Silverlining Bridal Couture

aneles

Dear Girls,

I'm considering SL. How's their service overall? Can someone share their experience with SL with me? Hope to hear from you girls soon. Cheers

pisces36

hi meowmel..mine's end of the yr. so how's ur prepration? u took the MTM or OTR? which photographer r u with?

Hi peach...y dun u make appt with designer, Jit. he's a great chap....u can pop by to tk a look at the gowns too.

Can someone tell me which MUA is gd?

aneles

Hi Pisces,

Yes I'm planning to do so but before I do that, I wanna hear from those who are SL brides about SL's services. Test water first

aneles

Hi Pisces,

Yes I'm planning to do so but before I do that, I wanna hear from those who are SL brides about SL's services. Test water first

meowmel

Hi Pisces,

I chose SL becos I am happy with the ROM package that I had last Sept. Jit MTM a gown that won many compliments from my friends and relatives. Also he selected a very matching hand bouquet for my gown. He even gave me suggestions to what kind of shoes for my gown. I was totally relaxed and minus alot of hassling for the ROM prep. The MUA suppose to be Ivy but she has fallen sick before my Rom and he arrange for Rina instead. She is good and a very easy going person to work with. Post out ur email if u r interested to see my gown.

So i decided to take up SL for my wedding gown.
I took the MTM package that doesnt have any photographers. I already signed up a comprehensive PS, ADPG, ADVG package with Chris Link. I went to Jit for the designs of my WG and EG last month. The gowns will be ready by end jun/jul. My Ps will be in Aug.

pisces36

Hi Peach,

no worries..if u like low back gowns then SL is the BS for u..just go & take a look..try out the gowns..he is not the pushy type which will persuade u to sign on the spot like those taiwanese style BS.

pisces36

Hi Meow,

The reason i signed up is becoz his gowns r beautiful..luv the low back gowns...& also of his frenliness..I took OTR coz i saw a gown which i like.

issit cheaper to tk separate pkg? mayb i ask how much is the chris ling pkg which u had signed up?

will u be using Rina again for your wedding?

ur PS in Aug ah..tat will be during the 7th mth rite?

pllllllsss..i wanna see your gown...my email address is [email protected]

meowmel

hi Pisces,

Ya..totally agree with ur views of SL gowns and on Jit. He is one of the most friendliest and easy going designer that I have seen. He really put hubby n me at ease.

Its more expensive to be ala carte than take a comprehensive package. Hubby and I perfer to ala carte as we have the flexibilty to pay for the exact services that we want.

I think I will be using Ivy after hearing Jit's praises on her.

Ya i know abt the 7th month thing. Its alright to me as its only PS not the AD. Also there will be less ppl to PS during that period. Have more choice for my PS locations.

I have send u email invites to see the photos. Check ur mail!

aneles

Dear Girls,

So no one has a bad experiences services wise or whatever wise with SL? Wow ... I'm impressed. I'm actually considering between SanMike or SL. I heard quite a few bad reviews on SanMike.

pisces36

Hi Meow, nice dress leh..veri sexy coz it's short leh..simple & nice...the flowers too.
any idea which florist he tie up with?

so d jit design your gowns for you or u gv him ur ideas? wat color is ur EG?

meowmel

Hi pisces,

Thanks for ur compliments.

Jit let me try different types of gowns and finally he likes my skinny legs, and decided to design this short gown for me. As i got no idea of wat i want, so i just listen and take his design( I mean he is the expert and i am paying for his creative ideas right?
) As for the colour of the gown, he also suggest to me to take the fresh apple green , which I also like.

The flower is from Far East Flora. I let him decide on the colour and the design of the hand bouquet. Think I am one of his laziest bride cos I simply let him come up with the designs from Gowns (ROM, WG, EG) and the hand bouquets.

My EG is of a Wine colour. He ask me where is my Banquuet being held and the color theme of the set up before he suggest that colour. Also he also consider my skin tone and my preference.

So when is ur AD? Have u meet up with Jit about ur gown design yet?

pisces36

Hi Meow, oohh..far east flora!! one of my favourite florist. another is green pt..both hv nice flowers. i haven decide my color theme leh...where's ur dinner? haven met up with Jit yet..anyway he's a fast worker so still got time. :p

meowmel

Hi Pisces36,

My AD will be in Nov 06. PS in early Aug.
When is ur wedding?

Ya...totally agree on Jit's efficiency and good quality.

Hi Ddwedd,

Will send to u later.

meowmel

Hi Pisces,

I realise i haven answer part of your question.
My dinner will be held at conrad. Where is urs?

My suggestion is that if u still have some time away from your first meeting with Jit about your gown design, u may want to consider flipping some bridal magazines of certain designs or cut of the WG/EG that u like. Then bring it to Jit and see whether is he able to put up a more personalized design for ur gowns.

I took a merely 2 hours to complete my WG/EG designs because, I like his designs and taste , and I got absolute trust in his suggestions to make me a beautiful bride with exquistive designs for my gowns. Most important, he has won me over with his designs and services on the prior ROM package. (Has proven to wow many of my friends and relatives)

Yes, maybe to others, who are too picky and doesnt have any experience to work with a talented designer like Jit, will thinks that I would have been too hasty to spend so little time in going through the designs, but from the past history of SL,I could hardly find any unhappy bride, which is a common sight in those 1-stop BS.

One of my frd paid a high sum of money for OTR package from those 1-stop brial shop. That sum of money can be easily used to pay for a MTM package in some BS. Some more , even though the BS has a policy of not renting out the gowns for more than 3 times, but, in their own SG bride threads, those brides, had the horror of seeing their supposingly booked gowns to be rent and try out by other brides. Those poor brides after they made their selection even have to pay a stupid price of $300 just to change any gown if they regret after they made the selection a few months or half a yr before their PS and AD. Its so ridiculous! The BS is using every opportunity to rip $$$ off from those poor brides who are fickle-minded, whose intention is just to look their best on their AD and photos.

Sorry for being so lor-so but I just read some post by my friend from the other thread and feel quite offended by her review, and decided to pour out my frustration in this thread. Hope that I did not bore anyone with my long post! :p

well,I am very glad that we have made the right choice to be a Proud SL bride under the care of our easy-going and efficient designer, Jit

calista

I've signed up with SL too. Have total confidence in his WG. However it seems that his EG quite limited amount and designs? Maybe he hid most of them in the room and didn't show me haha...

meowmel

Hi Calista,

Jit has quite a number of EGs, but most of his WG are MTM, that Y probably he has to hide them away so that he will not have to let ppl try those specially MTM of his customers. He will only let u try those gowns which is for the OTR option.

Probably u can give him more ideas of ur EG if u have them. As for me, I am the lazy type. I will just take what he thinks is suitable for me.

So when is ur AD? Hv u meet up with Jit for the gowns designing yet?

Hi Ash,

Will send u the link to ur email.

pisces36

Hi Meow,

I had pm u pls check.

i think those 1 stop BS r those taiwanese style shops lah..it's their way of selling their pkg.

i think jit's place hv limited EG coz most of the brides luv his gowns so much that they usualli will fork out $ to buy the gowns.

meowmel

Hi nebear,

I will suggest u personally go down and meet Jit to get the package and meet him as well. He is a very easy going and friendly designer. Also u will get to see or even try out some of the gowns. Nothing beats seeing and trying on the real thing. Also trust me, he is not those hard selling bridal owner.

He wont pressure u to sign up any package right on the spot, which most of the BS are doing.
His contact can be found easily at his website
http://www.silverliningbridal.com/

calista

Hi meowmel,

my AD is in Oct this year. i'm taking the OTR package. For his WG, i have no worries as i found something i liked. But for EG, i may consider topping up for a MTM lor...not yet meet him for design session yet. sometime in May bah..

meowmel

Hi Calista,

Probably u may want to meet him early to settle the MTM EG, so that he will have more time to work it before ur PS. I already settle my WG and EG designs in Feb.

pisces36

Hi nebear, i've juz sign up so no photos to show yet. sorri abt tat.

Meow: usualli how long will jit takes to MTM a gown huh?

nebear

Hi meowmel, thanks for your reply suggestion. Will make an appt with him.

Hi pisces36, no worries. I understand. :>

meowmel

Hi Pisces,

My ROM gown takes about 2mths. But I think for a MTM EG, guess u better give him more time. Also as u know this yr is a better year to get married,there are alot of wedding in Oct, Nov and Dec. This is also due to the double 7th mth in this yr. So if u can, try to meet Jit earlier, so as to get load off ur mind.

calista

Hi meowmel,
u r fast! I back-tracked the threads and realised that your AD is in Nov. Mine is in Oct and I haven't discuss with him on EG yet haha.

BTW, what is meant by a double 7th mth this year? My friend also asking me but I'm not sure.

pisces36

Hi gals, will be meeting jit in april for design..
so now hv to start to do some research..sigh..headache headache.

Calista: dbl 7th mth means that this yr the ghost mth will stretch for 2 mths. will be from 25/7/06-21/09/06.

meowmel

Hi Calista and Pisces,

I am fast because I will be busy with my final yr of p/t studies till sep this year and also my hubby is always flying for his job. So we decided to quickly meet up with Jit while we are free in Feb. KS not no choice

If ut wedding is it Oct, my advise is to go book a date and meet him fast. As we all know he is running a one man show. He will be very busy so better to book him and get it off ur mind. In the mean time while waiting for ur gown, u can go shop or custom make ur WG or EG shoes.

ash22

Hi meow,

Wat course u studying?

i dunno wan to study or get married.. cos money is the concern.how did u plan ?

meowmel

Hi Ash,

I am taking a BSc(Hons)in Biz n Mgmt stduies (marketing). I started the course back in 2003 without planning for marriage at all. Money wise, is that I am able to pay installments of 6 times for my total sch fees. So Money wise its quite manageable.

Hubby and I just bought a resale 5 rooms last yr and had completed our renov recently. We already set a fund for the banquet losses (BS package I paid for it fully), so we only had to save money for our electrical aplliances and some furnitures.

I am not sure how old are you now , but I guess u need to dicuss with ur FH about the studying or marriage plan. Need to do some prioritising abt studying and marriage.

pisces36

Hi Meow..wah...scholar leh...so graduating this yr lah?

where's ur flat? how much d u buy for the flat? how much is ur reno?

Hi Ash,

I total agree with meow. it depend which is ur 1st priority. coz both cost a lot of $. u also need to think after marriage r u gonna hv kids immediately? coz having kids are gonna cost a bomb.

better discuss with your FH 1st so that there will not be any regrets later.

meowmel

Hi Pisces,

Me? Scholar? No la... Just that getting a degree is something that I want to achieve before I get married.

My flat is at Toa Payoh. Just few steps away from the Mrt station. Its a 5 yr old flat cost us $474K. But I took the live near parent scheme so got the 40K grant. Renovation cost us 40+K.

So have u got ur love nest yet?

ash22

Thanks pices and meowmel. Maybe i should go think carefully.. me this yr 24 that y tot of getting a degree before age catches up. hahaha

pisces36

Hi Meow..no lovenest yet..looking somewhere near to my parents to get the grant too

ash u still young lah..so can study if u wan lor..if not do both oso can since u can still wait for a few yrs b4 hv kids.

ooops

I'm considering Silverlining? Anyone care to share their experience with Silverlining and photos? How much is their MTM packages?

compassrose

Good Day! Can you ladies share with me the packages pricing. I just started sourcing out for bridal and PS. Please please help! My email is [email protected]. Please share photos on wedding/evening gown too!! thanks!

compassrose

Hi Silverlining brides,

May I seek for your opinon of the quality of gowns. Do they have a wide selection of evening gowns? Find their packages are on the high side. Not sure if it is really worth it. Had heard great feedbacks bout jit as well. Kindly advise as i am confused.

aneles

Hi Compassrose,

You can go to his website and email him requesting for his packages & prices. You'll get a reply in 2 days the most