Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

mist

hi li,

i've checked my contract and it's include that free 20l beer and my lunch is the promotion price leh...

i sign the contract in late dec, very close to 31 dec liao...

hey, you can try one last time asking from your co-ordinator loh.. but dun quote my name lah... ;p

piggi

Hi Mist,

Thks so much for checking! Ok, let me try one last bargain w her,hopefully she can give it to me as well.

Dont worry, i wont disclose ur name.I really really appreciate ur help in this leh! who noes, u may help me to save $500 leh!!...

mist

hi li,

no worries.... saving of $500 is alot leh...

anyway, enjoy your wedding... remember to share with us your experience hor...

btw, did you pay for the food tasting huh?

piggi

Hi Mist,

I was given free food tasting for 6 pax, but in the end 10 of us go, so hve to pay for the extra 3 person at ard $48 each.

Do u hve food tasting as well?

mist

hi li,

hahaha.. i think that's where your coordinator didn allow the free barrel beer....

cos i dun hv free food tasting!!! my coordinator told me food tasting has to be paid for and it's not included in the lunch package.

i think different coordinator have different standard on this kind of freebies. btw, how many tables you have??

hdbride

Hi li,

Can u let me know whether u successfully bargain with your coordinator or not? I also want to talk to my coordinator abt this. My coord same as mist.

Me cham lah..no food tasting and no free beer : (
Sigh....

piggi

Hi Mist,

I hve ard 35 tables. Well, we actually bargain for the food tasting, I guess they throw in for me cos I've got quite a no of tables.

Anyway, I'll still check w my coordinator & see whethr she can give it to me. But if I were to choose, I'd prefer the free beer than the food tasting leh, cos the beer cost more than the food tasting leh!...

Hi Yong,
Ok,will let u whther I succeed or not.Me praying hard hard that I can get it.....

piggi

Hi Mist/Yong,

Sad news! My 'mission' had failed!..sigh...talk to my coordinator rdging the free beer given to someone(no name mentioned, don worry), & she said that was a 'one & last mistake' they've made! cos as wat she had said b4, we can only take either of the promotion.So no choice loh, have to pay for the beer loh.. Well Mist, u 're really lucky!! So envy leh!!...

mist

hi li,

oh, is it? the only "one" and last mistake they made???

i think it could be loh, cos that time when we meet up with our coordinator, he was quite rush, and he happen to be flying off the next day for some friend funeral... so maybe he's forgot abt the either one promotion loh.....

also i find my coordinator quite blur leh, when he sends us the first contract, it was full of mistake leh. eg, we have free food tasting, have complimentary wedding favours, date of deposit is also wrong and quite alot loh.....

and i spotted all the mistakes!! and told him abt it, and he apologise etc, and had a hard time explaining why the freebies are included when it shouldn't. so may be due to this, he compensate with the free beer loh.

aiyah, dun envy lah, i only hv the free beer, no food tasting, and dun hv other freebies liao..... the most impt thing is they handle our wedding properly and dun screw up.

i also hvn't seen their suite room before... have you seen??? some of the ladies told me it's actually quite small.

mist

hi li,

if your coordinator say it's the ONLY one mistake they've made, she also will be able to know who is the one liao... hahahaha....

but anyway, it's okay lah....

hdbride

Hi Mist and Ii,

I also very envy Mist... and I really agree with u that the coordinator is very blur. Or he is too busy? Cause I heard he is getting married this Feb.

Ii, Ok lar.. at least u got food tasting mah...how is the food?

In that case, I dun need to talk to the coordinator liao...

mist

hi yong,

hehehe.. i understand how much you envy me, cos the beer is worth $500++... i also thought i am really lucky...

yap, he's really blur loh. i think he's getting married on 28 feb, and it's in marriott too.

li, must tell us the standard of the food leh... which menu you choose huh? we dun hv free food tasting, and my hubby was thinking is it worth paying for the food tasting....

piggi

Hi Mist,

Hmm, overall the food is ok. But we've pointed out a few dishes to them, like the shark fins we find it a bit too salty, then my hubby aso find the noodle a bit salty, but i actually find its ok,anyway we still ask them to take note loh.

I've chosen menu 1, but for 1st dish we take from menu 2. then the fish we change to steam fish w yellow beans(i think),this is recommended by my coordinator & i actually find it not bad leh! well, at least a bit diff from the normal steam fish w soya sauce. oh ya, the desert we like it also! we've change to red bean paste, not bad leh!

Well,i think if u're really concern abt the standard of the food, then mayb u shld go for the food tasting. for us, my MIL insist on it, cos food to her is very impt. but i feel tat it's good tat u go,cos then u'll be able to feedback to them if there's anything which u're not satisfied. & aso diff ppl got diff taste,like we find the shark fin too salty, but it may b ok for u, really up to individual loh.

But of cse to pay for it mayb a bit heart pain, but mayb u just treat it as a pre-wedd-gathering for ur family? at least u've already got the free beer, so actually save quite a bit for u liao.

as for the suite, i've actually seen it during their wedd show last yr(ard oct i think). cos the suite is open for viewing during their show, & i find it ok leh!cos i've seen other suite b4, quite similar loh, those 2 section wan (one living + one bedroom). not very small leh, just nice i think.

mist

hi li,

then did you change to steam sea bass with yellow beans huh??? do you hv to top up additional $$$ for this change?

hey, we asked our co-ordinator if we can hv steam sea bass cooked in other style besides soya sauce, he say cannot leh... and he say there's no other ways to cook it!!!

i also heard from my friend that steam fish with yellow bean is really nice...

oh, i didn get to view their suite... so dun know how it looks like...

okay, will talk to my hubby abt it, see what he says loh...

ran_mel

I am marriott ex bride. Just had my wedding there on 31 dec last year. Just my two cents worth, I think if you are not getting the free food tasting den forget it dun waste the money. Cos from my experience, no matter what feedback you give to the kitchen about the food during food tasting, on the actual day, you just have to pray hard that the chief is in a good mood.

I pointed out to them some of the dishes are a bit too salty. But on that day, oso taste like that, some dishes tasted worse. Think I was only happy with the first dish and the wan hao chicken. I was so disappointed then. But can't blame them lah cos they are cooking in mass production.

hdbride

Do you all have any 'lobang' where I can get invitation card's inner-leaf printing at a very cheap price?

mist

hi yong,

i've got this vendor leh, he does printing and he says he can print the inner leaflets for me. but we hv to purchase those papers, cos he's not into this speciality....

you want his contact?

piggi

Hi mist,

Yup, we change to steam sea bass w yellow beans.No need to top up, cos we're only changing the way of cooking & not the fish.
think u better chk w ur coordinator again. ehh...don forget, he's quite blur wan rite?...

Hi Melissa,
So u mean ur dishes aso taste quite salty on ur wedd? did any of guest feedback that the food is bad? so beside the food, did ur banquet went well? btw, is urs a dinner?

Aiya,like tat not good leh. think I have to remind my coordinator again, must emphasize that they hve to take note of the food, cos food will usually leave a deep impression for the guest.if good then ok, but if bad they'll rmeber it 4ever, esp those relatives.

mist

hi li,

okay, i will remind him again... i think i will specifically tell him sea bass with yellow beans... hehehe... ;p

but i was wondering dun know is it he don't want me to change my menu leh... if he die die say dun hv, then how huh????

hi melissa,

yah, that's what my hubby say too, even feedback after food tasting, the food will not good also... that's why he say not worth to pay for food tasting loh...
btw, who's your coordinator then huh?

ran_mel

hi li
Other than the first dish and the chicken, the rest were either too salty or tastless. Taste wise they say nothing impressive lor, some say disappointing, but the portion is quite generous. Everyone went back full. Btw, mine is a dinner.

Beside the food, only the champagne pouring didn't went well. The coordinator for my wedding that day taught my hubby the wrong way of opening the champagne and forgot to shake the bottle too. The cork suppose to fly right, but it just fell on the floor. So you better ask your hubby to practise how to pop a champagne cos this one no rehearsal one. You screw up that very one time, that's it.

hi mist
my coordinator was Angela.

catura

Hi melissa,
Now I'm getting abit worried for my dinner... My inlaws are quite particular about food...
*sigh*

ran_mel

hi catura

dun worry so much about the food. Anyway you can't have the best of two worlds. My hubby's theory is : You want grand ballroom, means no good food. You want good food, means wedding in restaurant.

I gave up good food for the grand ballroom. Haahaaahaa. Most important is you are happy not the others. Old folks tends to be like that, but no choice also.

catura

Hi melissa,
Your hb's theory is very true... :D I chose Marriot cos of the ballroom whereas hb chose it cos of wan hao restaurant's name... Hopefully all will go well...

Which theme did u choose for your wedding? Any pictures of the ballroom you can share?

ran_mel

hi catura

I chose the oriental theme, but got modified a bit.

Pics haven load in yet, very lazy.
Maybe will do it next week. will let you know when I did!

pianokey

Hi Mel,
oh dear, you don't sound too pleased. I will keep my fingers crossed. BTW, when did you meet Angela after paying the deposit to discuss menu, deco, invite cards, etc etc? My wedding is in June.
BTW, to open a champagne, you're not supposed to shake the bottle. They do that in F1 racing, but for pple who want to drink the champagne, you are supposed to gently ease the cork out, it goes gently "pop!" and that's it. Cork not supposed to fly and champagne not supposed to come bursting out all over. So your hubby probably did it right! =)

ran_mel

hi pianokey

but everytime i go wedding, when they pop the champagne, the cork always fly to the audience leh. But i know the champagne not suppose to come bursting out lah, then there won't be much left to drink liao.

Just that the cork didn't pop at all, it fell directly down next to our feet. Can say it was an unsucessful attempt.

i met up with angela about 1 mth b4 my wedding to comfirm everything like the no. of tables, decor, food... But for the wedding cards, you need to do it earlier. You have to go down to Pasir Panjang to print and collect them.

pianokey

Hi Mel.
heheehee. Ok, nevermind, it's only champagne pouring... I'm sure your guests enjoyed themselves anyway.
You only met Angela one month before? Yeeks! Got time ah? So you took the modified oriental theme? For decor, did you only discuss with Angela, or you met june florist also? What about the video montage. Did you have one? Did you use the complimentary video montage service that they provided? Maybe that's only for some packages.
sorry for the numerous qns! =P

ran_mel

hi pianokey

one month b4 the wedding meet up is to comfirm everything. B4 that, we communicate through calls. The no. of tables canot comfirm so early one mah, usually ppl will do it like half a month b4 wedding, because still need to wait for the guest to reply mah.

I didn't meet up with June florist, i just tell angela what i wana change.

About the montage, i used their complimentary service done by Jimmy. Not bad lor. Free what, canot expect too much

catura

Hi Melissa,
Just 1 question about the video montage. Do u have a say in wat you want in it? Or did u just give them a couple of pictures and they do wat they see fit with it?

pianokey

Hey Melissa,
yeah, same qns as catura. And we can choose what music to fit to it right? How far in advance do you arrange with Jimmy to do the montage? Must top up if we want some, erm... special effects? not sure what they are but...

ran_mel

hi pianokey and catura

You are suppose to bring 40 pics for him to choose, den he will take out the best 30. From childhood to dating, usually last few pieces will be your wedding photos. He has this standard way of presenting the montage, as in the effects. Song you have to choose yourself and burn in CD for him. If you wana special, will have to top up. The CD will be in VCD format, must top up $20--$30 for DVD.

I meet up with him only about a month away from my wedding, cos not planning to use him, my friend making one for us, but later think think free one mah, so just ask him to do one too, so i get to show two montages for my wedding.

mist

hi melissa,

oh, the food dun taste good huh?? aiyo, so sian hor... hv to care for ambience and food ....

but generally, your experience with marriott is satisfactory?

catura

Hi melissa,
Thanks for explaining the montage to us
True hor.. free one so might as well use it.. The thing was I am still deciding on whether to choose the montage as one for the wishes.. But then again if I dont choose it, it'll cost heaps more just to rent the projector...

catura

Hi melissa,
YES!! My co-ordinator told me that if we dont choose that as wedding wish then we'll have to pay for it. Think it's $400+ for usage... Perhaps it's negotiable? hmnn....

henny

I'm considering choosing the video montage as one of my wedding wishes. Could someone who've used Marriott's video montage share their experience eg. how was the quality? sound effect? hidden costs? is it worth it?

thks!

henny

I'm having my food tasting this Friday. From your comments, it might be useless for us to give comments/feedback to the co-ordinator. How about talking to the chef and reminding them again 1 day before the wedding leh?

pianokey

Hi Mel, thanks for the explanation.

Catura and Henny, there aren't many other wishes. When's your wedding? Mine's a weekend, so already getting the free flow beer. We're definitely getting the scenting done. The 45min music thing is not worth it I feel. =)

Think i will give Angela a call soon...

henny

Hi Pianokey

My wedding is in April, eve of good friday...so, no free flow of beer. How much is the scenting? I thot the montage is complimentary?

ran_mel

hi catura
Wow! $400 is very ex. Who's your coordinator?? Think can neg. lah. I don't remember them asking me to pay for the projector leh.

ran_mel

hi henny
if you have friends who know how to make the montage, I suggest you save your wish for something else. Cos marriott's montage is quite simple.

Too bad, I don't know where I can download my montage online, or else you guys can take a look at how it will be.

I chosed the scented candle for my wedding favour.

41659.jpg

oct04_bride

Hi Melissa

Was yr wedding a weekday or weekend?
Didnt know that Marriott has scented candles.. thot they have only chocolate!
Very nice, do we need to top up? also, did Marriott does the printing of the nametag attached?

catura

Now I am confused... It seems like what I have been offered is slightly different from the rest of you.. Probably cos my wedding's in Jan 05? My wedding's on a weekend but I do not have free flow of beer... however in the wedding wishes we can choose to have 1 30L barrel free and for the next 30L barrel at a discount...

I didnt know there was candles too! :D I would also like to know if u needed to top up for the candles?

The name of my co-ordinator just slipped my mind! He's an indian guy..

Hi pianokey,
I hope you dont mind me saying this but my wedding planner did mention to me that it's quite useless to get the scenting done because after a few mins our noses gets used to the scent and we wont be able to smell anything much.. Thats wat she told me..

henny

Hi catura,

I think the free flow of beer is available if u hv more than 36 tables (during Marriott's Wedding Show promotion). Your co-ordinator must be Siva, same as mine!

Hi Mel

Thanks for sharing with us. I didn't know they have scented candles! They're lovely, i bet you need to top up quite a bit of $$$.

henny

I was told that Marriott can replace the traditional dessert (offered as last dish for dinner) with a dessert buffet. Has anyone tried that? How was it and how much do we need to top up?

pianokey

Hi catura,
Yeah, it occured to me that once you get used to the smell, you can't really tell the difference. But when you first walk in, it's quite nice la. Also, there aren't many other wishes left to choose! =)

Mel, Thanks for sharing the pix. They look wonderful! Like the rest, I bet you have to top up.
Henny: heard the melting hearts dessert also very good.