Sothys

interested

Hi Cynthia,

May I know what is the soft peeling that you're using for your heels? What's the effect on the heels? Thanks.

eustoma

hi cynthia,

i'll check it out with kathy first, if no discount, then i go look for ur beautician ;P

it's a light blue tube 175ml.

hi interested, i'm using it as a body scrub, not only for the heels only.

*cynthia*

Hi Interested,

As what Eustoma explained, soft peeling is a body scrub. But me only using it on my heels loh...

Hi Eustoma,

Sure
Just let me/SSL know lah...

*cynthia*

Eustoma, can u let me know how much $$$ does regular sized soft peeling cost?

Are you saying that you do not get discount when buying Sothys body products from 128 Faubourg SaintHonoré??

thanx...

girrrlpower

hi cynthia, i juz went lee hwa to check out the neck cream. it says NECK CARE CREAM. costs only $68.25 from there... usual price is $105. its in 50ml. i am not very sure so i thot i will consult u 1st... is this the right one? how much can a tube last?
the sales gal recommended me another brand JEAN D'.... something.. i cant rem the name... she said its very useful.. alot of customers use it & find it effective... i was quite skeptical.
intially i wanted to get the sothys cream liao... but after she tried to sell me this JEAN D'.. something, i told her i will consider...
coz i bought some other pdt from there the last time & i had allergy... so this time i am very careful...
this sothys tt u use, izzit safe 4 all skin types? my skin is a bit sensitive, thus i dun wan to risk it...
the pdt tt i bought the other time i only use twice... so wasteful.... this time muz b more careful liao

doodbug

Hi Girlies! I went to Lee Wah to look see too! Cynthia, you're the expert here really need your help on this!

Basically, am thinking of changing my ENTIRE range of skin care to Sothys. My skin is combi tending to oily - but dehydrated at the surface. Base ie still oily. Should I use the Combi or Oily range from sothys?

Am thinking to get these products. Could you help me see if this is the right combi? sorry coz my beautician does not use Sothys products so i can't get help from her!

Cleanser: Purifying gel cleanser, to be used twice a day, evening time is to be used after my Shu cleansing oil.

2) Oxyliance fluid, as a moisturizer in the day.

3) liposome hydrogel and the hydrooptimal gel to be used together at night.

4) gommage exfoiliant to be used as a scrub weekly.

Which is the mask that will get rid and dry up pimples? i need that one too! heheheh

Is this combination of products ok? Or should i be using a stronger cleanser such as the desqua in the evening? Can the dasqua be used everyday or is it too strong?

Thanks Cynthia, for your tremendrous help!

amatuer

ladies

can i koe the address of lee hwa???
juz started usin sothy prdt n wld like 2 check out the prices from lee hwa after u gers mentioned the $$$ diff...
tks so muz!!!

girrrlpower

hi amateur, i think lee hwa got a few outlets in singapore, but i frequent the one in toa payoh... i dunno which is the block no but i do noe its one of those short 2-storeyed buildings. think they hv an outlet in town, if i am not wrong, its near bugis...

*cynthia*

Hi amatuer, there's one Lee Wah in Shaw Plaza (Balestier Road) and one in Bugis Village (or was it Bugis Junction??? somewhere near there lah...) and another one in Bedok.

*cynthia*

<FONT FACE="comic sans ms"><FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hi girrrlpower,</FONT>

Yup, the one I am talking about is Sothys Neck Care Cream 50ml. So, it costs only $68.25 at Lee Wah. A tube can last a few months coz you dun need a lot at one time.

Yes, the neck care cream is suitable for all skin type. But I'm not sure if the neck care cream at Lee Wah is the same I get from my beautician. As it's parallel imports, so it may be for another market and ingredients may be different...

I can only get 20% discount from my beautician, still unable to match the price given by Lee Wah.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">cynthia</FONT></FONT>

*cynthia*

<FONT FACE="comic sans ms"><FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi Doodbug,</FONT>

Me not expert lah... but will try to help you as much as I can.
Actually, the best solution is still to try some sample of products before buying.

<FONT COLOR="119911">1) Cleanser: Purifying gel cleanser, to be used twice a day, evening time is to be used after my Shu cleansing oil.</FONT>
This sounds alright - Purifying Foaming Gel.

<FONT COLOR="119911">2) Oxyliance fluid, as a moisturizer in the day.</FONT> This is also suitable for normal to combination skin.

<FONT COLOR="119911">3) Liposome hydrogel and the hydroptimal gel to be used together at night.</FONT>
This is suitable for all skin types too. Ermm... but if you sleep in air-con room, must see if hydroptimale gel is rich enuf or not. I used to apply gel, now gotta used cream instead.

<FONT COLOR="119911">4) Gommage exfoiliant to be used as a scrub weekly.</FONT>
This is suitable for all skin type.

<FONT COLOR="119911">Which is the mask that will get rid and dry up pimples?</FONT>
It's called Absorbent Mask, helps to dry up pimples.

<FONT COLOR="119911">Is this combination of products ok? Or should i be using a stronger cleanser such as the desqua in the evening? Can the dasqua be used everyday or is it too strong?</FONT>
The combination looks okay.
Like what I explained to Eustoma, depending on how you used it, you can either used it weekly or alternate days... Daily may be a little too much for deep cleansing.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cynthia</FONT></FONT>

doodbug

Hi Cynthia!

Thanks thanks! So the products I named are not toooooooo rich for combi tending towards oily skin?

*cynthia*

Doodbug, the possible worries are for items (2) and (3) only. If your friend is using Oxyliance Fluid, Liposome Hydrogel and Hydroptimale Gel... it would be best if you can ask for some of it to try for yourself. Then, you can know first hand if they are too rich for you.

For me, I dun find them too rich loh... but me not having oily skin lah.

Can send me an email? My email addy is [email protected]

girrrlpower

hi cynthia, thks... ok i will get the sothys neck cream soon... hehe...
juz need ur confirmation.. since lee hwa is cheaper, y not get from there???

*cynthia*

Hi girrrlpower,

Like I said, Lee Wah's stocks are parallel imports. Me a little kiasee, so still prefer to get from beauticians.

girrrlpower

hi cynthia, so wat does parallel imports mean? they r not as safe as those pdts u get from authorised outlets? pls advise. thks... =)

*cynthia*

Girrrlpower, parallel imports means products that are meant for other markets (than Singapore) or from other sources are brought into Singapore. Those meant for Singapore markets are distributed through authorised distributors.

There are companies who get the products meant for other markets (e.g. another country) for sale in Singapore, normally selling at a cheaper price. There could be a difference in the products due to customisation to that market. Of course, there is also a possibility that there is no difference. I really don't know, coz I have not bought anything from Lee Wah yet.

Parrallel imports can also means the products are gotten from alternative sources, other than the authorised distributor. Perhaps the manufacturer had a factory sale in other countries?? Something like this lah...

I have read somewhere in this forum that even toothpaste sold in Lee Wah have differing product attributes depending on country of origin. Some are watery and some have slightly different taste.

cynthia

girrrlpower

hi cynthia, thks 4 the explanation... one more qn...
when i read the instructions on the pkg, it says to aply downwards to the bustline?! err... i thot this is to lift our neck lines... by applying downwards, isnt it like pusking it more down &amp; causing the skin to sag furthur? is this the same instruction as ur pdt? i was a bit skeptical thus i din buy it yet....

*cynthia*

yup, think it's the same set of instructions... but I dun follow that...

Normally what I do is to massage lightly onto the horizontal lines itself, using my fingers and then spread a little onto my palms and stroke my neck upwards towards my chin. That's what my beautician told me.

Perhaps the instructions meant to say you can use it for neck and chest area up till the bust line??

claudia

Claudia here, i am a loyal Sothys user and just came to know abt this forum. If there is anything you will like to know more abt their products i will be gald to asist u. Anyway, a word or precaution, it is always better to buy from their authorised salons cos parallel import, if there is anything wrong with the products you will not be able to get a refund or consultation from the retail stores as they are not trained in SOthys products.

ssl

Hi claudia

Welcome to the "Sothys" thread.

So are u on any facial or body treatment package with any of the Sothys salon? Care to share your experiences.

What range of products are you using? For me, am using the sensitive and active contour range cos my cheek areas are senstive and the T-zone is oily.

enya

anyone has any recommendations for eye cream from sothys?? what about this liposome hydrogel? can i use it as a booster for moisturiser? and oxyliance fluid is a day or night moisturiser? pkus this beauty milk - to cleanse make up?

*cynthia*

SSL, little pimples have been popping up near my temples and the chin area... STRESSED over work ah...

ssl

Hi enya

Me using Sothys' age defying eye cream. I find that it works on me better, as compared to the other two Sothys eye products.

As for the beauty milk, u used it to cleanse your face before you use the cleanser to wash your face. Something like double cleansing.

Hi Cyn

why got little pimples?? Hormones changing? cos u getting nearer and nearer to your delivery period liao hor. Or u maybe using new shampoo??? can u do mask now? if so use the absorbent mask on the little pimples lah

doodbug

got ah hwey! well concealed if i have time in the morning - but my bare face got alot of scars! ob my l eft cheek especially!

*cynthia*

SSL, lucky only little ones. Not a lot at one time lah... max 2 only. *phew* I also dunno why, din change my bathing things. Still think coz of stress... me really stressed these 2 weeks.

I saw this salon at Specialist Centre yesterday. It says Sothys on the door but the product displayed in the windows and even most of the posters inside says Guinot. Hmmm...
wonder if these are considered as authorised beauticians of Sothys. So, they are allowed to advertise a few different brands of products at the same time??

claudia

Hi SSL
I am using Sothys dehydrated range of products, like liposomes, hydrop gel, mask which is very good for my dehydrated and t-zone oily skin. I used to have peeling skin but after using liposomes, it had solved my problem. Actually, i had used before most of the products. Favourites are the bust gel, liposomes, body contour serum, milk, eye cream, oxyliance mask, vitamin serum, shower gel &amp; etc.....

Yup, my facial treatment package is at the one at Amara Hotel - D'amara beauty centre. They always have fantastic package and my beautician Lilian is very experience. Or alternatively, you can go to JS beauty at Far east highly recommended for their skills.

claudia

Hi Doodbug
The scars on your face, are they pimple scars? If yes, you can try Active cream it is a scar healer for blemishes and post pimples scar. If you are talking about pigmentation scars, then you can try their lightening range. Hope it does help yr problem.

doodbug

Hi Claudia! Wow! Am really keen to try your beautician! How much does she chare for say a hydrating facial?

My scars are pimple scars - so it is the Sothys Active Cream issit?

BTW, is the hydrooptimal gel too heavy for combination skin? i have severely combi skin - ie dry at the cheeks and yet oily base...hmmm

Thakns for your help!

*cynthia*

Claudia, JS Beauty is better in terms of facials or body treatment?
Have you tried them before??

How about the salon at Wheelock Place? Any comments?

claudia

Hi Doodbug
Hydrating facial shld be around $85. If you have very dehydrated skin you shld try their insitute facial - Hydroptimale it is a fantastic treatment for my dehydrated skin though abit costly at $160.

Hydroptimale gel will feel abit sticky if you r not used to it, actually you can ask for a sample when you go down to the salon to do a facial. Or you can alternate the usage of hydrop gel and hydra-matt fluid (for oily skin) so it will not be too rich for you. And yes, active cream is the answer to yr pimples scar, but you got to be patience to see result.

claudia

Hi Cynthia
I wld say their facial is better compared to body and if you r a fan of eyelash perming, you shld have a try at JS. Their promotional price is @$20 only and their skills at it is good.

Wheelock, a very nice ambience and outlook there. I've tried the immuniscience facial there before, personally i feel that they are quite professinal and know their stuff but i'm service by the salon's boss so she is very experience, i cannot comment on her staff though. But if you do not have a fixed beautician then look around for special promotions/packages, as i do know that some sothys salons have their own in-house promo.

*cynthia*

Isn't immuniscience range for sensitive skin? If yours is dehydrated skin, how come u went for immuniscience facial?

sorry... lots of questions

ssl

Hi Claudia

Two of my ex colleagues also frequent the Sothys at Amara SC
that time they signed up 20times and share the package lor. heehee

But find that one of the lady there quite hardsell cos sometimes during lunch i will pop in with my friend who needs pdts. While my friend is confirming her pdts, this lady will "attack" me. heeehee but i told her me already using sothys pdts liao.

ssl

Hi Cynthia

I saw the salon u mentioned. But find that the salons there are abit ulu and small so wondering if they are that good or not.

Ok lah, we will fix our date another time. by the time we meet, it will be cynthia and her BB. heehee

claudia

Hi Cynthia
Actually u r right, but since she say that i have sensitive plus dehyrated skin so she suggest i do an immuniscience facial or hydrating facial. But i had tried the hydrating facial before so i decided to try the immuniscience facial.

claudia

Hi SSL
I think i know who u mentioned but my beautician does not do that to me cos i had make it very clear to her that i do not like pple to hard sell products to me. If i have the need i will buy, however, i do appreciate her introducing products but no pushing. I will be really piss off if pple starts to push their products, i think most of us do not like that too, agree?

forest

hello ladies,

me jus heard abt sothys... n found this thread which is soo interesting... noticed tt most of u here r very experienced in facials with sothys.. any plc to recommend for facials?? i m actually still with clarins @ wheelock.. but thinking of changing...

btw, cynthia n ssl, noticed tt u mentioned tt the both of u share the same beautician.. can tell me where it is?? also, does the beautician hve any trial facial pkg for first-timers??

claudia, i actually saw d'amara sometime back.. but not sure how gd they r.. so dare not try.. can u tell me ur experience??

tks a lot!!!

*cynthia*

Hi forest, SSL and myself visit Daphne at Raffles City Shopping Centre for facials. Sorry... she doesn't really have a trial price for first timer

There are a couple of places to try Sothys products: Orchard - Wheelock Place, Far East Plaza, Specialist Shopping Centre, Orchard Emerald; Raffles Place/ Tanjong Pagar - Amara Hotel, UOB Plaza etc...

To find out which authorised beautician is near to your home or workplace, you can enquire with Sothys Centre (tel: 6737-0101). They trained all authorised Sothys beauticians and will be the best party to advise which outlet to go.

cynthia

ssl

Hi Claudia

Yes! I agreed. just hate it when people hardsell. But i've learned how to "tong" those salespeople during my "preparing for marriage" period. Had a hardtime training myself to reject those hardsell bridal shop sales person. heehee

Hi forest,

Welcome to the Sothys thread.

You can call Daphne up to arrange for a suitable time for her to look at your face condition and do some consultation. And from there, you can decide if you want to give her a try.

I only signed up with her after a couple of ad hoc sessions with her. Its abit cheaper to sign up package with her and with the added incentive to be able to get 20% discount on products.

Why do you want to change beautician?? Service no good or products not suitable?? I went to the Clairns at wheellock once. Very posh and ambience very nice. too bad, me not a clarins person. went there cos got free eye treatment voucher. hahaha

eustoma

Hi Cynthia and SSL, do you think you can help me get products? Becos I asked my beautician at Wheelock, she says only 10% discount.

forest

hi cynthia n ssl,

thnks for the info.. btw, where exactly is daphne located at raffles city shpg ctr?? actually, d'amara is nearer to my workplc.. not sure how gd it is .. hopefully claudia can enlighten me on their service?? then again, i dun mind travelling a bit if there's a better beautician somewhere else...

actually, clarins is not too bad lah.. but the prob is tt they dun believe in extractions.. which is kinda bad for me, cos' i hve tons of blackheads.. n it doesnt feel as clean if they r not extracted lor...

ssl, u r rite.. clarins has got very posh n nice feeling.. the beds are heated, which makes it very comfortable... they r quite generous abt samples.. but too bad.. quite hard-sell also.. so, its a little turn-off for me....

claudia

Hi Forest
D'amara actually have first trial offer at least 20% off. You can check with them on any treatment you are interested in. My beautician Lilian is very experience with Sothys so I only let her touch my face. The other beauticin Doris also very experience but i feel she is abit pushy. And they have attractive package which you might want to consider. Ask for samples if you are interested in any products, after your facial.

*cynthia*

Hi forest,

Hmmm... how do u know which is the better beautician unless you have tried both yourself? SSL and I have not tried D'amara, and Claudia may not have tried Daphne, so....

Anyway, Daphne's shop is located next to Tresses Hair Salon (3rd floor). Somewhere near Harvey Norman. Should be easy to find.
Her number is 6333-1289. Give her a call before going up, juz in case she went to the washroom or to makan. She's open on most days but no fixed timing. Public holiday also depends too...

Talking about blackheads, do you do weekly scrub?? It should helps in loosening the blackheads.

*cynthia*

Claudia, what is the pricing at D'amara like? I have a friend who is interested in having her facials there. Please advise.