Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

girlz

hehehe...now hoping to settle the dinner venue first lor...the rest should be not in that hurry. Going to get somemore dates from the temple so that it will be easier for us to search for venue...

do keep me updated when u go for the wedding dinner at marriott...

girlz

harlo BB,

how's the marriott wedding dinner that u have attended? I've been to the bridal show, have already made the confirmed booking but haven't paid the deposit.

Now begin to worry abt filling the min 25 tables required...and becos of the promo, they dun allow reserve tables....*sigh*....

happydrf

i have also signed up with marriott during the bridal show. I am having my banquet on a weekday June 04. BB, can u share with me ur comment....via email??

Thanx

girlz

Hi BB,

Thanks for the comments...i've got them liao!! very comprehensive...will take note when i do the arrangements with them.

Hi rochor, ish, happydrf and pianokey!!
Actually, I'm supposed to sign up with Marriott on sunday one, but there's problems with the coordinator i had
, since it's already over liao and the banquet manager, Sunil took over my arrangement from that coordinator, I'm not going to mention his name and the problem here.

Anyway, Sunil is very good, he gave me time to consider and on top of it, he will still give me the perks even if i were to sign up later...so now waiting for my FH to come back from his overseas trip b4 we sign with them

rocher_ho

Hi girlz, pianokey, ish, happydrf & BB

I have signed up during the bridal show. Can share share information on the perks that you have gotten? My AD is on 26/11/04, its a Friday

Actually, now I feel kinda of shortchange as the package is rather ex... and I think I got to save on my bridal gowns and other stuffs in order not to lugi so much $$ for my wedding. But have already paid the deposit liao, so no choice.

Btw, how you gals feel abt the food tasting? I think too much MSG in the udon noodles, which makes me and my FH very thirsty and after dat both of us are not feeling very well then in the end I got a very sore throat which leads to a terrible flu which lasted for 4 days... me just recovered.

Just hope that the dishes on the AD will have lesser MSG. I think its good to speak to the chef before the cooking, so that he knows what is your concern of the food.

girlz

Hi Rocher,

I'm planning for a weekday, so the perks are slightly different.

How come u feel that u are being shortchanged leh?? Btw, who's ur coodinator?

pianokey

Hello Rocher,
I also had a flu which I got from my husband. There's a bug going around, so everything compounded made it worse.
We signed up on Sunday, but I'm not sure what perks we're getting yet, cos I haven't seen the contract. I know it's kind of silly that I paid the deposit without knowing exactly in black and white what I'm getting. I trust Angela not to upset us. It's the standard 3 items from the wish list for weekends.
Since you've already paid, look on the bright side and be excited about a wonderful wedding! =)

Udon was salty, yes, but the other stuff were great I thought. The cakes were divine.

Happydrf, not getting any extra, but 20% parking and 70% printing, quite normal, 2N stay. We're horrible at bargaining...

Girlz...Mine's Angela, yours?

rocher_ho

Hi girlz,
ic... I think weekday the perks are very attractive - 11th table free for everything 10 tables confirmed.... so if you have 45 tables, that means u got've 4 tables free... and oso got free flow if u exceed certain no. of tables.
I felt shortchanged cos other hotels are offering much lower rates and the ballroom are pillarless as well...Cos 2/3 of my guest will be relatives and u know lah... ang pows from relatives wont be so much as compared to friends and colleagues..so I scare that I have to top up a few grands for the dinner lor...
-------------------------------------------------
Hi pianokey,
Have u recovered from ur flu? Hope u have. Ya the flu bug is terrible manz.... but my FH didnt 'kena' from me leh... hehe
Ya, since I have paid liao.. so have to save alot and oso pray pray that everything is goin fine & well.

The udon is salty, the broccoli is not bad, the fish fillet is not so nice.. maybe turned cold liao... And the most sad thing is that me & FH dun have the chance to try the cakes... by the time we reach the the buffet area... I din see any cakes available.... so sad

My coordinator is Mark Chan. But I feel tat Angela is a good coordinator cos she will know what are the needs of the bride more, being a female herself.

Inititally on the package, there's only 1 nite stay at the Junior suite.. but I have asked Mark to give me anor nite free as well... but I'm wondering if can upgrade the suite if there is no occupancy that day or not. I oso got bargain for the parking 20% and printing 70% lor... I think the perks that they are giving is quite standard leh... I wan to try to get something more eg changing the wedding favours.. but Mark says I need to top up $$$..

girlz

Hi pianokey,

I haven't actually signed up, but i think mine should be Sunil. Heard that Angela is quite good, should be quite ok...I think their additional perks are quite standard one, no need much bargaining one....Seems like most of u are going for weekend package.

As for the contract, u better try to get it asap, since u already paid for it. Wat abt the date? Have ur coordinator blocked the date for u?

Hi Rocher,
I know wat u mean lor...me too, mostly relatives...that's one of the reason why i choose weekday, since relatives or friends will not give extra whether it's a weekday or weekend, so in order to minimize the lost, we decided to hold our customary and wedding on separate days.

Can u change ur coordinator to Angela instead? btw, cannot pm u huh??

Hi happydrf,
Wat abt u?? wat perks u managed to get leh? Can share? Me same as rocher and pianokey, 2 nites, 70% cards, 20% carpark.

rocher_ho

Hi girlz,

But I think Mark is quite okie leh.. I think I will will stick with him lor..but hor, I think we must communicate to one another (other Marriott brides) on the perks tat we are getting so tat we would feel lugi.. hehe cos I feel that if we dun ask they oso wont give one so die die oso must grab watever that they can give us...

Apologies...I have changed my settings liao...u can PM to me liao... I dun noe if I have set it or it is default one?

Btw, I have not gotten my contract yet leh...how?
So have u guys gotten urs yet?

girlz

Hi rocher,

I've already pm u liao...

I also agree that we should keep each other informed abt the perks lor...but it seems like the same leh....My perks are as follows:

1) Increase in complimentary invitation cards from 60% to 70%
2) Increase in complimentary car passes from 15% to 20%
3) Food tasting for 10 persons instead of 6 persons
4) extend two nights complimentary stay in bridal suite inclusive of breakfast

as well as some changes to the food menu. I think for the food menu part, u still can change it after ur food tasting lah...but u can start considering so that u can have the actual menu for ur food tasting....

so are the perks same as urs??

rocher_ho

Hi girlz,

I have PM u back liao...

Yup.. your perks are the same as me. Seems that they are giving the same for every couple. Btw, yours is a Bridal Suite or Junior Suite? Cos mine is a Junior suite, its the smallest one among the suite rooms. And they have 3 different kinds of suites. Me feel like changing the suite room to a bigger one...

I have not confirmed the dishes yet... so ur package is which one? I can choose from Pearl 1 or 2, but I think I will mix and match the dishes.

How abt other Marriott brides out there?

girlz

Hi rocher,

Received liao!!

Is there different suits for bridal?? I thought only 1 type available? Mine should be Junior Suite only...but i've seen it, quite ok lah...very standard lor..

Mine is a weekday, so the menu is Jade 1 or 2 for my case, I've swopped some of the dishes btw them.

I also haven't started with my bridal package search yet...begin to worry, my AD is at May, urs is at Nov, right?? Still got lots of time to do research, so dun worry, relax!!

pianokey

Hi rocher, girlz,
I haven't received my contract either. But since paid 4000, the date is confirmed.
I can't remember whether mine is junior or bridal suite, food tasting for 6 or 10. If girlz managed to squeeze 10, I will too! =)

The 3 of us have 3 different coordinators!

happydrf

Hi girlz,

I had only asked for an additional nite stay and 10 person food tasting. Cant remember the name of that coordinator whom i had signed up with but he is a guy la but i will prefer Angela to followup later on.

Me too havent receive the contract although paid up and confirm the date. Understand from the coordinator that they followup with us at a later date.

Girlz, u so fast confirm ur menu liao huh. Have ur food tasting already issit? As mine is also on a weekday, thus can only choose Jade 1 or 2. Can share with me which dish is nice?? As i was comparing the menu with the rest of the hotel that i had went, i found that the food they offered not as good le. What do u think??

maru

I hv signed up Marriott for lunch banquet on the bridal show and Angela is the co-ordinator. Agreed wif pianokey of paying the deposit without getting a contract only a receipt was issued and oso not stated what is being paid for. Hv kinda of 'unsafe' feeling. Anyway we trust Angela everything on her hand is fine.

Juz rec'd the contract two days ago. *phew*.

For your info, I think the menu can be mix & match as long as it is swop in a way like menu 1 dish 1 to menu 2 dish 1.

Hope to share more info wif u gals here.

ladybird349

Hi Baddie,

Can share information on your lunch banquet?
I am also interested in holding a wedding lunch at Marriott. However, I'm quite bz these few days and have not gone down to talk to the coordinator.

How many tables you have?
What are the perks?

pianokey

hi baddie, Welcome. when's yours?

I received my contract yesterday, but some things not stated. Like she said car-park and invitation 20 and 70%, but the present one still 15 and 60...Will call and probably meet her again.

girlz

Hi Baddie!

Welcome!! Glad that more and more ppl are joining this thread...

Hi happydrf,
Is ur coordinator Chinese or Indian? If Chinese, most likely is Mark Chan, if Indian, could be Siva or Sunil....actually u should ask to increase the invitation cards, juz in case lor..btw, ur 2 nite stays are both weekdays mah?? initially i wanted both weekdays, but the coordinator strictly say "NO".

I haven't gone for food-tasting lah...juz roughly did a run-through of both menus to see which one we prefer lor...I also got the same feeling as u!! feel that the menu very "cheap" leh...seems others are giving better ones, but wat attracted me and FH to decide on Marriott is becos of the reputation and the location rather than the food lor...wat abt u?

Hi pianokey,
U better make sure that they state down black and white on the contract lor...juz in case (*touch wood*) they go back on their verbal agreement. Or the coordinator leaves the hotel...then at least it's easier for u to communicate since everything agreed is on black and white...call me KS or wat lor...but i think it's to safe guard ur interest!!

mr_bean

Hi Baddie,

I am also considering to sign the lunch banquet with Marriott. What are the perks that you have bargained for? Care to share? Why did u choose Marriott over other hotels?

I think the design and theme of the ballroom and location is quite a big plus. But one of the reason that I am hesitating is food. Dont want my guests to end up complaining that food lousy...

ladybird349

Hi mr_bean,

Did you went to marriott to discuss with the coordinator?
I tink their food shld be quite good. From the previous comments from this thread, heard that the food are quite ok.

When do you plan to hold your wedding?
Did you look into other hotels?

mr_bean

Hi Lady Bird,

yap i did... i would say several rounds of 'negotiation' oreadi. Still have not put my pen down.

Was looking at Oct next year. Heard that it is a hot month.. but I think wedding lunch should be okie.

I am still evaluating other hotel, MC, ST.. so trying to pick the best

ladybird349

Hi mr_bean,

Beside the food that you are hesitating, how is their perks?
Who is your coordinator?

I have not went down to discuss with them. But looking at their lunch promotion,i'm a bit tempted.

Are a minimum number of tables we have to take from them so that we can use the ballroom?

ladybird349

Hi pianokey,

I heard from the marriott staff that we need to pay a deposit of $4000? Is this fixed?

Hope that you have recover from your flu. Take care.

pianokey

Hi lady bird,
I guess the deposit is fixed by company rule. Another 2000 is required 3 months before the event. There should be a mininum number of tables. It may be a different no. for lunch. Ask your coordinator. How many tables are you looking at?
My flu's ok now. Thanks!

ladybird349

Hi pianokey,

I'm looking at only 20 tables. I guess the perks for lunch and dinner would be different.
How is your perks?
I'm hoping that they won't give different perks just becos I'm taking their lunch.
So when is your big day?

mr_bean

Hi Lady Bird,

My coordinator is Mark Chan. I would say that the perks are not that really attractive. The 488 nett is just for the 8 course lunch and basic decorations. You would need to pay for beer, additional decorations (ie for the different theme), chocolate flavours, etc. I can send you the lunch package for you to have a look if u r interested. However, after I have add up all the additional costs, it is still cheaper than other hotels.

Wat is your budget like? Based on 20 tables, it might be a bit difficult to bargain for more perks. I have done some research on other hotels having lunch banquets. I can pass you those info separately via your email.

kawaii

hi mr bean

i'm also thinking of lunch banquets but i only have about 15 tables.

went to marriotts to take a look but my FH doesn't like it.

my budget is also around $500-$650.

could you please send the lunch banquets info. to me at [email protected]?

thanks a million!

mr_bean

Hi Kawaii, Tessy & Mist,

Could we proceed to the "Lunch Banquet instead of dinner" thread to discuss about this? let's not "choke" this Marriott thread.

oct04_bride

I've signed up for the package during their fair, Angela is my planner. Honestly, she is not really flexible.. didnt give me extra one night when I've asked for it.

Girlz, mine is a weekday too! agree that the menus are not great. except for the shark fins, I cant find any delicacy.. no abalone, not even scallops! how many tables did you book? not sure what to choose from the 2 wishes, maybe the 6 btls free wine.. how abt you?

BTW, any one of you get free flow of beer?

pianokey

Hello pink dot,
I think the things that they can give is standard.
I'm getting free flow beer, cos mine is weekend, and I also get $30 off. And almost automatically gave us 2N since weekend.
You're getting the 11th table free right?
So yours is 0ct 04? =)

oct04_bride

Hi Pianokey
Yap, getting 11th table free, but we are not allowed to have reserved tables.. so it's almost the same.. If you can have reserved tables, at least you wont be charged if the table is not utilise. Now, we will have to plan our guest list very carefully.. sigh!

lemoncake

Hello everyone,
I have signed up for a weekday banquet in Marriott during the bridal show. But I didn't get perks likie 2N stays or upgrade to bridal suite
can someone tell me how the Junior suite is like? and anyone signed up for weekday dinner get the 2N stays? I am feeling miserable now...

lemoncake

Hi Girlz,
Thou my dinner is weekday too, but my perks are so different from yours. I only given food tasting up to 8 persons, no 2N stays. But I managed to ask for a helper room and free flow of beer. what other perk available to get? I am trying to save as much as I can, since most of my guests are relatives.

oct04_bride

hello lemoncake
Who is yr planner? hey, at least you got a helper room hor.. I feel cheated too! asked for a day room (for helper) and was rejected! so angry. how many tables did you confirmed? btw, when is yr wedding then? cannot take it, will squeeze Angela for the extra day room!

Been to the junior suite, there'a living room and bedroom. quite okay. think that is usually their bridal suite too.

mist

hi mr bean,

i've got your email... thanks... okay sure, we can move to lunch banquent.. but hv you created this thread already???
me can't find leh...

maru

Hi Lady Bird

Glad to share more info wif u. I can email u their general quote, juz give me ur email add.

maru

Hi pianokey

u mean ur contract din state the revised the figure for carpark & invites? Mine already changed to 70% & 20%. Better inform ur co-ordinator abt it, remember not to sign the contact unless everything in the contract is as per ur request.

maru

Hi Mr bean

By reading through the post, guess more or less u hv the info for marriott.

Hope to discuss more info then.