Silhouette the Atelier

a_confidante

Hi Secretgarden

i already got married on the 10th Aug

My MUA was Gin, go for her if you like thick makeup. coz she can make u look very drama. hehe

secretgarden

Hi A Confidante,
Hee ok ok....i am doing my first fitting this coming Thur...kind of excited...

Oh my i don't like thick make up ....but i did pick her...also i have not do any trial yet....hmmm what should i do....

do u mind share one of yr picture with me?
my email : [email protected]

pinkcupcake

hello confidante,
mind if you PM me your pix too?
i was recommended Gin and would like to see how she does her makeup. thanks!

siriuspink

Hi mei & Secretgarden,

Have you guys went for the trial makeup? Usually during trial, the MUA will do a simple makeup, and from there you can tell he/she that what colors/style of makeup you can accept.

Communication with the MUA is very important, so that they can understand our needs. If you do not like thick makeup, do not be afraid to voice it out.

Secretgarden: On the photoshoot day, I just told Gin to do whatever she wants, because I trust that she will do a good job. She gave me a drama hairstyle & smoky eye makeup to go along with, indeed, I did not regret my decision.

For my actual day, I told her I want a even more drama look. =)

pinkcupcake

Thanks for your advice sirius pink.
Still curious to see your makeup. Can you kindly email me? just click on my name to send me a private message. thanks alot!

the_bees

my mua is amy. she is good. makeup is thick but it looks natural. many like my hairdo too. she is very easygoing and can really give u good advices and make u feel at ease.
Kenji is my designer. he is really good lor. at first i'm a bit skeptical but boy he is v good. he is truely concern abt all his brides. he makes an effort to call amy the mua just to check on his brides. once in the morning and once more at a later time. so responsible. he will make sure thimgs goes thru smoothly for you. i remember he even carries the gowns to the carpark for me. he is truely a v caring person who has accountability. so rest assure if you've kenji. BTW
Kenji!!!!!!!!!!!!!! my friends loves the gown we design lei!!!!!
they say i look like a princess! its all thanks to you!

secretgarden

thanks SiriusPink for the advice.

i have not went for the trial make up yet...was told by Silh to finalise my EG design & WG details so i will know what is the overall feel with the make up and hairdo...

so anyone did their trial before settling their gowns? i think it might be better to look at the final gown with the trial make up...any input?

secretgarden

Hi Fannytjoe,
It depend on what type of gown you are looking and what things u want to be included in the package.

Eg for mine, i chose OTR WG & MTM EG, plus 4 make up/hairdo, free rental of accessories/tie/kwa is already cost about 2.9k

i think Sil has revise their price, you might just want to take a look at their gown & talk to them abt what they can offer? =)

wenwen2112

HI Ladies,

Anyone used Gin as your MUA ? Saw from some of your thread that she is good in drama makeup. Issit too wayang ? Anyone can send me some photos of Gin's work ? OR any brides can send me some photos of how Gin does her makeup up for your PS ? Thanks !

siriuspink

Hi wendy,

Have you went for the trial yet? At times, seeing others' makeup might not be suitable for us and vice versa. Would be best if you could tell Gin what kind of style you prefer. =)

wenwen2112

Hi SiriusPink, you have tried her b4 ? hers sway more to thicker makeup ? How abt her hairdo ? Issit nice ? Anyway, Gin is in her twenties or thirties ? I like to use new breed.. heehee..

siriuspink

Hi wendy,

I used her for my PS & AD, received lots of praises for it. She will give you a hairdo which suits your makeup, no worries on that. Anyway, I don't think its very nice to ask about the age. You might like to use new breed, but do not forget that they do not have much exp on hands and it could end up disastrous. Would advice you to go for someone who's more exp esp for impt events which you do not want to regret in the future.

wenwen2112

Hi SiriusPink, I asked abt the age cos I prefer MUA age range not too elderly as I have bad experience with experienced and MUA age more than 40 and they insist their style thou I told them I dun like such hairdo. When they are too experienced at a certain age, they are not so open to client's request and rather do what they think is suitable. Of cos I prefer experienced MUA in their late 20s,30s or early 40s. Fussy me...heehe..
Anyway, thanks for your review on Gin. Just heard that Gin has thicker makeup, so bit worried cos I will look wayang. Is she good in hairdo as well ? I like v different hairdo each time. OR is she better in makeup ?

wendy,
i think u do hv a point there abt some auntie MUA insist u to hv the beehive hairdo...saw some BTB with assigned MUA by their BS did to them...ugly :p

hmm...for Gin, u do not hv to worry abt her age (she is far from 40s lah)...but wat is impt is Gin do take her clients feedbacks seriously n can make changes/adjustments to cater to ur requirements..heavy or light is up to u..she can do both. i had Natural makeup which she did a great job n abt 5 changes of hairdos for PS
n she did not disappoint me when i specificly say i dun wan beehives...

btw, who's ur designer?

siriuspink

Hi wendy,

Wow, sorry to hear about your past experience with those MUAs. Like what midas said, Gin is open to your opinions and will not give you a makeup/hairdo that you do not like. So maybe you can discuss about the styles you want with her so that she can have a rough idea.

wenwen2112

Hi Midas & SiriusPink,thanks for all your replies.

I am actually not a BTB from Sil. I am from TWP ( Wedding Present ). But Gin recently just signed contract with TWP and she does not have a profile to show. My designer told me that she is doing makeup for Sil,Amanda Lee etc. So, I came in to see the reviews for Gin. Glad that the reviews abt Gin is good. heehee..

Midas, you have 5 hairdo! thats quite alot. You have 5 outfits as well ? I was thinking of changing 4 outfits: 2WG, EG and KUA. I am already worried that I do not have time and place to change the outfits. Where did you take ur PS, where u can do the change ? We have to go back studio to re-do makeup and hairdo each time we change our outfit right ? Any photos to share ? Can PM at [email protected] ? Or add me in multiply ? my id is "thehighness" ....

hi wendy,
think i replied ur PM liao...but anyways i added u to my multiply liao..got PS & AD photos for u to see.

i had only 3 official outfits...my WG, EG & a casual wear. But my WG can do multiple looks so Gin did 2 hairdos for me, my EG can hv 2 looks so got 2 hairdos for tat...n lastly Gin did a casual pony tail for my casual look...total 5 lor hee

all changes of outfit r done at the PS studio, outdoor only 1 look coz Gin wun follow u outside the studio...unless u driving n dun mind go out n come back again for changing lor.

u got 2 WG ah? u MTM both at TWP? ur designer is patrick or mel?

secretgarden

Hi Midas,
Long time never chat with you...so excited ..this Friday i'm gonna have my trial make up with Gin....

Hope everything will go well

Ladies, will do some updates after i had my trial make up this Friday

hey secretgarden,
how's ur wedding preps coming along?

u having trial MU ah? issit together with 2nd fitting or juz MU only? if together with fitting hor, remember to wear a button front top or any top tat can be taken off without going over the head...coz u will be doing MU b4 fitting..u dun wanna ruin the hairdo tat Gin will do for u..tis is also a gd time to take some pix of the MU, hairdo with ur gowns...the complete look. can share with frens n family for comments lor..

when's ur PS? which PG did u book?

wenwen2112

Hi Midas, I have got mail. The makeup is nice, not so natural till look blend.Your WG is reali versatile
Now I am more confident with Gin. heehee.. Is she friendly ? I like complicated hairdo, like some posted in your photos collection. The flowers and tiara provided by who ? I like the flowers pinned on your hair, when wearing the WG( the bundle of white and pink flowers ). Looks v feminine.

Wa, you noe the designers from TWP so well. You visited them b4 ? I am with Mel. I prefer woman designer. Just went to finalise the gown design. 1st fit wil be end Dec. When is ur AD ? Mine is mid june.

hi wendy,
Gin is very frenly n open to ideas...no worries

the flowers r provided by the florist(in tis case, my designer)...usually u ask them for some loose flowers left over after making ur bouquet for hairdo...flowers r timeless accessories :D the tiara i bought from Chomel myself as Sil doesn't hv hair accessories tat i like...Gin doesn't provide accessories, so u must get it from TWP or buy ur own..

yes, i've been to TWP during my BS hunt...met with patrick...he's a funny guy

my AD over liao...April 2006..u can see my AD photos at multiply too..

natsy

Happiness! I was rather depressed over past few days cuz I got nagged by the groom as well as family members to confirm the WG as wedding date is 14 June 2008. Had quite a few shops shortlisted but all could not fix me an appointment, and by a stroke of blessing, Kenji was available yesterday! So went to see him and fell in love with a mermaid lace cut dress

Can't waitt!!! It really is a big relief to settle the gown and I can't wait for you girls (if you hadn't) to confirm yours soon too!!

pinkcupcake

been some time since i visited this thread. Wow - so much exchange of info here!

Hi secretgarden, do share with us your experience at your trial make-up.

midas, my recommended MUA is Gin too. I would like to see your AD and photoshoot photos. Any URL link? Can you PM me? Just click on my name.

And ladies, if i choose to get my own MUA in the end, any idea how much will be deducted from my package?

wenwen2112

Hi Midas,I have prob accessing Multiply today. Wanna reply to your replies but can't log in. Keep saying my userID or password is wrong which I am v certain is right. funny....

secretgarden

Hi midas,
Been really busy, just 2 more mths to go =)
Yup consider my 2-3rd Fit & trial make up …thanks for the info too…..will bear in mind what to wear
tomorrow

oh i did not take any pre-wedding ps...my AD PG is AMPM photography

secretgarden,
i see...Leslie is pretty gd, i've seen photos taken by him for a Sep bride..got many praises from frens n family

siriuspink,
guo jiang guo jiang...my knowledge still far from perfect lah..dun wanna ruin anybody's wedding hehehe..

a_confidante

i saw the latest female brides magazine and was shocked when i saw my gown staring back at me, on the front cover.

can someone tell me when did this fall 07 issue hit the newsstands? i'm wondering whether the photo shoot was done before or after my wedding on the 10th aug.

and i wonder if anyone here has a copy of the mag and don't mind giving me the copy if ur wedding is over. coz i wanna keep the front page as a memento.

secretgarden

hi midas,
totally love Gin...very comfortable with her... most important is communication , i did my homework before i got for the trial make up....

Like my make up & hairdo =)

pinkcupcake

hello confidante. I saw it on the newstands in late oct...but dunno whether it was out earlier. I can pass you the front page because i don't need it. If it's the whole mag you need, then eh...got to wait a while. u can PM me.

luvluvlux

Hi A Confidante,

Think I will be giving Silhouette a miss.
Don't dare to take the risk.

From what i understand from a friend who work in another bridal magazine, she say the photoshoot would normally be done about 3-4 monthes prior the release of the magazine. Even if not, i believe now you got the answer why they refuses to sell you the gown to you during then.

Think about it from another angle, at least you have a gown worthy of magazine covers and owns a model figure.

a_confidante

i guess i take comfort in the fact that the magazine didn't hit the news stands before my wedding on aug 10th.

and yes! i had a gown worthy of the cover and I did own a model figure.. am going to be a mummy soon
in june

that's why i wanted the mag cover to show my kid in future :p

luvluvlux,
i dun think u can stop any designer boutiques from show casing their OTR gown collections in mags, bridal shows n websites...coz if all the beautiful pieces r reserved by brides liao then they hv nothing left to showcase rite? but if u r talking about MTM ones then u shld hv absolute exclusivity to the gown till after ur AD...there's a reason for the price difference ya.

A Confidante,
congrats...
think u r better off spending the money on ur baby instead coz a gown like urs wld cost $1200 to buy back...

a_confidante

Price difference?? Midas.. i paid like $3000 to rent that gown. The price included 2 make up sessions by Gin and nothing else. How much would a MTM package have cost?

according to Kenji, he had told me that the gown would only have cost $500 more to buy back. i tried asking to buy it, but they refused to allow me to after the 10th aug, so i have a sneaky feeling they already committed to the shoot that's why he tried so hard to dissuade me from taking the gown away.

A Confidante,
i'm not sure hw much ur WG cost but in general a piece of full french lace gown like tis with heavy embellishments wld hv cost close to $5k to make for purchase...meaning u may need to pay $4k for MTM plus rental n another $1k to own it..tat is the mkt price for such gowns..

hmm...as for wat is agreed betwn u n ur designer..u could hv requested them to qoute u a price for buying back the gown n state it inside ur invoice...i did, n i bought back my WG at the agreed price..if there's no prior agreement, they can always change their mind about selling u the gowns coz there might be other committments like u mentioned...the shoot..or another bride could hv already indicated her interest to rent it after seeing ur returned gown...it does make more business sense to reject u mah.