Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

phy_o

Woo Hoo! Wedding is finally over!

SOOOOOOOooooooo HAPPY.

The dinner was a success! Started at 8.15pm and last guest left at 10.45pm.

Thanks to all for your congratulations! I'm now a MRS ...hahahaha!!!

Marriott ... banquet coordinator's service was wonderful. His name is Moe (I think that's the way it's spelt!)

Charlene our wedding coordinator was also wonderful. Met us at the lobby when we arrived. Guess that's because I smsed her in advance.

Only two slight minor hiccups - our VIP table cloth is suppose to be dark gold but somehow it became red colour. Also I requested for signages for the word groom and bride to be placed at the reception table but there wasn't any.

As for lightings, initially after the first course it was very bright. So we requested them to dim it a little. So the ambience was great. But after our speech, the light had to be brighter as it was photo taking time.

Ang Pow Box - please prepare your own in advance. Marriott's new ang pow box is very tiny and inconvenient. I was suppose to get it from Marriott. Good thing I had a backup. They used to have a nice one but one of the couple accidentally spoilt it (according to Stephine my ex-coordinator). Seems like that they have not sourced for a nicer ang pow box yet.

Overall, a very pleasant experience so far. Oh by the way, there's no safe at the front desk. So got to put your stuff in the safe deposit in your suite.

Food wise ... no idea. Got to ask CSI Fan .... think she was busy noting and researching for her wedding preparation ... hehe!

That's all from me. Going to try the Spa tomorrow!

kitty_li

hehehs...Phy....Congrats again! Glad you enjoyed yourself!

No wonder the lights were so bright after your speech lah....we kept "blinking". Trying to get used to the sudden brightness. But yes, the ambience after the 1st dish was great! I'll take note of that to get them to dim it slightly if necessary <font color="0000ff">(when my turn)</font>...

Ok! I had a "team" of pple helping me with the psuedo-food tasing session...hahaha.
Food was generally yummy. Someone commented that the scallops with mashed taro looked like it came from Old Chang Kee!! (ignore him) muaahahaha....but it tasted nice. Shark's fin with Hasma, Conpoy &amp; Golden Mushrooms was good! Not starchy at all! <font color="ff0000">tell us...how did you get them to serve it non-starchy?</font> Soon Hock was YUMMY! Wan Hao Crispy Chicken was GOOD! THE BEST!!
A must-have dish, according to my "team". hahaha...
Braised ee-fu noodles was, according to the cook-cum-gourmet at our table (Egwin), better than that from other hotels. Mango Pudding...the presentation was COOL....really nice! Egwin is not a fan of mango pudding, but he actually likes Marriott's! (For myself, I'm thinking between the mango pudding and the cakes for dessert...)

Service-wise, the waiter at our table was a very cautious person. Which was good. He portioned out everything neatly (eg. cut the fish slowly, so it does not "scatter/collaspe") before dishing it out onto the plates. But the kitchen was a tad bit slow in between dishes.

Phy, what wine did you use? Did you bring in your own or the Hotel's? It was really smooth and nice!!
But the strange thing was, at one point, the waiter told us that they had run out of wine...??

The Vineyard theme was beautiful! It was a really great choice, Phy! Love your selections for the lightings too. Hey, I also have 2 EG to change into...so must ask you how you managed to schedule it in...

Btw, your emcee was WAY COOL manz!! we were totally "floored"...hahaha

monkeyjay

Wow.. good updates from Phy and CSI. Oh ya, did you guys ask your frens to be the emcee? normally so we still have to give them ang bao?

And thanks Nancy for your pics...

Hmm.. and how's the dry ice effect?

esther_lim

Hi iceblink,

Ur pixs look sooo nice especially the one u n ur hubby at the marriott reception with the red background . Thxs alot for sharing!!! Will share my AD pixs wif you and rest of the marriott brides when I got my AD pixs back.

phy_o

Thanks ladies!

I had a great time!

The sharks fin at some tables were starchy. That was the feedback I had. So I think you were lucky, did not get the starchy part. Haha ... Red wine ran out???!!? ... Haha .... I wonder why no one told me? I told them to open more if need be. Well guess 36 bottles weren't enough. I used House wine ... the $22++ range. You can choose that too.

Ya agree that kitchen was a little too slow. Expecially after the 4th dish. But I think that was to coordinate with photo-taking. According to Moe (my banquet coordinator), they usually speed up the food after photo-taking. Think they take into account of not wanting the whole table to look cluttered with food when we come over to take photos. That's why.

Actually cannot be ran out of red wine, cos after sending out the last guest, my hubby and I kana takan by my JC frens to drink 3 full glasses of red wine, beer and XO. They mad already. So seems like there's left over. Hehe ...

You have 2 EGs too? It depends on when you want to change to the second gown. For me, I wanted to send the guests off in my second gown. That's why I changed right after photo taking and dessert.

I had a friend who changed in the middle of photo-taking. So that readlly depends on you

kitty_li

hey Phy,

Oh, hehs...guess we were lucky!
ahh...the House wine ah. okie. It was not bad. Leonard drank at least 10 glasses!! (We think it's 10 lah. He probably lost count himself.)

It was so farnee...we asked for wine. They said no more. Huh? Ok lorh. Then suddenly have. Ok. But Leonard asked for more again (he heavy drinker lah he). They said no more! So in the end, to play safe, he got Mr. Teo's 2 other friends (same table next to him) to order wine too. Such that there's always 3 glasses of wine. So that when Leonard finishes his glass, he just swaps the empty glass with the glasses placed with Mr. Teo's frens. hahaha...so he has his constant supply of wine there...

Ahh....they have a point also lah, so that the tables dun look cluttered with food. I see...

Yap, was thinking of changing in the middle of photo-taking. Just dunno how to pull it off...hehs.

Btw, what wedding wishes did u choose?

kitty_li

Hey iceblink,
thanks for the link!

Your picts are nice! Love the layout. Who's your PG (oops, has this been asked before)?

sailormoonwt

hi iceblink: tks for sharin with me yr precious photos! they r very beautifully taken &amp; i tink yr PG is very good...like the way the wedding photo collages r taken! (specially like the "anticipation" where they take yr tiny little toes... hehehe)

who is yr PG?

phy_o

Hi CSI Fan!

Waaa .... he drank so much wine uh? He feeling moody is it? That's why drank and drank? Hehe ...

If you wanna change in the middle, then you can change after taking photo with half the ballroom. Then got to tell the kitchen to slow down the food. Unless you you change very fast. Sure no problems. My friend had 5 changes of clothes that time also can pull off. Actual wedding ended at 10.45pm la. Everyone was very grumpy then. Haha ...

You got to tell your coordinator Vincent before hand. I told Charlene a few days before the wedding. Anyway I only wanted to change after photo-taking. So not too much of a problem.

Wedding wishes? We took the 12 bottles of wine, 30l of beer and a free one night stay for my in-laws. They have car, so they could ferry my hubby to the BS to return the gowns the next day. Hehe ... So gave them free one night stay.

kitty_li

hehs...Phy, maybe lorh. hahaha...he see Ben and Emiee get along so well <font color="0000ff">(wink, wink, hint, hint)</font>, he feels moody that he has nobody yet. muahahaha. ooops. So bad...

wah, 5 changes of clothes...that's like a bit too much...hahaha. Okie, noted. Will inform Vincent beforehand.

So the hair's short now? heehee...

iceblink

Hi CSI Fan &amp; Sailormoon, thanks!
was really happy when i collected my coffeetable book... had no idea what to expect so was really pleased with end result my AD photographer is jon keng... can check out his website at www.jonkeng.com

phy_o

Wow iceblink!

The photos were wonderful. You must have been very pleased. Looks like a summary of your day. And you look extremely happy!

Hey CSI Fan,

Ben and Emmie? Haha ... you sure? But then again, Den always got along well with everyone. Hehe .. We must all meet up again ... let the rest fill me in man ... Shall we meet before the photos or after the photos are out? This is so fun!

Ahhh ... my hair ... it's like layered from my eye to my neck. Really short! Very comfortable too! Shall take a picture of myself soon and post it on multiply. Then you shall get a shock like the rest! Haha !

kitty_li

Hey Phy,

Yah!! he introduced her as his "wife"...muahahahaha...But i'll leave the rest to fill u in too! (for now, pretend you haven't heard anything yet...) hehs...Hmmm...you probably can't wait to hear the stories! hahaha...but I think after the photos are out would be nice too...photos can help trigger the memories of what happened that day, so we can tell u too! Wah, really fun manz! I can't wait for mine to come, yet on the other hand, I dun want it to come yet...still wanna enjoy the preparations and "shopping" ard...

fairyland

Hi Iceblink!

Can I see your photos? [email protected]

I had my wedding celebration at Marriott weeks ago and still miss it. Cant wait to see my AD photo n video but they are not ready.... I love my WG n EG...they are fr TWP too :p

kitty_li

Hi Fairyland,
cool...
Congrats! How was your wedding? Show us your pics when they are ready, yah? (if you dun mind lah...) heehee...

sailormoonwt

Ohaiyo Ladies

oh my god, iceblink...yr PG is actually Jon Keng!!! his works r reali impressive one...i frequent his website alot...been highly recommended by my other forum frens..and i m now scouting around for photographers wor~~ yr pic reali helps me in reaffirming how impressive his pictures can turned out to be... really very beautifully taken!!! *THUMBS UP*

i bet it must be quite expensive hor..(i heard lah)

how much was yr package?

kitty_li

Hey iceblink,

Missed out your post. Oohh...Jon Keng...I enquired with him before (can't remember what he quoted me liao), but he's taken up on my AD and he was suggesting his assistant...which I wasn't keen on. haiz...Jon's a poly student or something like that, right?

So in the end, I signed with Stephen of Lyrical Moments. Sailormoonwt, you can consider my PG too...

iceblink

Hi Phy - thanks! Yep, really happy with the highlights, captured what happened during my AD nicely &amp; it's easy to carry around

Fairyland - do send your pics when ready! would really love to see your gowns! great to see another TWP bride here!
sailormoon - do consider jon, he's a really easy &amp; funny guy to work with. haf sent you pte msg regarding his package.
CSI Fan - yep, jon is a poly student but he graduated already... he's only doing AD up till the end of the year, he's going to concentrate on pre-wedding instead. he actually brot his assistant to my fren's wedding &amp; honestly i couldn't tell the difference between his shots &amp; the assistant's. he trained him well!

am_blessed

Woo...
haven't visited this thread since last week and suddenly a lot of praises, gossips (of the ppl we dun know =p), and feedback.

Phy,
So glad ur AD went smoothly. Congrats to our new Mrs !! kekeke. Told u your vineyard theme will look awesome ^_^

Iceblink,
agree with the rest. Your photos are very impressive ^_^

kitty_li

hi am_blessed,
yes yes...my fault. Ok, shhhh....I shall not mention those frens at Phy's dinner anymore. hehs. Not very correct of me...hehs...

twinstarz

hey iceblink! im a fan of TWP gowns, that's y i like urs....i went down to check them out few weeks ago, but unfortunately, i didn't see any of those beautiful gowns that TWP brides always show me! n somehow, can't really click with the designer, so i dropped them. sigh, its a pity though, but i really think that is impt to hv good rapport with the designers. but hey, i didn't know that TWP tied up w jon keng.

hey hey fairyland! congrats!!! do share ur pics when they r ready k?? =)

iceblink

hi jay &amp; lemonade88 - you can view my photos at www.jonkeng.com/gallery/ mine's the 2nd album

hi am_blessed - thank you!

hey twinstarz! hiyah, it's too bad that you couldn't click wif the designer (girl or guy??) but it's definitely better to go wif a designer you're comfortable with. so which BS did you go wif? nope, TWP doesn't tie up with jon keng... i approached him on my own

fairyland

Hi CSI Fan &amp; Iceblink

my AD was on 2 June. Still miss that day very much.

will send u the link once the photos are ready...cant wait to see them :p

cutie_gal

Hi iceblink,

Ur pics are so baeutiful! The photography reali did a gd job by taking the natural side of u, n can reali sense the happiness in u. Can u email me the package of ur photograpy, btw does it include video. My email is [email protected]
Thxs!

Sori gals, btw wat does TWP stands for? Hee...

Hi fairyland, can send me ur pics once is ready. Thxs!

nuaster

Hi iceblink!
Thanks for sending me ur pics once again. Any idea if Jon is taking AD photography still? cos when I called to enquire, the lady says Jon may not be taking AD anymore for next year

Cutie gal, TWP = The Wedding Present
It's a bridal studio at bukit pasoh road.. very popular

Hi Fairyland,
Congrats! pls do send me your pics when they are ready. Thank you!

twinstarz

hey iceblink! cldn't click with the guy. actually, i thot of making another appt, this time with the gal, just to see if it'll be better, but i think its not v nice rite? anyway, i've shortlisted amanda lee weddings n silhouette the atelier. love the gowns thr so much. but im also gonna check out divine n silverlining this weekend..see how it goes lah. hey, u were saying jon keng is gonna be doing PS soon? then i may consider coz the BS hv limited choices for photographers...PM me ur pkg price oso can?

iceblink

hi ting - unfortunately i don't think jon will be taking AD photography next year... i can check with him again since i still need to collect multimedia highlights from him hee hee.

hey twinstarz! hahaha, i understand how you feel about the guy... haf sent you PM about that as well as PS by jon.

hi hi ladies

do you all happen to have any emcee speech to share? mine more complicated as I'm having my solemnisation on the same night. thanks!

phy_o

Hi babybaby,

Marriott will provide an emcee speech for you. But it's a brief one. You can add in your own things.

phy_o

Just asking ex-Marriott's brides,

When will we receive our Marriott's rewards card, ID and Password? We have an email notification but no card, no Id and no password.

Anyone can help?