Short getaway for ROM

lovers0206

my ROM will b on 1st June, 3.35pm... tats a long weekend and school holiday... my FH and I are planning to go for a short getaway, locally or M'sia... any one has any gd suggestions? budget wise not more than $200 per pax...

s__h

Are you a SAFRA member?

If u r, look out for their travel promotion...often to malaysia

tortoise

If u like shopping, can go to Kuala Lumpur.
Since it's ur ROM, I suggest u can stay in a better hotel - Palace of the Golden Horses.

This hotel is quite far from the KL city, but can take taxi and there's shuttle bus lor...

The hotel is very nice, and grand... heard it's the best hotel in KL... so can relax relax lor..

lovers0206

hi S&H,

well, my FH is a SAF Regular, but he doesn;t have SAFRA member card.. and I've browse Mindef's website, the chalet available for rental needs at least 3-4mths booking in advance...anyway, he's too lazy to apply lor, cos I heard u need to ballot and wait lor...

we've been to KL once liao, my FH doesn't seemd to like tat place... I'm now looking at Batam and Bintan, however both of us doesn't knw how to swim so Bintan will b out for us...

moreover, my travel period will b in June, so gota pay the peak season charge... haiz... :p

s__h

if that is the case, then look out for ad in ST newspaper classified ..there is a Malaysia travel fair coming up i think, or was it over?

Anyway, there are pleny of agency doing malaysia tour at about S$200 per pax

d1amonds

hi lovers0206,
going to Bintan doesn't mean swimming activities only. Me also don't know how to swim but we went there last mth. We just lazed in our villa, eat n shop a bit. It was a nice 2D/1N getaway

lovers0206

hi mulberry,

but I've checked wif the tour agency, they told me at Bintan there's nothing to shop leh... and how much did u spent?

tortoise

Hi S&H,

No lah.. per pax ard $160... last time was $150, I think...

If u want, can just drive up there lor... very near to Sungei Besi toll.. can't miss it.
And per night hotel stay is ard $150 inclusive of breakfast for 2 pax... quite worth it lor.

d1amonds

hi lovers0206,
ours was expensive coz we stayed in Banyan Tree.. :p
but i know there are other cheaper accom. ard ur budget.

ya lah, of coz not major shopping but some shopping places. Their Pasar Oleh-Oleh is ok, can spend 1 hr there. There is also a bandung factory outlet near the ferry terminal.
But most of our time is spent in our villa n hotel.
2D/1N only mah, no need plan too much outdoor activities.

lovers0206

hi mulberry,

recently the news reported abt the big waves at Bali and the Sumatra... we almost come to a conclusion to go to Bintan but wif this news report, I'm kinda reserved. u think its safe to go? Bintan is also one of the beach areas in Indonesia... kinda scared...

cha_alex

If read news then read the entire news lah.... not all parts of Indonesia were attacked by big waves, only those beaches who face Indian Ocean. Bintan is at Malaca Straits. If Bintan get then you also wont be safe in Singapore

clldavid

Cameron Highlands. Very cheap if you go on a budget. My GF and I spent less than RM500 each for a trip we went on recently. Spent 4 days in Cameron Highlands and 1 day in Ipoh. Booked the rooms and transport ourselves. And Cameron Highlands is a nice place to just relax.

In fact, you can spend less than that amount. My girlfriend and I went on a day tour that brings us to see the Rafflesia flower and that costed us RM90 each. If you want to learn about how to arrange to go to Cameron Highlands on yourselves etc, I can tell you more about how we went about it.

jeraldin

lovers0206,

I oso had my ROM on the 1st jun... but mine was at 1.35pm.. heehee =)

Me and my hubby decides to go for Batam Spa retreat...
you can check out the batam view beach resort for their spa package... its quite good.. .almost everything included..

if you take the 60 mins spa package it will cost abt 183 nett including ferry tix and spa and all meals included...

the 180 min spa package i feel is more worth it... about 228 nett..also everything included + you can get a couple spa... i feel its quite a nice way to relax and enjoy your honeymoon.. so we took this package.. =)

do check this out...
&TargetPageID=,http://batamview.maxias.net/web/main.aspx?ID=4dfe8696-96b1-4348-a6a3-423e1a67b0c6,,&TargetPageID=

evd

Hi David, my hubby and I are planning to go to Cameron highland, do u mind telling me how u went around planning your trip? RM500 is very cheap for 5 days. Thanks

clldavid

evie: Look around on the net and look in guide books. Honestly, we could have spent less money, but it was our 1st time, on our own with no guidance. Also, we spent RM90 each on a tour to see the Rafflesia flower.

For a start, we took the bus from Larkin to Ipoh, and then from Ipoh to Cameron Highlands. The bus trip from Larkin to Ipoh can cost around RM40 per person. Then from Ipoh to Cameron Highlands is only RM7.90.

And we stayed in very cheap lodging. We stayed at this backpackers inn called Twinpines. We only paid RM25 per night for 4 nights. It's quite an OK place to live in. It even provides laundry service. Just that it can be quite noisy as the walls are quite thin.

And we didn't spend much on things like tours. We only went for the Rafflesia guided tour cos it's the only way we can get to see the Rafflesia. Other times, we just explore on our own, going to the farms and marketplaces, and the jungle trails: Track 4 and Track 9, which are the popular tracks as they are easy. And when travelling between Tanah Rata and Brinchang, you can just take the bus. Cabs are much more ex. If you wanna take cab, try to catch one that already has pple in it. Then it'll be cheaper.

Get the RM4 guidebook at Cameron Highlands. It is quite detailed. We got a more expensive one in JB, and regretted when we saw the RM4 one in Cameron Highlands.

On our last day, we act spent the day in Ipoh. Didn't do much there though. Just went to the Sam Poh Tong area to see the temples in the caves and ate good food at the food centre.

If you want more details, don't hesitate to ask me. You can also PM me or my FI (kristen86). She actually did most of the planning on the part of transport and lodging because I was really busy and it was also her grad trip.

clldavid

Oh! 1 very important thing. If you take the overnight bus to Ipoh and arrives early in the morning, when you get off the long distance bus at Ipoh, Gopeng, you have to get to the old town bus interchange to get to Cameron Highlands. The first bus that leaves Gopeng terminal to Cameron Highlands is 11am. Whereas the first bus that leaves old town bus stop to Cameron Highlands is 8am.

And when you reach Gopeng, just take a bus to the old town bus interchange. The bus stop is where the taxis are all waiting and there are people around. We made the mistake of taking the taxi as we didn't know where the bus stop was. It costed us RM12! Whereas the bus would have only costed us RM1 each.

On our last day, we took the bus from Cameron Highlands down and it stopped at Gopeng, but because we wanted to look around Ipoh, we took the local bus to the old town interchange and that's how we learnt how stupid we were on the 1st day.

happinessbliss

Hi, my ROM is 1st Oct. And My HTB and myself are taking the rest of the week off, planning to go for a short break. We are thinking of going Bangkok. Any budget package that any of you can recommend? Thks...

lealea

Hi Starr starr,

Have you been to the water chalet? If you dun mind to share your experience?

Anyone been to the Mines?