Oh...my $5980 pkg includes:

MTM WG (rental)
MTM EG (keep)
MTM Man suit (keep)
3 sessions makeup (i dun hv banquet)
Bouquet & fresh flowers for hair-do (PS & AD) and corsages & car decor for AD
Rental of accessories & kua

O-studio basic pkg:
20 prints in album, 8R table top, selected pics in Mini album & return of selected pics in CDROM.

My designer was Miah (left Sil & joined Amanda Lee), he did my bouquet for both PS & AD and made the corsages for my AD as well

My MUA was Gin, she gave me 5 diffent hair styles during my PS

My cheongsam EG is a two-piece gown, take off the translucent turquoise chiffon will reveal an apple green western bustier gown. Miah handmade the beautiful chinese frog button for me coz can't find it anywhere in spore... my WG also have 4 diffent looks too.

So, tat leads to how many photos i finally selected from O-studio. Based on the multiple patterns tat I had (WG 4 looks, EG 2 looks, casual wear look & MTM veil shots), I've selected a whooping 130 pics and my total spenting on photos was $7100
kao_dizzy.gif

by the way, O-studio's service is thumbs up...

Thumbs up for Miah & Gin too!

madmad

Hi Mudpie, I am paying abt $179 for my evening shoes. First fit on 21 Jul. Hope that it will turn out good. Their usual designs without any crystals etc ranges from $79-99...so its pretty reasonable.

Where is Count? Hv not heard from her for some time!

My first fitting is confirmed on 28 Jul. Will do my trial make-up then as well. Do u think its necessary for me to bring pics of hairstyles and make-up styles that I like?

mudpie1222

Hi Mad,
Wow, $179, that's pretty ex huh. Anyway, as long as you like it. I'm sure it'll turn out well, maybe shld bring along camera to snap a few shots....ke.....ke

Count, yah, not sure what happened to her, must be busy with work.

Your fitting for shoe on 21 Jul and WG on 28 Jul? I'm leaving Ireland on 21 Jul and arriving in Sin on 29 Jul. So, won't be able to come into the thread for a while, but do send me email of the pics okay.

It's gonna be a long journey back home this time, we'll be stopping by a few cities before heading home, anyway, it's okay, think it's going to be a while before I'll travel again. Now busy packing all our stuff and also cleaning up the house to handover to the landlady.

And yes, it's good to bring along some pics to show them what kind of styles you prefer, guess it'll make things easier.

By the way, what style do you hve in mind??

hi serene,

i think they do hv OTR pkgs for both WG & EG with the flowers and makeup etc. Why dun u gv them a call and go down to hv a look? They r super frenly pple

madmad

Hi Mudpie

So this time round, u are coming back to S'pore for good right? Tats good..now u can really start concetrating on the wedding prep.

Actually, I am not really sure the kind of look/style that i want. As far as i know, Minda always say i am not the sweet looking sort...so dun pretend to be one! haha...i thot that was furnie - the way she puts it. But its true! So I guess no tiaras and sweet pastel colours for me. I might go for a simple bun/twist for hair. As for make-up, prob something brownish tone...gold...glowy...I dunno! Will see wat Freddy suggests as well.

Which few cities are u stopping by?

mudpie1222

Hi Mad,

Yap, I'm really looking forward to coming home. Wrote to a few friends, suddently, it seems like e'ryone is going home. a friend frm HKG, another frm Paris, and another frm Taiwan, e'ryone is heading home. Just felt kind of funny.....but I'm not sure, hopefully it's really going to be for good for us, and not another move in 6 months down the road. Just hate doing those packing/unpacking.

Anyway, about the bridal look, I guess most people are either going for the classic or sweet. Though I know a few who would opt for the wild look. I'm not hving any tiara too, either a flower on the hair or nothing at all. Will also be having my hair up, either a bun or twist. Since mine is a ballgown, so just want e'rything up, so I don't look so overcrowded. As for makeup, yah, guess it's good that you leave it to the MUA, esp you've alrdy hve those pics as reference, just leave the rest to him then.

Just rec'd photos frm a friend who just had her wedding in Paris, she look stunning.

Anyway, will be stopping over at Frankfurt, Berlin and Hong Kong/Macau.

Hey, you must be so so excited about the fitting right??

count

Sorry that i was out of action for so long! Super busy at work. Have been sitting in for a trial which lasts almost 1.5 months, really tiring cos i am there during office hours and have to do my work early in the morning or later in the evening. We had our PS yesterday! Great fun but tiring. Thank God the weather was the sunniest ever this wk, cos it had been raining for the past few days

We went to many places in the east as well as Geylang. Can't wait to see the proofs whcih will be ready in 2 wks or so. And my hair is so dry now! Cos Jasmine did my hair up in a huge bun to create the retro look!

Love the photos but think our parents will flip when they see it cos they're the unconventional sort

Mad ah,
I say u shd go for the clean cut elegant look, esp since u have the height and ur WG is the Vera Wangish type... It will be stunning!

Mudpie,
Hope ur packing is going well. I'm a terrible packer too! All i do is take out the stuff tt i want packed and FH does the packing... Good that ur frens are coming back to spore too! It means more company for u! Hheheeheh

madmad

Hey gals!

Mudpie, u are travelling to so many places again! do take care of ur skin since the places you are gg will all be different climates. S'pore's weather has been rather irratic. Has been raining these few days...except for COunt's PS day of cos!! And YES! I am super excited abt the fitting. But I am trying to surpress my excitement cos i dun want to be disappointed. I guess the gown is not the final product yet so it may not look like wat I might imagine it to be. Like Minda always says she is very stressed making my gowns cos i hv very high expectations.

Count, hello gal! Hope the trial went well. My FH is also in trial for this week and next too. So he has been very busy as well. So happy to hear that your PS went well and u had good weather. See today...raining again! Geylang for PS? That is new. PRetty sure the effect will be unique. Do share with us some pics ok? I am interested to see how retro ur hair looked! DId ur PS take the whole day? How many places u went in total? How long did Jasmine stay with u? I know i am asking many questions....heheh.

Hey Count, thanks for the great advise and reminder to go for the elegant and clean cut look. that was my plan all along. But as I go thru mags and see diff things, I kind of got distracted. Yes..u are right...clean and elegant is the way to go!

count

Mudpie dearie,
I forgot to mention - u must absolutely buy all the stuff u wanna get in Europe before heading back here! Esp if there is stuff tt u love which they don't have in spore! Heheheh. Have fun on ur holiday!

Btw, when will ur proofs be ready? Mine is supposed to be out in 2-3 wks can't wait

Mad,
Wah... U sound very very meticulous in ur gown design. Am sure ur gowns will turn out fabulous. Hmmm... Ur FH is at trial too? Yes, trial is a terrible thing, thankfully i don't have to sit in every day next week. Cos i have other work in the opic too! Yesyes, will share photos when they're ready. Our PS was for 8 hours fr 12-8, Jasmine stayed with us until 4 which was really sweet of her...

Let's see - we started with MU at 11, studio at 12, went out to Joo Chiat area at 2plus, came back at 3plus to change, then out again to another place in Joo Chiat, back to studio at 4 plus, then out at 5 to East Coast and Geylang. We went to 4 places though we walked in btw areas along the way...

Midas,
Ngiap Heng from The Pond did our PS. Fantastic PG with an eye for photography. Would highly recommend him. Oh btw, he praises Eadwine too, and Mad i saw Eadwine's photos. Amazing, too bad we didn't know abt him earlier or we would have engaged him too!

hi count,

wow, u went out and back to studio and out again...is the studio nearby the joo chiat area? are u guys driving? I liked this place (joo chiat) for its peranakan style...very 60's and retro feel, and certainly matches ur theme

do share ur photos when they r ready k?

mudpie1222

Mad, no worries about the skin, cause I'll usually bring along all my travel beauty case with all my barangs in it.....ke.....ke....hve e'rything, you name it, I hve it.....face wash, face & body moisturiser, serum, eye cream, sun screen, face & eye mask, these are the must things I bring when I travel. Will usually clease & moisturise my face half way through the journey on long haul flights.

Hey, talking about 1st fitting, yah, I was pretty disappointed when I went for it, but was pleasantly surprise on my 2nd fitting, as they really do miracles.....so, don't think you shld worry too much. Of course, the most important thing, do voice up if you have any concern before they start on the rest of the work on the gown. And Count is right, classic look is always very safe.

Count, you are so lucky, of all rainy days, it was bright & sunny on your PS.....you must hve really enjoyed yourself. Do show us your pics, really curious on the effect......and your MUA is so good, Gin didn't stay on til so late, she left right after the final make

cornwall

Hi Sil brides

Havent been active in this thread as busy w other wedding details.

Hey Mudpie, saw yr nick under the catholic brides thread and noted that you too are getting married in IHM and in Nov too !

Anyway I need some advice on PS. My PS is with Robin and will only take place when my fiancee comes back end Oct. Is it true that they will take 2-3 months to process and deliver the pictures? Wow, then i might not get to see them for awhile as I will be relocating overseas wtih hubby after the wedding .

For those who have gone for PS with Robin, can he do both indoor and outdoor shoots in 1 day or does he normally spread it out? I havent met him yet.

Appreciate your advice as I am not sure what to expect. For now, busy with other details and looking forward to my trial makeup and fitting into my WG in Sept

Cheers, C

Hi CG,

I'm an ex-Sil bride. i had my PS with O-studio 3weeks b4 my AD, and they rushed the two albums for me and i got it a day b4 my AD. maybe u can try discussing ur concerns with Robin to see if they could rush it out b4 ur oversea trip? or maybe get some family or friends to post it to u when the albums r ready...

twinstarz

hey ladies! im back..work's been crazy. im going to SIL this sat again to chat with kenji n hopefully sign up with them finally. haha.

anybody going down that day? ard 3pm?

shm125

Hi girls..

just wondering whether you would have any recommendations for cheap florists to do church decor?

cos i just need one to decorate the pews and staircases.

cornwall

Hello Blur
May I know what is yr definition of "cheap"? :p
Think it would be helpful to stipulate yr budget. I am on a budget too and I am asking my neighbourhood florist to do my church pews and reception tables...

I will be meeting her to review my needs according to my budget . If you want, I can pass u her contact if you are interstetd. ;)

Cheers, C

shm125

Hi CG,

like what you said, cheap is subjective. =P or should i say it means getting the best deal at the lowest price? just trying to keep my costs low.. i find that there are a lot of little things that crop up along the way which require $$.. sighz.

anyway, my budget is about $400-500. is that too little? can you send me your contact and details of your floral package? my email is [email protected]

Thanks so much!

cornwall

Hi Blur

You got mail.

I agree with you.. its the little thngs that add up. No wonder wedding isnt cheap no matter how simple you want to keep things.

I have a budget too and I want to just do my church pews. Hmm 400-500 is pretty generous..esp for church pews and stairs alone.

I am thinking of 300-400.. hahaha.. In fact for my guest reception tables, I am thinking of DIY.. to cut cost. ALready for the main church decorations, my churhc florist is charging me 350SGD so the pews are additonal cost..

Give Chris a call and let me know how it goes

Cheers, C

hi CG,

ur welcome...and thanks for the compliments. i luv my WG too, so i spent more money and bought it hehe

hope u hv fun in ur preps too...

jea2604

hi anyone has the contact for "rent a decor"? am looking for a suitable company to do the decor for my church wedding.

twinstarz

i signed up last sat! 05/08/06, finally! after all the months of hesitation. feels great!

hey bees, who's ur designer? i got kenji!

mudpie / count! r u ladies still ard? =)

hapict

twinstarz, the bees
which photo studio n MUA did u all take? your gowns all MTM?

i was quoted $5200 for a simple OTR gown + photography. not sure if it's worth it cos the gown has absolutely no lace, beads, embroidery at all. n it's made of silk (but duno wat kind of silk cos it's the rough hard fabric type..)

cornwall

Hi Hapict

just curious if yr 5.2K package include the other things like- Men suit, flowers for bouqeut, car, corsages, makeup & evening gown + Indoor & Outdoor photos & pictures?

If it does, then I think the price is pretty standard.

hapict

CG
yea it does. but not many photos given...
u think the price is pretty standard for silhouette? think it's out for me... pity cos the svc is gd...

hi hapict,

why dun u find out hw much it cost to MTM the same design in another fabric? silk is very ex, for the quoted price u might even add some embellishments to make ur WG unique...

as for photos, its depends on the photographer u picked. u'll hv to nego wif them seperately for more photos. Sil normally only add in their basic pkg so most PS come wif only about 20pics standard. for tat price u pay, u'll be served like a queen, its worth it..

hapict

yea i know.. i had the best service i had from a BS...i even had two drawings done up for me according to the two gowns i tried on. a first for me, n i have been to like 7 BS...

it's just a simpe tube mermaid cut gown. it's the advice fm the designers i also value too. but think v hard to negotiate with the photographers right... FH n i dun wan spend so much.

thanks midas n CG

twinstarz

hey hey hapict! mine's 5800, mtm wg, eg & teadress, plus men suit's and flowers n all that lah. the photographer i chose will either be "o" studio or "robin" coz they are the cheapest lah. n the stuff they offer are more or less the same as the more ex photographers. i think it'll be cheaper if i wanna top up too.

who's the designer u spoke to? they realli do hv good service thr dun they? i love it thr, they always make u feel so welcome. =)

hi hi midas & CG! im torned btw O and Robin, how do u gals decide on this? i look at both their works at SIL and i like both! argh!
>> midas, can i take a look at ur photos too?

cornwall

Hello gals,

my PS will be with Robin but no pictures yet so cant share any
Hmm Robin's style is pretty nice and conservative and Minda appointed him for us as my hubby is quite conservative la.. hee hee

Hapict, I did go for the full package but went alacarte instead so I didnt feel that big the pinch in my pocket.. means men' suit and evening gown we had to go source seperately on our own.

:D

hi twinstarz,

wats ur email addy?

i signed up with O-studio. but be careful, Jaki's very good. i was so pleased with Jaki's photos in the end i spent additional $5.7k on pics

best way to choose is to make appointment with both PS studios and go down and hv a look at their works and album designs, and find out their price per pics in case need to top up. O-studio charges $70 per pics but can nego for discounts if taking a lot of pics

summerice

I went to SIL, Minda let me try some of the gowns but now come to think of it, most are ball gown.

Think she want me to have ball gown coz i am having a church wedding. Not sure if ball gown is what i like ultimately, coz initially i told her i dont like it coz i worried it will make me look fat on the bottom.

She also recommended me to take Robin coz she say we sure will like his style.

Thats our first meeting, maybe she is in this line long enough that from our dressing she will know what we like and by looking at me she will know what suit me best? Make me feel a little being told what to wear for my wedding.

Overall the experience with them is still good.

hi summerice,

u can ask to try other type of WG if u r unsure...they wun object one. as for PS, u shld go down to the studio itself and take a look yourself to help u decide...

hapict

twinstarz
i spoke to caroline. she's v nice.

summerIce
did u try other cuttings? mayb u will like them better n it will look nicer

summerice

Hi Midas,
I didnt see many design there that day i went down. so can choose much also, plus i dont know if i want a lace or ball gown.

Hapict,
I try other cutting when i went to D'sire. I just pick whatever i didnt get to try at SIL. Some gown i know it dont look nice on me, like the mermaid cut and the tulle gown. Me not tall to wear mermaid cutting, my hubby said that i look like a collage gal going to a grad ball with the tulle gown. Just dont have the look to wear these 2 kind of gown.

twinstarz

hi midas, my email addy : [email protected] WOW!!! additional 5.7k is really alot!!! he must really be v good! =) yah, i think i'll go down to both studios to find out more.

hi summerlce! dun worri abt it. u can jus let them noe if u realli feel u dun wan a ballgown, they wun force it on u. give them a rough idea of wat u think u may wan n if they hv such designs, they'll definitely let u try it. that's the thing that i like most abt SIL. =) heh, i look terrible in tulle n mermaid cut too! think coz im nt tall as n i think my butt's rather big. haha.

summerice

Think i will go down and take a look again after i visit sliverlining. haha.

Headache....dont know which BS to choose.

Dont know which photographer to choose also. Saw Benny Ang folio but he is too high end already.

Anyone to recommend like his style but middle end like say $1500 or lesser? Coz i am not taking PS only want the AD things which is only like 8hrs without dinner.

hi summerice,

i'm only 155cm tall and my EG is a mermaid cut...but i wore 3.5" heels though. Got many compliments for my EG
so no worries, if i can carry it off u can too. juz request to try all kinds of gowns until u find one tat looks gd on u...Sil hv lots of gowns hidden behind and not on display, ask the designer to bring them out.

as for AD PS, i ever asked O-studio price for Jaki's service for 6hrs AD shoot. was quoted $1800 with a coffee book album. u may wan to ask minda call them and check if he can charge u $1500 without the coffee book? Jaki is gd...u can check out his works on their website:

http://www.ostudio.com.sg/osHome.aspx

hi twinstarz,

u got mail..

summerice

Hi mindas,

Thanks for the info, will check them out.
The last time i went to D'sire to try a full lace halter neck low cut (both back n front) mermaid gown, the Designer also told me to i can wear a 3" heel, but the problem is i dont like to wear heels and i am those who dont have to wear heels to work.

Dont want to wear so high heels then end up fall down or walk until very funny.haha

By the way anyone try Amanda lee gown? Any difference since she was from SIL last time?

Dont know if u have seen one gown with pink embro, i try that n Minda say i look too sweet and ants will be crawling. hahaha

hi summerice,

me also dun wear high heels during my daily life. i only wore high heels becoz i super hiao and want to look gd on my big day hehe. and i dun tink u will fall lah...juz invest in a pair of gd comfy heels so u can walk around in ease

oh ya, i've tried Amanda's gowns...they were nice, but din get to meet her during my visit. if u like pink details on WG then i recommend u my designer Miah (he left Sil and joined Amanda 3 months ago). i hv lots of pink roses and pink laces on my WG. Minda said it was nice too! no ants crawling on my WG hehehe.

Miah is patient and creative and can take nonsense from a super fussy bride like me. He even made my PS & AD bouquet himself coz i wanted pink lacey details on the bouquet and only he can truely understand wat i wanted...i tink i gave him a lot of stress hahaha..

summerice

Hi Midas,

Are you the one whose gown can be transform into many looks. Your bridal car is pink too?

hehehe if i am taking ball gown then no one can see my shoe...am thinking can i wear flats or sneekers. Regarding ball gown i dont really like those that are too big, such that when u walk the front of the gown like dangling or stinking out like that very stiff.

For bustier, anyone of you experience things like some designer gown bustier after wearing, at the armpit area that 2 pcs of meat pop out or the cut is so high that when you put your hands by the side you can feel the gown at your armpit? is it the size is wrong or some design are not good?

How to tell what kind of lace they are using? I went to MB and she told me some shops will lie to the customers that they are using french lace when they are not. How can layman like me tell?

Paisei seem like i got many things to ask.

hapict

summerIce
i also went down d'sire recently. i like their new gowns...=) will b bringing FH there this weekend again. u going? u join in the thread on d'sire lah..

twinstarz

hey midas! thx for sharing! u r the bride that miah told me abt!!! he was the 1st designer i spoke to when i started my BS search (by then, he was already at amanda lee) n i mentioned that i love pink n wish i could hv a pink car n he was tellin me a abt this bride who had to booked this pink car so much earlier in advance. that must be u rite???!!! so coincidental!

hey summerlce! i went down to amanda lee too. twice! 1st time at the delfi outlet n spoke to miah (midas' designer) n the 2nd time at the cantoment outlet with amanda herself. but im the embrodiary kinda gal...so i didn't choose them. think those scenarios that u mentioned will only happen if the gown is ill-fitting which should not be the case coz even for OTR gowns, they will alter to suit ur build if its possible.

summerice

Hi hapict,

I went down D'sire last sat the designer told me that was the latest new collection. I like the victorian style one....if you go there go c that piece. Personally i like their design more then Allure.

But the funny thing is when i wear their bustier that area seems to pop out not fitting to the body, and it has the problem of the armpit thing which i mention earlier.

Not sure maybe its my body no good. you go try and tell me how o.k.

twinstarz
Me like some embro also, but dont know what kind of gown i will choose. Want to have the best lor...but HB always tell me no best one lar...just choose one that u like.

hey ladies,

wah...i become famous liao ah haha. ya, i'm the one tat had a fushia pink london cab as my wedding car

ok, for the bustier tingy, it shouldn't make ur flesh pop out. its the skill of the seamstress tat is required to make a fitting gown tat fit nicely, not squeeze ur bust. Sil's seamstress is gd, she took my measurement and the gown fitted juz rite even during my first fit. My friend who was with MB had a loose WG during first fitting, the seamstress still ask her dun diet anymore but in fact she wasn't on diet and her weight din changed..

as for the lace tingy, even if u r not in the fashion industry u can still tell french laces from normal laces...french laces r very delicate and u can see lots of detailing on the lace. i had french chantilly lace on my WG, this kind of lace will hv little strings of thread sticking out at the scollops..high end BS like Sil will not cheat u.

if u gals like embroidery, both Sil and AL can do tat..no issues. the embroidery on my WG skirt was done overseas coz locally not many pple do embroidery on tulle fabric..it turns out really nice hee.

oh ya, my WG can change many looks...i actually was inspired by one of AL's WG, but modified the idea a bit