South Africa

rihini

hi pinkblusher,

did you go in late dec? our tour guide suggests that we prepare winter jacket (and even gloves) and raincoat cos can be very cold and raining???? But I read that the temp about 15 - 25 deg for Nov / Dec. We going in 1st week Dec, need so kiasu???

Any of you went to Valley of Waves at Suncity? What's the admission price like?

Hi Miso
Bargain ah....me not very good at this. How much can we slash? Been to Korea and it's quite standard that bargain is max 25% off the first price and the sellers will stop at the 2nd or 3rd quote. China, I used to slash about 50% but that was more than 10 years ago.

BTW, how much tipping you give to waiters and chambermaids?

miso

rhini ,

i dont think u need gloves..i went in aug which is winter season but we didnt use gloves or muffler. maybe bring windbreaker in case the temp changes at night.

as we are not into theme parks, sun city was not interesting for us. we took a shuttle from out safari lodge and just stayed 2 hrs in sun city. toured the famous hotel called the palace..

basically cannot bargain if shopping at shopping centre..but at those roadside stores , maybe can try 30-40%..as for tipping at restaurants, we tip abt 5 singapore dollars. its a practice to tip in south africa.

328318.jpg

rihini

aye.....are those shells? looks nice, but I'm not into fanciful accessories. heehee maybe, if i see something simpler design.

I just read about tipping 10% of bill in a guide book. so, it works out S$5 for S$50 meal.

ya....my hubby actually questioned the tour guide again why we need bring winter jacket when she herself says the temp about 19 deg. Think her explanation quite conservative, everything recommend we bring "IN CASE..."

To satisfy all her "in case", I thought of bringing my winter jacket which is waterproof (it has braved storms with me when I hiked in NZ, but cos i read that it's advisable to wear khakis, brown and natural colours on the safari, I questioned her if it's ok if my jacket is red.

She like not serious and says,"is it? never hear before cannot wear bright colours. no wonder the rangers all waer khaki colours hor. but never mind, they have guns mah, can wear lah, will be safe. maybe we got better chance to see the animals cos you can attract them over to the jeep."

miso

i dont think those are shells..
wide variety...if u are going to seal island, u can find lots of stuff at the `flea market` there.

we went for 3 game drives. bring ur jacket along as it may get quite cold at night. during winter season, there are blankets in the game jeep. towards the night everyone used it coz really cold. shivering cold . not sure about december weather.

we didnt see the lion..;(

rihini

we going for two game drives, one afternoon and one morning. read that summer not the best time to spot the wild, winter is best cos less foliage. anyway, the tour leader comment that we go zoo can see all the animals but we don't feel anything, but there spot only one giraffe head/neck among the trees, everyone get so excited. hahaha...... hope no rain and we get to see the big five.

miso

hope that u can see the lion which we didnt
we went for 1 morning game drive and two evening drives. morning one spotted less animals..prob the animals are more active at night. the ranger didnt even bring the rifle in the morning.
our 3 drives were done by 3 different guides so it was interesting as each of them gave different information even on the same animal.

are u going to cape town ? its beautiful! totally different from johannesburg. in johannesburg during the transfer from airport to hotel (more than 2 hours), i felt a bit scared by the environment..u will see many africans walking on the streets aimlessly or selling things to cars stopping by. our tour guide filled us with stories about car hijacking at that time which made me even more scared. (there were only 3 of us in the mini van including the tour guide..)

take care and enjoy ur trip

rihini

heard some horror stories too....tour leader warned us that driver and the local tour guide can steal from our belongings left in the coach. She herself experience before that the local tour guide stole $ from her wallet. She says she forgot to take her bag down but thought it's alright cos they were at the Cape of Good Hope carpark, and there's no other vehicles/tourists/locals. But later, she felt unsecure and went up, caught the local tour guide in the coach alone and counted her $ in her wallet in front of the local guide. Missing US$300 and the local guide just stand there and watch. She also cannot do anything to him. Later she warn her travellers in Chinese that the driver and local guide not clean. The next day, an Indonesian man who kept his $ zip in his cap told her that his $ also got stolen. Somehow, the local guide saw him keep/take $ from his cap so he knows got $ hide there. From this experience, she ask us to take more precaution, not to wear X-jewellery and don't keep taking wallet in and out.

I think I will be overwhelmed to see so many blacks on the streets.

pinkblusher

Hi Rihini

We went in end December over Christmas... speaking of bargaining, my dad tried to bargain 90% off the marked price at one of the flea markets (can't remember the name) and got chased away by the shopkeeper. Probably feel offended!! hahaha...

miso

be careful of belongings..
i heard many horror stories
1> if someone wants to rob u , dont look into his eyes else he will kill u...
2> there is car hijacking even in broad daylight
3> they like to steal cameras and video cameras

just take care. i think u should be okay since u are going with tour. just stick with ur people. generally its okay at cape town because they are also many tourists there. just dont wonder by yourself at night.

overall south africa was a good experience for us. we really enjoyed it.

rihini

Hi Miso,
I'm back from my trip yesterday. Still having the jet lag.....slept at 4am this morning and woke up at 1.30pm. hahaha

Was quite disappointed with the safari.....didn't see as many animals as I expected. We manage to spot the big 4 (except for leopard) but for lions, they were so so far away that if not for the ranger who indicated their direction, we would not know they are there at all. They were resting on the ground, thought they look like white rocks among the grasses.

Sun City is overrated. My most displeasure was that our hotel room air-conditioning was not working due to a power trip (it affects our room and the adjacent room) and upon my numerous calls to maintenance and reception, they took more than an hour to fix it.

The whole episode was so ridiculous! They promised to get a guy up to see to the problem every time I called and complained that I've been waiting and waiting. The time was alreday past 11.30pm and we were so tired. The problem is the maintenance dept and reception both also dunno where their maintenance guy went to.....and at a last resort, I request for a change of room. The joke came when the porter came to help us move our luggage to another room a few doors away. The air-con suddenly came on just when the porter knocked on the door. And the maintenance guy also appeared - finally. But the porter says since we have already packed, we might as well change the room. Imagine his embarrassment when he opened the door to the new room and we saw goft sets and luggage in that room. He had no idea why the recption is shifting us to a room that is already occupied! So, in the end, we stayed in our old room... with the air-con working now.

(Our next-door neighbour also faced air-con problem and they manage to get quicker service 'cos they complained the husband got asthma and breathing difficulty. They came to them within 15 mins.)

However, throughout the night, it was stuffy and hot.....either they had a few more power trips or the stupid air-con condenser is faulty.
I woke up perspiring after 2 hours into my sleep and had to open all the doors for ventilation. Did not want to call recep to change room as it was already 3am in the morning, too much hassle.

Hi-tea at Palace Hotel at R95/pax (approx S$26)is quite good value. The ambience and food was delightful! Definitely not what you get in Singapore hotels.

When we were departing from Sun City, our tour guide did comment to us that the service has declined terribly since her last visit 5 yrs ago. She says she always recommend pple to visit South Africa and Sun City, now she have 2nd thoughts. She wondered if the staff have been paid their salary, that's why the poor service.

For the trip, my most enjoyable day out was to Cape Peninsula. We bought a decoupage ostrich egg for R180 (approx S$50). It was a better quality one from a roadside stall at the harbour for the Seal island cruise. The cheapest stall there sells for R98 but the workmanship and design is inferior. If bought in ostrich farm or retail stores, the eggs cost around R380 and above. On our last day in Johannesburg, we were brought to a factory outlet for the african handicrafts and accessories. The factory supposedly supply to the Johannesburg roadside stalls and flea markets, so the prices are reasonable and more selection. But no bargaining here and no VAT to refund at airport. Ostrich eggs at R205 for a decoupage one. The quality is similar to my R180 one. I bought another egg here.

We visited Neethingshoft winery in Stellenborsch. Their last harvest riesling is highly recommended but they don't offer tasting on that. We din buy it cos we don't like sweet dessert wines, but many in our group bought it. We did purchase their Lord Neethling Rouge 1986 (their most expensive wine at R120)after a tasting. It's extremely smooth and most enjoyable.

Temperature was around 24degC in Cape Town and 27degC in Johannesburg. You will do well with good sunblock and moisturiser. We were lucky that the devil is not smoking his pipe - no rain over Cape Town. We had a bout of shower during the end of our afternoon game drive.

rihini

Hi Miso,
I'm back from my trip yesterday. Still having the jet lag.....slept at 4am this morning and woke up at 1.30pm. hahaha

Was quite disappointed with the safari.....didn't see as many animals as I expected. We manage to spot the big 4 (except for leopard) but for lions, they were so so far away that if not for the ranger who indicated their direction, we would not know they are there at all. They were resting on the ground, thought they look like white rocks among the grasses.

Sun City is overrated. My most displeasure was that our hotel room air-conditioning was not working due to a power trip (it affects our room and the adjacent room) and upon my numerous calls to maintenance and reception, they took more than an hour to fix it.

The whole episode was so ridiculous! They promised to get a guy up to see to the problem every time I called and complained that I've been waiting and waiting. The time was alreday past 11.30pm and we were so tired. The problem is the maintenance dept and reception both also dunno where their maintenance guy went to.....and at a last resort, I request for a change of room. The joke came when the porter came to help us move our luggage to another room a few doors away. The air-con suddenly came on just when the porter knocked on the door. And the maintenance guy also appeared - finally. But the porter says since we have already packed, we might as well change the room. Imagine his embarrassment when he opened the door to the new room and we saw goft sets and luggage in that room. He had no idea why the recption is shifting us to a room that is already occupied! So, in the end, we stayed in our old room... with the air-con working now.

(Our next-door neighbour also faced air-con problem and they manage to get quicker service 'cos they complained the husband got asthma and breathing difficulty. They came to them within 15 mins.)

However, throughout the night, it was stuffy and hot.....either they had a few more power trips or the stupid air-con condenser is faulty.
I woke up perspiring after 2 hours into my sleep and had to open all the doors for ventilation. Did not want to call recep to change room as it was already 3am in the morning, too much hassle.

Hi-tea at Palace Hotel at R95/pax (approx S$26)is quite good value. The ambience and food was delightful! Definitely not what you get in Singapore hotels.

When we were departing from Sun City, our tour guide did comment to us that the service has declined terribly since her last visit 5 yrs ago. She says she always recommend pple to visit South Africa and Sun City, now she have 2nd thoughts. She wondered if the staff have been paid their salary, that's why the poor service.

For the trip, my most enjoyable day out was to Cape Peninsula. We bought a decoupage ostrich egg for R180 (approx S$50). It was a better quality one from a roadside stall at the harbour for the Seal island cruise. The cheapest stall there sells for R98 but the workmanship and design is inferior. If bought in ostrich farm or retail stores, the eggs cost around R380 and above. On our last day in Johannesburg, we were brought to a factory outlet for the african handicrafts and accessories. The factory supposedly supply to the Johannesburg roadside stalls and flea markets, so the prices are reasonable and more selection. But no bargaining here and no VAT to refund at airport. Ostrich eggs at R205 for a decoupage one. The quality is similar to my R180 one. I bought another egg here.

We visited Neethingshoft winery in Stellenborsch. Their late harvest riesling is highly recommended but they don't offer tasting on that. We din buy it cos we don't like sweet dessert wines, but many in our group bought it. We did purchase their Lord Neethling Rouge 1986 (their most expensive wine at R120)after a tasting. It's extremely smooth and most enjoyable.

Temperature was around 24degC in Cape Town and 27degC in Johannesburg. You will do well with good sunblock and moisturiser. We were lucky that the devil is not smoking his pipe - no rain over Cape Town. We had a bout of shower during the end of our afternoon game drive.

miso

hi rhini

welcome back
hope that you have enjoyed your trip in general
what an episode at sun city. we didnt stay in sun city so cannot comment on the service

did u enjoy your safari stay ? saw the elephants ?

i enjoyed cape penisula too. the penguins, the seals and the beautiful scenery.

so what do u think of south africa overall ?
will u go again ?

rihini

Yes, we saw elephants but the ranger only let us trail two of them for a while. The safari was ok.....not quite up to my expectation.

The country's very hot and dry at this time of the year. I would not go again. Not much to see and do though the country's very vast. Furthermore, it's not convenient nor safe to move around alone. Luckily exchange just enough rands to finish them up - left some coins as souvenir only.

starmed

hi there
can anyone enlighten me when is it the best tme to go to South Africa? I'm thinking of trying to avoid the heat... so prefer to go during the autumn or winter time but will that be a good time? Does it rain often during those cooler period or the warmer period?

Thinking of going there on a tour...heard from friends who went before stating it's not very safe to go F & E... unless u got a guide or someone there to bring u around... so is it that bad?

eteh3

starstar,
i think this thread a bit dead oredi.
i'm also considering gg s. africa for my honeymoon. but thinking abt when to go coz of the weather.

miso

we went to SA last august during winter season.
its cooling minimum around 10 degrees.
heard that winter season is the best time for game drives. we saw 4 of the big 5..couldnt spot the leopard.

eteh3

issit? winter season best for game drives? not summer? my fren went in winter, she dint see much...

miso

maybe it depends on which park u go too. i heard that u can see more in private parks. as national parks are bigger, the animals have more place to roam around so its difficult to see them....

starmed

miso
??? u know which are the private parks? I'll love to go in winter/autumn/spring season..wanna avoid the heat in summer..:p

jlowe014

will be going to south africa for my honeymoon in june! just booked my package with SA tours during the natas fair, hope that more ppl will sign up for the tour soon!

Hi starstar, not sure wat is the name of the private parks, but think that most tours will bring you to private parks rather than the national parks.

miso

hi i think for national parks, their name will be like XXX national parks..I went to Pilanesberg National Park and stayed in the nearby Bakubung bush lodge.

We wanted to go with either Ananda or Chan bros, but they couldnt form a group on our requested dates. hence, we did F and E. I booked everything on the internet, tickets, accomodation and guided tours in Cape town..not dangerous as our guide will follow us..

eteh3

hi JL,
how much did u pay for ur HM trip? how many days?
coz we are also looking at SA tours, dynasty & chan bros.
now sure which one's better. but my AD on in dec.so not booking so soon.

miso,
u mean F&E got guide? where did u get ur guide from? local african or sporean?
what's the total price u paid for F&E?

miso

hi eteh3,

the guides are local africans. depending on where u want to go, u can search for guided tours in the internet and book online. on the day of the tour they will come and pick u up from hotel, do the tour and send u back to hotel. we joined a whale watching tour and to our surprise, we are the only ones on the van. very personalised and a lot of communication with the guide cum driver.
out F and E was slightly more expensive than tour packages as we stayed in a good hotel. for 2 pax, i think our exp was around 8k including meals etc

starmed

thanks JL n miso for the info..

hmmm..one more thing..isit better to go during autumn time? what's the best time to go? btw got any cruise out form cape town to the seal island?

miso

there is a cruiser (big boat) to seal island..if u join tour packages they will definitely bring u to seal island. the trip is quite fast ..maybe total around 30mins..the cruiser will stop around the seal island and we can see the seals lazing around on the island..a bit smelly though..

i heard from guide that peak season is dec-march. cape town will be filled with tourists during this season. but not sure which is the best to go..

miso

starstar

i used the itinery by chan bro and ananda as reference. first decide on the places we wanted to go..and search in the net
i booked all tours from singapore online . there are many choices on line..i believe that u will find something that suits u.
I used Hylton Ross Tours for cape penisula tour.
for whale watching , i booked with Cape Town Sea More-Express Tours.

sallykoo

Hi starstar,

I also went to South Africa & Mauritius for my HM in May last year. It was a F&E trip arranged by Air Mauritius. We spent a total of 13K for the 2 places in 14 days, however we have no regret spending this much money.

starmed

hiya
anyone planning to go south africa in march or april next year?

To those who had been to SA.. is it a good time to book a package during the end year Natas tour or wait till feb one?

bluryo

Hi Miso

We will be going to Capetown in Sep. Is it possible to go for a day trip to one of the safaris? I was checking out the web and seems that most are 3-4 days packages.

Will you mind sending me your pics? And also the websites you used for the booking of tours? We are going F&E too. My email is [email protected]

starmed

sleepy
can I check wif ya..how much u spend for F&E? Cos I'm thinking of F&E instead of going wif a tour group... is this your first time there? Do u advise us to go wif tour group instead cos we r first timer going there? sorry..so many questions..cos now we r still deciding if we should go F&E or tour group...can advise? thanks..

bluryo

Hi Starstar,

It's going to be my first time there. My hubby is going there to attend a congress so i'm tagging along. We only have 3 full days after his congress. We hope to go to the safari but most of the tours i checked online are for 3 days and more.

One of my friend who went to SA end of last year was saying that Capetown is not exactly a safe place to move ard. I guess it's better to have a guide to bring us around.

I have yet to book for my accomodation for those 3 days on our own.

starmed

hi sleepy
thanks for the reply..
hmmm..do u have the website for the tours? I'll like to do some research so I can decide if I wanna do F&E or wif a tour group... my thinking of F&E is to go there by ourselves but we will engage a guide direct in SA rather than going thru the tour agencies in singapore...

eteh3

sally,

i'm also thinking of gg South Africa & Mauritius for my HM in jan 07. but if i book a trip to S.Africa, how can we get to Mauritius ourselves n back?

any advise?

sunnysideup

Am going to South Africa this Sept 07. May i know which tour agent is good? Any comments?
Is it easy to form a group to depart? Think SA Tours quite ex as compared to Chan Bros? How is the weather there in Sept? Right season to go? Anyone can advice?

millionrubies88

Sunnysideup

I have been staying in Capetown for almost 2 years. The weather in Sept is good, around 20c. Very nice weather to move around. If you are here from 3rd week of Sept, you can get to see Whales!

I do not know much about tour agents in SG but i can advise u that you can skip SUN CITY coz it is over rated

sunnysideup

Hi Millionrubies,

Many thanks for the advice. Am very interested in the game drive to see the Big 5. Is it easy to spot them? Which Game reserve is good? Do the animals come near enough, or are they far far away?
btw, Is SOuth Africa really that dangerous?

madrock

Cape town is a must to go. Very nice place with Cape of good hope, cape point, chapeman's peak drive, table mountain etc.

Game drive is fun not you might not see all the Big 5. Is not like zoo...so really depend on a bit of luck.

Sun city can really skip. Not much fun compare to other places. All are man made so don't look nice for me.

ddjt

I will be going to SA too in Oct 07.
how's ur trip sunnysideup?
Yes i heard it is quite a dangerous country during the tour agency briefing. Is that true?

snipsnap

Helloo out there. I'm going to capetown for a couple weeks in Jan for work. Wanted to get some tips/advice on things to do/see while i'm there. Am interested in going to a safari (need recs), johannesburg and possibly other cities in africa.

also if anyone has photos or itineraries to share :D