SIMEI DWELLERS RETURNS

chendol

haha... wah ur owner penthouse, cleo got it right!

I'm working in an office in town... so got free internet access... when not busy, surf lor... you leh?

cleo2210

ya jacky, or u can ask from e 2 person who won e ang bao toto draw. keke

twinkle cos i wkg in 1 of the property firm too. so will roughly nod wats e price like.

i oso workg in town, between raffles place n tanjong pagar.

a_helping_hand

i think i should go check yesterday 4d 1st prize number then go find a car with the same number then stick a note on the windscreen ask him buy 1 unit for me lol

cleo2210

twinkle if u free, u go to ur blk 5th flr nearer to my blk. e unit beside e lift did up their balcony until v nice.

chendol

really ah? ok will go and see!

The flats with different coloured windows always stand out. there's one in my block on the side with blue glass windows nearest mrt. I always stare at it. haha.

cleo2210

i prefer e blue windows than purple windows. my hse windows r all blue color kekeke. i think tonite u go hm u look at my blk u will nod which is my unit liao

chendol

hahaha... yah i think yr block only got one blue windows. quite high floor right? hee hee.

i tried the la mian from the Kopitiam yesterday and it's quite good. better than the ban mian at Hola, but also more exp lor.

cleo2210

ops... realli only my unit is blue window huh??

u mean e new stall sellg e jap ramen or e stall beside e muslim stall?

chendol

the stall beside the muslim stall.

dunno - i think only got yours lah... go home and look from below yr block hee.

chendol

i find the ter ka and bak kut teh aunty and uncle very friendly. if they are not talking to someone else, they will smile and smile and try to make small talk with you.

what is 50cent face??

cleo2210

twinkle i come back cant c, too dark liao then all look e same hahahaha.

oh tat stall beside muslim stall i find so so leh. jap food hvnt try yet.

chendol

first time I hear gor kak bin got this meaning... then jit kor bin is happy face? hahaha.

ok guys happy chatting. I'm going overseas tok to u all when i come back.

dusk

hello, trying to revive this thread... how's everyone doing?

any new additions to the simei dwellers list?

jc79

I'm new to the forrum, lives near to the cc.
My place has been doing upgrading for abt a year, super long. Alot of hacking and recently alot mosquitoes...

I have bites all over...went to complain to the CALL-DENGUE helpline but not working out.

Luckily they say simei is not one of the hotspots.

Anyone notice more mosquitoes recently?? :p

zacey

cleo2210.. i only saw one of the 4 beauties at blk 225 area... never see the rest..

mosquitoes?? oh no...

cleo2210

keke the other 2 is at blk 123 and blk 108. so mayb we can tour around our estate and maybe can find new things.

dusk

hee hee, our estate so small and can go on amazing race type thing too. but I love simei.

Near cc got mosquitoes? oh dear. I get some mosquito bites so sleeping with the mosquito UV lamp thing. hopefully they are not the dengue ones.

where do sandflies come from? I thot they are only near beaches and we r no where near a beach leh. maybe from the sand in the old playgrounds?

lemoncool

hi tequila, the only source of sand might be the upgrading projects. My area is having the LUP now.

I was aiming at the UV lamp during the last self-fix promo at eastpoint but since there is not much mosquitoes ard my area, i dropped the idea of having one.

jc79

Saw on TV that eastpt gog to have some event (mummy beauty pagent by CitiSpa) tomorrow hosted by Bryan Wong & Michelle Chia

Anyone keen could go tomorrow hehehe those afraid of crowd better skip gog eastpt tomorrow afternoon :p

dusk

citispa got good deals? They look like the Super HardSell type so I've avoided them so far.

anyone heard abt how they might formally give cyclists rights to footpaths? i think they shouldn't! already a menance. at least if they know they dun have right of way they will be nicer and less bah bai.

zacey

dun try citispa lah.. they were Meng Har previously... went there before... personally, dun think they are good loh...

but i was thinking its good to create proper areas for cyclists leh... opps.. cos i am one myself mah.. hee... the roads really hazardous...

dusk

yah they really need to widen the footpaths. just too narrow now for safe sharing...

so far the good spas that I've experienced are just too expensive! sigh!

amy_fleur

Hi! I'm moving to Savannah at the end of this year. So I suppose I fall under the category of simei dwellers. =) Anyone else living in Savannah too?

Anyway, anyone knows of good eating place in Simei? We tried a few stalls near the mrt station but they were so-so.

dusk

don't know of vegetarian stall...

Amy - welcome! personally, i think the Lor mee and corner chicken rice at Hola are not bad. Like the thai style tofu from latter.

The prata at Kopitiam is much much better than the unfriendly sellers' ones at Hola but the Kopitiam prata stall tends to be closed.

The hokkien mee at the inside corner of HOla not bad too. long queues.

cleo2210

you can buy veg food from Metta school. It's open to the public. Not sure if Hola tat veg stall still ard or not.

For me I prefer the chicken rice at the centre row. The mixed rice at Kopitiam not bad and it's not x. Oh, I tot the prata at Hola is nice cos always long q. The prata at Ah Mei cafa oso quite nice.

dusk

Ah Mei cafe usually no seats though.

Yah my hubby prefers the chicken rice at the centre row. He says the rice is nicer. But I prefer the one at the corner so sometimes we separate to queue, haha!

cleo2210

Hola is the coffeeshop nearer to the MRT exit. Not very sure of Metta School opening hours. It's at Street 1 opposite Melville Park.

cleo2210

Happy Arts Deli
Metta Building (Level 1)
32 Simei St 1 S(529950)
Tel: 6580 4611 / 6580 4634
Fax: 6580 4693
Opening hours:
Sundays to Fridays - 7.30 am to 9 pm
(closed on Saturdays and Public Holidays except the 1st and 15th day of every lunar month)
Nearest MRT Station: Simei
Bus Service No: 9 (from Simei MRT station)
Carpark lots are available at Blk 139 and 150

mini_sanrio

Hi, i have just moved to Savannah in Simei too.... left Simei for Tampines, now came back again...
The Ah Mei Cafe available in Simei was voted the best kaya... better than ah koon.... should go and try!

dusk

really? I saw that they sell it in jars but din know whether that good...

i just ate coffee and toast kaya toast this morning. the kaya also not bad...

So rachel, you take the savannah bus to MRT every morning? I see it along st 1.

mummybee

Hi, I am new here - wanna buy a condo in simei and saw this thread when i was researching. Hi everybody. all of you are so funny. can i ask which condo is Simei is the best or u would recommend? my criteria is: relatively new, walking distance to Simei MRT, not too expensive. i can't consider HDB cos I am not singaporean. I know prices of condos have gone up - any advice or suggestion as to which condo is the most worth buying? Some of you mentioned Savanah - is it really that good?

dusk

savannah is definitely not within walking distance.

Personally, I like Eastpoint Green cos it's older and more spacious. but some people might not like it cos it faces CGH (hospital).

I don't like the exterior look of Moderna, though it is nearest to MRT. Heard that the floor area and layout is kinda cramped (but most new singapore condos are like that).

slight distance away is tropical springs - i like the design and colour, but not sure price wise whether it's more than moderna.

Simei Green is an EC, ie. govt subsidised at the start but fully private. likely to be cheaper than the other condos in the area, still walking distance, but longer walk - say 10-15 mins. I like the huge swimming pool there.

Melville park is too far for walking if you ask me, and it's old and pink so not my favourite (no offence to those staying there oredi in this thread).

in all, simei is great lah. super convenient to live near MRT and NTUC. that's the auntie in me speaking.

mummybee

you are right, tequila. i have alook at eastpt green pictures posted on the net and the place looks very airy with lots of big windows 9which I like). I will definitely put that into our to-view list.
i am looking forward to simei living!

dusk

has anyone tried the hans at eastpoint? i haven't but apparently recently the price of their cakes increased from 1 dollar to 1.20. that's profiteering! but apparently they claim to the GST panel that it's cos of increased cost of materials. cheh.

summergirl

i've tried. felt that the food are not as nice as the other outlets.
i've tried their fish n chips (take away), the flour was so thick, & taste very "gelak". i don't think i'll try their fish n chips @ simei outlet anymore

their service also quite pissed me off...
firstly, i felt the cashier needs to go for BASIC customer service course, because she called out to me "char bor (hokkien), here's ..." i was like huh, why called a customer char bor, & i don't even know her! & nvr mind, i told myself she was an auntie, so take it easy ...
2ndly, my takeaway was ready & left unattended for probably 10mins, the cashier or even the staff incharged of packing the take-away was walking here & there & yet NEVER notice my order was ready until the supervisor saw it & asked if it is mine! *faint* no wonder, my food already cold when i eat it...

lemoncool

I think the business has just started so the workers might have some miss-communication or not properly trained. More problems will tend to surface, especially when the queue is so long almost everyday. I would prefer to let them settle down for a while first before concluding whether their service is good or bad.

summergirl

btw, there wasn't any queue on that day. i was the only one standing there waiting patiently...

nonetheless, i am not condeming that outlet... probably just my luck tat day huh... will still give them a try some other time, cos i like their teh si...