Songs for Wedding Dinner held in the ballroom

baby77

Hi ppl

I need some advice....I am holding my wedding dinner at the ballroom and i would like the whole night atmosphere to be romatic,warm and lively feeling.

i have listed down two songs i would like to play on that night but i wonder is it suitable??

Firstly - My 1st March in song will be Masterpiece by Altantic Starr.This songs is purposely chosen as it is very very special songs for my hubby and me.

Secondly - My 1st dish presentation song will be let there be love by Nat King Cole.

But lastly,i cant thinks of what songs is suitable for the 2nd March in,Background musics,Champagne pouring & Cake Cutting & Photos Montage.In addition,i would like to include one Chinese Song to be one of the background music.

Any suggestions or ideas??

Many thanks ;>

orchid

I used "Fly me to the Moon" by Frank Sinatra for 2nd walk in. it was long enough to last through walk in & champaign pouring. it's romantic & at the same time perky. i used the slightly faster version.

You can also use "Someday" - very romantic.

I used jazz ballads that are not too slow throughout the wedding and it was very well received by everyone.

blueberry

Does anyone know where can I download the song "Can't Take My Eyes Off you" as I don't want to buy the whole album for it. The romantic version.

seiko

Hi Orchid

Im also planning on playing jazzy songs. Love Sinatra. Oh will prob use songs by Gershwin cos im a fan.

how many 'Main' songs do u have ie for , march in, 1st dish etc ?

baby77

Hi Orchid

Can i koe who is the singer for this song Someday.
Is this song long enough to last through 2nd walk and chamgaign pouring.

hows abt Chinese songs? any suggestions?

kat22

Baby 77,

How abt "(I love You) For Sentimental Reasons" by Nat King Cole for your second march-in? I love this song...very romantic!

Just curious, what makes you choose "Let there be Love" for your first dish presentation?

baby77

Kat 22,

nothing special...just that i find the songs quite nice...but not confirm yet...still searching.

what did u choose for your 1st dish presentation song and background music?

kat22

Hi, baby77

oic
Gee...we really think alike then! I actually used "Let There Be Love" for my first dish presentation!
Our music theme during my wedding was jazz. My hubby and I felt that this song is very nice and quite unusual so picked it for the first dish presentation. For background music, we use the album "Jazzmoods"
So, when's your wedding?

baby77

Hi Kat22

really....hmmm...but me still selecting songs...just curious too,why mostly ppl nowsadays are using Jazz musics for wedding....Its really very romantic but i need to find some songs which give a warm and lively atmosphere too.

my wedding is on next yr May'03.what abt you?

may

how many songs do we need for the entire wedding dinner? baby77, mine wedding also next may. where is urs?

orchid

Hi Seiko,

I had 2 main songs. 1st one was: Let there be Love by Nat King Cole, march in & cut cake
2nd one was Fly me to the Moon by Frank Sinatra, march in & champagne pouring.

Baby,
several ppl did "Someday". i like the one from 'My Best Friend's Wedding'.

Jazz has fast jazz and slow jazz. i had a mixture so that the guests don't fall asleep! heheh...

I cut a CD from the collection that I had. most were by Nat King Cole & Frank Sinatra, took several from the 'What Women Want' soundtrack.

sorry... can't help u w chinese songs.

orchid

Seiko,
I didn't pick the 1st dish song. Left that to the hotel, told them that i'm using jazz, and as long as it's not kitaro or star wars it's OK.

Baby,
what abt "One Fine Day", "Going to the Chapel"...

droopy eyes

Hello GalS
Baby, do u like cantonese? I think Jacky's "Ni De Ming Zhi, Wo De Xing Shi" is perfect for wedding. I'm using that
Not sure if there is a Mandarin Version.Or maybe u can use his "Yue Ban Wan".

baby77

Hi May

I held in Suntec ballroom.Wat abt u?

have you found your songs? what do you like?

I like the ideas from Orchid and Kat22. thanks gals.

may

baby77: mine is at amara.

i dont like Jazz. thinking of using Shania Twain's from this moment and the japanese song - first love. i just not sure how many songs do i need.

seiko

Hi Orchid,

tks for the reply. What Women Want is a great Cd !
I collect Jazz cd's too. Like what u said the selection muz be catered to the masses. Too many fast ones, the older folks buay tahan, too many slow ones, the younger generation zzzz.

Droopy Eyes,

I love JC ! dun got mandarin version for that song rite ? MY fave is ' lei hoi yee hao '.
ALAMAK cannot use that song for my wedding man.
Juz love the tune. Whenever FH hears me playing that song, he freaks out *HEE*

baby77

seems that we gals koe more than guys...in selecting wedding songs...

Hi Carmen

hows abt your side?

sade

My wedding in coming Dec. Will be using Hero by Enrique Inglesias for 1st March in, Only Time by Enya for 1st Dish, Ai Hen Jian Dan by David Tao for 2nd March in and Qing Ren by Alex Toh for Champagne pouring... Any comment on this?

droopy eyes

Seiko, that's a great song too but hee hee ... really not suitable. I think his voice is fantastic for march in songs. I chose a duet by him & Kwang Meiyun - "Zhi You Qing Yong Zai" for my brother's wedding, & he love it. I saw u under Mandarin thread (but didn't read) u having yr wedding at Mandarin too?

seiko

Morning Droopy Eyes,

My fave HK singer is JC, i dun listen to rest after falling in love wif his canto songs. Im not cantonese, so after listening to his songs thru & thru, i managed to pick up cantonese. Some pple say i dun sound like local when i speak canto.
tks to JC

1 of my faves duet songs is zhi you qing yong zai!

Over at Mandarin thread, i used to use my other nick MooMoo? But have decided to use Seiko 'fulltime' now. hope it'll not cause any confusions

baby77

Hi Sade

I love this song too by David Tao.Its very nice and romantic.but sorry as for your Alex Toh's song,it sound really not suitable for champagne pouring to my point of view.

you prefer to have Chinese songs or English songs for your champagne pouring?

Hi Droopy Eyes

so sorry...I am not really gd in cantonese songs as i dont speak cantonese language,do u koe any Mandarin songs which is gd to have for champagne pouring.

Any suggestions?

droopy eyes

Hi baby,
I m not sure if Jacky's "Yue Ban Wan" has a mandarin version, Seiko u know? If there is, I think it's very romantic. What about Harlem's "Zhi You Wei Ni"?

Can't think of any right now. Let u know when I recall some more

droopy eyes

Baby I m back, I just recalled a song which a friend's hubby purposely learn & sing for her. Very nice & romantic. It's by Yong Ban ... "Ni Shi Wo Zhui Sheng Ai De Ren".
Aiyoh, we jie mei s were all so touched!

enya

any idea where i can get the "what women want" cd? what sort of songs are in this CD? i'm thinking of "let there be love" and "can't get my eyes off you" ... can't think of something for the 1st dish presentation!!!! any ideas? DUNWAN DUNWAN STAR WARS OR DUNNO WHAT KITARO! i would really freak out!

heyo, the new wedding magazine " wedding travel" has a cd included with the mag! have u guys checked it out?

orchid

Hi Enya,

With the exception of 'Bitch', it's mostly jazz balads in there. i used quite a few pieces in there for my wedding.

you can get it from almost any CD shop. my favourite is 'That CD Shop' aka 'Gramaphone' at Specialist Shopping Centre (facing John Little Winter Section) or Raffles MRT station shopping mall.

The staff there are also very helpful & well versed with the music. you can ask them for suggestions & ideas for jazz pieces suitable for weddings & they can help you. prices are also cheaper than other shops.

orchid

Hey,

anyone thought of using Josh Croban for walk-in song or 2nd entrance? some of his pieces are beautiful. but not very suitable for background music playing - too intense, slow & can get sleepy. hehe...

One advice... please go through the lyrics of the songs first. some pieces are very very nice... but they are actually talking abt breaking up. so please don't use those for your wedding.

orchid

Hi May,

my CD was abt 1 hr long abt 14 pcs, including the 2 songs we used for entrances. we just told the hotel that they can put the CD on repeat mode, so it repeated abt 2.5 times. it didn't sound repeated cos there were different types in there - fast ones, slow ones, instrumentals...

kat22

Hi, gals

Carmen - we just played CD2 of "Jazzmoods" 'cos most of the songs are very nice and we were too lazy to select specifc songs for the background music :p we figure that noone really notice the music anyway.

baby77 - yalor..many people are using jazz for their weddings nowadays
We like jazz as it goes well with our wedding theme and location. Oh, my wedding is over liao...it was in Sep this year
Since you still have a few months, you can slowly look out for some nice songs. I used "Can't Take My Eyes Off You" for my first march-in and "It Had to be You" for the second march-in
"Can't take my eyes off you" is a really lovely song...you can consider using it

cherubies

anyone know where i can get 'shower me with your love' by surface music without the words [i.e. instrumental music only]?

dap

Hi Kat22

I wanted to use "Can't get my eyes off you" for my 2nd march-in but Carlsberg is currently playing in TV and Radio. Scare it's too commercialise but I really like that song have infact decided it early this year. sigh....

kat22

Hi, dap

If you really like it, go for it! Dun worry abt it been commercialise lah..anyway, they din really play the song in the carlsberg advert mah
It's your wedding..you decide!!

I remember Citibank used it for one of its adverts too but I dun care lah..I love this song and it fits my jazz theme
You know..I am still playing this song every now and then at home...the feeling is great b'cos I love this song and it reminds me of my wedding!

enya

hi kat22:

i have exactly the same idea as u! are the 2 songs u use included in jazzmoods as well??
is let there be love included in that cd 2?

val

I chk with you all huh...Do we need to compile the whole list of songs in the order that we want them to be played that is to burn into a CD? Will you all be getting someone to control the songs? As in erm..if the music is played half-way, we'll be doing the champagne pouring, have to stop and play the song for champagne pouring isn't it?

Wah headache ah...I still thot only have to prepare 2 songs....for the 2 walk-ins....haven prepare anything yet...

strawberry

oh no..
i'm getting confused, so many songs for choice after reading this thread.

val, i also haven't thought about anything yet

any recommendations?

kat22

Hi, enya

Hehehe...looks like a few of us share the same taste for songs
"Let there be love" is in CD1 of Jazzmoods (Jazzmoods comes in two CDs). I think they have "Fly me to the moon" in that CD too..
For "Cant take my eyes off you", we got it from another CD..cant remember the name of the album liao 'cos it is a compilation. What other songs do you have in mind?

Hi, Val

For my wedding, I burnt a CD with the songs that I wanna played for first march-in, first dish presentation, etc, in the order that I want. I used another CD for background music. I think it is better to do so to minimise any chances of the hotel technician playing the wrong song. I din have any fren in charge of the music..the hotel staff did it for us. We had a rehearsal so everything turn out well.

For my champagne pouring, although I did prepare another song, the hotel advised that I use my second march-in song for my champagne pouring as well. It turn out ok...actually, I din even notice whether the song lasted throughout the champagne pouring! :p

val

Yah lor strawberry abit gan cheong liao...Dec is just ard the corner liao and we haven even decide on this yet...sigh...

Kat22, Thanks for the info...Hmm..So I think I'll get 4 songs (1st & 2nd walk-in, 1st dish and champagne pouring)...

Yup got recommendations for the 4 songs?

dap

Hi Kat22
will think about it first. see what's the impact of that Carlsberg adv first. Let say I use Can't take my eyes off you for 2nd march in, I can let the music continue to champagne pouring? I thought when you're on stage, the emcee will say something and invite your parents up the stage for tossing. Then after everyone is up then the couple open the bottle and pour champagne. This is when you play your next song right?

I'll be playing the whole album of Ona Lisa. She's a bousa Nova singer. Quite jazzy and light. Will get the hotel to put on repeat mode.

kat22

Hi, dap

For us, we pop the champagne first before the emcee invite our family on stage for the toasting
Very weird to ask our family to wait on the stage while we pour the champagne rite?

orchid

Hi dap,

At the 2nd entrance, we walked in, poured champagned, said speech, then MC invited our family on stage for toasting.

Music played all the way until speech. then while MC invited our family up, play background music another track. while the family was coming up, our MCs said something abt us (both were our friends) & the banquet manager passed the wine glasses to the family.

orchid

Hi Val & Strawberry,

Actually, technically speaking you only need to prepare the 2 main songs. the hotel will have someone to play background music.

but because we want to choose the songs to be played, it's easier if you cut it into a CD and let them know which ones to play for the 2 main songs. the rest can let the CD run.

I had a friend who was coordinating with the hotel - cos i'm very particular abt music. he cued in the 2 main songs, when to fade off, when next song come in. other than that, the background music was just putting our CD on repeat mode.

aa

anyone knows which website i can download songs from since galaxy is closed?

val

AA,
You can try Kazaar.com or something...but not too sure whether this is the correct spelling...

dap

any recommendation for 1st dish presentation huh? Dun want mission impossible, kitaro,vanessa mae. any others? Must it be a fast pace one, can i have something from Enya album?