South Africa

demure

anyone been to South Africa? wat is the review? when is the best time to go?

linksys

Been there many years ago. Nice place. Highly recommended. You get to see the city life and experience nature and wildlife at the same time.
Hmm, the later half of the yr shd be a good time to go..

tyikkim

I have been there as well. The weather is similar to that of Australia. Dec-Feb is summer, Mar-May is autumn, Jun-Aug winter and Sep-Nov Spring. Temperature also comparable to Australia.

If you go to South Africa, you must visit Cape Town. I love the place so much. So much to do there...

Downside is, I would strongly encourage you to go there with a organised tour group thing, not on your own, unless you have friends or relatives residing there to bring you around.

constellation

Hi G,

Can you elaborate why we shouldn't go on our own without an organised tour? I am planning to go Western Cape without a group tour, as I really dislike group tour and don't travel in group tours.

Anything we should be looking out for?

With regards to Safari at Kruger National Park, any advise on which accomodation is good etc?

linksys

You can go there F & E, and join land tours to go safaris. That way, you dun have to stick with the same group of pple for the whole trip.

tyikkim

constellation, I have been to Cape Town, Johannesburg, Pretoria and Sun City. So I can't advise you on Kruger National Park.

But I must advise you that the security situation is not ideal in some places esp in Johannesburg. If you insist on going on your own, my advise is to limit your sightseeing to the touristy stuff and avoid the "off the beaten track".

Otherwise, like what linksys says, go and join the land tours. If you dislike those from our local tour operators, you may want to consider Contiki etc where they have international passengers in their groups. And have professional guides who are able to better advise you on the security situation at certain stops.

constellation

G,

I am not going for johannesburg for security reasons. That's why I am only going to Cape Town and the Western Cape and Kruger Natiional Park.

Since you have been to Cape Town, do you think Cape Town is much safer? Unfortunately we cannot take group tours whether local or international as we prefer free and easy driving around on our own.

We are experienced drivers in Europe and States, but this will be the first time we are going to South Africa and we are not so sure about the security there. However, I read that cape town is quite safe?

paulncheryl

Hi Constellation,

When are you going? Looking at the place for honeymoon but that will be in May 2006- didn't quite realise it would be Autumn then... I have this thing against cold
- and furthermore we were thinking of doing the adventure stuff like kloofing, rock climbing and sand surfing etc.
Been doing quite a bit of searching and found that Malaysia Airways/Airlines has the best price from here to Cape Town, via KL. You agree? But if you do decide on that route, you can try bidding for price on Priceline.com.sg as MA is one of the vendors there...
How about the rest? Any input which route is the ebst to get there?

Oh and visit virtualtourist.com = they have lots of travelling tips!

constellation

Hi Cheyenne,

I am planning to go in Sept this year, which is spring. May should be a good time too! I prefer travelling in spring and autumn.

You are definitely more adventurous than me as I won't be kloofing or rock climbing. I will at most be going for the safari. ;-P

Have not done so much research yet, but I will check out malaysian airlines. I plan to fly to cape town and have a road trip along the western cape. But I will also fly from cape town to Kruger for a few days of safari.

Are you intending to go for any safari?

miso

Hi me doing some research on South Africa now
heard from my fren that i must take some malaria injection before going . is it true?
i am planning to do with a group tour for security reasons..however..is south africa really safe to go now ? planning to go in aug but earlier thread said its winter season..will it be cold?

garfield

Dear all, I went to South Africa for my honeymoon in 2002. Went there in Oct...the weather there in Oct is very nice...temperature less than 20 degrees celsius...very comfortable.
I joined tour group as the security there is not very good.
For a fact, in Cape Town, there is a rape case every minute and in Johannesburg, there is a murder every minute...
I am not exaggerating but this is a fact for the crime rates in South Africa is very high.

Was personally told by my tour guide that South Africa is not suitable to do free & easy as it is dangerous. FYI, even the hotel staff told us not to go out at night unless absolutely neccesarily.
When I was South Africa, although it ia a big gorup, can still see some Africans lingering around us and eyeing us....so personally, I would recommend you all to join group tours.

Of course, for those who had been there to do free & easy...and everything went smoothly, this is a blessing. But personally, why take risks when u know for a fact that South Africa is quite dangerous. Why wait until u met with some mishap and then regret right?

Just my personal opinion

miso

really? thanks for the info
my other option is NZ. personally i will choose NZ but my husband heard stories abt how wonderful south africa is...;p

miso

hi anyway went with Misa travel?
They have a comprehensive package to south africa but must take south african airlines transit in HK.
I think i would prefer to travel by SQ.

miso

I need advice from someone who has been to South africa..The open top jeeps to safaris look dangerous...is it safe?

garfield

miso: it is safe to take the open top jeeps...in the first place, it depends on your luck whether you will get to see the Big Five in the safari, secondly, the driver would not drive too close to the animals and lastly, the ranger has loaded guns for emergency uses

miso

Hi garfield
thanks for the assurance
I have phobia of being eaten up by lions..haha
I checked up with Ananda and Chan brothers yesterday..they offer almost the same itinery and price..service was also good and informative.
Price around 3200 exclusive taxes (Est 300)..so around $3500/person for 10 days..quite ex...
I hope its worth the price
Any comments on Sun city ? There is a free and east day inside this resort..What did you do ?

garfield

I went to SA with Ananda in Oct 2002. The price then was abt $2200++/pax...wow now increaso so much!

Anyway, I personally feel that Ananda provides very nice hotel..for my last night in Johannesbug, I stayed in Hyatt. And for the safari resort, it was a beautiful resort.

There is nothing much in Sun City, for my free & easy day in Sun City, I went swimming and walk around only..u can go to the casino if u wan though

sallykoo

Hi miso,
Air Mauritius is also having their own package of 11 day 9 nights to Mauritius and South Africa. If you're interested, you may approach Christina from Air Mauritius. I will be taking up an extended package (15 days and 13 nights) from them.

miso

Hi sally

Thanks for your info..I have been to Maldives before so not so interested in Mauritius..

Garfield : wow the package price increased more than 1k in 3 yrs!! airport tax is also quite ex..estimated to $300+..the package price to south africa is even more ex than packages to italy and swiss...wow..must be really exotic..
i was looking forward to sun city as the guide book describes it as " very good / nice" ..aug will be too cold to swim anyway right? hope there are other "penny friendly" activites..
For the last night in Jo, agent metioned Hilton..
hope it will be as nice as hyatt..
for safari "resort", he said chalet look alike..so i think not the one that u stayed before...hai....

sallykoo

I don't know how agency charged airport taxes. SA Tour charge 250 wherelse ananda charge about 300 and both by SQ

miso

Sally : the tax that they quoted was estimated as charges might change ...actually I am not sure also..just find it very ex...
i went to SA tours to check out the package but wasn't impressed by their sloppish service..can see that south africa is not their "strength" when i asked them some questions..they answered...dun know..not confirmed..not sure..
Chan and Ananda fared so much better.Showed me pictures from guide books, clear explanation on itinery.. Will be taking one of them based on my convienient date of travel since price and itinery very similar.

oohlahlah

hi Miso,

When you are the tour agents, can you help me check if they have tours to South Africa in Dec?
Thinking of going there too for my honeymoon.

oohlahlah

Hi Miso,
I went to Ananda to check out...the person told me that the 11 day package to South Africa is $4099!!
Why is it so ex??

oohlahlah

Hi Sally,
I am interested in the Mauritius and South Africa (15 days 13 nights) package. Is it free & easy for South Africa or package tour? I would prefer a package tour in South Africa and free & easy in Mauritius.
Please advise. Thanks

oohlahlah

Seems like South Africa is not a very common honeymoon place...seldom see pple posting on this thread.
Anyway, I would like to find out if anyone has joined the Mauritius & South Africa tour by Air Mauritius. Would like some comments on it.

Sally, I understand from Christina that the package is for 11D, 9N. So wat is your itinenary for the 15 days 13 nights?
Would really like some feedback.

garfield

hi littlemay, I went to South Africa and Mauritius for my honeymoon in Oct 2002. Wat I did was to purchase package tour from Ananda for 10D South Africa and then made another purchase from Ananda to Mauritius for 8D F&E. Bought both packages from during Ananda In-house travel fair.

For South Africa, would suggest u go for package tour...Ananda has quite a comprehensive South Africa package but I think not the price is quite ex! I paid only about $2.5k+/pax in Oct 2002. For Mauritius, it is ussually F&E, u can book day tours when you are in Mauritius with a tour agent called Mauritours. Mauritours more reputable there but of course price slightly ex. Think there are some local small tour agents in Mauritius too but I not too sure abt the price. I paid about $1.5k+/pax for Mauritius in Oct 2002.

I know Christina..she from Air Mauritius right? Initially, I wanted to took up her South Africa & Mauritius package, but later I realised I have to do F&E in South Africa.. (sort of a F&E lah...I think you will join other tourists & go sight seeing in South Africa..kind of like Trafalgar etc.) and hor, the itinerary is not as comprehensive as a full uided South Africa package frm Ananda.

So in the end, I opt to go for 2 full tours packages.

oohlahlah

Thanks Garfield...
Yes, I agree that the SOuth Africa tour by Ananda is more comprehensive...The sad thing is that it cost $4099 to got to South Africa alone, if I were to add on for Mauritius, the cost will be exorbitant.
Besides, I just called Ananda, and the person told me that they cannot help me arrange for a stay in Mauritius

garfield

littlemay, there are other agencies such as Chan Brothers, SATours..u can go see how much is their package....

How come now is $4099??? I tot it cost abt $3k+? U chose the most comprehensive one huh? Act 10D in South Africa is sufficient

oohlahlah

Harlow Sally,

You booked the 15D 13N package from Air Mauritius?
How much is it and what is your itinenary for the extra days.

miso

I think December schedule for South africa not out in June yet. Its too early..They need at least 15 pax to confirm a trip..
Even in June, they cannot confirm August booking till 2 weeks before actual trip..
South africa does not seem to be a popular choice for travel due to price,distance i think.
i prefer ananda but they cannot confirm anything in aug while chan can "almost" confirm one group going in early aug..i might join that one..
anyone has experience with Chan bro to South africa before?

akoyo

I am planning for a trip to South Africa as well. Thinking of having it free and easy.. however, seems like it is not very possible to do self drive over there..
Anyone has any idea where can i get more information on the country ?

miso

Dear Akoyo

I will be doing F and E because travel agencies cannot confirm on the dates that I want to go.
I have booked my tickets online and will join the land tours provided by local agents. There are many agents available in the net..Just search in the web and u will find many..
When do u plan to go?
Btw if u plan to take SQ , its very ex for 2 unless u have 4 pax (promotion now)
MH is the cheapest way to travel.
I will be going by Emirates transiting in Dubai.
longer distance time but cheaper than SQ

akoyo

Hi Miso,
can share with me on the land tours and websites that you go to? Actually i think i better start reading up on the areas that i would like to visit. What's the budget that you are looking at ?
Me will be somewhere next year, prob may.

miso

miso

Hi verre MH is a few hundred cheaper (less than 300) but cannot get mileage unless apply MH card..
no use for me coz i dun use MH often

emirates we can get mileage on united airlines card..we dont want to waste the 10000 over mileage pts...so chose emirates...we will stop over one day in dubai ..

verre

Hi miso,

oh i see. Thks. i apply for MH card but also no use for me. Seems like thats no other cheaper airline other than MH. wonder when i can go again...haiz.

tiffanykn

Last yr i've been to South Africa for my honeymoon joining the package by Chan Bros. Initially, we've signed up Ananda, however, we called them up 2 wks b4 departure and was told that the tour will most probably not going cos not enough pple to depart. We were quite shock of the last mins changes, luckily Chan bros was having a confirmed tour going ard that same date.
Some of things i got to know from this trip, Cape Town is safe if u walk within those tourist attractions, and not to 'walk' out of the hotel after sunset. Arrange for hotel transportation to pick u from hotel to shopping centre for dinner n shopping and back to hotel.
There's a large shopping centre name Victoria Wharf, there's pubs beside it, we're able to view the beautiful Table Moutain just outside the shopping centre. Which is consider a rare experience for us.
It's a must to take the cable car up to the Table moutain, spectacular views, and also the Cape of Good Hope, where u see the meeting point of Indian Ocean and Alantic Ocean. There's also a seal cruise where the boat will cruise around a small rock island with hundreds of seal resting there. Visit Borders beach where u can see the African penguins up close. Not to forget the Ostrich farm. Basically i find the scenary at Cape Town very beautiful, as along the roads we travel, we saw mountains half covered with clouds.
Next we took domestic flight to Johannesburg, where we're told that it's more 'unsafe'. Was told by local tour guide to walk in groups(more than 2) if we want to walk to the shopping centre 5 mins down the street from the hotel. During the night, it's better to go anywhere with the tour group with the tour guide, anyway nothing to do outside the hotel in the night, except go for dinner, so not advisable to venture out of the hotel.
Johannesburg is more into safari and sun city. After a half day city tour, we travel to sun city. Within sun city, it's very safe to go out of hotel by urself 24hr. But find that nothing much to do there as we not interested in the casino, and the other activities there quite exp.
After staying 2 days in sun city, we proceed to a private game reserve, where we see Lions, elephants, buffalo, birds etc on a open top vehicle. We find that the wild birds there very unique, all their tails very long and colourful.

Most of the days, we have Chinese foods in Chinese restaurants, except a Thai food dinner, a lobster lunch at Cape of Good Hope, Ostrich lunch at the farm, and african dinner at the game reserve.

ok that's all...i hope that i can save enough to go back there again. Cheers

rihini

We are going for our SA package tour in early Dec. What currency we need? How much do you suggest we need to bring along? Meals are all provided for except for 2 dinners and 2 lunches. We presume we'll not purchase souvenirs or foodstuffs....unless there's anything worthy buying back?

miso

hi...south african souvenirs are very unique. we didnt expect to purchase anything but after seeing the stuff, i think u will be tempted to buy..their ethic necklaces, handmade crafts..very colourful, unique and interesting..food stuffs wise i only liked the dried peach.a lot of dry jerky but tasted a bit funny...
eating in restaurants are not so ex..wine is very cheap about 4-5 singapore dollars per glass. a simple seafood meal for two costs around 40-50 dollars. cant remember how much we spent on food and shopping but prob less than 1k .

rihini

hi miso,

The tour guide says red wine v cheap, about S$4-5 per bottle, but that was a few years ago. She has not taken the tour to ZA since but she says should be around S$10. Is that true? Also, she recommended Ostrich egg art, and says it's not expensive. But I check internet and find that it costs at least US$50. Is it cheaper in the stores there?

pinkblusher

hi tiffanykwan

I went to the same places as you except I didn't go Johannasburg after that... also didn't get a chance to explore the southern coast which i heard is very beautiful. Overall quite a good trip although it was kinda hot when we went in December... Most memorable is Table Mountains and the Cape of Good Hope. Tour-wise we hired a private jeep and tour guide to bring us around, always good to have a native show you around due to safety reasons and also more convenient than those tour ones where you have to wait for the others and do what is planned on the itinerary. So our tour is more flexible in a certain sense =)

Hi Rihini

You can get a relatively good wine for about $15... $10 for a moderate one. We did visit an ostrich egg farm where they are lots of art and craft and all kinds of ostrich food.

miso

we went to supermarket (V and A waterfront) in cape town and there`s a big wine section.
i think its around $15 and above for wine. of course there are different grades and expensive ones too.
glass wine is $4-5 when we ate at restaurants.
we didnt buy ostrich egg art coz we have no place to display at home..haha - saw many at the ferry terminal when we took the ferry to seal island. remember to bargain if u are buying there.