Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

leeing

Hi irene..
Wow.. you have a lot more tables than mine..
I only have 20 tables initially. But just increased another 5 tables. Make it up to 25 tables. Actually when I first met her, I found she was an easy-going person..hehehe..from the fact of her kind offers to me.. im gonna meet her again tomorrow. Hope that she can give me some more things without me asking... hehheeheeh.. (day dream again).
kao_drool.gif

o..sure,of course.. just drop by and look at my set up, but i havent cfm any theme with Angela yet. Last thurs was rather a quick one, so didnt really take a good look at the pics itself.
hehehe.. I'll wait and see what suggestion she has for me tomorrow..
, then I'll share with you..

leeing

hi mic..
are you choosing "Garden of Love" too??? Actually i'm thinking of it too le.. but again i like the one irene choose too, "Oriental Charm".. so, dilemma. heeheh..

What do you think of a combination?? Good?

leeing

hi..W,
hey..thanks.

it shall be fine. I'm meeting Angela tmr. She will definately give me a list cos' we are buying wines from them.
W, hv you choosen your theme? hv you gone for finalization with her?

kitty_li

hmm...gift, you are buying wines from Marriott...not bringing in your own?

Maybe tmrw she'll be in better mood. heehee...coz eve of Christmas eve mah. hehs...

piggy_in_space

hi mic & gift

thanks gals...indeed i am feeling much better...at least can eat liao. Nope, have not signed with marriott yet. AD targetting to be in June 06. Everyone thinks i am super ambitious..hahaa.

Anyway, on the duty free wines the gals are talking about, if u buy the wines from the airport, there is a label that says "duty-free". Cannot miss one. As far as i know, if you start to take out a bottle of duty free wine and pour for your guest on the table, actually there is really nothing the hotel can do to you. Technically you are not suppose to serve it if corkage is not waived but sometimes if it is just a couple of bottles, i understand they will close 1 eye. Because they also understand that sometimes, the couple's frens may just bring in the wine themselves without telling the couple.

katoom

HI Gift,

Did u say that u are buying wine from them? Why wud u wana do that since u actually got wine corkage waiver?? u can get much better wine at cheaper prices outside! Well, just my opinion la... but its up to u, really! hope u dun mind me being "nosey"!

kitty_li

sorry ah, dun mind me also...but must clarify lah, otherwise quite confusing and some might feel a little "upset" abt their package...

I was thinking exactly the same thing as W, that's why I was asking Gift in the earlier posts: are you buying the wines from Marriott, or bringing in your own? and your corkage waiver is for the wines that you bring in from outside hotel?

leeing

Hi W, CSI Fan, piggy..

hey.....thanks for telling me. Actually I personally don really know about all this wine wine thing.. heheheh.
until you guys mentioned it here..

W, CSI Fan, where can I get a cheaper wine???

leeing

Hi CSI Fan,
the waiver is actually for wines that bring in myself. I actually tot that their prices are reasonable as mentioned by some members here earlier.. So, that's how it come out of an idea to buy from them....

katoom

haha! it's so funny! the 1st thing that i asked for was wine corkage waiver cos' bringing in good quality, and cheaper wine is TOP on my list, but Angela rejected me flat! and u got the wine corkage waiver for wine that u bring in frm outside n u actually wanted to buy wine from them!!
u should source from outside. i can try look out for u. mind giving me ur email?

CSI Fan -- hv u signed with them? u with Stephanie isit?

kitty_li

hi gift,

yah...since u got waiver, why u still want to buy from them?? so farnee!
want to accord us that priviledge instead? hahahahaaha...I'm sure W and me wun mind taking it! hahaha.....

yap. agree with W. U shd source from outside. Really! Hotels generally charge higher than outside for the same brand of wine. Unless u comparing a higher quality wine with the one the Hotels provide...then different lah.

I guess the rest of the members here are comparing Marriott's price with that other Hotels. I've also compared. That $22+++ ($25.60) wine Marriott's charging us, Intercon is charging $28+++ for the same wine. But if u compare with what u can get from NTUC or Carrefour (for similar quality), it's more ex. U can easily get from Carrefour at $20 nett (plus with the Everyday POSB card, got discount).

Hey, if any of u gals know where we can find the Santa Helena Gran Vino wines, pls let me know...coz I want to know how much outside is selling for also. And I also want to taste it...thanks!

Hi W, yah, signed already. same coord as u...

bride15

I'm new here...I have been posting in this Forum but not under this thread, so glad I found this!

I'm likely to hold my AD in April, met with Stephine last week, not many dates to choose liao...I missed the wedding fair on 3 dec, and I think I'm a bit last minute here...

If you gals dont mind sharing what are the things I can bargain with them ?(have been reading your discussion about wines) before I sign on the dotted line?

Stephine is on leave, meanwhile I'm liaising with Michelle...

Kind of blur right now, initially wanted to hold AD 2nd half of next year, but somehow decided to have it 1st half of next year...Wanted May but cant get liao, only April

Ok den, will check this forum later, thanks in advance

kitty_li

hi bride15,
welcome!

depends on what u want lah...guess pple normally ask for wine-related perks. hahaha, though it's not necessarily the most expensive bit.

katoom

hi bride15,
welcome! oh..so u blocked a date wif Marriott for the $688 package, ya? Frankly, there is not v. much room for them to 'move' cos' its a very attractive price oredi..but as u must hv read, some gals managed to get wine corkage waiver for wines brought in frm outside retailers. so u should def. try for that. Other things like extra nite for bridal suite or helpers' rm -- they seem to b very sticky abt that. not sure if any of the Marriott BTB managed to get that??
Another thing abt Marriott is that they charge for projector...so if u R planning on like 30 tables or more n need TWO projectors...it would cost a bomb if they dun give u a better rate. u can try ask for a discount on the projector.

ladies -- more ideas for Bride15?!

w aka katoom

I am also another Marriott BTB, have already signed on the dotted line but not very active in this tread here. Jus want to check with you gals here on wine comsumption. I only intend to prepare 50 litres of beer, 40 bottles of wine and 3 bottles of hard liquor for my 33 tables of guests. Do you think it will be sufficient ?

Any brides here already more or less confirming the theme 'garden of love' for their wedding ?

leeing

hi bride15,

if you need to request things from others.. i would say most importantly, ask and put it in a polite, tactful and diplomatic way.. Persistence and frustration will not make any good in getting your wants.

Hope it help.

Gift.

bride15

Thanks CSI Fan & W
I don't expect reply this fast...

Anyway, Michelle has helped me blocked a Saturday in April, but I will only sign next week when Stephine comes back...Still secretly hoping that someone will give up a weekend in May, but quite fat hope, I guess...

So far she is ok with free projector (both of them), but cant really bargain the corkage charge. Frankly, last time I didnt really understand what this means, so didnt really fight for it. The problem is, there was a function before my dinner, and the place can only be ready at 6.30 the earliest, do you gals think this is too late? What time is cocktail usually? 6 pm - 7 pm?

As for other perks, she was quite firm as this is already a promotion...

Shermaine, yours is not Jan-May'05 promotion? Coz it comes with free flow of beer for 4 hours

Ok, will check back this forum again later

bride15

Hi Gift

Care to share how? So far it occurs to me that you are the only one getting corkage waived here..

Yah, I wasn't very pushy too last time coz at that point of time, still think I wanted to shop around for hotel, only now I realise how difficult it is to get one..

Oh ya, have you finalised your theme? Stephine was telling me that they have 2 new themes that I can consider next year..

I still think my prep is super last-minute, so far only do Outdoor PS, nothing else...havent figured out the gown/ emcee/ program?/ band?/ quartet?/and tonnes of other things...

Glad to find this forum, already get many great tips by reading the posts alone!

Okie dokh, talk to all of ya later!

;)

kitty_li

Hi Shermaine24sg,
sounds like it's more than enough leh...of course depends on ur guests also lah...
If they are not that many beer drinkers, think the 50L is more than enough. Generally 30L is abt 90+ beer mugs, I heard. As for wine, according to my frens who had their dinner there, average is abt 1 btl per table (either Marriot's glass is small or their guests dun drink wine). But to play safe, maybe abt 1.25 btls per table. But my frens also tell me that generally pple dun drink wine AND beer. It's either or.

Yap, Gift, u are right. Must be polite, but also firm. (not too firm until like aggressive)

hi gift,
wow! u really lucky to get such good deal!
Its really a "gift from god". I wanted to have a combination of themes initially but somehow, it doesn't really match. I love the candles hanging for vineyard but i dun like the idea that the flowers are on the ground. I like the idea of a sexy red raphsody theme but the deco on stage is not nice cos of the red flowers in a ball shape. I like garden of love but the stands on the aisle doesn't look so grand.. only the grand canopy on stage looks unique. that's becos i have seen a v v beautiful garden theme done by june florist at my friend's wedding recently. I like oriental charm but then, at first felt its too red lor and its an "old" theme already. Wanted to combine with other theme but seems hard. Really had a hard time choosing leh. Each theme has its own beauty. u have to weigh and see which one u really like.

i am not able to get my cards tmr as the ink is still not dry yet. As i upgraded the papers to those shimmering papers, it takes a longer time for the ink to dry. Hopefully when i collect my cards, i can share with you my comments on the printing quality by lil'art.

I'm actually considering garden of love and I wanted all to be in fresh red roses. upon checking with my co-or, then I realised that those flowers on the canopy are not real, so if I will to change all, i will need to top up $400. Dont think i will want to spend that extra money. ha ha

micong

Hi ladies...
I was shopping in plaza Sing dis noon n i chanced upon a great sale by carrefour...wine!! i thk we shld chk it out...coz it seems dat they r selling the wines at a discount for x'mas!!

Pinkdolphin... they have the big 1.5L wine there...
... but not so cheap...abt $42-70+... i oso saw quite many 1L wine there which is onli $20+!! Got me so excited but they r not open to public today...by invitation onli... they'll open to public frm tmr till 3 Jan.

w...pls let us noe wat r the better wines we can buy frm there if u happen to go chk it out!! i've really learn much frm u since we started on the wine topic...

btw i din expect u to have sign the contract so fast since u've juz confirmed w them not long ago... it took stephine quite some wks to send me my contract! i guess mayb u can try n call angela to ask... wish u all the LUCK!!

btw i din see any Santa Helena wine there...but my fren was tellin me dat she rem she went to Swissotel for wed dine n they served v nice wine...called Penfold...any1 noe if dis brand is gd? n my fren told me it better to get a mixture of white n red wine...coz some pple prefers white wine...so i was considerin 70% red n 30% white...any comments if we shld get white wine too?

micong

Hi bride 15...
kao_welcome.gif

act W has given u v gd advice...u may also wan2 chk our prev Dec 13-21 archive coz we did mention some tips there for bargaining thgs...

Hope u get a gd deal!!

katoom

morning ladies!

Mic -- i'm not too sure abt white wine...as in well, people dun USALLy expect to b served white wine for Banquets...so its really ok to hv ALL red, frm my opinion..u cud chk with ur co-ord for more expert opinion!

i had to sign with them very urgently cos' they claimed that there were 2 others on the waitlist...n i really THOUGHT it was a gd deal oredi so din persist

Bride 15 -- no need to panic! cos' for the banquet, besides the printing of cards, there is really not much u hv to do before hand...prob by CNY, u can start announcing to frens n relatives abt ur big day (i.e. after drawing up a tentative list) cos' u REALLY wouldn't be able to tell the final guest list till closer the date -- cos' ppl will pull out, or u may add on ppl..think the guest list n seating will be the big headache! (but that will only b closer to the day) other than that, u hv done ur outdoor shots, so that's gd! for MTM gowns, well, flip magazines, go online to chk out gowns frm other bridal boutiques to get ideas..most importantly is what kind of design u wud like for urself n wat ur bodyshape is... the BS should be able to consult u...quartet and bands R gonna cost a bomb, unless u hv frens who can do it for u! emcees...best to get a gd fren to do it..also u hv to consider if u need to hv both mandarin & english... hope my few cents worth helps!

Gift -- u've got mail!

cheers ladies!

w aka katoom

kitty_li

Hi mic,
Generally, more pple tend to drink red. My plan is to have a mixture of white and red, coz there are pple who like white. Since I dun have corkage waiver, would have to buy from the hotel lorh. So, they will set aside both red and white, and they will charge me for those bottles that have been opened. But if you are brining in your own wines...maybe just 1 or 2 bottles of white lah.

Yah, I also noticed that we're more active in the morning. Think wehen 2006 comes, we'll all be a bit more busy liao...hahaha.

Hi w,
u have list of wine suppliers ah? Dun mind can send to me also? Coz I am planning to get some wine for my lunch reception as well. Thanks!

Merry Christmas ladies!

leeing

Hi.. W,
thanks. I've got your mail. thanks for sharing ya..

Hi Bride15,
Actually I don have any particular tactics for nego, infact, i'm very poor in that. Just open up to Angela my concern as what some of our friends here taught me earlier.. I was holding it with "have..have la, don hv oso never mind lor.." since the package price was so attractive.. But lucky to have all of you here to buck me up on the matter of wines.. Thanks guys.... my hubby always laugh at me being "sua gu" (in hokkien)..

Hi Irene + Bride15,
Talking about Themes, ya, i'm thinking of combination. I will probably seek opinions from Angela first. But I guess from the perspective of her convenient, she will discourage me from doing so.
I'll be meeting her later.. so, see what's her suggestion for me..

O ya.. irene, does she give you all your 70% cards when you went down for finalization that day??

Gift.

katoom

Hi Gift

Abt the cards, wat i understand is that u to do ur prints for the inserts 1st... Then once no. is confirmed, she will pass u 70% of the confirmed guests attendance...so u may hv remaining inserts...but its ok la...anyway they charge 1st 200 for $100.

micong

Hi w...
can u email me the wine list too?

Thanks alot!!

As for the themes...i'm very keen on having Garden of Love but would like to see pics or actual ballroom decor 1st b4 deciding...cant really recall the other themes... guess i've to see pics to decide when nearer to my AD.

Shermaine...it's abit crazy to add $400 to change the fake flowers for them!! maybe u shld consider a combinatin of both red n white flowers so the grand canopy wun look weird...mayb can add in a few red flowers on ur own!!

micong

Hi CSI Fan...
thanks...i oso thk not many pple will ask for white wine...so maybe like u say,just get 1-2 bottles white wine...if run out of white,i'll tell me guests to drink red instead!!

When's ur lunch reception? isit oso in Marriot?

micong

Hi all...esp those considering buying own wine... i found this thread toking abt "1.5L wine - more savings?"

The pple there said...
--> I got it from Parker's Wines.

They r at 44/44A North Canal Rd. you can also call Me Ling @ 6535 3987. Excellent svc. They'll provide wine tasting too.

I paid deposit for 3 1.5L btls, n the rest are on consignment.

--> I called up Parker's wine and each 1.5L bottle is $34. However there are only 2 brands available. One is a chardonnay from Aussie, and the other is a Merlot from Chile.

Consignment is available for any amount of bottles. But have to pay 20% deposit upfront.

Sounds like a place we shld chk too...esp since u can do wine tasting there so u know wat u getting...

btw do u know wat's on consignment? does it mean dat u can return the remainder bottles leftover frm the dine? i'm looking for somethg like dat so i'll not be stuck with few boxes of wine after the dine...

kitty_li

Hi mic,

Yap, tell the guests to drink red!! hahaha

my lunch reception will be in my church's premises...at least that's the plan for now. Coz I was thinking of other venues (depending on budget).

yap, consignment means u can return the remaining unopened bottles. Yah, it's better to get those on consignment...Thanks for the info on Parker's Wines!

Hi W,
Thanks for your email! Received it!

hi gift,
at first i wanted combination of themes too. But Angela advised against but if we want, still possible. After looking at the pics, i find it hard to combine.. cos of the different kind of stands use for the flowers on the aisle.. For flowers, cost more if u want to change to Lillies / tullips. But its possible if you want to change the colour of roses. Even for oriental charm, u can still request to change th colour of flowers!

Fyi, nxt yr, marriott will have coloured cloths for normal tables as well. For oriental charm, the VIP tables will be the deep red organza cloth but normal tables will be a lighter shade of red. Thus, i guess the whole rm will look v grand...

hi gift,
i used marriott's printer - lil'art. Angela didn't pass the cards to me though. But i understand that if you are using other printers, u have to arrange the printer or you have to go get the cards from Marriott to deliver to the other printer.

micong

Hi w...
Got ur mail abt the wine liao...Thanks!! Really appreciate....

To all of u who (like me) have only limited waive on wine corkage... say 10-15 bottles...
thk we shld seriously consider getting the 1.5L wine so as to save on the corkage part...esp if u hav more than 25 tables...
i've read thru many threads n most commented dat abt 1-2 bottles wine per table is needed...coz 1 750ml bottle can only serve 6 glasses max. Worse if u noe ur guests r "jiu gui"!!

Sigh...now i'm beginning to feel the stress of being a bride... so many thgs to do...n seems dat my FH cannot help much...HAIzzz...
kao_sad2.gif

leeing

Hi....everyone...
First of all..Merry Christmas....
better grab some time here to chat with you guys a little while, gonna be busy in the afternoon.

Hi irene, ya, this is what she told me too, to contact lil'art directly. Guess i better give them a call next week. You hv been doing well..cards been in the process of printing, confirmed theme already with them. Haiz..... I havent decide which theme to choose yet thou.. Headache.. it's between oriental charm and garden of love. She said she will call me next month for food testing and selection of themes again. Hv you gone for foodtesting?

Oya, you know what, irene.. yesterday, I saw a wedding function with the "vineyard" theme's set up.. it was very very extremely PLAIN.. doesnt look like a ballroom at all but rather like restaurant kinda set up.. ambience is not grand either..

Hi mic.. thanks for the info. it's definately help for me.

micong

Hi ladies...

MERRY X'MAS to all u nice pple out there!!
kao_kiss.gif

Thanks CSI Fan...dun worry abt me...i'm like dat...on/off will start complaining abit...

heehee...Enjoy a nice X'mas with ur loved ones... see ya back here after the hols!!

augustina

1st of all,Merry X'mas to all of u!!
i m back to this thread again, phew lot of ladies is talking abt the wines atuff!! is very happy to read thru ur comment so that i also can gain experience from you ladies!!
it really seem no one is getting the red rapshony theme hor...

hi irene,
me too hv collect my card, but i dint get li art to do the print. over the phone with the lady, she dun sound firendly leh... so my hubby is getting his freind's dad to help me lor. hope can get cheaper...
will be gg for food tasting on early jan. then i think we will talk abt the theme then...

micong

Hi ladies..

Been searching the forum past few days...made some interesting discovery... would like to share w u all...

Saw dat some pple did their inserts printing at JB citysquare...cheap and good! Only abt RM80 for 200 inserts! I'll definitely chk dat out coz my BS oso in JB..."shun lu"...

mic

hi gift,
i'm surprised that vineyard theme looks plain! I thought the candles are romantic! Is it becos the flowers are all on the ground while candles are at the top? I hope oriental charm will look grand. That's wat angela told me. I wanted garden of love but the flowers on the canopy are fake and i can't change the colour. That's y i settled for oriental charm where all the flowers are fresh.

I went for food tasting already. the food is great! Fish is fresh and sharks fin have lots of sharks fin in there. But my auntie who just went for a marriott wedding lunch told me the sharks fin was v different from the food tasting that she had at my food tasting leh. Less ingredient lor... But i think overall, its good. I just went for a wedding dinner at goodwood park hotel. The food there is not as good as marriott. Worse of all, the dessert (dumpling) is not even cooked! It was so powdery..

Hi augustina,
I haven't collected my cards from lil'art yet. Will be getting it this friday instead cos i used the glittering/shimmering paper inserts, thus, need a longer time for the ink to dry up. I think lil'art pricing is similar to t-dragon. They are abt $20 - $30 more expensive. I made comparison on the pricing already. But i wanted the convenience of liaising, that's y i used them.
and sad to say, her grandma (v closed to her) had just passed away recently (2 wks ago).. probably that explains why she may nt sound so friendly?

micong

Hi Irene...

So glad to hear dat ur food tasting went well...i have never been to Marriot's banquet b4...so really relieved to hear frm u dat the food is Good!!

Can i ask wat u choose for dessert? i'm quite particular abt dessert coz i personally hate dat "oor ni" (i thk it's yam paste)...n so far,the only banquet i'd been to, dat serves Great dessert , is Conrad...the others all so so...

Will love if u can share wat r the dishes u've tried... if it's not convenient for u to say here...can kindly email me at [email protected]

Thanks A Million!!!

hi mic,
i chose the red bean paste with dumpling for dessert. Mine is wk day dinner. But i love the dumpling and red bean paste. its v well prepared and taste good. Think for wk end dinner, Marriott has better desserts (e.g western type that is done by their famous chef - Irene Soh). I have also tried the wonderful dessert at Conrad! Really good! Mine is the ala-carte menu. i chose the following: (if you like spicy food, item 2 is really nice! I love it.) The ee-fu noodle is wonderful becos its not too oily.

1. Crispy Vermicelli Rolls, Barbecued Pork, Japanese Mini Octopus, Drunken Chicken Roll & Jellyfish

2. Stir-fried Shrimps & Sliced Chicken in “Gong Pao†Style

3. Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Bampoo Pith & Fish Maw

4. Braised “Bai Ling Zhi†Mushrooms with Black Mushrooms & Chinese Cabbage

5. Steamed Sea Bass in Superior Soya Sauce

6. Wan Hao signature crispy roast chicken

7. Braised Ee-Fu noodles with shredded mushrooms & chives

8. Sweetened Red bean cream with lotus seeds, lily bulbs & dumplings

kohnancy

hi all Marriot BTB,

I was shortlisting Marriot for my wedding banquet due to the attractive price that they are giving now. Has make an appointment with them tomorrow evening to view their ballroom and to discuss on the details. What perks could I still ask for? Me, really no good at bargaining for things.

micong

Hi Irene...

Wow! Ur dishes does sound YUMMY!! *slurp*... =P~~
Thk our taste quite similar...i oso love spicy food n esp E-fu noodles!! (dun really like to eat rice..)...Glad to noe the red bean cream dumpling dessert is nice...coz i was lookin thru the menu n i tot dis dish sounds quite like the one i ate at Conrad...i thk was sesame dumpling den...but their dumpling skin were sooo smooth and silky...i tot the dumpling just melted in my mouth!!
Guess i definitely try out the red bean cream w dumpling! Thanks for ur advice...

Hi Nancy... Welcome!

Maybe u will like to scroll the above pg for some advice...the prev msg for bride15 will ans some of ur queries...it's quite comprehensive abt wat perks u need to ask...

If u have more qns...will be happy to help u out...

Happy "bargaining"!!

kohnancy

Hi Mic,

Thanks. Actually my AD is on 21/05 (Sun). But the grand ballroom has been taken up. Now considerating whether to take up the 22/05 (Mon). Got to separate to 2 days, anyone here is holding the banquet on a different day?

kitty_li

Hi Nancy,
My dinner banquet will be on a separate day from my church stuff. I think nowadays it's quite common to have banquet on a different day. Gives us time to relax and rest properly too. What's your concern about having the banquet on a different day?