Silhouette the Atelier

secretgarden

haha thanks Midas, but then now Utopia should be quite expensive now, i want to have a PG which can return all images.....
anyway i am still headache whether i should take Pre-wedding photoshoot.....

should i concentrate more on AD, as i also prefer more candid shoot....fickle minded me ...=(

keypers

yo secret garden,

maybe you can ask them whether how much you spend then you can get back all your photos.

For Chris Ling is 3k
I think the edge also does return all photos with a certain amount.

But I am wondering whether worth it to get all photos back or not because maybe out of 400 pixs only 100 is nice?

When is your ad by the way

keypers

joanna,

Have you popped down to Silhouette itself?
I think you should just pop down to take a look at their gowns because they have some new beautiful ranges

Some gowns seen over forum are outdated as weddings may be years ago and may not be justify Silhouette itself.

Design come and go and workmanship on photographs may not be seenable. Might as well see the real thing

So my advice is pop down have a chat with them and at the same time you could see whether they click with you or not

joanna,
u got mail...

secretgarden,
i'm not sure about taking back all pix...coz in their standard pkg is only selected photos return in CD. maybe u can ask them hw much..most PG does return all at a price. but hor, many AD PG who also does pre-wedding shoot does practice return all PS pix...u may want to explore tis option? can also book both PS & AD together at better prices too...n most does candid shots.

dancewei

Midas,
Thanks for the mail.

Hi Secret,
Thanks for the advice.

Gals, do Sil let u try a few of the gowns before you decide whether u wanna sign up with them? Anyone can share your package price with me and does Sil work any photographers?

keypers

hi midori,

welcome to thread

as for EG, they will customised it according to how you want it

there are some hanging on the racks didnt you see it?

keypers

hee midori,

go down again to them lor
evening gown very hard to see one
some people like cs
some people like gowns
and gowns got so many various kind
who attended to u :p

hira_dex

Hi Joanna,
Agree with Secret, surely you wouldn't want to wear some similar designs for your Big Day ba?
Go down and have a chat with them and sure you'll get to see their lovely gowns physically of the latest designs.

Just to share: For me, we have taken their mtm EG. During my preious discussion, I briefly told Kenji and Minda my ideal designs.
Guess what(?), I was so surprised that last Friday, Kenji showed me some designs that he had sketch out for me. Omg, that's exactly what I want in my mind. *thumbs up* for Kenji and Minda!!

midori

Caroline attended to me

Just wondering, are they flexible on their packages?

Very very tempted to sign up with them but I will be going Divine, Silver Lining and Dang Bridal to take a look.

Hope to conclude a BS by this month.

pinkcupcake

Hi. any brides here have had wedding over already after signing with Sil? wanted to ask how the florist and MUA were during the actual wedding day. Definitely like the gowns but also want to know how are the florist and MUA they tied up with. Read not-so-good comments on Poppy on another thread in this forum.

I popped by recently and was pleasantly surprised that I was allowed to try on the gowns (first time in my life that i entered a Bridal studio!) the shop front looked so posh i thought i would only be allowed to look at the gowns, but in the end I was given 4 gowns to try without even asking! That left a good impression.

Hey Midori, i also shortlisted the same bridal studios as you! But my wedding is still a long time away (Nov 08...don't laugh at me..) so don't know if i should start looking now...

hi mei,

did Sil mention any other florist to u other then poppy? they used to tie-up with stefii & redbox...redbox is gd but i'm not sure about the rest though.

as for MUA, very much depends on wat style u like...if its natural n refreshing look then my MUA can do tat very well. if its more sexy n urban chic, then perhaps need ur designer to recommend one or u can get one on ur own

pinkcupcake

Hi ladies, mind if I ask what the package is like for tulle gowns at Silhouette? I hope they don't have a practice of differing their prices too much for different customers for the same type of gown. If you feel it's inconvenient to write here, can you PM me at [email protected]? thanks!

and midas, thanks for your input. Your MUA is from Sil? or someone you found outside? The gown i've shortlisted is kind of grand so might want a stronger make-up. How did yours do for your night make-up?

pinkcupcake

Hi Midas, I've signed up with silhouette. After looking around 3 more shops, I think Silhouette is the only one with the kind of gowns i'm looking for. So decided not to waste any time and "chope" the gown that i like.
who was your make-up artist? I was recommended amy and jean.

secretgarden

Just finalise my EG design with Caroline a few days ago...hee one session everything done, but now i am bit worry if it will turn out just right for me =/

Hi Midas,
Manage to get a PG for AD with a good price with all images return ...probably not gonna take any pre-wedding shoot.
Will do animation for AD instead, any recommendation?

Hi Secret,
Sorry for the late reply, my AD is 27th Jan 08 =)

Hi Mei,
Welcome to Sil
good choice signing with them.
Oh i thinking the MUA is Gin, Amy & Jacqueline.
When is your AD?

Hey Tonya,
I check with Caroline abt Freddy, she say that he is not taking any make up for this half a year ...not sure what is the reason thou....

keypers

hi secretgarden

Cool bananas! It is not so far away!
Maybe you should go back have a little think about the design and then tell caroline if it is okie

it is usually better to have a little think about it then more ideas will pop out

that is just what I do just a little advice hopes this help

midori

Hi Mei,

Just curious, why did you choose Silhouette in the end? I went to Divine. Yet to go to Silver Lining and Dang Bridal.

Care to share with me your experience? If not convenient, then maybe we can talk via email? My email add is [email protected]

What is the package that Silhouette quote you for tulle gown? Care to share?

TIA!

pinkcupcake

Hi midori

I went to Divine, Julia Wedding News and D'sire too. Didn't go to Silver Lining and Dang in the end.

Below are just my humble opinions -

Divine was great. Kim was very friendly and I think whoever goes to them for gowns should be in very safe hands. Just that i think their strength and 'trademark' is in their low-back desgins. And low-backs designs can't take very heavy fabrics so the gowns will be smaller and not as long. (still have train...just not long enough for me after seeing Sil's) Their designs are modern and sweet and very sexy, but not something elaborate. But then again, if you are doing MTM with them, i guess you can ask for lots of embroidery and detailing.

By the way, they have a show at GCW on 29 july and i think they will be having some perks. You may want to drop by. I will be going for the show as i've signed with GCW and want to see how they do up the ballroom.

Julia wedding: A lot of lace and beading. But didn't see anything i like. I have a friend who had her WG from Julia and it was beautiful. Suits her. so it's up to individual. But I was told they have new designs coming in every month. So that's a plus.

D'sire: very nice gowns! and if anyone out there is on a budget, D'sire is a great place to look around. I mean, I saw OTR which costs only $400 to buy! And a couple of very nice ones at about $600 to buy! ANd they are nice gowns with nice beading and embroidery. I saw alot of nice short cheongsams at about $100 plus. Might just get one from there for tea-ceremony.

Then i just walk past those other bridal shops in Tanjong Pagar and look at their gowns through their display windows. Nice gowns, but i guess i have already fallen in love with the gown i saw at Sil.

Didn't go to Silver lining and Dang because i know my heart is already with the one I saw at Sil... i chose Sil because I just love the looks of their gowns (big and grand)and you know, i always thought my gown will be a streamlined one...until i tried those big gowns. But Sil is the most expensive...

and you got another private mail from me, Midas.

Hi secretgarden,

my AD?....very far far away!!! Nov 2008! I didn't expect to book any gowns so soon, But i was so afraid they won't do gowns like the one i saw anymore that's why i sign up with them to "chope" the gown first. so 'kan chiong' hor?

sillygoose

It's been a long time since I'm here and looks like there's plenty of activity.

Hi Mei,
I've also signed up recently with Sil. May I know why your designer proposed Amy and Jean as your MUA?
My designer proposed Gin because there's "no complaints" about her... I wanted to see the MUAs' work but was told there's no portfolio there. Appreciate if you can enlighten me.

Now I'm a bit worried if the florist really isn't so great. Cos I like the WG so much, I signed up without asking about the rest of the stuff. :p

pinkcupcake

Hi sillygoose,
Kenji attended to me and he recommended them saying that he thinks their style might suit me better... I'm also hoping some ladies out here can give us some feedback on their make-up artist.
by the way, who's your designer and are you having a MTM gown?

secretgarden

hi Secret,
I think so too..is like only 5 more months ...pheww so many things yet to be done....

Oh the EG design is inspire by one of the gown from Monique Lhuillier,i done a lot of research haha never been so hardworking since school times.

sillygoose

Hi Mei,
Caroline attends to me. I'm having a OTR gown cos I think it's easier that way, cos I'm not sure how a MTM gown will turn out. I'll probably MTM the EG but I've not thought very much about it yet. :p

twinstarz

hey mei!

my make up artist was Amy and she's v good and always punctual for all appts! wonderful lady. but most importantly, i guess u gotta click with the MUA, be able to tell u that u like / do not like certain look that she gives u else it'll be v hard to work together. have fun with ur planning!

me juz came back from a week long break in phuket...fat liao argh..

my MUA was Gin...was very satisfied with her service..anyone interested to know more can PM me

secretgarden, i din do animation leh...cannot advice on tis sorry. but i do hv lobangs for cartoon drawings for personalised wedding cards designs..they r my fren's fren lah..PM me if interested..they do cartoons for hobby

hira_dex

hello gals, just to break the silence...

I've got Justina for my trial makeup few days back. I quite like her hairdo that she has done up, very princessy and she also suggested suitable head-piece for me to match my gowns.

candt

Hi ladies! Wow, so much going on here since I last checked. Well an update on my MUA:I'm not going to take any of the Sil MUAs. Have decided to go for an external one who's had loads of good comments from his ex brides.

The ones at Sil have been somewhat disappointing when I saw some of their prev works.

keypers

Tonya: GOOD Luck!!!!! I did that also!!! I took an external one
What I felt is that Silhouette is good for their gowns ... ...
I saw some of their makeup artists work too wasn't too impressed not that fantastic

But there is a price to pay man!!! :p

Hira: never seen justina work, good luck too!
What head piece is she giving u? A Tiara?

hira_dex

Secret: Justina's work not bad, as I don't hv much expectations. So still within "can do range". I didn't ask for tiara but I brought the headpiece which I bought(in Mar) and pinned it with veil. can match.. So over all, no need any tiara.

keypers

yo hira

ya I dunno makeup mah, expectation is crazily high!!! :p
ya man that range is damn important you no need pay top ups bah!

ya hor that headpiece how can i forget :p
kekeke :p
she said okie to that?

misssunshine

I'm about the sign up with Sil. I'm not too sure if the OTR pricing they quoted me was comparable to their MTM. Anyone noes how much is their MTM?

thanks for advice.

hira_dex

hi secret, i think its up to individual preference and style.

Yah, she said is okie. It's the headpiece that I showed you before that I bought in Taka, I like the feathers.. heehee :p

ellew

Hi Tonya & Secret,
Pardon me for bumping into this thread...coz i'm considering to change my MUA from my BS (i did my PS & i aint exactly pleased with her works coz she lacks variety!)...& hire my own for my AD. Who have u hired? Mind sharing with me? Thanks! [email protected]

sillygoose

Hi Sunnysideup and Nov,

The packages really depends on how elaborate is the gown you choose, esp for MTM. May be better for you to pop by and speak to the designers. I took an OTR package excluding photography and EG and is about $2900 but my gown is very simple.

Tonya,
Can you share your MUA details with me too? Thanks! My email is [email protected]

keypers

For All Potential Silhouette Brides or Silhouette Brides:

This is with regards to MAKEUP ARTIST from Silhouette.

As what Hira has said Makeup Artist is up to individual styles and preferences.

For me, I prefer someone that I can feel 100 and 1% confident with as I don't wear makeup.
I did trial their makeup artist before making my decision.

All comments made about Makeup Artist is due to my own personal preferences. As forum is a place to share personal comments.

I do not wish to be blamed for any cancellation of makeup artist.

Dear brides please go check it out with Silhouette Makeup Artist during your Trial and decide for yourself whether do you like their makeup artists.

Choosing a makeup artist would also involve a few things:

1) budget
2) feel with the makeup artist (can click or not)
3) the work of the makeup artist (makeup and hairstyle)

There is a price to pay for everything thou ... ...

I hope this clarification helps and enjoy your process everyone !

Point to note: I DO LOVE THeIR GOWNS HEAPS STILL!!! Love it Love it Love it! And Like Minda and People heaps too!!!! :p

scavenger

New here in this thread. I am considering between Divine, Blush & Silhouette. Anyone have a copy of their MTM pkg? Haven had the chance to make an appt with them yet.

Possible to email me at: [email protected]

candt

Ladies, as with Secret, my choices are not unbased and research has been done to come to my conclusion. Make up is a fairly subjective matter and ultimately it is you who must be comfortable with your decision. It's not a one size fits all solution and therefore preferences will vary. Don't jump onto the "I don't want Sil's MUAs" bandwagon unless you're pretty sure your expectations will not be met.

hira_dex

hi secret,
my PS is over, totally agreed with you.. I love them as much too. Really appreciate their hard work in rushing out my Eg within a short time and also Kenji for doing the extra beadings for my Wg. thumbs up for them and Justina too.

a_confidante

just had my AD on the 10th Aug, and i got a gown OTR from Kenji. it was a fully beaded lace creation which i paid $2930 for. that package only included 2 make up sessions with gin and nothing else.

I am so totally in love with the gown, so i asked via sms to keep it for good, and forfeit the $500 deposit.

Guess what, Kenji came up with a whole lot of reasons via sms why i shouldn't keep the gown ( gown will turn yellow won't look good etc etc, when i said all his reasons were not impt to me, he then said why don't i return it for dry cleaning first?

when i said the gown is not dirty and didn't need cleaning, then he said silhouette wld rather i not keep the gown because they need the gown as its their sample piece and how impt the gown is to them, at least let them copy the shape first.

and finally he kept insisting that the gown be returned to them. and they will return my $500 deposit.

Now I wondering.. Was he trying his best to have me return the gown so that they can charge me another price before I can take it home for good?

i was so tired of the to-ing and fro-ing of sms I gave up my bid to buy the gown and keep it with me for good. so i agreed to take back the cheque. feeling very very disappointed..

Frankly speaking, i believe if I were to migrate with the gown, they would never see it again either and wld just have to keep that $500 deposit placed.

I would say that my experience with Kenji up to that point was largely positive. Kenji, if you are reading this, why did u have to be such a spoil sport?

and really, the hair accessories and veil selection available at silhouette was really pathetic. another point of contention, for brides who are aware pls help, how long does it take to dry clean a wedding gown ? kenji claimed it took 20 + days. is that really true? coz i was trying to do a 2nd photoshoot 4 weeks before my wedding but kenji insisted that he'll be able to provide me with the clean gown only on the last day of july..