Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

hadoe

Moshi-moshi, I am new to this group discussion..
Currently, I'm considering Raffles The Plaza & Marriott... Just got to know thru your discussion that Marriott seems to have quite a highturn-over of staff, now in a dilemma!

lilac

Hi Hadoe,

I think that problem is under control now. Besides that, you should compare other aspects like food, service and ballroom.

So when's your big day

amore

hi hadoe... i was deciding btw Raffles the Plaza and Marriott too while we are choosing venue... i like their intelligent lightings.... but chose Marriott in the end... for raffles I need to share the ballroom with other couples as I only need 30 odds tables on a weekend and Marriott I have the whole ballroom all to myself... so this win me over...

hadoe

Thanks, Lilac (again!) and Amore! My big day is gonna be a few days before year end. If I were to choose Westin, then it will be at Stamford Ballroom cos I like the squarish design... But I did not get to see that Ballroom in wedding banquet set-up so not too sure abt the ambience there.

Marriott-when I went for site inspection the other day which happens to be someone's wedding dinner, saw the floral arrangement and it was very pathetic. Maybe the couples chose the wrong flowers- the deco was with deep red roses but they are not in full bloosoms so it was not very nice. Lilac and Amore, better check out their florist, ok? Better still, try to give them some designs you have in mind. Advisable to choose big flowers like Pink Lilies, Sunflower, Cascablanca Roses etc. Also, please check and confirm the VIP table deco too, that day the VIP tables looked quite awkward. Imagine Huge chairs with no seat covers for the VIPS!!??

dolphie

Long time no hear! At least from my side. Have been so filled with work and stuff, only check here occassionally.

Hi Jo,
How did your meeting with Richard go? Quite curious...

Hi bubbletea,
If I'm not wrong, the food at Marriott isn't too bad. My friend who just attended a wedding at Marriott, said that the food was quite good!

Just wondering if anyone of you have the list of official printers for Marriott? Very undecided about printers, somemore need cards for church invitation!

mez

there's only 1 printer. don have to engage them bcos card are provided, you juz have to print inserts or print on the cards given.

dolphie

Hi mez,

Thanks! I just called Richard 2 days ago and yes, found out that they only tie up with Jasvy. I think, I may be using other printers instead for the cars.
Will be going down on Sat to view their selection of cards (have only seen one) and then choose.

mail lum

i just had my wedding dinner at the marriott on 10 March. my guests had very good comments for the food. i'm very happy with the service. the only hiccup was that they didn't communicate with my coordinator clearly when they were opening the 2nd barrel of beer. in the end, there was some dispute. but overall, very happy that i held my dinner there.

amore

dolphie... if I dun rem wrongly hor... they only have one design... but different colour... think beige or red...

mail lum... congrats!.... good to hear that your wedding turn our good
... happy for u...

dolphie

Hi Mail Lum,
Great to hear that your dinner went well! Happy to hear that.
Did you include wine in your menu then?

Hi Amore,
Both cards are the same design, but just different colour? Thanks!!

By the way, which printer did the both of you choose?

amore

dolphie...my wedding in Nov 2003... so habent choose yet... but talked to Angela last Sunday... she say I'll have to choose the card and printer in August...

mail lum

hi dolphie, no i didn't have wine. i only had beer and hard liquor. i didn't use jasvy for printing. i used acepro creative link... the hassle for not using jasvy is that you need to collect the cards from the hotel on your own and bring them to your own printer.

nokia

hi dolphie,

i had went down to Jasvy today. but the cards from them for Marriott looks quite ordinary.

go down tomorrow again to have another look at other designs. What time you going ?

dolphie

Hi Nokia,
I'll be there around 2pm. I think Marriott offers standard cards, hence the printers can't make it any more unique.

Hi Mail lum,
Acepro is one of the printers on my list. The others being Tecman (cos I need to get church invites) and T-Dragon. How did you find the service and quality by Acepro?

Hi Amore,
In August, you'll be so well-prepared by then! (unlike me).

Take care!

lilac

Hi Dolphie,

I am also thinking of not using Jasvy. If you have quotes from the other printers, do you mind sharing them with me? Thanks

mail lum

hi Dolphie,

Acepro was very prompt in delivering their services. the prices are reasonable too. Overall, i'm happy with them. but i'm not too sure about their church invites. haven't seen their designs cos my best friend helped me with that and i just got a printing firm to do the printing.

nokia

I went down to Jasvy last week. Cards are quite limited. But they do give good advices and quite accommodating.

if you are looking for more creative cards, can try tea creation at Penisula. heard that is not too bad. but i had not gone down there before.

just hear say hear say.

good luck.

dolphie

Hi Lilac,
I only called up Acepro for their quotes. I think for normal printing, it's $80 for <300 pieces. Hotstamping is $50 for mold, $0.50 per card.

Hi mail lum,
Thank you for your feedback! Acepro seems good! The girl on the phone seems nice and the price is reasonable.

Hi nokia,
You're looking to print the marriott cards at Jasvy or purchasing cards?

akira

hi fellow Marriott brides,

just to check with couples who held their dinner recently. does Marriott serve guests individually? I asked my co-ordinator when I signed up but apparently they don't. I left it at tat cos I tot only the more expensive 5-star hotels such as Conrad does tat. However, recently I attended wedding dinners at Sheraton and Merchant Court and found tat individual serving for guests have become the norm. perhaps we should all ask Marriott to do the same for us too if they are not already doing it.

lilac

Hi Dolphie,

thanks for the info. I asked Angela how much Jasvy would charge for gold ink hot stamping ang she said is about $1 per card. My hubby almost jumped when I told him that!

nokia

i went down to jasvy last sat. they told me that for hot ink gold stamping is about $180 for 200 cards.

i think i will stick with jasvy as i had blow my budget on photos. must think of cutting.

has anybody able to get Richard ?

mail lum

hi nokia,

think acepro's rates are cheaper leh... refer to dolphie's posting above.

dolphie

Hi Lilac,
$1 per card is a bit on the high side. Does that include the price for the mold?

Hi nokia,
My friend mentioned that for hotstamping, she found the prices for Hi-Tech and T-dragon more reasonable. Although I'll have to admit that Acepro should be able to offer less than $180 if you're quoting for 200 cards. Do reconsider if budget is a constraint, ok?

Oh and what do you mean if anyone is able to get Richard? I just called him just now, if that's what you meant.

Hi mail lum,
I agree. Fortunately for me, bf and I feel that we're not really that keen on gold, hence no need for hotstamping. That means we needn't spend too much on printing too.

mail lum

hi dolphie,

same for me. i didn't use hotstamping too becos i think by using inserts, we can afford some mistakes but not for hotstamping. If you write a person's name wrongly on the card, you got to discard it already. But one disadvantage of using inserts is that you need to tie the gold strings... quite troublesome. BTW, if anyone's looking for gold strings, i bought mine at Golden Dragon at $3.90 for 100 metres... really cheap

lilac

Hi Dolphie,

I am not sure if the $1 per card includes the mold or not. But no matter how I calculate, I still find Jasvy's quote too expensive.

I may call T-Dragon and Hi-Tech to get quotes as well. Collecting my cards from Marriott next month.

One of the main reason for me to use hotstamping is the tying of gold strings.....hehe....me lazy lah.

By the way, are you girls buying the organza pouches from Marriott for the chopsticks? Think Angela told me its about $1 per piece.

nokia

hi Dolphie,

Thanks for your help. the cost of $180 is before nego, will try to ask for a lower price.

I was trying very hard to get Richard. Finally got to speak to him last Friday. Must say that he is had to get, but i think he is very helpful.

my wedding is in June. 2 more months to go!!

dolphie

Hi Lilac,
Glad to be of some help!
Likewise, I'm quite lazy, will not be tying gold strings too. Hoping to just use normal colour stamping if possible. Will see how that turns out.
Chopsticks from Marriott? You took the weekend package? Mine's on a weekday and there's only the Valrona chocs favours.

Hi Nokia,
Yes, you shld try to negotiate for a better price. If other shops are able to quote cheaper, that may help you to negotiate.

Wedding in June too for me. Many things to be done!

mail lum

hi Dolphie,

my wedding was also on a weekday but i had chopsticks too. when i sign up, they told me they will be giving all chopsticks for 2003 wedding. if you like the chopsticks, maybe can check with your coordinator?

sher

hi mail lum,
when did u book ur wedding?

btw, there's a wedding workshop on 27 Apr, anyone attending? it's more for those who are interested in marriott pkg. the price seems attractive, but i wonder wat's in the pkg.

mail lum

hi sher,

i booked my wedding in October last year... a few days after their wedding show.

mail lum

hi dolphie,

no, i only had the mini chopsticks. It was either or... can't have both.

interested in marriott ?

Hi Sher

I checked out. Though the price is good, it is only applicable for Yr 2003 bookings. Only left 1 weekend date for Yr 2003, weekday dates are the ' not so auspicious' date.

But if u not particular, can check it out.

also marriott

Hi Sher, Interested in Marriott,

I have originally booked a date and paid a deposit but thinking of cancelling.

If you girls are interested, please leave me your email address and I will give you more details.

sher

Hi "interested in marriott" &amp; "also marriott",

i've booked wif them today. sorry, din check dis site until today. ya, mine is a weekday, cos the geomancer recommends as auspicious date for me &amp; FH. if there was only one wkend date, it could be tentatively booked? can double cfm. i tentatively booked one wkday &amp; one wkend date wif them.

anyway, i think they will extend the special price for weekday rate for 04 weddings.

nokia

Just called this morning, to my big big surprise, Richard had left them last Friday.

The person took over is Siva.

anyone has any contact with Siva yet ?

dolphie

Hi Nokia,
This is indeed worrying. I had communicated with Richard last week and he did not mention anything. Quite sad as I find that he's a nice person to work with.

Your wedding is in June too right? Hoping that a change in coordinators at this time will not affect the plans much.

megan

Hi Sher,

Was your booking for this year? I tried booking in Dec/Jan 2002 and most of the dates for 2003 are already taken up, even the weekdays. So no choice but to push to year 2004.

nokia

Hi Dolphie,

my is on 06/06 and what about yours ?

Will be having my food tasting 2 days for now. Will share with you if after the meeting.

Plse keep me posted if you have any news too.

take care

she

i was v surprised dat richard left too!!! cos i met him the week b4, and he even encouraged me to go to the workshop which happened to be the day after his last day... no wonder i'd a missed call frm him. i must say dat richard is sweet to talk to.

anyway, Siva took over, he's soft-spoken &amp; easy wif ur terms too. in any case, i think they've many wedding planners.. mark chan, angela tam.. blah blah..

Nokia, why menu are u taking up?

megan, fyi, i booked for oct wkday this yr. if interested, u may like to chk if they extend any perks. juz call!

dolphie

Hi Nokia,

My wedding dinner is on 17th June, weekday. Had my food tasting already, it's quite good. Generally happy with the quality and taste of food. Hope the standard will be the same on the actual day itself.

Hi she,
Glad to hear that Siva's sounds easy to work with. Have you booked your wedding date yet?

Hi Megan,
Welcome to the marriott thread!

bossanova

Am a Marriott bride too, wedding in June. I jus had the food tasting. Portions huge, taste good. Only the pig knuckles on the first dish taste a bit wierd. I also hope standards will stay on the day itself...

May I know which favours you all choosing?

she

Hi Dolphie and Bossanova,

care to share which menu u go for? harmony 1, harmony 2, bliss 1, bliss 2... blah blah..

thks.

mine is on a weekday so will be going for harmony 1/2, but my parents looking at the menu alone, think that the menu is so-so. sighz, so hard to pls... anyway, i'd attended two weddings at marriott myself, one dinner in june food was avg; another one, in nov is superb! so it is necessary to get the right menu. personally like the dish which the prawns is stuffed into something crispy fried, but i think quite table will be messy after eating it.
and i heard dat marriott wan hao's mango pudding is yummy too!

she

Hi bossanova,

wat are avail for favours? chpsticks &amp; choc rite? mabbe will go for alternate or mixture.

nokia

anyone has any contact with Siva ?

My wedding is in a months time and could not get hold of anyone, a bit panic.

got my food tasting last week and it was good. but need to feedback to the manager on some issues. but till today, no one had call to check.

Also, what to look out for 1 month before the wedding. any check list ?

Plse anyone help ?

amore

nokia... u tired calling them?? send them email?? gotten ur table arrangement? erm song list for march in?

nokia

hi amore,

did not even got the e-mail add of Siva.

Manage to get him this morning. He is on 1/2 day afternoon leave today.

meeting them this wed to have all the above sort out. hope that he can help.

What should i be perpearing for the meeting ?

Plse help.

nokia

Very happy with the food tasting. i chose the Bliss 1 menu. hope that the food is as good as the food tasting. Portion is really big and seems like no too much MSG.

but a bit worry on the wine list. No more Australia wine. try the rest but the taster were very blend.

Hope that they have new wine for June else have to buy from outside.

Any suggestion on the wine ? budget below $30 ?