Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

cwong

hi shermaine,
my package is basically "v messy". my banquet is on monday but my menu is a weekend menu. so basically, i have a nine course dinner at a cheaper wkend price. therefore, no package name for that.

kitty_li

Hi Cel,
saw you also in the Nov06 thread. So ur banquet in 1 day after mine, and we have the same AD...heehee...

Good that u managed to get a weekend menu. So what abt the perks? Would that come under the weedend package perks or the weekday package perks?

cwong

come to think of that i didnt request for wkend perks leh... aye... silly me...
did you sign up for america express card, have complimentary tables u knw...

kitty_li

Oh, we used Standard Chartered card. That time they had no card promos coz they were giving FOC beer and $40 nett off per table. So we used Stan Chart, got cash back...hehs. Not much cash back lah, but still some cash back lorh. Some tens of dollars...(coz the amt was significant enough)

cwong

wow... so much... i thought that promotion is only valid for wedding banquet held between mar to sept. i asked for that promotion and they told me that.
we chat from email better. can email me at [email protected]

fairyland

Hi Marriott Brides

I am not sure which dishes to choose for my 9 course dinner. Any one with suggestion on whats good?

Fairyland

kitty_li

hi White Twinkle,
Welcome!! I think it's best you call Marriott directly for their packages. As you are looking at June 2006 (it's pretty near), they might have special deals for you...

whitetwinkle

Hi CSI Fan,

Just realise it's a typo error. should be june 2007! hahaha! I'll contact marriott directly on the next year's package!

Anyway, thanks for the advice!

katoom

Hi Nancy
Dun worry. Just contact Lil' Art & they will ask you to choose the various templates and send u draft. If u hv special wordings, jus ask them to include. E.g. I added an extra para before the actual normal text.

i just had my wedding at Marriott on 8 March. The food and service was great! I used their video montage. it was quite neatly done. I had the oriental charm theme and it was nice.

phy_o

For the food tasting, did anyone choose the soon hock with yellow beans? Usually which fish do people choose? Soon hock, sea bass or anu other fish? Please advice!

yzml21

Hi Irene
Congrats!! Bet you had fun on tat day!! Do you have any pics to show us? My wedding is on 8 June and am going to choose the theme soon.

I had my food tasting already and find the sharks fins with Fish maw not that fantastic. which shark fins combi did you gals choose? I tot of asking them to chg to crab meat but not sure if need to top up $.

hi rainz,
yes. i enjoyed myself on that day! yes. my AD pics are ready... wat's ur email?

I took the one with fish maw. most of my guests like it.

micong

Hi Irene...

Congrats...really happy for u!
Just a silly qn...coz i saw in another thread dat the brides r complaining dat their Husbands all gana sabo until dead drunk,vomit whole nite...So can i ask if dat happen to u too?
My wed on 7 May n really worried for FH coz he nv drink...even half cup beer makes him sick! n his bros all say they wun help the drinking part...so i oso dunno wat to do! Really dun wana DRUNK vomitin in the suite...how to enjoy our 1st nite like dat?

Any advice?

micong

Hi Rainz n irene...
i went for food tasting n my guests all did not like the shark fins too! they said the taste very weird...like "danggui" or got some herbs in it... I called stephine to ask n she said dats the special part for their food...the shark fin soup stock is different frm others...but she did admitted not all wed couples like it. So i guess i'll be changing it to a normal soup stock instead.

Btw, stephine quote me $10nett per table if i wana change to shark fin with crab meat.

FairyLand, i'll encourage u to have the Wan Hao Signature Cripsy chicken...really nice! the e-fu noodles oso great..not too oily. n i had red bean cream with dumplings for dessert, really like the dumplings!
So u can consider dis dishes...

Hi phy*o*...Soon Hock is one of the expensive fish...very presentable for wed dinner. followed by garoupa. Sea bass is considered cheaper ones... So if u can choose Soon Hock...definitely encourage u to take dat!

happytea

hi all, i am looking at Marriott for my wedding,
can anyone advise me the cost per table for a weekday wedding dinner?

thks for your replys!

phy_o

Thanks mic for your advise!

I wanna ask another question. If I am not certain whether to choose a certain dish from the two menus, can I ask to taste two dishes or must I make up my mind when I give Stephine the menu? Please advice. Thank you.

yzml21

Hi Irene
hee..me so blur left out my email add. my email is [email protected].

I think I will chg it to normal sharks fin to play safe, I reckon not many people like fish maw though I have to admit it looks more presentable.

Hi phy
I did try asking half a portion of 2 different dishes but kena rejected.

BTW, I also heard some brides choose Mango Pudding which is not in our menu, any one managed to chg it without any charge?

Hi mic
the ee-fu noodle, you took the normal one or in Si Chuan style? I tried the Si chuan one, not bad and taste unique. A bit spicy though so not sure if its ideal for dinner since there might be kids and non spicy lovers around. V headache, choose 1 dish must consider so many factors.

hi mic,
both my hubby n i were sick on our wedding day. i was sick the past few days before wedding and i passed on to him. So, we need not have to drink any liqour cos we told all his friends that he has taken medicine, so cant drink. hee. my MIL also help to tell his friends that he took medicine, cant drink. They dare not force us, so end up just sabo us with the chicken backside thingy.
When i returned gown to my BS, they were surprised we sound ok. She said that most grooms hug the toilet bowl and throw up the whole night. End up their voices became v husky when they return their gown the next day.

kitty_li

Hi Irene,
Congrats to you!! Good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves!

Hmm, although my food tasting would be probably in hlaf a year's time, I'm already taking notes...hahaha.
Hmm....I had thought the fish maw bit was quite different....

Btw, just wondering, did anybody get more deco (or will be getting) and stuff like that? Or just took what the hotel gave?

am_blessed

hi csi fan,
as for me..i think i will stick to the ballroom theme given by the hotel...no budget for additional deco =P. but if u opt for Garden of Love theme, u may want to add more deco along the aisle (coz the flower stand is too short and quite plain)..just my opinion.

hi irene,
can i take a look at your AD photograph? my email is [email protected]. Thanks ^_^
heehee..and who's ur photographer..coz i heard not all photographers can capture the lighting color in marriott.

to all future Marriott BTB,
yesterday i took a peek at a wedding dinner in marriott and they used Red Rhapsody. The whole set up turn out to be v nice. When I first saw the red-rose ball thing during Marriott open house, it was really weird..but yesterday I felt impressed to see how the whole ballroom set up was. so, now i'm considering it besides GOL ^_^

yzml21

Hi Shermaine
Wow...Glad to hear that!! I will try talk to my coordinator on this ;)

Hi Irene
I saw yr pics. Both u and hubby very compatible, so handsome and so pretty. You look so sweet and certain angle you look like Apple (ch U actress) and yr hubby look like 1 HK actor (but dunno his name)..hee....Like yr gowns!! Esp the CS, which BS did you take up with

Hi am_blessed
GOL really look scarce ah? Hmm act I tot the tentage look nice on the stage but seems like many comments says otherwise. Did u managed to capture any pics on the ballroom?

BTW check wz you gals, when should I start printing my invitation cards? My AD is on 8 June and I yet to collect my cards..is it v late already?

kitty_li

Hi am_blessed,
oh...I see. Okie. Thanks for letting us know...hmm, so can consider RR theme also.

Hi Irene,
would it be possible to view your pictures too, please? Thanks! [email protected]. Yah, I've also heard that it is not easy to capture the lighting in Marriott...

hi am blessed,
my AD photos are taken by whitelink. they outsourced to motion image. Am pleased with the photos. I had pink lights for first march in and blue lights for 2nd march in.
Red raphsody sounds impressive. I didnt like the red balls of roses when i saw the pics. if it looks good, u can consider. I'm sure it will look grand on stage!

hi rainz,
my BS is whitelink. the gowns are from them. All OTR. I didn't do any MTM. u shld be in time if u print ur cards now.

am_blessed

hi rainz,
i didn't take any pics bcoz it's just a coincidence tat i passed by marriott and decided to go to level 3 to c whether they got any wedding dinner tat day (so tat i can c the ballroom deco..hehe..)But really, it was a big surprise to me tat RR them turns out to be nice! So, sometimes we can't really 100% judge from their open house alone =D

kitty_li

Hi Irene, thanks for sharing ur pics! You are really pretty!
The pics are all very nice...not bad, the photog managed to capture the lighting in the ballroom...

phy_o

Hi rainz,

I'm also going to collect my cards from them. My wedding is in June too. Will be printing my cards soon. Now collect is not too late.

micong

Hi Irene...Can i oso see ur pics? My email is [email protected]

Thanks for ur advice. Guess i'll still stick with the sharkfin w fish maw...onli i'll request change soup base to normal one.

Glad to know u n hubby escape the drinking part...maybe i'll use the same excuse...coz next day we need to drive to JB to return gowns (my BS in JB)...will die if FH end up drunk n hangover!

Hi rainZ...
Yup. My e-fu noodle is normal one. My PIL/MIL very particular if too spicy (though normally they LOVE hot n spicy stuff)...coz they say wait a lot of pple dun eat...esp the relatives' kids!

micong

To those who r plannin to print invitation cards...

i oso just got my cards 2wks ago. I've decided on bringin to JB Citysquare to print. Wana share with u all coz it's much cheaper than doing it with lil'art.

It cost me just RM$90 to print 250 card inserts. They do provide the sticking onto cards itself at RM$40. but i decide to do it myself...coz very easy one...n the printer will cut the size nicely to fit the card so i dun have to worry the inserts end up too big to fit.

So altogether, it will cost me abt S$45 to print 250 inserts while lil'art quotes S$110 to print 250pcs. n i save $65 just on printing!
Wat i feel is the invitation cards oso no1 will pay much attention. usu they'll throw away once event over...so no pt spending too much on it.

Just my few cents worth...

am_blessed

Hi mic,
great advise! Thanks gal. wat's the shop name? Quality wise...issit comparable to Lil'Art?

Irene,
YOU'RE VERY PRETTY! and ur hb also v handsome...(dun take it wrongly...kekeke). All in all, you two are looks v compatible to each other. ^_^

kohnancy

hi mic,

for the insert printing, do we need to go JB to select and collect? how's the quality? is the paper 80grams or 120grams

dreamer17

hi pple,

i am scouting for my venue and have marriot in my mind...may i know wat is the price per table for weekday chinese wedding? also wat is the maximum capacity of the ballroom?

kitty_li

Hey dreamer,
best is for you to call the hotel direct. Coz they might have promotions for their weekday package (depending on how close or far ur date is).
Think the max capacity is 55? or is it 50? but the min capacity depends on the season (weekday / weekend / public holiday etc...). Call them. You won't go wrong there...

katoom

Hi Am-Blessed,
The RR theme u saw should hv been my wedding! *LOL*!Frankly i was REALLY worried initially, cos' none of u girls seemed to hv chosen the theme & there seemed to hv been really yucky remarks on the theme. BUT it turned out REALLY well! It was romantic, and not too ostentatious or "chi-na"! So i'll really recommend it. I didn't choose the GOL theme cos' i really didn't like the green table cloth!

Mic - abt drinking...well, wat u can try is to get your photographer to "protect" you & ur hubby. Ours did a GREAT job...so we were pretty sober. we still drank quite a bit cos' we wanted to. but on the whole, the photographer protected us very well!

katoom

kitty_li

Hi w,
Good to hear that your wedding went well!

Oh, so that was your banquet dinner...Congrats on your big day!

Hmm...I wonder when's the next RR theme...then can go down and take a peek...heehee...

am_blessed

Hi w,
oohh..so tat was ur wedding...heeehhee.Yeah, it was nicely decorated.smth different. U may want to share some pics on the ballroom deco with us when ur AD pics are ready =). Congrats gal, must b sooo relieving. when n where will u go for HM?

Hi CSI Fan,
mind u tat u need to come at the rite time to take a peek. Once the family is coming and reception counter is opened, then it'll be so paiseh to go down to the ballroom.

yzml21

Hi phy
Which printer will you be using? Do you know the cost and is it cheaper than MAriott's printer?

Hi Mic
Thanks for sharing. I dun think I will travel to JB cos we got no car and find it too troublesome to go in and out. BTW think I may chg the efu noodle to the normal ones too in case many of the guests can't take spicy food.

Btw, am just wondering if any Marriott brides here would be kind enough to inform us of their banquet and what theme so we can prob go down take a peep. Am meeting my coordinator on 1 April to finalise the theme and food so hee hopefully can manage can catch a few theme before meeting her.