a day b4...in case u r going during peak seasons. Both cover abt the same routes actually.

Do check out the info aplenty at these 2 local forums : http://spaintalk.multimadrid.org/groupee/forums
& www.madridman.com

icebaby0

Ryes,

Where in Spain and Portugal are u intending to go?

I can try and find out information but my concentration previously was Italy. Hahaha

Hi icebaby, this is my itinery

Barcelona-Valencia-Alicante-Granada-Seville-Lisbon-Fatima-Caceres-Toledo-Madrid.

smoke

hi srumpee,

sent! but pls, remember these pics nt that well taken...actual places are much much better!

Ryes,
when r u leaving? Over the weekend when i hv more time I will post this restaraunt in Granada which u must try....delicious! N u hvt booked accomo in toledo, consider http://www.santa-isabel.com/
Lovely, n gd value for money!!!
And yes, we did leave tips....usually rounded off to the nearest dooar or two or around 10%

icebaby0

Ryes,

How many days are you going?
It seems like ALOT of places to go. Heehee

Will update you once i get some information.

Hi icebaby & Smoke,

the tour is a 12days tour package.
Then I will extend 5 nights, so total is 17 days in all lah.
May 12th is day 1 where I will fly to barcelona.
May 27th I will fly back from Madrid, 28th reach singapore.

So that 5 nights, am planning :
1. Take vueling fr Madrid to Amsterdam for 3d2n
Fly back, stay in Madrid for 2 nights, then fly back to sin

2. Fly back to barcelona for 3d2n, Fly back, stay in Madrid for 2 nights, then fly back to sin

what other suggestion?

Many pp tell me toledo is very nice. Granada restaurant? How much per meal? I fear I dun have time leh, coz my tour itinery like so pack like that one. sob sob, wish I can F&E.

Did you chance upon loewe? Did you go to the rosta village where all the branded goods were there? I want to go there look see look see.

smoke

hi ryes,

i think u can post your qns in these 2 forums: http://spaintalk.multimadrid.org/groupee/forums
& www.madridman.com
They are very helpful! I relied alot on them when planning my spain F&E in 04

will let u know abt the granada thingy..now in office
btw internal flights within spain, u can book iberia - very cheap! that's how i travel betw cities in spain ....even cheaper than trains at times. U can also post or search info in the forum in http://www.fodors.com/forums/threadselect.jsp?fid=2

I almost forgot this wonderful website on spain:
http://maribelsguides.com/
i think she has LOADS info on shopping!

scrumpee01

Smoke
Thanks for the photos. When did you go Spain? seemed very cold.
I saw u took the cable car in Montserrat. How did u get to Montserrat and take the cable car? I thought of taking the day tour there, but if you have a cheaper option for me, I welcome it.

icebaby0

Ryes,

yours is tour package, I guess you are right, you won't have much free-time.

To answer the question you have:
Granada
More information: http://granadainfo.com/english.htm
Pricing: Main meals can start from Euro10
**Seems like people there like to eat Tapas and it's said to be cheap!