Silhouette the Atelier

a_confidante

midas, i think i agree with your first para

as for your second para, yes, it was written in the invoice that i can buy the gown for $500 if i so choose to do so after the wedding. meaning i could have kept it for a grand total of $3500.

so kenji actually tried his very very best to psycho me into not keeping it and he succeeded.

on hindsight, i'm glad i didn't keep it, storage would have been a real problem. it's a heavy heavy gown. but it was oh so beautiful..

A Confidante,
i see...so it was written in black&white tat u could buy back at additional $500. u could hv enforced the terms of agreement if u want to...but since u say storage will be a problem then maybe its better to save the money for nice clothes for ur newborn

gingerbread_gal

I'm very interested in Silhouette too. In fact, just went down to their shop today.

Secretgarden,
Can you share what does your package with Silhouette include besides the gowns and the make-up?
Right now Silhouette is having a Christmas promotion and it costs about $5k with photography tie-ups. So I would like to see if this package is worth it. If its not convenient for you to share it here, can you drop me an email?

I've been to several BS already, and its only at Silhouette that I feel I can get the type of gown I want there...It does seem to be a great place!

gingerbread_gal

Hi midas,
From reading previous posts, I've realised that you chose O studio. We're interested in O studio as well. Have seen their album in Silhouette. Do you mind sharing some pics? Did you get them for both PS and AD?
I haven't signed up with Silhouette yet. Initially my budget for BS is only $3k. After I've been to Sil, I find that I've lost interest in gowns from other BS. So have increased my budget. But, still want to kaypo around to see if this promotion from Sil is really worth it.

I'll be thankful for any advices

secretgarden

Hi Jac,
My package with Sil is quite simple:
about 2800 (1 otr WG, 1 mtm EG, 4 make-up, and free rental Kua/vest, veil,some accessories )

Did anyone chose not to wear Kua for tea ceromony? The Kua Sil have is too simple....well so i was thinking of wearing my tea dress which i only wear once during my ROM....any advice?

secretgarden,
i din wear the kua too...although i'm free to use it for PS & AD..coz i always find kuas very orbit hehe..

anyways, wearing kua is a cantonese custom...u can do away with it if u r non-cantonese..

gingerbread_gal

Hi secretgarden,
So for your package, the man's suit is not included?
I'm thinking of wearing Kua, cos won't have any other chance to wear. The kua that Sil has, they are mainly simple?

Thanks midas. I got the mail. Wow, the roses on the tulle are lovely! You like pink colour? It suits you! Was Jaki the one to take your PS photos? How much was the AD package from O studio and wat does it include?

Thanks for helping me out here!

gingerbread_gal

Midas,
do you know where else to get reviews on O studio? I've been to their website and will be going down to their shop later. Would like to see reviews on their work...

Also, can anyone share their experience with the Poppy Florist that Sil is using?

jac,
yes, Jaki took my PS pix...my review for him(photography skill) is very gd loh...make me spend so much money top up coz selected so many pix hehehe..

as for the AD pkg...mine is very gd price coz sign up during promo..only $499 for full day service, 300x4R prints in slot album..

there used to be a thread on O-studio but nobody post there for very long so it was removed liao..

gingerbread_gal

Hi midas,
yeah, I quite like Jaki's photography style. He is quite nice to talk to as well. How is he like during the PS? Does he give suggestions on how to pose etc? We're going to have Jaki take PS for us. Was considering him for AD but its quite expensive, $2.8k although it comes with photo album and 300 x 4r prints in slot album... You did had a good deal!! When was their promotion? Maybe I'll ask them if they have any promotion coming up. So, how did u know about O studio?

So their thread was removed...I was wondering why no one was talking abt it at all...

jac,
ya jaki is very easy to work with...juz go with the flow with him during ur shoot.

i did not get jaki for AD coz he's very ex...cost $1.8k for half day only..so i sign with one of thier freelancer Raymond. u can check with vivian if he still works for O-studio lor..i'm pretty satisfied with his service

do u hv Multiply account? i got more pix to share with my contacts...join us if u like

gingerbread_gal

I've finally signed up with Silhouette....! I hope will get a gown that I really like....part of my problem is, I'm still not very sure of what type of gown I really want....

Hi Midas,
Nope, I haven't got a Multiply account...perhaps I shld set up one soon....and yah, jaki is very expensive but really like his style of photography. When we saw his album in Sil, we were wowed by his photos... his AD package includes the photo album....like the PS albums and they look very nice and 400 prints in slip album...but really costly...sigh...will see if can find another photographer for AD.

m_and_n

wow.. the silhouette thread really bustling with life.. lol.. i just emailed them for an discussion the week after.. looking forward to going down. Very prompt reply. Replied me the next day.

pinkcupcake

hi midas! finally looked at your pictures on your multiply site!

Your gown is very pretty and versatile and you look really good in the pictures! Can understand why you want to keep the gown...and topped up so much for you pictures! I'm so glad i signed up with silhouette leh...

By the way, is the bouquet by Poppy? How did you find their service? Like Jac, I would also like to find out about Poppy's service.

gingerbread_gal

Hi michael,
FYI, Sil is having a christmas promo which ends on the 26th Dec.

And yes, anyone, please share more info on the Poppy florist....

Oh, does anyone know how many MUA does Sil have? Forgot to ask Caroline abt it.

secretgarden

Hi Jac,
My package does not include man suit..i get my HTB go tailor made which is cheaper too..
Oh they have only 1 type of Kua..which i find it too plain i mean for a KUA....

Hi Midas,
Well ya i am not Cantonese ...but my HTB is haha....well i did ask my frds...rental of Kua just to wear for that few hours gonna cost 300 - 400 bucks which i think is a bit waste of money ....

i did not use Poppy for flowers...my designer did all the work for me..bouquets, corsages n Sil's seamstress did my wedding car...she is power man!!

anyway at tat time Sil is still using Redbox which has gd reviews...Poppy is a new tie-up arrangement..

Secretgarden,
perhaps u could check with ur ILs whether they mind u wearing normal tea dress for the ceremony?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Michael,
The promo is very attractive...
basically its something like
1 OTR WG
1 OTR EG
I man's suit (to keep)(mtm)
4 make-up
1 bridal car deco
2 ribbon deco for other cars
2 fresh flower bouquet
I think the best part is the photography
there is tie up with 3 studios - Robin photography, O studio and Ave 8
for Robin and O, there is 28 pics, 1 tabletop, cd-rom of selected album (for O studio, there is additional mini-album of selected pics)
For Ave8, the package is pretty much the same except that there is 24 pics instead of 28.

So yeah, cos I'm not the kind who can visualise, I'm taking OTR. So this package suits me very well. and its for $4988!
So yeah, I think its very attractive. See if you can go down earlier before 26th....

gingerbread_gal

Hi secretgarden,
I know what you mean by the kua being plain. I saw them yesterday. They are so different from the normal kind of kua in other BS. Rental of kua is so expensive?! What r u going to do then?

Hi midas,
your designer was fantastic!! Hmm, now have to search for reviews on Poppy.

m_and_n

Hi Jac,

I don't think we can make it, unfortunately.. so will have to see the regular prices liao..

but the package like quite comprehensive..

secretgarden

Hi Jac,
In fact i'm not really into Kua, so i will wear my ROM dress for tea cermony which i worn once early this year...

Hi Midas,
But when i go to Groom hse for tea ceromony in the morn i will be wearing my own wedding gown, is only when i return to my own side for tea ceremony then i nd to change dress right?
correct me if i am wrong...totally confused.

kairos

hey midas, what if i cant find anything i like from OTR? silhouette's collection are very pretty but it seems that you gotta book ur gown fast from OTR. Else, you gotta top-up $800 to upgrade to MTM, if you cant find any OTR gown u like...

gingerbread_gal

Hi kairos,
From my experience, have to book the OTR gown very fast. In fact, the day that I signed up the package, I chose my gown. I was told that the OTR gowns are all those on display. So its not like other BS whereby you have a wider selection to choose from.

Yeah, if cannot find one OTR gown u like, then have to MTM.

gingerbread_gal

Bugs,
it depends on how long you have booked that gown. I'm having my gown on hold till end of Jan then I have to decide if I want to release that gown.

Do check with your designer asap.

kairos

hi jac, you're right. the OTR gowns are all on display. in fact i've just chosen one last night and booked a package w them already. it seems that the folks at Sil feels that their OTR is as good as MTM. which i kinda agree...they have quite different designs. its in the details.. = )

gingerbread_gal

Hi kairos,
glad that you have made your choice. Yeah, their OTR are all new pieces. They will tell us if the one we're looking at is 2nd hand.

Although I have chosen my gown, my designer tells me that if I'm still not very happy with the bodice of the gown, then she will change for me. (at a cost though) But I like that idea that I can change the bodice and add more beads (without additional costs).

Ya, I agree with you, its all in the details....

pinkcupcake

hello all. have been reading about your booking OTR gown experience. wow. Then i'm glad i booked early with them. My AD isn't until quite some time later next year, but i fell in love with one of the OTR gown i saw and I quickly signed up with them because i was soooo afraid that it might be taken. Felt quite silly then for choosing my gown so early. But no regrets. I brought a friend to Silhouette a couple of weeks ago (and that was a few months after i signed up with them) and i still like that particular gown very much when i saw it again.

gingerbread_gal

Hi mei,
My AD is in DEc 08 and I've already chosen my gown too! I too felt a little silly for choosing it early and was a little worried that my taste might change after a few more months. But then no choice also cos my designer was saying have to book the gown fast otherwise if someone else books it, I can't have it.

Yay, at least we have one item on our checklist done!

pinkcupcake

Yeah, Jac.
ha ha! glad to hear someone is like me! The early bird catches the worm right?.... better be kiasu, saw something you love then grab. heh heh.

Anyway, i think, once you found THE gown , i don't think you will change your mind. don't worry.
happy planning for your wedding ya?

gingerbread_gal

pynk,
Its disappointing to hear that there's flowers that withered! So Poppy florist didn't provide the quality designs which were decided upon discussion?
Sounds awful....

ultimatemocha

hi folks, will be meeting up with Atelier for an appt this weekend and anything i need to look out for? Its one of the BS that is on my list.
Anyone just took the gowns and suit package without the photographer, videographer etc package? If so, what's the approx rate for just gowns and suit rental? Hw's the MUA btw? Thanks for the help!

ultimatemocha

Hi to all those who are looking at Silhouette for BS.
Popped down last week and it seems there are extra charges for PG as its not included in their package. A standard package which includes 1 OTR Wedding Gown, 1 MTM Evening Gown, 1 MTM Groom's suit, 4 Make-up + Bouquet (only Poppy) cost abt $3500. PG starting frm the cheapest is $1400 frm O-Studio(nt sure what their standard package)to $1600 for Chris Ling but taken by Kelvin.Vivid shot's album are damn small and its in btween of the 2 prices iirc.
Their evening gowns are not impressive frm what i see. Anyway have decided to sign up elsewhere. Was serviced by Caroline- Indonesian, nt a bad lady but i guess their approach is just to ask u what u want and they just give u what u need and want, not much advise given. Seems the guy (nt sure what's his name) has ultra attitude. May need to confirm with those who has signed up.

gingerbread_gal

Hi ultimatemocha,
From my understanding, Sil only provides the wedding attire. They do tie-ups with studios and all negotiations about photography has to be done directly with the PG studio. So yea, that is additional cost. If I'm not wrong, the entire man's suit is MTM, not just the pants and the suit is for purchase. I think that in Sil, you pay for the material too.

Sil is not those one-stop BS like those along Tg pagar, I suppose. I feel that their service is def better than a lot of BS in that they tell you upfront what are the costs after you told them what you want. Not sure what advise you are talking about but Caroline does give me advice on the gowns and materials.
As I only liase with Caroline, not sure about the other designers. What was your encounter with the guy designer?

ultimatemocha,
juz FYI...back in 2005 Sil qouted..

O Studio ($1400)
20 pics in classic album
1 8R table top
1 mini album with 3R prints of selected pics
(O Studio has increased price to at least $2k since then...if u sign with them direct)

Chris Ling - Kelvin ($1300)
20 pics in album
8R table top

Sil is a designer BS..they specialised in making gowns only, everything else is tie-up with professionals from outside. if u want many changes of outfits, wedding car n in-hse PG etc., there r lotsa choices at Tg pagar..

juz my 2 cents..

pinkcupcake

hello ultimatemocha,

i am sorry to hear that your visit to Sil isn't what you expected.

but would like to share my experience with others who might read this thread:

I signed up with Silhouette and am still a very satisfied customer. Sil was the first shop i visited and i was very pleased with their service. I was clueless as to what might suit me and the guy (think there's only 1 guy there?) who helped me took out 4 very different silhouettes (mermaid, A-line, ball gown and ultra-big tulle ballgown) for me to try. After that narrowing down to the kind of cut i look good in, then he took out more gowns of similar cuts out for me to try on. He is actually a very nice and helpful guy.

I'm not sure what kind of advice you were looking for but i thought i was quite satisfied with their advice. The designer i signed up with (kenji, the guy,) didn't go on and on about what will look good, but just gently ask a few questions, like what i feel comfortable in, where's my venue etc. Not sure if that's why you feel they are not as forthcoming with their advice? But i like their style as i don't feel like someone is forcing their opinions on me.

I visited 3 other studios after visiting Silhouette - D'sire, Julia Wedding and Divine. Personally, i didn't feel that there was any difference in the advice given. Most of them pretty much give the same kind of comments. (of course, their tastes differ and they recommended different kinds of gowns to me.)

I admit Sil's prices are on the steep side, but i think the materials and embroidery justify the cost. A friend who just had her wedding came with me on my final selection of my gown design. At first she also thought i was crazy to pay so much for a package without photography, but after looking at the gown, she said that it was reasonable. not cheap, but reasonable.

Another friend visited some other bridal studios who are more expensive but their material that may not necessarily be better than silhouette's.
I personally think that Sil's isn't the most expensive (and i'm not comparing with places like Tan Yoong or Frederick Lee.) Not cheap, but not unreasonably expensive.

I guess it all boils down to individual tastes and preferences and what you need for your wedding. Some might just love the gown and material that Sil is using and think it's worth the money, while for others, other perks like free rental of tea dress and kua etc are more important.

Anyway, ultimatemocha, hope you will be happy with wherever you signed up with ultimately!
Choosing gowns is a funny business! The same shop just does not hold the same appeal to different people!
all the best to your wedding planning!

ultimatemocha

hi, thanks for the info.
Silhouette happened to be my first choice back then but I guess on Sat, what i experienced made me changed my mind. The wedding gowns are nt bad but evening gowns i wont really want to comment. Its abt the same elsewhere where i have attended weddings b4. Secondly, dun get me wrong. The service is decent, not that its top notch either but i guess diff ppl have diff expectations. When you step in, they ask u wat u want and they give u exactly what u ask for. Until when i compared with the 2nd bridal shop that i stepped into on the same day, that largely changed my mind. I am not basing the whole thing on the cost issues as Silhouette's pricing gap is nt that different frm the one i had picked but ultimately, i guess frm the line-ups that were discussed with Silhouette, i am nt sure what i will turn out to be like. Just my own comments. No worries. Its just different approaches i guess. And I saw one lady try on her gown, i didnt feel it was fantastic on her. I dont know, my personal experiences..maybe she wanted her gown to look like that but the BS i went to, he's a fashion designer (designed evening gowns for Ms Universe,frm what i had known) will not compromise and tries to give u as much suggestions as possible if you were someone rigid who thinks u might be the best judge for urself.He explains and gives u opportunity to look at other angles. Maybe that changed my whole perspective of things.

gingerbread_gal

Ultimatemocha,
Guess its personal preferences then. So have you found your BS? Enjoy your wedding prep!

Just to share, my designer does tell me if I am more suited for certain gowns and gives her comments on the image the gowns may portray. I wasn't very impressed with their evening gowns too but my fren was raving that they produce very stunning evening gowns too, which are prob MTM ones.

Jus a note, be sure to try on the gowns. What does not look nice on the hanger might tell another story when you wear it.