Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

phy_o

Hey CSI Fan,

8 days left! My coordinator got back to me already on light.

"The more popular colours are pink, purple and blue; however the other 4 colours are orange, green, red and white."

Think I'll take:
a) Pink - March-in 1
b) Multi-coloured - First Course
c) Purple - March in 2

As for music, here's something for you to note:

"It would be best if you could put the 2 songs for the march-ins into one CD. However, please note that the CDs cannot be in a MP3 format."

phy_o

Hi Nancy,

Saw a nice pink ang pow box in your album. Is that yours or does it belong to Marriott?

I'm getting my Ang Pow box from Marriott. Hope it looks all right. *worried*

nuaster

I have recently signed with Marriott. AD will be next yr June. Any 2007 brides here?

Jenny, I've sent you the package details for 2007, but not sure about min table requirements cos not stated...

Btw, all the best for ur upcoming wedding, phy_o!

kitty_li

Hi Phy,
7 days liaoz...hahaha...counting down...
Next week, I'll be attending 2 wedding dinners (including yours) at Marriott! hahaha...

I like your choice of colours. Nice...

Hmmm....songs cannot be in MP3 format ah...okie...thanks for the tip! Noted...

iceblink

twinstarz,
realised you asked about how i got 2 night's stay... negotiated with my coordinator that once i confirmed a certain no. of tables i would get an additional night even though my AD was on a friday

am_blessed

long time never post in this thread though i often visit it..hahaha. does any of u, who has Alicia as your new coordinator, receive a call from her...well at least to introduce herself to u. strange..my AD is end of this yr, but hasn't received any call from her. is it normal?

to all Mariott brides who recently signed up, a big welcome to u all =)

Phy,
Enjoy and be a mei mei bride. I believe ur vineyard theme will look fabulous!

Nancy,
I recv'd ur pics. U so pretty. I like ur gown and hairstyle leh..so classy yet elegant =)

Esther,
me wanna c ur pics too when they're ready. my email is [email protected]

nuaster

Hi Qingqing,

when is ur AD? Who's your coordinator? Mine's Charlene..

Thanks am_blessed

oh, btw any one knows which song Marriott uses for the first course?
Can we choose another song for them to present their dance?

Esther, pls share your pics with me too when they are ready. thanks! [email protected]

phy_o

Hi ting!

Thanks! I added you to my multiply site. You can go back to some of the past Marriott theme photos that I took to view and choose your own theme.

By the way, my coordinator is Charlene. She took over from Stephine. So far she's all right. In person very warm and friendly. You can ask her any question and she'll fill you in.

You can choose your own song for march-in. In fact, they cater to whatever you want, so just tell your coordinator.

phy_o

Hey CSI Fan,

Am very nervous. *jump jump jump*

By the way, no such thing as multi-coloured lights. Haha ... Anyway, I decided to use pink, purple and blue la. Hopefully I would look ok. Dunno why nowadays feeling very weepy. Happy and sad at the same time. Is it normal?

phy_o

Hi am_blessed,

Dun worry so much about them not calling you. They should call you about 2-3 months before your wedding. June is still early if yours is in Dec. Just do the other prep work first. Like gowns and table arrangement.

monkeyjay

Aiyo getting nervous though my wedding is in Nov.. felt that time pass very fast. I have not decide on the design for my MTM gowns, afraid that it might turn out not what i want. You guys know where to look for nice evening gowns pics?

Hi Phy,
mind to share with me your pics as well? [email protected]

kitty_li

Hi Phy,

I'm sure it would look great!

I think you're going through an emotional mood swing. Quite normal lah. We're going through one of the very important events in our lives - leaving the home we've been staying in for the past 20+ years, to go set up a new home of our own. Comes with added responsibilities. We gotta give up our "tantrum throwing" (I still throw tantrums) etc...and it's like "This week is the last week I'll be sleeping on my bed as a single. With all my stuffed toys" etc...

Just take it in your stride. Don't worry too much.

kitty_li

Hi am_blessed,

Mine is also end of the year (Nov), and I haven't heard from them yet. But, to me, it's ok, coz I have so much other stuff to think about! hahaha...Think still got time lah. Probably when it's time to make the 2nd payment then we'll hear from her....hehs...

phy_o

Hi jay,

Photos will come later after my wedding .. haha ..

Yes CSI Fan,

Emotional mood swings. Sigh ... The weather is crying, I also feel like crying. Better cry all now so that on that day no more tears to cry. Haha

kohnancy

Hi CSI Fan,

Thanks...agree that Marriott lighting is very difficult to take. In fact, some tables that is near the entrance is a bit too dim. Maybe you all can highlight to your coordinator that the spotlight on the stage is very strong also.

kohnancy

Hi Phy,

Sorry, didn't see your message to me on the colors until now.

Hi am_blessed,

Thanks. I love the makeover done by my MUA.

kohnancy

For songs, no MP3. You can chose all your own songs. For me, I burn all the songs into 1 CD in the sequence that it will be played.

1. 1st March-in
2. Cake-caking
3. 1st Dish Presentation
4. 2nd March-in
5. Champagne Pouring

On top of this CD, I have also prepare another 2 CDs to play during the dinner.

Hope that this information is useful for all of you.

cutie_gal

Hi Nancy,

Thxs for re-sending me ur email, but I still fail to recive

Anyway there is certain things tat I would like to check with u:
Is one song enough for the march-in?
Marriott uses dry-ice effect? Is the 'smokeness' ok?
Do u hv ur emcee script to share?

Hi Phy,

Jus relax n enjoy urself k. Dun think too much,n ruin ur mood. Be a HAPPY & PRETTY Bride!

Jus wan check w u guys, did anyone choose to scent the whole rm?

I'm thinking of choosing the vineyard theme. I'm considering of replacing the silk flowers on stage to all fresh red roses as I intend to have only red and gold colour for my banquet (I like red roses vry much). The florist has quoted me $180 net for the changes but I'm not sure if it is a wise move. I also find oriental charm pretty nice but think it looks a little bare on the stage. As for the RR theme, I dont really fancy the red roses balls. Therefore, I need some opinions from here.

Any suggestion ladies ?

kohnancy

Hi Cutie Gal,

I have sent you an personal message.

What do you mean by 1 song enough for the march-in?

Marriott doesn't use dry-ice. They uses smoke machine, which i find that it does not enough. When the door was open, I was standing down there waiting for the smoke machine to blow the smoke. A bit too little. Only near the entrance. With dry-ice, it will usually be able to cover the aisle.

nuaster

Thanks phy_o!

shermaine24sg,
you mean the florist quoted u $180 to change all the stage flowers to red roses?
I find it a bit pricey..
cant rem what oriental charm looked like tho..
perhaps u can talk to ur coordinator about mix and matching 1 or 2 themes? but got to take care that the overall look dun clash.. sorry not much of a help here as I'm not at the theme selection stage yet:p

cutie_gal

Hi Nancy,

Huh? They using smoke machine? I hv been told by Yiwen bef tat they using dry ice leh. Will double check with them on tat. Thanks.

If I only choose 1song for every march in, is the song enough to cover the whole duration?

Thxs Gal!

phy_o

Hi Nancy,

Just to double check, do we need extra song for the cake cutting? I tot it's the same song as the first march-in?

kohnancy

Hi Cutie_Gal,

Usually the song last 4 to 5 minutes. From the entrance to the stage take less than a minute. So for march-in, 1 song is enough.

kohnancy

Hi Phy,

If I remember correctly, there will be a slight pause when you are getting on the stage and getting ready for the cut cutting. So I chose another song to start during the cake-cutting. But it is actually quite short duration. So maybe it is ok for the march-in song to continue playing.

But I am not quite sure also, was too nervous to remember the details. keke... Maybe you can check with you coordinator on this area.

kitty_li

Hi Cutie Gal,

"If I only choose 1song for every march in, is the song enough to cover the whole duration?"

You referring to the whole duration of the march in right (from door to stage)? The aisle of the ballrooom isn't that long...so I think 1 song should be enough, unless you are thinking of doing something special? heehee...

But if you're thinking of including the cake cutting and champagne pouring bits, well, from what I read from other brides above, seems like Marriott asked for songs for the cake cutting and champagne pouring too. But if you want to use the same songs as the march-in, you might want to make sure that the song chosen is long enough, just in case...

cutie_gal

Thxs Phy
Maybe will check it out with them if I can opt for dry ice instead.
Thxs Nancy & CSI Fan.
I was worried that 1 song nt enough than hv to search for more, phew... luckily is more than sufficient.

Shermiane,
We can opt to mix & match the theme. So look at other theme, c wat can be used to replace. Couldn't quite remember wat Oriental charm looks like, can't help much.

Ya, perhaps will just stick to my original plan which will be oriental charm. Oriental charm looks nice too but just find that the stage looks abit too bare. Perhaps should pop by Marriott again to check on the themes again.

monkeyjay

Just received an e-mail from Marriott's Vincent. He will be my new coordinator.. quite shocked to see his e-mail. Anyway felt weird to work with a guy regarding all these details. Hope he will do a good job...

kitty_li

Hi people,

I attended a wedding dinner last night. It was RR theme. Sorry, no photos to show, coz I didn't bring digi cam to work.

Overall, the theme looked quite nice. The servers...quite ok lah. There were 2 different ones that served our table.
Server A: scooped food onto the plates and stretched out the plates to each one of us, even to the person directly opposite Server A (the table is quite big), expecting us to take plate from A. Not a big issue lah...but what caught my attention was how Server B did it.
Server B: scooped food onto plates and placed the plates in front of each of us. We didn't have to reach for the plates. for the persons sitting further awacy from B, Server B will walk round the table to serve them.
We all liked Server B.

Overall, food was good. Wan Hao Crispy Chicken truly lives up to its name.

we felt that the lights were quite bright, like no ambience like that...but it could have been the couple's choice/instructions.

Music: the songs used for the 1st and 2nd march-in continued on to the cake cutting and champagne pouring respectively.

Jay,
me too...received an email from Vincent. Dunno how it would be like manz.

phy_o

Hi twinstarz,

Thanks! A bit nervous now cos got some hiccups here and there. Tomolo last day before wedding ... quite stress ... pimples growing now. busy putting pimple cream ... hehe

anyone getting your angpow box from Marriott? saw a wedding a couple of weeks ago and the box was golden in colour, looks quite nice. wonder if that is provided by Marriott?

esther_lim

Hi Phy,

Relax and be a meimei bride 2morrow.

Hi iceblink,

Care to share ur pics wif mi!!! My email is [email protected].

Hi babybaby 1007,

The ang bao box marriott provide is quite nice. Wat they gave mi is gold mesh box with very nice red ribbon on it.

sailormoonwt

Hi phy_*o* (phy_o),

Can share with me ur AD pic too? Am consider marriot too. By the way can share with me ur package too? what is the min table? Thanks a million.

iceblink: can share with me yr pretty pic as well?

my email add: [email protected]

many thanks!

Hi Esther
That must be the box that I saw the other time! thanks for the info ! hee...one thing down for me, no need to prepare that then! :p

Hi Iceblink
Thanks for your pictures! its nice nice!