Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

micong

Hi Irene...
have u printed ur invitatn cards liao? Can i ask wat's the diff between normal print n hotstamping? Heard dat hotstamping is more ex but dunno which 1 is better? btw when's ur AD?
saw from some comments dat using inserts is better too...coz sumtimes if person A whom u invited cannot turn up,u can still change the insert to person B's name...n dat way u wun waste any cards.

Hi CSI Fan...
i'm oso lost...duno wat to do...guess i'll settle my wed photo takin n find a nice gown 1st. Stephine said she'll update us when we need to start preparing (abt 3 mths b4 the AD).

Hi gift,
everyone is envying you of your great deal! U r so lucky!

hi mic,
i agree with u that marriott's wine pricing is quite reasonable. I haven't tried the wine though. My invitation cards are in the printing process right now. Collecting this friday. Normal printing is either using gold or maroon ink. Hotstamping are those shinny gold or shinny silver (like mirror). Hotstamping is certainly more expensive - cost $120 for first 100pcs. Think the price is almost double, so if you do hotstamping, its better not to print too many extra inserts, otherwise, its v costly. I didn't choose hotstamping. I chose normal printing but topped up extra for better quality inserts(those shimmering type). Cost extra $0.25 each. But of course, i print 300 pcs with shimmering inserts, 50 on normal paper (save money cos those 50 are extras). Yes. use inserts better. hotstamping is usually printed on the card itself.

leeing

Hi W,CSI Fan,mic,irene....

hehehe...Thanks a lot.
Actually when come to comparision, it's more or less like yours package too. Some of the things, she's not giving me too, and I hv to pay extra for that..

W, ya, my package was with wines corkage waived, printing 70% and parking 20%. And yap..it's on Sunday. They have running out of Fri and Sat. If you insisted on Fri or Sat, all they can do is put you on "WAITLIST"..but always the case that you wont get the day you want.. like my case lor..

CSI Fan, heheheheh..... maybe Angela was in a extreme good mood that day. Her bf (assuming) just proposed to her... hehehehe..

MIc,ya, you are right, they have a reasonable price for wines (red and white wines) on your options of either red or white, or can even buy a combination. Actually, I havent do my final discussion with Angela yet. So, not sure what will she be proposing to me for food presentation.. That part will probably wait till meeting up with her. What's your style in presentation???
O ya, I have taken my photos liao.. can only get it by Jan06.

Irene, thanks... I will probably go to the printer that you went. Which card did you choose?? I can only remember the one in Maroon colour tie with maroon ribbons. Did you choose that card? Cos I'm thinking of that one only.. the other one was rather "lao tu"..

Gift..

kitty_li

Hi Gift,
Is it? Angela's bf proposed to her? wah...heehee. Aiyah, it would be quite weird if any of Angela's couples in this thread suddenly congratulates her. haahahaha.

Oh well, I guess package wise, it's all about what we want. Some bits of it would seem really "wow" and attractive to others, but other bits may not be as good lah...one of those things lah.

Hmm, so Gift, u'll be getting ur photos soon...Jan06 is only 2 weeks away...hehehs...

twinkleangel

i oso managed to ask for corkage wavier for wine brought in by myself... n free use of projector oso... hehe... but i cldnt get a rm for my co-ordinator... if i hv dat, it will b so perfect...

katoom

Hi gift...nd advice.. u think that there's any chance i can still negotiate with her if i've already signed for the package? she din give me anything! only 70%cards and she refused to up the parking! and wine corkage waiver, she refused as well...feel kindda cheated now! =(

w

katoom

hi mic...thanks for ur msg & concerned...ya, hv signed with Angela oredi and like i jus told Gift..feel kindda 'cheated' =(

kitty_li

hi w,

can't remember if u have mentioned before, but when is ur AD? maybe you got other better stuff like extra room, a la carte menu, wedding wishes....??

katoom

hi CSI Fan, mine's in mar as well. i got nothing man. even hv to pay for projector! only got 70% cards. & yourself? End 06? so u not able to take the Marriott package?

kitty_li

hi w,
I signed up with Marriott too, but not at that promo price u gals got, coz that is for the 1st half of the year package. so, different lah.

leeing

Hi CSI Fan

ya, my collection of photos it's next mth. but it's gonna be end of next mth...hehehehe...
so, 4 more weeks to go..

Gift.

leeing

Hi...w.

o ya..sorry sorry. I've read it. You oso signed up with Angela. Why not you seen thru your whole package again, see whether do you have any other things to nego with her.. eg,better food presentation, extra room for helpers, flowers...etc.

Gift.

micong

Hi w...
dun be discouraged. i've oso signed up w stephine liao...but i thk i'll try n ask if she can make it waive all wine i bring in...

so when is ur wed dine?

Hi Gift...muz share share ur photos when they'r done... will be waiting...

Hi Irene...
thanks for ur info... like wat u said...will use the normal printing...save cost. i din rem any maroon cards thou...Stephine only showed me 2 cards...1 is the usual red colour (quite old fashion)...the other 1 is a cream colour card with a ribbon to tie...me n FH prefers the latter...

So u've decided on Oriental charm as theme? i quite like the Garden of Love theme... i was thkin of going down to marriot to chk out the ballrooms if stephine can tell me who's using Garden of love...

i've seen the ballroom decorated w oriental charm on 2 occasions.. very nice too! 1 was the normal red roses decor...the other couple used lighter colour roses..(4got it's pink or white or cream)... n both looks pretty!!

katoom

hi gift and mic

basically, angela was adament tat cos' its the 688 package,she can't do anythg except raise the cards to 70% -- which seems to b the norm apparently!!! i did raise the wine issue...and she was VERY insistent that there is no such deal!
so mic...u gonna try ask stephanie?
but hey Gift---REALLY thank u for being so candid n open! sorry...one more thing...did u hv to pay for projector? i had to pay $200...... =(

micong

hi w...
at 1st i tot Stephine more strict abt wine coz she's not the manager...Gift's coordinator is Angela (who's the manager)...so dat's y she got more bargain... but now dat urs is oso Angela,i dunno wat to say...

i'll try to ask Stephine...but act it doesnt really matter dat much if she waive all wine corkage coz i thk i'm ok w getting wine frm Marriot. my contract does state dat waive for DUTY-PAID wine brought in...so if i get my own wine...oso frm duty-free shop,duno if allowed. n my own wine oso much more ex...

i thk ultimately, it's not abt whether they waive the wine or not...it's the service provided n the location dat attracts me to Marriot.. i simply love the ballroom w high ceilings n the fact dat they onli have 1 ballrm, which means dat ur guests can have a more private area for cocktail b4 the dine starts.
so be happy dat u've chosen Marriot amongst other hotels coz u sure will be a happy bride!!
kao_wedding.gif

kitty_li

Hi mic,

ur duty-paid wine is corkage free? Thot the one that's usually stated in contracts refers to duty-paid HARD LIQUOR (eg. whisky) (different from wine).

Btw, I'm curious...how do we tell if a bottle of wine is duty-paid or not?

hi gift,
sorry ah, i also can't remember all the postings...but ur corkage waiver for wine...that is for the wine that u bring in from outside hotel? not waiver for those bottles u buy from hotel? (coz if buy from hotel, in the first place got no corkage)

Agree with mic, that ultimately, it's not abt whether they waive wine corkage or not. It's the service that matters more, coz guests/relatives will remember the service more, and as brides, we would also enjoy the good service.

Sit back, relax and enjoy christmas!!

katoom

Hi girls!

Tks for the advice!

CSI Fan -- if the wine is duty free, there wil be a label that states it.. and mic's package is only waiver of duty-paid HARD LIQUOR, not wine.

Gift -- how many tables R u having? If u dun mind me asking?

Mic -- it does make a diff..cos' u can easily get much better quality wine frm winery outside at a much lower price! what they hv for $22+++ is a Chilean wine..which is not exactly one of the best... so ya...hope u dun mind me jus adding my few cents worth!

MERRY X'MAS in advance to all!

w

katoom

sorry mic...oh ur contract states that there is waiver for DUTY-PAID wine brought in, huH??

CSI Fan -- sorry i misread mic's msg!

pinkdolphin

Morning ladies!

I've signed up with marriott last friday... hehe... so happy, finally one thing off my mind!

Hmm... i also manage to get 12 bottles wine corkage waiver and i intend to buy those big bottle of wine (1.5L instead of normal 750ml). haha... this way will be same as having 24 bottles of wine.

saw from one of thread, there's a shop selling 1.5L of red wine at $34. Think i'm going to get that. hehe...

I've got 70% cards, 20% parking, a special price for 30L of beer ($650 instead of $800) and complimentary tea leaves favors.

kitty_li

Morning gals!

Wah, learnt quite a bit abt wines this morning. heehee...

oh i see...W, u must be one of those who can really appreciate wines. that's good.
I can't seem to be able to tell much diff! hahaha. So what kind of wine is of better quality? Btw, I can't seem to find the Chilean wine on their wine list. Been to Carrefour, NTUC, even got a friend who went on biz trip to help me check out the DFS. This wine like dun seem to exist out there like that...any idea where one can find it?

katoom

hi CSI Fan,

No la! i am def. not a wine connoisseur!
But yah, their $22+++ Santa Helena Gran Vino Chardonnay is a Chilean wine...
For reds, the Auzzie Sauvignon Blanc or French red wine is certainly more pleasing to the taste buds!
That's why they R offering the cheapest wine @ $22+++ (which is certainly over-priced in my opinion). sigh..that's why I was hoping to get wine corkage waived so that i can get much better quality wine from outside (even if its at $22+++, it will be much better wine!)
dun u think at wedding dinners, guests are always served sucky wine?
oh well.....

kitty_li

hi w,

yah, never did like the wines served at wedding dinners...but most pple have more or less come to expect that, so, nobody really talks abt the wine (at least among my bunch of friends lah...). They tend to remember things like service, quality of food, what happened during the dinner (eg. the sabo / video). heehee...

Have never tasted the Santa Helena wines, that's why am searching for it to try over Christmas...

hi gift,
i chose the ivory cards. cos the material for the maroon cards are thinner.. and the word "Marriott" is at the back of the card.

hi mic,
at first i love the maroon cards.. the red roses and ribbon looks nice on picture! but later i chose the ivory cards cos of a thicker material and the word "Mariott" is more prominenet. Think its impt to have their branding on the card so ppl will know.

leeing

Good morning..mic,w,CSI Fan,irene..
I was late..you guys have started so early..

hi..mic, ya, of course will definately share my pics with you guys when it's ready.

Wow...W, the projector is the one, she quoted you cheaper than mine. I have to pay $450 for that thou.. No nego!! cant less too.. she said it's standard. It's always the case, here and there a bit for us to guess and get frustrated with all these offers..

hi CSI fan, ya, my waiver is for Wine. I gotten a waiver for "hard liquor" which was already stated in the terms itself.

Oya... w, thanks for your compliment.. I like the word "Candid".. heheheh..

Gift.

leeing

Hi...Irene.

Ya, this is the two cards..

I chosen the red one...heheh..don know how to describe to you guys earlier.

hey.. irene, is your AD 06March?? sorry I lost track of your previous msg. Cos i was thinking to probably pop by to have a look at your "oriental charm" set up.. hehehehehe.. if you're ok. just a peep..

gift.

leeing

Hi irene..
you are doing a free promo for Marriott.. must have a word with your cordinator for further discount.. hehehehe..

Gift

pinkdolphin

Hi irene,

thanks for showing the invitation cards here!

finally i knows how the card looks like. hehe...
Hmm... i think both r nice leh.

leeing

oopss.. sorry W.

missed out to answer you that question. It's between 20 to 25 tables only. I havent meet up with her for deposit and confirmation yet. Supposed to meet her tmr but appt change to friday.

btw, W, hv you spoken to Angela about your concern?

Gift.

leeing

hi irene...

sorry sorry.. mistaken.
Didnt notice your previous msg. your AD is on 8th March, right.. How am I suppose to see your "Oriental Charm" whereas mine is even earlier than your date on 5thMarch. heehehehe... paisei paisei.. "kong" liao.

gift.

katoom

hi gift...wah...so angela actually holding 5mar for u huh?
yah, i'm looking at max 20 tables but told her confirm 18 tables 1st for now...
and ya, i've paid the deposit --so not sure if she'll barge...
i haven spoken to her abt it yet...wan to gather more info. before i ask her anything....
but again, appreciate ur inputs =)

leeing

hi W.. ya, that's the only day left for March. Initially, I still hv a waitlist on 10th March but it was confirmed already by a company event. so, no choice but to take up that day.. Other friday and Sat will be towards April & May already which also packed and have to be under the waitlist too..

I guess things that she offered you may not be at my benefits too. So, take it easy, like what mic said.. dun be so discouraging ma.. It's once in a life time kinda arrangement, most importantly is "everyone must happy" in this special moment of yours.

heheheh...very profound.

Gift.

piggy_in_space

hi gift & all marriott BTBs

gift - thanks for your reply and sharing on your package.

actually reading thru all the marriott BTBs thread really make me feel so excited. i was planning to make a trip down to marriott to find out more about the package but was down with food poisoning. =(

anyway, thanks everyone for all the sharing...tips etc...sure helps! and i think this marriott thread folks are all very encouraging, open and friendly. thanks gals!

micong

Hi every1!!
Wow...just a morning n i missed so much!!

Hi W...i get wat u mean...act i'm also not 1 with gd tastebuds...n i seldom drink wine. But now dat u've mentioned, muz teach us some tips abt wat kinda wine is gd... act i've nv tot dat the wine dat they offer will be dat bad!

btw my contract states dat "we are pleased to waive corkage charge for all hard liquor and 10 bottles of wines brought in by your goodself. Please note all hard liquor and wines must be sealed and duty-paid. The hotel reserves the right not to serve duty-free hard liquor and wines."
So even wines they state muz be duty-paid.
Act stephine did tell me the diff btw duty-paid/free liquor. the size is diff...the duty-free 1 is bigger size and got a stamp on the label stating "duty-free".
But she din say wat's the diff for the wines...so i duno if i can bring in duty-free wines wout any1 knowing anot??

Hi pinkdolphin...
Glad u've signed up. I oso felt like a BIG load of the mind after i've signed up!!
Heehee...act like wat u tot...i oso tot of buying those big 1.5L wines for the 10 bottles i'm waived. if still not enough, den get frm Marriot.
Guess "Great minds think alike!!"

micong

Hi Irene...
Thanks for showing the cards... the cream one dat i like is the one u going to choose... i love dat design too...very simple yet elegant.

It seems dat u've done quite alot of thgs to prepare for ur AD... mine is onli 2 mths later den urs but seems i'm still sitting on the fence doin nothin!! Start to feel abit gan cheong seeing so many of u busy...

Hi piggy...
Hope u feeling better now... so u havent sign w Marriot yet? When's ur AD?

katoom

Hi Gift
As always, thank u for ur words of encouragement (& profound wisdom, of course!)

Mic -- so u also managed to get some (10 btls) of wine corkage waived la...that's gd...

i'll try n see wat i can do, i guess =)
n pray for the best!

thanks ladies!

pinkdolphin

Hi mic,

Alright manz... u also intend to get the 1.5L wine! hehe... *high five*

Ur wedding is in May? Me too... hehe...
i also doing nothing, not sure what to do... abit blur blur.. :p

leeing

Hi piggy + W..
Don mention.. I'm more than happy to share.
Ya, piggy..you feeling better?? but i guess you should be alright liao..since you can start chatting around over here with us.. heheheheeh..

Hi Mic, when you said "duty-paid" does it mean inclusive of GST when you first buy the wine? "duty free" means no government tax, right?? I'm a bit worried with all these terms stating in the contract itself.. Just in case, I might not have seen the small foodnotes, I have to end up paying more than what I'm expected..

Pls explain.. tks in advance ya..

Gift.

micong

Hi every1...
I've juz called up Stephine... she on 1 wk leave thou... but i managed to plead w Michelle to give me more bottles wine waiver...initially i was fighting for free all bottles of wine but she refused. den i fought for 20 bottles n again she said NO. She said max 12 bottles n finally we compromised n she agreed to up it to 15 bottles waiver!! i guess better den nothin...

Hi w...
thk u still have high chance of fighting for wine corkage waiver... dun give up thou u've paid deposit... as long as u havent sign on the dotted lines of the contract...anythg is still possible!!

micong

Hi Gift...
wat i decipher frm duty-free means u buy the wine frm DFS...n i thk it's not juz GST... i thk for wines and hard liquors, the government has an additional tax...to prevent singaporeans frm becoming "jiu gui"!!

But i'm not sure how they know if the wines frm DFS...mayb W might know more...

Hi pinkdolphin...
sorry but i 4got when's ur AD...maybe after mine...

leeing

Hi mic..
thanks. wa..happy for you,
managed to get more things again. ya, better check it out probably before signing on the dotted line..

Hi W..
would you be able to tell more about that??
what kind of wine Angela offer you at first? cos' she told me i can make choices between red and white wine that's all.. but they have a MOQ to meet. minimum must buy 12 btls from Marriott.

Gift.

hi gift,
yes. my ad is on 8 mar! i shld be the one to go view ur theme on 5 mar! heehee!

Hi mic,
i'm not really well prepared. only thing is confirm theme, printed cards and finished my ps and photo selection. Haven't selected my tea dress yet. I'm quite lost.. dunno wat else i need to do...

hi gift,
did u have alot of tables, that is y ur negotiating power is higher? i have 38 tables... Angela was indeed in a gd mood when i met her last thurs.

micong

Wow...
dis means dat Gift and W gotta quickly do their preps (e.g. select cards n print and confirm theme) coz their AD in march...
So exciting!!

So any 2006 BTB choosing Garden of Love theme? Can i go n have a look at ur decor...if u dun mind...

katoom

hi mic...i've actually already signed on the dotted line...can i ask if u had already signed on the contract prior to asking for more wine waiver?

hi gift...their wine list is the standard one. do u hv the list? if not, i can email u the list.