Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

girlz

Henny, initially i wanted the montage one, but after discussion with my hubby, we might forgo it for another wish instead...becos we dun like the idea that the screen is on the side of the ballroom instead of the front lor....and if we want it to be displayed on the front, have to get another projector at our own cost, becos they will only allow to display the montage in front provided that there's 2 screens lor..

Another thing which is time lor...my photos will also be ready quite late, so dun think they have enuf time to do the montage...*sigh*...

I will be most probably getting the beer and the wine for the wishes lor.. u leh??

Camomile, u are most welcome!! actually wanted u to look for Sunil instead, but too bad, he have left the hotel liao....all the best to ur hotel hunting!!

blursotong

Hi Girlz,

I'm new to this also...u mean that we have to pay extra for the screen to be at the front ? faint liao...do you know how much? Ohh, my co-ordinator is also Mark..but he ok lei...kept on smiling & smiling..

Hi Camomile...
Me just found out recently that you'll get a better deal if you booked ur dinner during bridal show. My friend got a veri good deal at Crown Prince (free flow beer, free corkage for wine & hard liq, 9 course weekend dinner @ $600)..too bad, me already booked Marriot else I'll also go to CP : (
u can try there too ;p

lemoncake

Hey BlurSotong and Camomile,

Need not regret la... initially I also regreted booking Marriott b'coz it is very ex, e.g. 450 for projector, 800 for 30L beer, etc. but later some people in SB forum consoled me, realising that I shouldn't compare Marriott with other 4 or marginally 5 stars hotel. After all, it is an upmarket 5 stars hotel, even my overseas relatives all know about its good name.

girlz

Hi BlurSotong,

Welcome!! like wat lemoncake mention lor...u won't regret booking Marriott one...and judging from all the good reviews abt this hotel, u can rest assured that it's worth it lor!!

camomile, like wat blursotong mention lah...usually during bridal show, the deal will be better so as to attract u to sign up lah, so when's ur intended wedding day?? u can check with those hotels that u have short-listed when is their wedding show b4 deciding lor...

The extra is required, becos Marriott only provide 1 projector and montage as the wedding wish...but if u wan to have it in front, u will require 2 projectors, that's why need to pay extra $450 for another projector lor...

btw, are u the one who's deciding between Artrend and another contractor??

blursotong

Hi girlz

Yap, I am the one deciding b/n Artrend and Nouva...any comments on them? Really dunno which contractor to choose......

Heh hopefully, me kindof like Marriot's lightings and set-up...sigh...once of a lifetime thingy so have to splurge ;p

girlz

BlurSotong, I've already replied u in the other thread...better dun float this thread lor.. ;p

ya lah.....it's always a very good excuse to splurge since it's a once in a lifetime thing, that's wat my hubby say... ;p

blursotong

Heh,

Got something good to share...at least hope that it is good...went to closetworks today for their warehouse sale...think good a good deal from the walk-in wardrobe..those looking for built-in/walk-in wardrobe can consider to pay them a visit. offer ends tomorrow ;p

henny

Hi Lilac, Mel, girlz & forest,

How did u come up with the script for the MC to use during the dinner? I'm getting my sister to be my MC but I've to prepare the script for her. I'm at a loss of what to include in the script.
Any suggestions?

blursotong

Hiya,

Just wanna chk what are the freebies you all got for ur package besides from the 2/3 wishes...was reading the thread...seems like Marriot got varying stds..

girlz

Hi henny,

I haven't come up with the script yet leh...i'm getting my sister-in-law to do it also....i'm thinking the norm type lor...those like welcoming the guest etc....sorry...dun think i'm of any help..

BlurSotong, ur wedding is this year?? weekday or weekend?? mine is weekday and I've got 70% wedding card, 20% car park coupon, extra night stay, 10 person food tasting....

forest

hi henny,
errrr... dun think i can help u on the MC script yet, cos my wedding is still 8mths down the road.. i havent figured out this part yet!!!

blursotong

Hi Girlz,

Mine is on a weekday also 3 Nov 04..seems like we got almost the same deal...no free beer?

Hi Henny, I've got a veri simple script. you want?

lemoncake

Hi Mel and everyone,
Didn't expect Marriott even prepare the speech for our MC!
Do you know if there's any VJ or technician to arrange the music according to different stages of the dinner? Or they have a series of music provided? I have been to M hotel to help out my fren's wedding, the VJ there was so professional, arranged and played music like Jazz for cocktail, love songs for 1st 2 dishes... and Latin music at the later dishes. The sound was so good and it tune the feelings of the guests too.

ran_mel

hi lemoncake

for my case I burned some songs in a cd and gave it to them, indicating which song to play for the 2 march-ins and the 1st dish presentation. Then for the rest of the dinner, they will play their own love songs as background music.

oct04_bride

Hi Blursotong
did you sign up with GHA? am a GHA bride too!
hehehe

Mine is a weekday and perks are almost similar with Girls.. yours?

blursotong

Hi pink_dot,

Yup, I'm a GHA bride too
wah! such a coincidence. you at Marriot too

mine at weekday too...my pkg almost the same but me got 1 additional barrel of beer becoz I signed up at a bridal show...tried to ask for free flow beer but they wont give
btw, when is your AD? have u gone for ur photoshoot already?

blursotong

Mine is at the Yishun Branch.
dinner in Nov..Heh..must share ur pics with me

Btw, do is ur co-ordinator for Marriot?
Have u gone for your first fitting?

oct04_bride

Hey Blursotong
Angela is my planner.
when is your PS and who is your designer/coordinator at GHA? Have already designed my gown.. waiting for GHA to call me when it ready for fitting.. YOu??

Hi Enternity, welcomed to this thread!
am sure you'll have an unforgettable wedding at Marriott.

Touraco, if i'm not mistaken, they do have a rooftop garden.. you can check with them.

blursotong

Hi Pink Dot

Mine is Ailing. PS? Have not decided yet since have not chosen my gown ...designer? do they have a designer at the GHA? they never said that they will design my gown for me...

henny

My wedding is in 2 wks' time. I'm desperately looking for decanters for serving hard liquor coz' I'm not allowed to bring in duty-free bottles for the wedding dinner. I've tried many places like Cold Storage, Giant, Carrefour etc but couldn't find one. Saw one at Metro which costs $99...too exp.

Can someone help pls...thks!

ran_mel

hi Henny

Did you talk to your coordinator about the duty free liquor? They really don't allow you to bring in???

touraco

hi mel and henny,

i believe it's against the law to have duty-free liquor in licensed premises. that's why hotels don't allow duty free liquor.

enternity

Hi Pink dot

Thks! I will also be meeting Angela next week. How is she? Is she flexible in the package?

Thks for your advice! ;)

henny

Hi girlz

I've tried the $2 shops but they don't sell decanters. I'll probably try Ikea. Went to Taka & Tangs today. Cheapest decanter at Tangs costs $60. The ones in Taka costs as much as $130+

Hi Mel

Yup, i've bargained several times to allow duty-free liquor to be brought in during the dinner but was refused. I think restaurants are more lenient when it comes to liquor. U can still try your luck asking your co-ordinator.

ran_mel

hi Henny

My wedding already over. Just feeling funny that why you guys not allow to bring in...

who is your coordinator? Maybe he/she not so lenient.

oct04_bride

hi Touraco, Hello Enternity
You can contact Angela. She is my wedding coordinator too. Good and prompt service...

Hello Blursotong
yours are MTM right, so you can tell them what you want and they will help to sketch your "perfect" WD for you lor.. you will get to try on different design/cutting so that you will know which cut/design suit you best.

icetree

Hi, I am new over here...I need your advice on Marriott Hotel. What should I ask for and which manager should I look for. If possible can help by sending me your quote for the wedding package. Thanks.

oct04_bride

Hi Blursotong
No worry lah, everything will be fine.
hve a post at GHA thread.

Hi Chris
Welcome! can look for Angela, nice lady.
do attend their forthcoming wedding fair if you're interested to host yr dinner at Marriott.
will get a better deal if you signed up at the fair.

sunkiss

hi pink_dot, any idea when is the wedding fair? thx in adv! am considering too but 24 and 25 Oct taken up ... sigh!

oct04_bride

er, sorry SK, my mistake, no fair for Marriott. hehehe but their current promo advertised is as follows:
Mon to Thur
$50 nett off per table, once comp table for 10 persons, one comp 30l beer
Fri to Sun
$50 nett off per table & Free flow of Beer

If I'm not mistaken, most dates in Oct are taken... Good Luck!

blursotong

Hi SK,

I think there is a bridal show of marriot coming up really soon. Did you buy the wedding mags? It is in one of them, cannot remember whether it is Female,Her world or Style mag liaoz..sorrie cannot chk for u now as I dun have the mags with me...

Btw, the usual pkg is that u can choose 2 wishes for weekday and 3 for weekend dinner. Try to ask for more things like additional nite stay, 10 pax trial dinner etc...actually feel that the new promo they offer now $50 off and one compl 30L beer is already quite good as compared to our pkg taken last yr
but you can still try ur luck, mabbe they'll try to accomodate you.

Oh! another thing, do try to book during the bridal show as they will offer more perks then...

All the best!

sunkiss

Thanks Pink_dot and BlurSotong, i will check it out ... Hubby and I love its location for the convenience of our guests. Am on waiting list for 25 Oct, hopefully can get it ... am still waiting for the confirmation.

enternity

My coordinator is Angela too. She is quite good except that she is quite rigid in the negotiation of items... Hope to share some experience that you all may have with her...

I went to view the ballroom recently. The ballroom doesn't look really big. Can it really accommodate max 55 tables? Hum... heard from my friend that she attended a dinner before in Marriott of about 45 tables, and the tables were so close to each other such that they hit each other when the guests stood up for toasting! You heard of such experience?

How is the food quality recently? I have gotten inconsistency opinions from friends which is causing me a big headache... Any advice?

pok

Hi can let me know the weekday and weekend minimum package?

What is the contact no. for the person incharge?

toons77

Have to agree with Enternity...Met up with Angela last week, nice lady but I think she is just acting on instructions from the management...

I also wonder whether can they hold 55 tables?? I was also there one weekend afternoon where there was a wedding lunch with around 35 tables and it already looked quite cramp...

There are corkage charges for wine which I felt it was a bit unreasonable. I don't see why do they don't impose on hard-liquor but yet imposed on wine. These are additional costs which will add up to each table. I wonder is it a tactic to sell off their own wines... Anyway, most hotels are not charging any corkage for wine.

Actually was impressed with Marriott (due to their pillarless and their themes) but since they are quite rigid with their negotiations, most likely have made up my mind to go to Meritus Mandarin in Orchard Road. They are more flexible in their negotiations. Costs are really a major consideration for weddings nowadays so every single cent counts...

Pok: You can contact Angela at 68314761 or email her at [email protected] but I heard that she will be away from 01 April for quite some time so I presume you might need to meet someone else unless you are not in the hurry!! She will definently call you back once she is back as she prefers to talk to you via phone than correspond via email.

I also heard that they are having a workshop in mid-April where there are discounts given if you sign up on that day. Maybe can consider to apply for this workshop

bits

Hi toons,
The email add u gave was not valid...got message from marriott that address does not exist in their system???