Silhouette the Atelier

pancakedonut

thanks midas and minibb. i will probably follow up with SIL after my rom
now bz looking for shoes + hair accessories + makan-plc ;)

minibb

hi midas, yah saw your pic too. haha..... wow you are now the face for the mth of Nov. Both you & your hubby look simply lovely, so don't worry

photostory

Hi Charlene,

It was really nice to see you at Silhouette last week after so long. Hope your wedding was a BLAST! Please keep in touch ok?

twinstarz

hey midas! my ROM is coming soon...7th dec...so busy with that now...still contemplating if i should get the make up artist from SIL or do my own. they are charging me $150 for Gin / Amy n $250 for Freddy. im not so worried abt the make up, can still do a basic one for myself. its the hair that i'll need help with, that's y im quite keen on getting Gin..but not sure if its worth it..sigh. any comments?

hi twinstarz,

Gin is my MUA, i had a great time working with her...she gave me 5 different hair styles during my PS
if u hv seen my photos, u shld hv an idea hw gd she is...if u haven't, u can PM me for the link to my pics.

my personal opinion is if u r having a professional photographer for the event, u shld hv gd enough makeup to match...otherwise u'll look washed out on the photos n it wld hv been a complete waste of money. so the most important question is 'does the bride want to look her best on her big day?'. i think only u know the answer to this one...

minibb

hi midas,
Yes, i've finally signed up with SIL! Yipee

Will be having my first discussion with Minda mid-Nov. Sooo looking forward to it. Will prob go with OTR first, coz i'm ok with 2nd hand gowns. Finally i can now move on to other stuffs like photographer/ videographer for actual day. Do you have anyone to recommend?

hi minibb,

i only had PG on my AD, no VG. so if u r interested u can PM me for details...u saw my pics b4 rite? wat about PS? u hv any in mind?

shm125

Hi Midas,

During my trial makeup, Gin only did up one hairstyle for me. Is it true that normally during the trial, the MUA will focus more on the MU rather than the hairstyle? But i really like her MU- it's quite natural.

what usually happens during the PS? do we meet at SIL first? and does Gin follow us thru out?
i'm confused. Thanks in advance.

hi blurBTB,

yes, during trial makeup she only do one hair style to let u hv a feel of her skills..i heard tat some MUAs like Kenneth Lee doesn't even do hair styling for trial makeup session n some doesn't let u try fake lashes too..Gin let u try everything.

as for PS, Gin will meet u at ur PS studio...she'll do different styles for whatever different look u may hv during the whole PS process until u leave the studio for outdoor shoot (she dun follow outdoors, i think most MUAs dun follow also).

shm125

Hi girls..

just wanted to get your opinion on this:

Does Sil lend out OTR gowns for PS? or is it better to take PS with our AD WG? cos one of my friends says it's more prudent to do sborrow OTR to do PS, otherwise the AD WG may get quite dirty during the PS and might be very hard to remove the stains for the WG..

any opinions or suggestions?

my FH thinks that we should just go ahead using my AD WG- cos i should try to wear the WG as much as possible, after all the next time i'm gonna wear it will be the AD.. *puzzled*

hi blurBTB,

ur friend must hv signed with those one-stop-shop BS. coz these BS doesn't allow BTB to use new WG for outdoor shoots coz they wanted to rent out the WG as many times as possible...can't afford to let u ruin it.

but at designer boutiques like Sil, all brides wear their very own n unique WG for shoots...even went to beaches. the dirty gowns will be professionally cleaned after PS n will look as gd as new when u collect it again for AD. u can check with ur designer wat to avoid during the shoot...for example chantilly laces may spoil if got wet.

shm125

Hi Midas,

thanks for your input. Very much appreciated!

my firend did sign up with one-stop BS.. but i guess to her, the arrangement does make sense to her..

Caroline only told to try to avoid grassy areas- which is quite hard to avoid esp if you're going to botanic gardens or parks.

hi blurBTB,

oh...for me i stayed on the pavement as far as possible. but i think short grasses r ok lah..not those tall tall lalangs type shld be alright to walk on

when's ur PS?

shm125

Midas,
PS- is in early feb... so can get my nails and hair done just before chinese new year =p

just thinking tentatively to go to ACM, botanic gardens and Goodwood (cos my dinner's there). but don't want to squeeze so many venues either. any other suggestions?

hi blurBTB,

din realised u r shm125 hehehe..

ur PS locations sounds fine...i had PS at ACM too, nice colonial style bldg. i also went to Clarke quay n Fort canning park

hv u seen my pix yet?

pancakedonut

Hi minibb,
Gilbert (9frames) charge at $200/hr. This is only the service charge excluding the photo/album. Currently i don't have any photo to show you yet. If you are not in a hurry to confirm your AD photographer, i can send you my ROM photo in Dec/Jan as i am also getting Gilbert to do our rom shooting next week

Hi Autumn,
SIL normal package is around 5000 with 1 mtm gown , 1 evening dress (to take home), 1 groom's suit (to take home), makeup, bouquet, car deco (without car), photography (a few to choose from - e.g utopia, chris ling).

sqlj

Anyone worked with Kenji? The first time i visited SL, it was Kenji that served me. But I don't feel comfortable with a guy. Will it be ok to request for Minda or Caroline the next time I go?

twinstarz

hi stephanie! kenji's my designer! he's a blast to work with, so no worries. he's got alot of recommendations for other wedding stuff, aside from the gowns oso..plus he's funny as hell! =)

that aside, if u r more comfortable working with minda / caroline, no worries, u can just make an appt to meet with them the next time. surprisingly enuf, i asked kenji that the 1st few times i met him too..whether he'll be offenede if i switch designer n he said absolutely not coz ultimately, its ur wedding n ur gown..n u'r gonna be spending alot of time with ur designer, so its impt that u feel comfortable with him / her. so, go for it yah! =) all the best! hope u sign up w SIL soon. :p

hi verie,

if the gown is MTM, only need to pay 50% during booking and the remaining 50% when collecting them for AD. no other deposit needed besides tat

ur pkg is MTM or OTR?

summerice

hi previously i enquire n the package is about
$4480. This price will be different depending on the type of gown u select n materials.

OTR WG, MTM EG, MTM Suit, 3 make up (trial, AD day & night), AD car deco, AD corsage, ribbons. Deposit will be 50%

kitlovestar

Hi..i have to tell you that their gowns are gorgeous...i went to try on some of their gowns....they are very good with french lace gowns with some crystal looking beads on duchess satin...very impressed with their designs and cut!!

hi shootingstarz,

u got mail...

u can examine my WG&EG designs at the 'fitting & trial makeup' album...both my gowns can hv multiple looks.

baba

Hi verie (stupeed),
I juz met up with Kenji today and ask him about the deposit.
He told me that a deposit is need everytime u get the gown for SIL.
It already started tis year because some pple took super took to return the gown.
therefore it need to have a deposit.

Actually he told me the point of booking, just tat i slip my mind.
keke
so blur.

galsparkle
i also like then duchess satin gown.
they are all so gorgeous
that why i sign up.
Which designer attended to u?

i was at Sil tis afternoon too...to send in my WG for touching up. after they took in my WG, i stayed around for another 20mins checking out the WG pix from their lastest trunk show...boy they r gorgeous. i nvr really had a liking for bare back gowns of any kind, but 2 of the WGs surprised me! Sil has definitely maintained its standards despite losing two very talented designers within a span of 5 months time

oh...i din know they require deposit now. i juz paid the normal 50% deposit n the rest when i collect my gowns for AD. but i did indicate tat i will be buying back my WG then. but i only paid for it after my honeymoon which was more than a month later..

kitlovestar

Hi So_lost,

Caroline attended to me...basically my friend and me were swept away by their gowns...but the prices also rather steep...so i need to strike a balance haha...

shm125

Hi girls..
would like to find out how good is the range of jewellery accessories that SIL is offering for free rental..

cos i don't know whether they have a limited range or i may end up having to look for my own set of jewellery.