Silhouette the Atelier

count

Mudpie,
No problems. Surely will share the photos with u. Might be some way off though cos my PS is in mid July

They're slightly more ex but we tot their food is pretty gd esp their mango crepe. So prob gg to cfm with them

Are ur pics done yet? How long do they need to do up the album?

mudpie1222

Hi JJ,
Think it's not worth it to pay that amt for just the beach shots. I'll probably do the same too.

count, I vaguely remember that they are slightly more ex. But since you like their food, you shld cfm with them then.

My photos will be ready by early Sept, was told to give them a call on 1st Sept before popping by to collect them. And I guess yours should be ready by early Oct then. Think they'll usu take abt 2-3 mths to do up the album.

twinstarz

hey mudpie! im aiming for a full duchess satin gown too..in the exact same design of that tafetta gown i tried at SIL. sigh, if only they had it there, then i can get the OTR pkg. =) ur WG sounds so sweet! can't wait to see ur PS! haha.

blurBTB! me FH n i r busy looking out for a lovenest too! haha...checked the HDB website, nothing much. checked classifides, too many to choose fr! which area r u looking for? if u hv lobang for the east side, let me know ok? :p

anybody going to SIL tomorrow? im going in tmw afternoon to check out some gowns that kenji mentioned just came in! =) let me know if i may be meeting any of u gals or potential SIL brides ok?

count

Hey girls,
Wow! I didn't know tt the album takes so long to be done up. Tot it would be done in a month. So i guess doing PS earlier is better

Mudpie,
When are u planning to hand out invites? Or are u gg to informally invite frens then send out the cards later? Was doing up my AD schedule and realised tt we need quite a lot of helpers cos of the church and banquet...

Twinstarz,
U can take ur time to look for a house cos ur AD is still some time away right? Btw what time will u be there tm? FH and i have an appt with Minda at 1pm tm

mudpie1222

Hi twinstarz, I'm sure Kenji can find something nice for you. Let us know how's your meeting with tomorr.

count, we'll only send invite cards to those who are coming. So, we are currently talking to friends and our parents checking with relatives to find out if they can make it, then send out the invites to them. As we are getting the cards ourselves, so can't afford to waste them.

Just went to the wedding channel website to look at the various deco pics, found a few nice ones. Thinking of DIY the table seating cards for our guests.

twinstarz

hey hey count! i'll be there only ard 3+. mum wants to go shopping with me 1st, so can't make it any earlier. haha. yeah, my AD is next June, have abt 1 yr more n we're not exactly in a rush to move in right after the wedding also. im jus being kiasu..haha..still wanna keep a lookout for good buys. =)

hello mudpie! sure will update u all later after my appt! so excited..i was also surfing wedding channel to get more ideas for my EG!

madmad

the 'missing' me is back! am actually on MC today as I got stomach flu. Not a good feeling at all. Puked everything that I ate. But am feeling much better today.

Looks like i have been missing out alot. Mudpie, read abt ur PS and am so happy for u that it turned out good. Understand that Gin did a good job for u. U must be so relieved since U were sharing with us after ur trial that u had ur doubts. I hope Freddy is good too. Make-up is afterall very impt right?
Count, so you r getting ready for ur PS? Which are the retro places u have finalised?

One question: have u all got ur guests book yet? Any suggestions on where to get unique ones?

BTW, hv any of u been to Sil recently? I like wat they did to the place. Refreshing to see the new arrangements.

mudpie1222

Hi twinstarz, yap, agree that wedding channel is a good place to source for ideas. And what about www.brides.com ? Check it out.

Mad, you are back at last. Was just thinking abt you the other day, wondering what happened to you. Hope you are feeling ok now, I understand the feeling, it's horrible. You just don't seems to be able to do anything, just has to sleep all the way. You better rest well.

Yes, was really a relieved that Gin turned out to have done a good job for me. Just hope that she'll do the same on my AD. Freddy? I'm sure he'll be very good too. Have you done your trial yet?

About guest book, didn't really think of that, do we really need that??

Yes, was in Sil just not long ago, and agree that the whole place looks much better.

count

Hey Mudpie,
Yes we're getting the cards ourselves too. Table seating cards sound like a nice idea, saw many designs in Martha Stewart mags. But me being the lazy girl, will prob not have time to do up individual cards. 450 guests somemore! Do until surely can faint! Hahaha

So are ur table seating cards and invites going to fit a theme? Have u decided on a theme yet?

Really envy u having only 1 reception. Now doing up the AD schedule and having a recep and banquet is a logistical nightmare!

Twinstarz,
How was ur appt? We were there until 2pm or so. Saw another couple and was wondering if it was u. Just realised u went down later in the afternoon. So lucky, u were on leave and can go shopping! Hehhehe

Mad,
Oh no! Poor thing, stomach flu is a terrible thing to have. Rest more and hope the puking stops soon... Could it be sth wrong tt u ate?

Yes, now supposed to hunt for wingtip shirts. Minda has no more sizes tt fit FH so we need to hunt for the shirt asap in less than 2 wks... We're gg to a hotel in the east with a retro look, some old looking apartments and places in the east which look 1960ish. Hope the effect goes well...

Oh, i think laine's papietiere has v nice notebooks so they prob have guest books too. But they're not cheap. If u want unique guest books, perhaps can ask ur PG if they can do up a photobook of ur PS shots and get guests to sign. My fren did sth similar and it was very personalised

mudpie1222

Hi count,
You're probably right about the hassle if your invite list is so long. For us, we're probably going to restrict up to 250 guests max, otherwise, it'll be too pack for the layout that we've planned for. So, will try to make individual seating cards for all.

As for the theme, still undecided, but at least, after meeting with Jerry, I've narrowed down to having white table linen with a chiffon burgandy runner over it. As for the chairs, we'll alternate with black & white seat covers. Not sure if individual plates will be set for all, if so, we'll go for black plates. So with this colour combination, we'll go for a more exotic but simple flower arrangement for all tables. As our menu includes a wide spread of local, Jap & western dishes, but the music I've chosen are all French-Jazz. And of course, the whole luncheon concept is going to be western style, ie. long table arrangements, so maybe looking at "East meet West" theme. What u think, any better inputs....??

Wow, you've only got 2 weeks to get your FH's shirt out, have u found any tailor yet?

twinstarz

hey mudpie, i nv heard of www.brides.com till u mentioned and ive been surfing the whole afternoon at work! heh, luckily my boss busy in meetings. =)

hello count! in the end, i didn't make it to Sil yest. my mum was too caught up in the Mango sales. my appt was at 4 and she was still shopping at 4.30 at Isetan scotts! hmphh!!! sigh, so in the end, im going down this sat at 2pm.

any of ur gals dropping by this sat? and also, wanted to ask for ur opinions, anybody having 2 change of EGs? i hv seen 2 WGs that i really like and thinking of coverting 1 of them to my 2nd EG coz kenji already came up with a design for my EG. sigh...u gals think im being too vain? heh..dun worry, pls give me ur honest opinions.

count

Managed to get FH's wingtip shirt at Robinsons yesterday. Phew. The luncheon concept sounds really cool! I like the Western concept. Burgundy is maroon purple is it? If that is the case, then combined with the black plates, ur setting may look a little on the dark side. But tt is for night. Don't know how it may turn out in the day since it's a luncheon. Cos if it is dark, u can perhaps brighten it up by using brightly coloured flowers or add some cream roses to balance out the tones

Twinstarz,
No i don't think u're too vain! Cos i'm getting an EG from Sil and a CS from elsewhere. And FH who is usually super laid back abt clothes is thinking of 3 outfits - bow tie with cummerband, cravat and vest and blue shirt! Heheheheh

If u like it and have the budget, go for it! What is the WG tt u want to convert to an EG? Describe... heheheh

madmad

Hey Count, thanks for the suggestion. Where is Laine's BTW? Wah! Count...ur FH has two outfits? Actually, come to think of it...its not alot. We brides have min 2 outfits too right!

Mudpie, my first fitting is on 26 July. However, Minda has not made up her mind if she wants the make-up trial to be then yet. Not sure why but I will leave it up to her.

Twinstarz: dun worry abt changing many outfits. Its ur day afterall and how often do we get to do that? Once in a lifetime....jsut go for it!!

mudpie1222

Hey count, how much did you pay for the wingtip shirt?

And I know what you mean about being too dark for the colours in a reception. I'm caught in between the burgundy and shocking pink, do you think they go? Personally, I don't think so.

Was doing some reseach yesterday again, and am quite set for the combination of shocking pink, pale pink & white flowers & ribbons for the pews deco & shocking pink for cosages, also my bridesmaids' dresses has got white and a little shocking pink colour at the edge, so, am not sure if the colours can blend in in the dining area. Think, will hve to talk to Dolly and ask her for some suggestions.

Mad, I think it's still okay not to hve the trial makeup at your 1st fitting, you still hve time. Maybe Minda will arrange for it during your 2nd fitting?? I guess sometimes, it also depend very much on the schedule of Freddy's.

twinstarz, it's your day, so I guess you can hve the choice of changing to whatever numbers of outfits you want.

mudpie1222

count & mad, just sent you gals an email, it's pretty huge file with quite a numbers of pics attached but hope the file size didn't clog up your mailbox.

count

Mad,
Laine's Papeterie is at Wheelock and Paragon. They have scrapbooking classes too so if u're the handson kind perhaps u could do up a guestbook? Btw i think they have credit card promos so it may be slightly cheaper after all

Oh FH is gg to have 1 suit but 3 diff shirts - 1 bow tie, 1 cravat and 1 shirt with tie

Mudpie,
We paid $150! So ex but no choice. Robinsons was having a 20% sale last wkend but it didn't occur to us to buy the shirt then. Such a waste!

I like the pics u sent me! The flowers are so pretty esp the first bouquet with some purple! Where did u get the pics from? Looks like we have similar colour tastes cos we like pink!

And i think the first table setting tt u showed me looks the best. Is it the one u have in mind since u mentioned maroon setting? Very classy. Very impressed by the research u did heheheh

twinstarz

count & mudpie, me love pink too! =) heh heh. same taste!

count, mudpie & mad! thanks for ur encouragement! i told kenji abt my intention to hv 2 EGs but he thinks it'll be too rush during the dinner n that im not being practical. =( i love the tafetta sweetheart neckline with big ball gown (+ glitters on parts of the gown)WG that i saw at SIL. but i also like this full duchess satin with corset top WG that i saw at amanada lee weddings. so i was thinking of coverting either 1 of them to another EG...but i think they are both too big to be EG...so i may drop the idea. sigh. maybe going to dang bridal this sunday to see if i can get a nice CS or a slightly sexy tea dress fr thr. going down to SIL tmw at 2pm to try more gowns! haha...keep ya all updated! =)

count! whr did u go to get your CS? is it long or short? im quite keen to get one but worried as well coz most of the CS i've seen r so lacy! n i dun think i can carry off the lacy look...

mudpie1222

Count, wow, $150 is quite ex huh. My hub's is frm M&S and we only paid less than $99 with Robinson card. Thought I saw that M&S has got wingtip shirt too.

Hey, you like them too......yes, like the 1st pic and also did you see the 5th pic, thinking of that for the pews. Got these pics frm wedding channel, brides and the knot. Not sure which is frm which, but all I remember is I went through these few websites. And yap, like the 1st table setting too, in fact, the 1st and 3rd are the same, just taken frm different angle. That's what I hve in mind, and did you see the 2nd pic, was thinking of getting Dolly to do up the flower arrangement similar to that but maybe using different colour's flowers. Like the last pic too, that's for guests to dip their hands in to wash it.....cool right?? Thought that's quite nice too, except that, will probably use it as deco rather than to clean hands....

twinstarz, maybe what you can do is to incorporate all few designs into one dress. True that it'd be too rush to change into 3 different dresses in just few hours. Also, not forgetting that you'll need to change your hairdo or hair accesories a little to go with the different style, and that will take up even more time.

Just went for a shopping spree earlier, bought 2 sets of dinner sets, smoothie maker, sets of cups and saucers, knife sets to be shipped back to Sin....even bought an antique chest for deco purpose. So excited but exhausting...

hubbit

I am new to this thread..just wondering if a budget of $4k can get me a package with photography at Silhouette?

twinstarz

hey ladies! i went to SIL last sat. talked to kenji abt the additional dress that i want. probably a short tulle (ballerina kind) bottom with a corset top / another type of bustier top. total price that he quote me (with either "O" studio / Robin for photography) is now 5.8K. wat do u gals think? at 1st the price was only 5.6K but it was only valid for that day. sigh...now the price is 200 more....how how? i need advise. if i don't take the tea dress, its 5.5K. do u gals think it'll be cheaper if i do the tea dress elsewhr? say maybe dang / empire?

hey yvonne! welcome to the thread! =) its very hard to advise you, coz each of our pkg is kinda personalised. the designers will ceate a pkg for u depending on ur requirements for ur gowns. u should probably go down and hv a chat with them, tell them ur budget and see what they can work out for u. =) just additional info, the cheapest photography they have is either "o" studio or Robin photography. =)

mudpie1222

twinstarz, if you hve the budget then, why not go for it. Otherwise, what about hving the same corset top for both WG & tea dress, which means a 3pcs. I know someone frm other BS did that too, pretty cool & unique too. But not sure if it'll be cheaper that way.

Yvonne, it's best that you talk to Sil personally, letting them know your requirement, cause their package prices really varies.

count

Mudpie,
Yes the shirt cost a lot but no choice as we need it urgently

Many errands to run nowadays. Getting busier. Supposed to meet the invites printer over lunch later and was stuck in a whole day meeting yesterday and prob have to be in court for the next 5 wks every day! Then must do other work after office hours. So not much sleep. Supposed to colour my hair tonight heheh

The dip hands and wash idea is very cooL! Hehehe. Are u gg to use tealights as well or is it too bright to use tealights?

Ur shopping spree for household stuff sounds so so fun! I've been having cold feet of late, getting quite hesitant abt moving in with ILs. Esp since i don't really like FMIL's cooking, so always end up eating bread when i'm there... Sigh

Twinstar,
What kind of tea dress are u thinking of? U mean the short tulle one? If u can get a 3pc it shd be cheaper but if it is a separate tea dress, maybe u shd make it elsewhere if it's cheaper?

madmad

Hi Mudpie...thanks for sharing the pics. I think u had done some pretty good research. I personally always like black theme for set-up. Its very chic. Where is ur recep held again? Maybe hv to see the surroundings of the place and whether it matches the black theme. But if u incorp the pink part then it brightens the whole set-up. I think it will be very cool.

Count, I know Laine's...went in the shop a few times before. They hv very nice sketch book stuff. N like u said, they have workshops and ppl there are really so dedicated...making sketch books for their kids etc. I was thinking of colouring my hair too...how much does ur hairstylist charge u?

mudpie1222

Count, poor thing, do take care. Hey, you meeting printer alrdy?? Btw, usu how much do we budget for invite cards printing??

Yes, the dip hands thingy is cool right isn't it. Anyway, the hall is really huge, it's the size of 2 badminton hall, and we went to have a look again just 2 weeks ago, and think the lighting's pretty dim, so may be possible to put some candles, will decide later.

Mad, agree that the pink will help liven up the place, it adds on some cheerful touch there. But briefly, this is the idea I'm looking at. Will show the florist and caterer these pics, so they can have a guideline to work on.

shm125

sorry for not contributing much these days- have been pretty busy at work..
just wondering whether you would have any recommendations for caterers /florists(for church decor)? cos will be having a lunch reception after church wedding..

actually is it possible to rent decor? cos i came across one website offering rental for venue decor..

Dropping by SIL tomorrow afternoon to discuss on EG- finally, hope to make some progress...

mudpie1222

Hi blur,
For deco rental, thought most caterer will take care of it.

I'm engaging Lavish for catering and as they work very closely with JM florist for venue deco., I'm also engaging JM for the church deco.

mudpie1222

Hi Blur, I do not hve any prices or details on the church deco actually. The last I met up with Dolly frm JM was just a brief discussion on what she can do. As for the budget, she told me to give her a number, so she can work on it. Anyway, I'm thinking of putting aside about max. S$300-400 (only for pews, as the altar deco is taken care of by the church).

And as for the deco for luncheon area, she'll be working with Lavish on it. Our package with Lavish is about S$60-70 per head inclusive of e'rything (ie. food, service stuff, chef, table linen with runner, chairs with cushion, porcelain crockery, favours...........)

mudpie1222

Hi Mad, think I missed out the part on my luncheon venue. It's going to be in a huge hall at the church. The hall has quite a good size, can accommodate abt 700 pax, but due to the different deco of different food station lavish has proposed, and also we're having long table setting, we can only go max up to 250 pax.

shm125

Thanks mudpie.. probably will KIV lavish.. but are they halal certified? cos will have some muslim friends invited too..

count

Blur,
I'm using Angeli cos the parents prefer it. So cannot go with Fost*e... Fost*e is halal certified. Lavish and Angeli are not though they have no pork and lard. Perhaps what u could do is ask ur Muslim frens if they are the strict type who must have halal food. Cos o/w, Lavish and Angeli will do

Mad,
I highlighted and cut my hair yesterday, and did a treatment. Cost almost $300 which is super ex. I wouldn't recommend it though the effect is nice... Cos my frens only paid $200 at reputable places elsewhere...

Mudpie,
My printer is charging $0.70 per invite for 2-sided printing, half of A4 size with shimmery paper. Quite reasonable i feel...

mudpie1222

count, whr did you hve your hair done??

Thanks for the printer's charges, will take that as a guideline. Let u know if I need more info okay??

A lovely day today, will be hvg BBQ at the balcony at dinner time and enjoy the world cup....ke...ke........

shm125

Count- can i have your printer's contact?

Mudpie- so fortunate to watch the match.. i don't think i can afford to watch: sure can't wake up tomorrow morning to drag myself to work!

Went down to SIL today and spent about 2.5 hrs before finally settling on the EG... *Phew!* One less headache.

oh yah, Caroline gave me a choice for MUA- either Gin or Amy? any recommendations? cos so far only heard comments on Gin but not Amy..

mudpie1222

Hi blur,
Oh yes, it's now 7:55pm and the match is starting in 5 mins' time.

Amy?? Hven't heard of her either, but think shld be okay too. Mine's Gin.

madmad

Hey Blur...there is another place that does rental for church decor. Its called rent a decor. I did call them previously to check but they were not able to do mine cos she is taken for that day. U can try to call them. Wat time were u at Sil? Cos i was looking for Minda during lunch time n i know i interrupted her appt for awhile. Hope that was not u

Have not heard of Amy too. Mudpie's one is Gin
and she is really happy with her....

Count, so u are gg with Angeli in the end? Saw their website before and I think they are good too. Ur highlight price is not too bad actually. U had treatment as well right...if u like the result, then dun worry too much abt the money

I have been searching for my evening shoes for the longest time and decided to have it made at Leapin Lizard in the end. They are pretty reasonable when it comes to pricing. Keeping my fingers crossed that it will turn out good.

shm125

Hi Madelaine, nope don't think you interrupted me. cos i was attended by Caroline =)

Oh yah, i was looking at this "rent a decor" but dunno how good/reasonable their prices are.

guess i should try getting Gin, since she's tried and tested.

mudpie1222

Mad, I'm sure the shoes shld turn out well, they've been ard for so long. How much they charging you?

blur, Gin is good. But do take note that you may not be able to see much for the trial makeup, cause I noticed a great difference. Her trial is really very brief and simple I feel.

kokoryo

Hello All,

Im having Amy as my MUA and she did a wonderful job during the trial. Happened that I was having company dinner on the day of trial and she was very nice to do up more for me. She's very friendly and approachable as well.

Had my final fitting last week and Im really pleased with the WG and EG. My WG is a vera wang inspired lace gown and the french lace is really pretty...

was supposed to have PS coming tues but due to bad weather forecast, have to postpone to next week... hiaz so disappointed... pray weather will be good next week

hi serene,

mine is very ex...its $4580 without photography, coz i wanted french chantilly lace and hand embroidery and handmade rosettes on the tulle skirt of my WG tat had to be done overseas. I took the PS pkg with O-studio at $1400, so total price include photos is $5980.

I also top up $250 for a MTM veil with the same hand embroidery also done overseas with my WG. In the end I loved my WG so much and spent another $600 to buy it back after my AD. Now I broke liao hehehe...

bluechilipadi

hi midas,

wow really v ex
wat does the package includes? How many photos did u tak? Is their sevices good... Saw their website recently, really luv their design.