Shoes

snow

Can someone advise me whether is it necessary to change shoes when the bride is in the evening gown?

blee

Hi snow,

Happy National Day!

It depends on the colour of your evening gown. If your shoe matches your evening gown, save the $, else you need to get another pair.

snow

Hi Blee

thanks for your advice.
My wedding gown is white colour, therefore my shoes is white too. But my evening gown is pink, do you think the white shoes will go with pink?
You see, I hope to save $.

chin leng

Hi snow,

You may want to post your question in Doreen Chee's Advise Corner under Bridal Boutiques and Services. That way, you can get professional opinion from a local designer...for free! :)

elaine

any where to get a large variety of really nice light gold/silver heels (closed or opened toes)??????

most of the closed toes heels i saw are quite "old-fashioned" and plain. i really dont know what to do since pple kept mentioning that closed toes look better on photographs.

and i also need to look for 4 inch heels as i'm quite a shortie.

appreciate ur help!

corica

Hi elaine

I don't think there's a specific place that sells a large variety of gold/silver heels but a few places which you could get nice ones are:

1) Metro at Marina Sq
2) Isetan Scotts
3) Hue at Scotts Picnic

I also bought a 4inch silver slip ons (shiny kind) from Metro at Marina for $59. Why not go try there places i recommend?

elaine

1 inch = 2.54 cm
4 inch = 10.16 cm

even with 10cm, i'm only 160cm, still 20cm shorter than my FH ;P

so, have to bear wif the inconvenience.

yvonne

elaine

i can understand..i stand at 1.65m but feel like a dwarf when i stand beside my hubby who is abt 1.89m to 1.9m!

arctic_hare

sorry, i didn't mean to imply anything...

just that I am 1.59m, my FH is 1.78m, the designer at my bridal shop says I must get heels that are at least 3 inches high...*faint*...

i normally wear 1.5 inch. Tried on a 2.5 inch heels in Bata. My goodness, I felt like I am walking just on my toes only. So, I am rather hesistant about literally "being on my toes" the whole of my wedding day.

Aiya...comfort vs beauty, which shall I choose?

yvonne

artic hare

i would choose comfort (no matter how high i wear the diff in height will still be so great!)

somemore gotta be on the feet the whole day..
but i think some shoes will be less "stressing" on the feet..depends on cutting n the heel type.
Do shop around!

cat13

U may also like to pop down to Takashimaya and Seiyu at Bugis. There's big collection of shoes there.Can also try Tangs, Tangs Studio n Americancaya (not sure abt the spelling).

There r some embroided shoes in Taka n the price is quite reasonable - $39.90 but I think its only 2.5inches.
btw I got my weg'g shoe at Metro Marina by Ananas for $49.90 Happy shopping

elaine

today i went down to leapin lizards.

i got to know that if i need to custom make a pair of shoes which i needed in early dec for my 1st fitting of my ROM dress, i wld need to pay $25 extra.

i only got to know that i needed the shoes for my first fitting last week. sigh... no experience..

do u think it's worth it? i've to custom make because i need a 4-inch heels.

yvonne

hi elaine

wat is the price like incldg the $25/- extra?
have u been looking ard at the shopping malls?
think shld have nice ones? got 4 inch oso mah..

elaine

will be 75 and above then.
have to get the right height, the right color, the right pattern, so tough...

m&m

Hi elaine,

I need to get a pair of 4 inch high shoes too!

I was thinking of just going to LL too.

Any idea if we need to pay like $80 subscription fee before making the shoes? Cos' I heard from a colleague this is necessary.

Did you have to pay that too?

If so, then that would be expensive leh.

But then again, like you say, must get the right height, right color etc is tough.

Let me know?

elaine

hi, i did not ask ll abt the price. the lady told me it starts from 48. but of course, that's only the v. basic plain shoes. if u want beads/cyrstals/lace/bucket/etc u'll need to pay more.

$25 express service for 2 wks. and $15 express service for 3 wks. normally they take a mth.

today, i went to ram's at lucky plaza to make my shoes. the total is $120. it has the right color - light silver. then the material duchess satin is also the same material as my dress. the basic is $110 with normal bucket. and i added some crystals and they're swarkowski ones - $10.

i think the owner Charles is v. friendly and he knows what i want. so, although it might be more ex than LL (dont know), i think it's worthwhile.

he told me that ll let u wear the shoe with the size u want. but for him, he measures it accordingly to ur size.

as for ll, the lady didnt tell me abt the subscription fees. maybe the $48 is the so-called subscription fees.

mudpie

Leapin' Lizard is great if you have normal sized feet ie. not too wide or narrow. For square-toed court shoes, they go up to size 12 1/2! I know so well because I wear their size 12!

I went to Charles (of Ram's) and after SIX months, he gave up on me. He said my feet are way too wide etc, so he kept saying wait for his new machine to come in so he can custom-make my extra wide shoes. Month after month, I went to his shop to do fitting 2X because he totally lost my records. I tell you all, I felt so bad as he's always so busy and difficult to find him. Finally he told me to take back my deposit and "try calling him a month or two later".

Having such large feet, I couldn't buy shoes off-the-rack like you ladies. This was the final blow to me cos "I thought it's hopeless for me, custom-make shoes also cannot, even if I'm willing to pay close to $300 for a pair of his fully customised shoes!

I was told by many people that LL is very expensive, so I didn't have the courage to go in. But 2-3 months after I got "rejected" by Charles, I went to LL b'cos they have a branch near my office.

Wendy, the shop asst (or owner?) was very nice, and shyly I asked her what is the largest size they have. Guess how I felt when she said 12 1/2! I asked for a 12 and you know what? IT FIT ME PERFECTLY!!! Not only did Wendy not give me the look which suggests I'm a bigfoot-freak (and believe me, I'm so sick of getting THAT look from so many salesgirls in shops/dept stores), she even says "lucky" I'm a size 12, because they still have 12 1/2!!! Thanks Wendy!

I do not really blame Charles, cos he incurred losses making a pair or two of shoes which didn't fit me. I just resented the time lost. If he can't do it, tell me, dun tell me to keep going back after 2 weeks etc.

He really custom-makes the shoes to fit you. As for LL, the sizes are standard. Of cos they do custom-make like Charles, but that means $200-300 per pair (like Charles').

There is no compulsion to join as member and pay $48. (Can't remember how much it costs, but I joined cos after doing some Maths, I think it is really worth it. Here are the privileges:

-10% off everytime you make a pair
-25% off during month of b'day
-Card expires after only 2 years

I go there to do all my shoes now, so I've already made back the membership amount.)

For normal PVC shoes, plain ones, they start at $48/pair. For real leather, it's $89.

They have a plethora of leather in different colours, plus different sizes and colours of buckles.

My colleagues love their beaded (wedding)shoes and it can cost up to $100+. Not sure, cos handiwork charged separately on top of the $48 standard price.

Give them a call, or drop by; both Wendy (Int'l Plaza) and Kathy(OUB Plaza) are very nice. Feel free to browse around and get a quotation!

By the way, I'm not a shareholder of LL, just a very satisfied customer!
Hope it helps.

angel

don't think there is any subscription fees.
i custom made a pair of shoes @ LL cos lazy to shop around and also needed a specific height of heel. i just paid for the shoes and that was it. no other payment and nobody mentioned anything like that...

just my 2 cents worth...

ezzy

hi angel, what type of shoes u made? material, heel, bucket, etc?

how much does it costs u? and how long it took?

m&m

Thanks everyone for your feedback on the "subscription fees".

I happen to drop by at LL yesterday and pop the question to them and like most of you said there isn't one. Just have to pay 60% of the price as a deposit.

I asked my sis-in-law abt the quality and she said it wasn't good at all. In the end, she just didn't want to wear it again .. and hers was a simple sandles style.

So Mudpie, how was your shoes? Everything ok?

I just want some views before I go for it.

mudpie

Hi M&M,

I guess for the price I'm paying (less than $80/pair with real leather) I cannot complain about the quality. Especially when they fit me so nicely! I truly do not think the quality is as bad as your sis-in-law says, unless she is comparing LL shoes with designer-branded ones? Seriously doubt so, since she only made a pair of sandals. How good does she expect a pair of sandals to be? Maybe she can clarify with you.

So far I've made not one but three pairs of shoes from them, and I wear them to work everyday. They are extremely comfortable and I never got a blister once! That to me is the most important factor, especially when you will be on your feet the whole of your wedding day. My advice is to go for comfortable, and well-fitting shoes, no matter where you buy or make them.

I find it strange, that people always complain that wedding shoes can be worn only once, so it's a waste of money. But you spend more than 10X on the wedding dress, and you also wear it once, maybe a max of 6-8hrs? Why did no one say dun bother with a good dress? ;P At least the shoes, you get to keep them! But then again everyone sees the dress more than the shoes!

BTW my sis-in-law bought her sandals from ViVie at Metro Marina. She liked a design but it's not in the silver colour to match her WG; Vivie was able to custom-make for her in silver. But then you must be in the "normal" size range. I think she got hers for $50+ only, no extra charge for this special order. But then it's been more than a year since, so I'm not too sure about the charges. You don't ask, you won't know, right?

angel

hi ezzy,

i made just a normal pair of open toe sandals. was quite ex cos of the material (the shiny shiny kind) but i'm really happy with it and it saves me the hassle of shopping around for shoes. (lazy lah)

the workmanship is really good and the shoes looks really nice
took me only a month or so to get the shoe. no hurry at all...

hope this helps

ezzy

hi angel, if u dun mind, can share with us how much u paid for that shoes made at LL?

mine is a closed toes 4-inch duchess satin light silver heels with crystals and normal bucket. all for $120 and can be collected in less than 2 weeks' time.

ezzy

oh in that case, i think my shoes made by RAM's is not ex at all. initially i tot $120 could buy me a pair of renoma leather working shoes, not sure whether worthwhile to get my ROM shoes done at RAM's. now, i'm more relieved hearing that LL also charges almost $100 for simple scandals.

angel

well, ezzy, like i said, it depends on the material. there were cheaper ones but the one i chose was so expensive. BUT it saved me the hassle and i'm really relieved the shoes are done...

ezzy

hi angel, my material was rather ex too. duchess satin - the same material as my dress. glad that we both got a good deal. if i'm to get it at LL, i would have to pay extra for express service which i think is not worthy at all.

hi beany, for RAM yes and he would add on his opinion/advice if there's any.

jowie

I have very wide feet that couldn't even go in for those shoes selling at Pretty Fit, Charles & Keith etc..
Am now looking for a pair of custom made shoes for my 1st fitting. Went to LL but they onli have standard base for all shoe sizes, which left 1/4 of my soles not touching the base at all.
Any recommendations or is there any shop that do custom made for the size of the shoes??

Hi Jowie,

Look for Charles of Ram's shop (aka Gosh Comfort). He custom make shoes according to the size of your feet.

His shop is located at:

304, Orchard Road #B1-90
Lucky Plaza
Singapore 238863
Tel/Fax : 835-0190

Please call him to make an appontment so that he'll be in the shop to meet you. However, know in advance that his shop is small and it is tuck in one little corner.

Alternatively, you can visit http://www.singaporebrides.com/shoes.htm to find out more.

ling

Hi Chin Leng,

My hus is very tall and big size he is abt 1.8cm and i am 1.6 cm tall so do you recommment me wearing 3 1/2 inch tall heels???

Would that be comfortable for the bride..? URGENT pls reply cos my wedding is drawing near....!!!

THANKS

jo jocelyn

ling,

my husband also 1.8 and i am 1.6. I wore a 4inches heels to match him and my dress.

depend on your self, i could even run up a sandy hill with this pair of shoe.

corrine

Hi jo jocelyn,

Where did you get the 4inches heel? How much is it? I have been looking for one off the shelf but to no avail....

corrine

van

hi jo_jocelyn,

i'm also having the same problem. At least u r taller than me... i'm only 1.56m & my FH is 1.8m...

recently had bought a pair of 3.5 - 4inch high slip-in, from OG @ Great World City. There are still few different designs if i'm not wrong.

Have also seen few pairs from Tracce (under Everbest) @ Metro Marina Square. I would prefer the pair @ Tracce cos its much comfortable. Kinda regretted to get tat pair from OG... *sigh*

If i'm not wrong i also come across those with glitterings evening sandals @ Robinsons - City Hall.

van

ops! looks like i attention to the wrong person
sorry juz to medication for my cold... abit blur liao

the above msg shld be attention to corrine_kam & Ling

It really depends on individual. You may want to try it wearing at home for a day and see if you feel comfortable.

jo jocelyn

i bought mine at the toa payoh and ang mo kio area. Quite cheap, only $20. Since there will not be chances to wear the shoe again, i do not want to spend lots of money for it.

ling

Hi jo_jocelyn,

I stay around that area which part of toa payoh and AMK??? which chop is that.

sherine

I am also looking for a pair of white/ivory shoes abt 3.5". Was actually thinking of custom making them at LL but the price is a bit steep. Does LL have shoes that are off the rack and how much do they cost? Any other shops that have nice and reasonably priced heels?

van

hi sherine as i've mentioned the places above that i've come across, the price range of the shoes is between $49.90 - $69.90

van

hi Ling,

LL is actually:
Leapin' Lizard
10, Anson Road, #01-57
International Plaza
Singapore 079903
Tel: 222-2783
Fax: 222-7883

u can actually click on the link which is @ Chin Leng's thread above.

scooby

I'm thinking of having my shoes custom-made instead of hunting high and low for the right pair. I'm comparing between LL and Riccino. I've been to LL but not to Riccino. Anyone can tell me which is the better of the 2, in terms of worksmanship and cost???

Hi Scooby,

Have you visited Ram's Shop (aka Gosh Comfort)? The designer, Charles, also specialises in custom-made shoes. You can find out more about Ram's shop at http://www.singaporebrides.com/shoes/rams.htm. Please make an appointment before you visit so that you can meet up with Charles. Please do not be surprised by the look of the shop.

Till the end of May, you'll get 30% discount if you are SingaporeBrides.com card holder. After May, the discount will be 20% instead.

You can find out more about privliege offer at

http://www.singaporebrides.com/membership_card/others.htm#shoes