Sothys

moulinrouge

She does tell me WAT she is putting on my face, eg, eye mask, etc

But I do not know which brand and the name of the product etc

Maybe I'm just being paranoid but how do your girls know whether these beautians are telling the truth? I mean, they say they are putting some mask for you but with my eyes closed, I cant verify whether the mask she is putting for me, comes out from a sothy's bottle or dermalogica bottle.

To put in a fair word, she does provide good service, to remind me before my facial and to make sure that I feel comfortable thruout.

a little stingy with sample tho.

sailor_p

I got no comments on the Chinatown point branch as the boss, Angie, herself is located at Tanjong Pagar. For the $495 for 7 sessions, just to let you know that the eye treatments are not from Sothys. But I think it's comparable as they give me the hot masks for eyes and did eye massages like other eye treatments.

At Tanjong Pagar side, they stress a lot on Sothys products. In terms of skills, I've only tried Angie (the boss) and one of her beauticians, Ivy only. I find that they are comparable to Daphne. Personally, I find Ivy more detailed in extraction. Well, it all depends on individual's preference. The only thing is Ivy is more comfortable speaking Mandarin.

SSL - it's me, Newbie. Someone took my nick and I got to change nick lor. I told Cyn that Angelface is more easy on my pockets. And Angelface uses both Sothys and Dermalogica products - but only got 10% discount unlike BI and Daphne.
Overall, I still save on the facial package $$$.

I chose Angelface perhaps of the promotional packages I got and the location is nearer to my office and home (in the west).

ssl

Halo newbie :p paiseh ah.... didnt "recognise" u. Me working at Raffles Place now so to go Tanjong Pagar abit far. But still can walk to Chinatown point.

Probably try the one at Chinatown point.

Hi moulinrouge,

Do u have the address and salon name and contact no. for the branch at Chinatown. Thanks

moulinrouge

Hi SSL,

Here it is......you try and give us your feedback yah?

Cos im new to facials too.

Chinatown Pt
33 New Bridge Rd
#03-09
Tel: 65366865

I'm going to try Daphne's skills soon, so once I have a comparison, I would know better if there is a difference in skills.

spring5

sailor_p, thanks for your reply...have waited so long for it. i am glad i found someone who has tried Angelface.

you did not enquire abt D'amara Beauty Centre @ Amara Hotel Shopping Centre. I thought this salon looks much better than Angelface ....

Is the Oxyliance facial same as Oxygenating facial ?

I was a little scared when Ivy from Angelface told me that for the cheaper trial facial at $48, they may not use Sothys/Derma products for some parts of the facial. That put me a little uncomfortable as I was not sure whether they will 'cut corners' after I sign up a package with them....Hence, I share the same feeling as moulinrouge.

I was more at ease with D'amara Beauty Centre @ Amara Hotel Shopping Centre. Seems more 'the real thing' that they use on your face.

sailor_p

Hi Newbee

Angelface does offer a variety of facials. But the boss, Angie did tell me exactly what I am going to get for the price I am paying.

Oxyliance and oxygenating are two different kinds of facials. I didn't try D'amara cos I heard that they did a lot of hard selling.

I liked Angelface because the beauticians' skills are comparable to BI and Daphne and at a cheaper price. For the package I signed up, they did tell me they use sothys products except for the free eye treatments which they use another mask from other brands. And I am okay with that.

ssl

Hi moulinrouge

I probably try next month cos just went to Green Santuary (Body Shop) to try their facial on Tuesday.

Thanks for the details.

ssl

Hi moulinrouge

I probably try next month cos just went to Green Santuary (Body Shop) to try their facial on Tuesday.

Thanks for the details.

arctic_hare

Hi sailor

Hearing your experience makes me feel like going to Angelface too
Mention your name got extra discount or not... or any refer a friend benefit for you??

sailor_p

Hi Cynthia

You can mention my "big" name. I cannot be sure whether you will get anything "extra" like discounts, samples etc. But you can try, let me know when you are going and I inform Angie, the boss. Tell her that you have been using sothys products also. But she's at Tanjong Pagar most of the time. I heard Angie that her girl at Chinatown branch prefers to promote Dermalogica. Angie's skills is comparable to Daphne, in my opinion, but her shop may not be as "posh" as Daphne. Her procedure is same as Daphne except she doesn't steam my face cos my skin is already very dry.

But her package is more affordable on my pocket. Normally, Angie will personally handle the high-end treatments like lift defense, hydroptima, oxyliance and her girls will do the other ones like hydrating, oxgenating, purifying, AHA, Vit C etc...

spring5

sorry for being mountain tortoise...what is the difference between oxgenating and oxyliance ? do they do AHA peeling ?
Did you buy any products from them ?

sailor_p

oxyliance is a very intensive treatment whereas oxgenating is not that intensive though the two treatments target the same skin concern....

I don't think angelface does AHA peeling and yes I bought products from them too...

arctic_hare

Hi sailor, hmm... can consider.
I still have one session with Daphne not cleared yet... Also am trying out Amore's facials. I quite like their facilities over there... can do complimentary steambath too.

We haven't meet for quite some time.... Maybe can chio the other two ladies out for a dinner. Are you still at the same company?

ssl

haloooo halooo......

cyn, u still dont want to " finish" your session ah.. heeehee... think Daphne probably got the hint that we are "looking" for greener pastures. Cos she didnt ask me to sign for another new package. :p

sailor_p,

how many beds does the branch at TP has??

Do u know how much is their ad hoc normal (oxygenating or purifying) facial price??

arctic_hare

SSL, no time leh. Now it's either staying back late to "study" my new area of work or rushing back to play with baby. She will wait for us to come home and play with her. Then, once a month, pamper myself at Amore coupled with weekly exercise. Sounds pretty busy hor?

But soon lah... gotta stock up on hydroptimal mask.

sailor_p

Hi SSL

Angelface at TP has 3 beds (one of the beds is in a private room). She does offer body treatments like massages etc but I've never tried before.

I think for ad hoc facial, she charges about $99 for oxgenating (I may be wrong... cos I never ask for ad hoc prices!!!).

metta

Hi sailor_p,

just made an appt with Angelface. Can I use your big name as well to see if there's any privileges? I was quoted $68 for trial. Thanks!

sailor_p

Hi Metta

Ha ha... u can mention "Theresa" though I can't gurantee whether she would give you any discount or not. But you must speak to the boss, Angie, personally. Sometimes she may not give discounts, but she may give other perks.

All the best!

Erm, paiseh my suaku-ness... but where's Angelface from?

Metta, they have 1st time trial? $68/- is v tempting. Which type of facial you took?

Oh yes, did anyone tried the one from OUB? I called up their sales line and was told they shifted to Paragon. Really?

Thanks! :p

sailor_p

Hi Angela

Here's Angelface's contact. I don't know much about their trial facial. Hope Metta can share with us her experience. Have fun!

Contact Angie (the boss of Angel Face ) @ 62213723 or 91017982.

Address is:
Angel Face
Blk 1
Tanjong Pagar Plaza #01-48
Singapore 082001

metta

Hi Angela,

I just called up and asked if there's a trial facial for 1st-timers. The lady (not Angie) didn't say what kind of facial it will be. I think she will decide when I go for my appt. I'm also trying the back treatment for $68 (original $98).

My appt is end of the mth. So let u know my experience then!

Sailor_p, thanks, I'll try my luck with your nice big name if there's a chance to meet Angie!

Have a nice day!

Hi sailor_p,

Had made an appt w Angelface next mth, 17th. Coz had made an earlier appt with the one at OUB ctr... hmm.. Wonder what Angie will recommend with me and my friend (both of us going together)...

sailor_p

Hi Angela

It really depends on your skin condition cos I do a lot of sailing and my skin is highly dehydrated when I visit Angie. She recommended hydroptima facial for me. Give her a try and compare her with OUB. I've tried OUB centre's service before. They are not too bad either. There's so many shops out there, do your comparision! Have fun!

Hi sailor_p,

True, true.. thanks.

Oh yes, Angie asked me who recommend her shop... I forgot yr name, so I told her someone i knew from this forum...

Hi sailor_p,

dropped by there last tuesday... and did a facial... skills are not bad... but decor-wise, erm... well, maybe coz i tried some up-scale ones, and my expectations are pretty high... hee...
... (my personal opinions...)

will be checking out the OUB one next mth, so will see how again...

sailor_p

Hi Angela

Thanks for your feedback. Well, different people have different opinion. I guess that's the reason for the price difference then. For me, if the skills are comparable, ingredients used on your face is the same (same brand), and if the place is of acceptable level (personally, I find angelface is better than BI in terms of decor), I don't mind afterall there is that difference in price.

Do try the OUB one and do a comparision. Have fun!

Sailor_p,

I've gone for a trial at angelface recently.
may i know what is ampoule that ivy had used instead of steaming?
I've just signed the course with them....
service wise quite all right so far...but a little stingy with samples....hehehe

sailor_p

Hi Postpet2

Glad that you've signed a course with them - I am not sure that what ampoule she used. Normally, she would apply the Sothys' gommage before the extraction. Only after the extraction, she would then apply the ampoule. It depends on your skin, she would use either hydrating, vitality and sometimes something to sooth the outbreaks etc.. but I understand the ampoule is from Sothys. You can ask Ivy - I very the curious one, always asking her what she puts on my face!
One thing I like about the facial is that, there is always inclusion of ampoule, unlike in other places, we have to add in with extra cost.

Hope you enjoy your session with Ivy. I like Ivy's extraction and massage skills. She did quite a thorough job in extraction without hurting your skin. Some of the beauticians I have come across either do minimal extraction or do such a bad job that you will infection out from it!

As for samples, I do agree that they may not be as generous as BI. Maybe you should meet the boss, Angie. Angie does give me both derma and sothys samples. Oh yes, did you know that singer Ho Yeow Sun also visit Angelface? But I've not met her in person so far.

wow...i think i must ask ivy next time liao..

I've to see her again to make sure that my face is adapting the product well..
extraction = painful....i almost teared when she did it...hahaha

I've not gone to BI so dunno....Have gone to palais renaissance one and she gave samples the first visit...that's why i compare...but not fair lar...price different...

for each facial visit, do we decide we want a oygenating one or a vit c one or ivy decide?

sailor_p

Postpet2

Oh dear, sounds like I got really thick skin - perhaps, I've done so much facial that I am used to such detailed extraction by Ivy. Perhaps my threshold is high also...Ivy can extract your most stubborn clog without making it infectious - that's what I like.

Ivy gives samples only when necessary - say for that particular day, she did quite a lot of extraction, she would give me the sothys' absorbent mask to apply at home to "dry" up the outbreaks. But sometimes, you can be "thick-skin" and ask.. Angie is more generous, she's the boss mah...

Ivy or Angie or Connie (another beautician) would decide the facial depending on your skin condition that day. They have a wide range of facials using sothys products for you (hydrating, vitality etc).

The other day, Ivy did quite a lot of extraction cos I got clogged pores and didn't visit her for almost a month. There were some marks from the extraction - what I appreciate was Ivy took the initiative to call me a few days to find out how my skin is doing. Most beauticians only do it after your first facial - hopefully to get you come back the second time.

Aiyah.. palais renaissance different lah... I pay that kind of price, I would expect absolutely fabulous service with lots of freebies.. at angelface, we already got our free eye treatments to start off with...

Ivy mentioned that she has not met Ho Yeow Sun but her colleague Connie may met her. Angie the boss knows Ho Yeow Sun and her hubby well - heard from Angie that Ho Yeow Sun likes the hydroptimal facial and she sometimes visit her chinatown point branch.

Hi sailor,

can i know is the 'ampoule' that ivy uses in place of steaming the same as the 'ampoule' that brides buy as a base for their makeup?

me kinda blur on this term 'ampoule'.

sailor_p

Hi Postpet2

I'm not sure. You got to ask Ivy or Angie. However, I got a gut feeling that it's a different type of ampoule cos Ivy uses ampoule that targets your skin's immediate needs.

lily_wong

Hi i am interested in Angelface. How does Angelface's saloon look like? Is it one customer in a room or few customers shared a room? How does it fare as compared with Beauty Inspirations?

sailor_p

Hi Lily

Angelface has only three beds, two beds in one room and another one in a private room. I personally prefer Angelface to BI. But different individual has different opinions...

ckluv2travel

I chanced upon this thread while looking for a place for massage and facial. I've been considering changing from my dermalogica products to sothys, but not sure yet.
I have been going to Spa Espirit for the past 4 - 5 years for my massages and facial..I love their facials....They use Sothys and Dermalogica products which are very suitable for me, unfortunately they are only selling the Derm products to customers.
Currently I'm looking for another spa cause I'm planning on going with my mum, who's looking for more slimming related treatments...which spa esprit doesn't specialise in (how sad for me). So was wondering if the Sothys Salons cater to such slimming treatments.
Also are these salons simply called Sothys Salons? Are there any other locations besides OUB and Palais Renaissance?

Appreciate some help. Thanks

lily_wong

Hi Sailor. then do we get to use the private room or do we need to request in advance? Sharing of room with other customers is v.awkward ley...do Angelface allows first timers to use private room?

sailor_p

Hi Lily

Oh yes, you can let them know if you want to use the private room. Actually, for the room with two beds, they have curtains to divide the room into two rooms.

Hi CK

The salons do not use the "Sothys" branding. Each of them has their own names etc but they use Sothys products and treatments. You can try the one at Angelface (Tanjong Pagar) which uses both derma and sothys products. I used to visit Spa Esprit at Holland Village, quite a nice place but the Sothys treatments are a bit ex - hydroptimal treatments are about $210 instead of the usual $160. But I like the atmosphere at Spa Esprit.

lily_wong

Hi sailor
Angie from Angelface was very nice. She called me to confirm my appt and asked if i have any special requests. I told her i prefer a private room & she'll work out on that. Very nice lady. Looking forward to my facial with her soon!!! Btw, is her shop very noisy? i mean since it is located at a HDB, would it be very rowdy?

Juz came back from the OUB side... hmm... still prefer Angie's skills but love OUB's private rooms... how??

Hi Lily,

I went to Angie's side b4, got to use the private room. But they'll leave the door open, so not much 'privacy' also...

sailor_p

Hi Lily

Yep, Angie is a very nice lady. I got along with her. Well, her salon is pretty okay, u don't get to hear noises from outside. Like BI, Daphne's and even the OUB Sothys, you will get to hear your neighbours when they talk. For privacy, you can request them to close the door and most of the times, their customers are ladies, so it's pretty okay.

Hi Angela

If you like Angie's skills, then you should try Ivy's massaging and extraction skills... well, the decision is yours to choose which is your preferred choice

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Hey Angela!
Who did your facial for u at OUB Centre? I'm thinking of making an appt to try them out. Let me know? Thanks!!</font>

Hi ssmilezz,

Mine was done by the boss, name's Lilian (or somewhere alopng the line), can't remember now... memory v bad...

My friend was done by another lady. She said hers will try to ask her to sign up, etc... Mine is ok, as in she didnt really ask me to sign up or what... But i prefer Angie's extraction @ Angelface though.

lily_wong

hi i went for my facial @ Angelface last evening &amp; took up a package with them. The place was fine &amp; the beautician was attentive. I didn't have to wait very long unlike at my old place where the process took more than 2 hours. the experience was okay.