Shld I postpone ROM?

missyyee

BF and I intended to hold our ROM next year and since our flat is in the midst of construction and only be ready in 2013. We wanted to ROM earlier because we did not want to do up our flat and marry at the same time. We decided that I'll move into his place after ROM.

His family was over the moon and so were we. I thought everything will go smoothly. But... His father become very unreasonable and ridiculous.

1.) He made crude remarks on the venue we chose (despite him letting us be decision-maker since it's our wedding and he did not even view the place yet!). He even suggested us to announce to my guests that all ang baos will be donated to charity if the venue is not 'class' enough.

2.) He too commented how unmemorable our ROM is going to be (we're inviting 100+ pax, consisting of close relatives, friends, n colleagues to enjoy an interactive and intimate affair). According to him, in order to "spice" things up, since my family believes in Buddhism, he asked me to ask my Father if we want to invite monks to chant. (!!!)

3.) Personally, I feel that he showed disrespect to my family. My family is rather traditional, and since they compromised not having a typical chinese wedding banquet, I feel that I shld give in to what they wish for (tea ceremony). His Father knowing that my family is traditional, he openly said that all these traditions are bullshit and need not be held. I told him politely that since my family gives in to my request, it's every right I shld please them if I can. He even told me to persuade my family to cancel the tea ceremony. I felt very hurt.

4.) He is constantly bringing down my own Father. My Father is a single parent, took pains bringing up my brother and I. Though he is a humble taxi driver, he's a democratic father. He believes in discussion and will take our opinions and needs into consideration. My future father in law is an assistant manager and yes, he provided a lot for his family so he thinks that he is very capable. Compared to my Father, yes, my FIL is indeed much more capable in terms of monetary.

Based on this fact, he started making remarks on how ignorant my Father is when it comes to how 'class' a place is so my FIL will have to 'inspect' personally.

1 recent issue - During the World Cup season, my BF had been staying overnight at my place for sometime to watch soccer with my Father. Both are vivid fans of soccer. Over a dinner with BF's family, my BF casually asked his Father if he heard any cheering late at night. Instead of simply answering 'No', he said, 'No lah. Majority staying at my area are highly educated people. Don't watch soccer one.' I believed he was pin pointing at me as he used words - My Area. If he is answering to my BF, there's no need to be so sarcastic. FYI, they are staying at Boon Lay and me, Bukit Gombak. And my BF is an Marine Engineer, graduated with a Bachelor and I'm a Research Assistant, pursuing my Master in Science with NUS.

The above is just one of the many 'attacks'.

Some of you may question why didn't my BF voiced out. Reason being my FIL was once very abusive. Every time he feels frustrated or angry, he will vent his anger on the poor Mother physically and verbally. My BF who dotes on his Mother a lot, suffered in silence as well.

As mentioned above, my family is a traditional Chinese one. So my Father believed that once we're married, we have to stay together because I've thought of ROM-ing 1st and stay separately until our flat is ready.

Now my BF and I decided that I can no longer stay with his family so we're left with 2 choices: - 1.) Persuade my Father to let us ROM and stay separately.

2.) Postpone our ROM to 2012.

Any opinions or suggestions? I really appreciate it!

confusenism

if u both are not in much of a hurry to ROM and stay together i would suggest u ROM only in 2012. save all the hassle. if not ROM first but live at their own place, then wkends stay over either one's place.

at least thats the plan in my consideration.

initially i wanted to ROM this year. den wedding next house only comes in 2014. some hiccups here and there im pushing all plans back to 2011-2013. so my wife to be can accompany her mum longer.

hweebs

my opinion: get it over and done with
your main problem is with your future FIL, whom your fiancee has problems with as well. If he is known to be verbally abusive, then please do not take the attacks to your father personally...it is him, he will probably do that to everyone. For this kind of people, it is really no point getting angry. If you fear that it will hurt your father's feelings, maybe you want to speak to him about this being your FIL's nature to talk harshly to people? If you postpone your ROM now to 2012, then you mean everything is postponed and you will go through another round of banquet booking etc, and go through another round of verbal abuse? I think one round enough lah.

hope this helps!

kittenpie

MissyYee,

2) Postpone it.

Although your daddy is democratic, i think he has had enough of the bullsh*t from your FPIL. it is time to give your daddy some peace. he has compromised enough, now leave him alone instead of persuading him about things again.

Remember, your dad is one of the most precious persons in your life. let him be happy and at peace. dont allow the rubbish from random assh*le people ruin his day.

i have had bullsh*t from former PIL too. always, i told myself that i must blast it out in front of them and give them a piece of my mind, i wont take it lying down. to me, they were people who can jolly well go and die and i wont give a damn. you should stop giving a damn too.

save your energies for those whom you truly love and who deserve your love. your dad is a hero to bring you up alone. honor him in the way he deserves.

The two of u are gonna be pretty ok financially so i think getting a home is just a matter of time. There is also no harm exploring a 1yr rental in the meantime.

Thing is, u had every chance to. Display some wit, but u didn't... Call it respect or call it fear, but seriously when the father makes snide remarks, u should learn to put him in his place.

An assistant manager at his age... Highly Educated and dun watch soccer, highly educated and Only an assistant manager, highly educated assistant manager staying in boon lay...

This is not being snobbish, but all these dun add up and sometimes u need to be a bit witty to put these pple in their place. I would have had such an. Enjoyable time that at the end of every session I make sure he bleed no end.

For pple who put down others with such methods, u have to sorta use the same to bring them back to earth.

why can't you stay with your dad, since he and your bf gets on well together?

if high-class people don't watch soccer, then his son is not high-class too, right? talk so much ... probably knows nothing.

kittenpie

Thing is, u had every chance to. Display some wit, but u didn't... Call it respect or call it fear, but seriously when the father makes snide remarks, u should learn to put him in his place.
================================================

MissyYee, i SECOND the above statement heartily.

sometimes, if i have a retort that i should have wielded at that crucial moment but i did not, i go to bed filled with sense of injustice. the thoughts "i should have said that!" ring through my head making me unable to sleep.

so i learn that speaking your mind NOT to let anyone bully you is very very important. and then i practised it.

dont let anyone bully you too, MissyYee.

when i first married, i was very meek and timid. my heart's humble desire was to be liked and accepted. and the family's 'apparent' wealth intimidated me and made me feel small.

i was the classic "Small Daughter-in-law", the shy retiring character who always shrink into herself, wanting to blend into the background all the time but feeling like a sore thumb.

then a lot of things happened. like you, i experienced times when my family was slighted too, indirect insults behind my back, dirty insinuations. just like a soap drama, my life unravelled before my eyes.

the things that happened to me opened up my eyes and made me grow tough. i realise that my own family loves me very much and they deserve respect, so i will not allow anyone to speak bad about them or make insinuations about them, even if the badmouthers are my PILs.

from being awkward and gauche, i became bold and at ease with myself. i grew confident and it liberated me. i told myself, "i deserve to be here in your house. i have every right to be present in this house as you. if you have a problem with that, please address it to your Son, not to me. so you better think twice before you offend me."

and i found that the more confident i became, the less they dared to infringe on my rights. i noticed they started to watch my face and body language before they spoke. i became fearless, as fearless as someone who had nothing to lose. and my ILs became people who could die in front of me, and i really will not blink twice.

my case leans to the extreme side. but my character is extreme to start with. but the moral of the story is the same. Protect those who love you, honor your father and your mother, guard your rights or there will be people who will aim to swallow you alive.

missyyee

<u>Confused Crossroads</u> and <u>hweebs (hweebs)</u>

Thanks for the comments. I did thought about these 2 scenarios. But 1st of all, I would like to persuade and talk to my Father regarding to us staying separately. And not postponing because like what <u>hweebs (hweebs)</u> said, I'm afraid that my FIL will take things into his hands. Part of me strongly want to go ahead and put all these behind me.

<u>May Ong (kittenpie)</u> and <u>powder (powder)</u>

U guys are right. I fear and I respect him. I fear him because I do not know what he can do to me or my BF. I respect him for being able to provide his family w/o financial worries. In the past, I used to fend for my family in an extremely tactful manner that it appeared I'm soft. But since last weekend, I had decided not to allow him to crawl all over me. The next time he mentioned something nasty, I will retort back at him. (Of course I'll not scoop to his level. (

<u>cuclainne (cuclainne)</u>

Sadly, it is not possible. My Father is a traditional man. He will not like his son in law to move in.

kittenpie

MissyYee,

be stern with such a person. in your attitude, you need not be deferential. conduct yourself with such an air of dignity giving him no foothold to air his nonsense before you.

such people are weaklings. if you have a black face like a school mistress, they would not dare to approach you. train your gaze to look firm.

you are the truly educated person. we dont need to use language that types like that use. we do not resort to vulgarities to make ourselves heard. we use strong, good sense in what we say to put people like them to shame.

MissyYee, u r marrying your bf and not his father, so ignore that "PROUD FREAK"

Take time to reconsider first. You can ROM and stay separately. Any way you got to ROM one day. so you ROM first, stay separately then when your flat come, move to the flat.

It's better for you to stay with you dad, rather then living with that crazy proud freak.

I pity your bf and his mother. I don't think you will be happy if you stay in your bf's house.

MissyYee,

Trust me, u'll be able to provide for your family Wayyyyy better than him, that one no doubts. The older generation build their pride around things which may not be as consequential, he probably hangs around a very small group to actually feel rather proud of himself. By all means show him respect, but also learn to tell pple when they are bullshittin and tell them straight up what u think.

U know, I'll have a field day if I were to speak to him... U dun have to put down yourself nor stay low to show a person due respect... Sometimes just telling him that u dun wish to expose him for the shallow person that he is, is already a statement in itself.

scope_guy

Hweebs,

This girl has a super sensitive trait... it's very important to find out more about her to decide what she 'left out' in her version of tales.

I got a red eye, I need to take a rest. Ciao.

missyyee

Please feel free to ask any questions regarding this issue.

And thanks all for the encouragement and suggestions.

scope_guy

MissYee,

This issue is not important. You are the importance. I am injured and recovering... so I can't deal with you.

You see, certain situations are constructed and presented to and by different sets of people.

It's not something that your direct answers can provide. ^.^ I read this issue you are presenting, the real issue is still about you, and you need to be 'known'.

Basically, you have a personality flaw hinted by a reading of being over-sensitive. It may have something to do with your background. I am not sure, but I know your issue is mostly because of your personality. Take it easy.

But I do think you might have to postpone your ROM. Cases like yours, without really meeting the One will usually have a slew of conflicts on the cards.

Please go on with the forumers. I need to sleep now.

hweebs

take care, scope! not sure if she is oversensitive though, emotional abuse can be quite jialat too.

missy,

you need advice/ ways to deal with your future FIL, or are you just looking for opinions on whether to postpone ROM or not? If you are not looking for advice on FIL, then I'll leave it to you: you know what is happening, and you will know how you want to deal with it
if u need advice then i will give.

For your ROM thingy...can u2 afford to ROM then rent flat outside first? haha, can rent near your father so his SIL can go watch soccer conveniently :p I think it's quite common for couples to do that nowadays...most of the frens who i know rents a place first becoz flat not ready or lease for their condo tenant not up...so i don't know...this sounds like win-win, unless there is the $ issue lah. What do you think?

missyyee

<u>Scope Guy (scope_guy)</u> and <u>hweebs (hweebs)</u>,

I'm not sure if I'm oversensitive in this issue. But I have to admit that as time goes by, I'm more wary of his Father.

I'm writing here not only to hear suggestions but also an outlet for me to 'vent' these frustrations.

I'm not finding ways to deal with him because I know that in time to come, our contact will be minimised once I have my own place.

We can afford to rent a place but we are very choosy when it comes to location, and rent is steep these days.

I will be discussing with BF on whether to delay ROM soon. Really do hope that things will turn out fine.

reddyredlee

missyyee: I feel that you should not rush into ROM.

I have similar family background like you. My HB family is considered well-to-do. Like May, their wealth kinda intimidated me and I chose to go along with the flow, for the fear that they might just look down on my family.

But ultimately your own family is the one that will be there for you through your ups and downs. They will be there to support you whenever you need them. So never ever let your FIL put your family down. Keep him in check.

Remember this is your wedding. You may consider your PILs opinions but you can choose to reject them.

Last but not least, nurture your BF to stand up on his own. If he does not learn to stand up on his own, you may suffer in future if clashes between your FIL and you happen again.

hi missyyee

nope, you are not oversensitive. there're only so much you could put up, esp. for your beloved dad. like may and powder, i would not hesitate to tear down the masked arrogance and put it back in its proper place - in a tasteful manner.

i suspect you held back certain retorts.... partially because of your bf? as much as he wants to protect his mum from unwarranted physical abuse, i find that staying Silence would not be helpful in such instances... it only breeds new versions of that terror in his father, don't you think so?

btw, what exactly do you fear abt his father if the ROM is postponed?

I do not quite agree for TS to rebuke the FIL. WTF is the husband doing enduring all these shit? He is a whimp to allow his father's bully behavior to go on. 1st on his mum, then on him and now on his wife.

TS wrote : "Some of you may question why didn't my BF voiced out. Reason being my FIL was once very abusive. Every time he feels frustrated or angry, he will vent his anger on the poor Mother physically and verbally. My BF who dotes on his Mother a lot, suffered in silence as well."

That is the main key why his behavior went uncheck all these yrs. Do you think TS can singlehandedly change things? Why make her the villian to do what the husband should have done all the long. He needs to wake up and protect those the love and cares for.

hweebs

missy,

If your bfren had also found his father difficult, then he will understand where you are coming from. All the best ya!

missyyee

<u>Reddy Lee (reddyredlee)</u>, <u>vios (vios)</u> and <u>MiLo On e RoCkS (miloice)</u>

Reddy, thanks for the kind advice. Knowing someone who went through similar situation allows me to see the picture better.

Vios, I agree with you but I did not voice out much because I will not understand the fear my BF and his mother went through.

There's not much to fear with regards to the delay. Just that because FIL tends to be bossy and always jumping into assumptions.

Milo, my BF is not someone who can tolerate all these. I believe he witnessed the abuse once and was badly affected by it. He is not worried on fighting (not physically) his Father but on his vulnerable Mother.

missyyee

Just for the record,

Before we were applied for a flat, we seeked our parents' opinion.

His Father was perfectly fine with us applying to stay in the East while we've been staying and living in the West all our lives. So we (excitedly) applied.

Who knows one fine day, FIL showed my BF a lot of brochures on resale flats near his area and insisted on paying the COV for us if necessary. My BF's attitude wasn't fantastic that day and told his Father that since we like the area, and we are the applicants, why not? His Father got very mad and ordered him to move out of his place within 3 months!

I remembered myself crying because I was very worried. His mother called me several times in the day and cried over the phone, asking me if I can give up the flat and go along with his Father's wishes. I told her I cannot.

Eventually, I went to his Father, coaxed and pacified him, telling him that my BF didn't mean it. It was then, the Father 'forgave' my BF.

At that point of time, though I was equally mad at FIL for his unreasonable anger, I gave in because MIL cried and I know that BF was very upset seeing his Mother shed tears for him..

- as long as FIL is not forking out a single cent for ROM celebration, why care?

- is FIL a physical abuser on a frequent basis? am really surprised no one in his family finds the need for some sort of prevention, cos Silence certainly wouldn't help.

missyyee

<u>vios (vios)</u> and <u>May Ong (kittenpie)</u>

Yep, the money used is solely from our savings. So I'm not THAT worried. I don't think he is a physical abuser on a frequent basis. According to my BF, he 'tamed' down a lot.

Yes... My close aunt told me the same thing. It's a sad thing that is happening in a family when children are grown ups, and have no financial burdens. But I'm advised by my family not to comment too much.

karvna

@MissyYee:

You'd better seriously consider if you want to be with him. Postpone your ROM indefinitely...

scope_guy

Hweebs,

I have a pic there at my blog, just go see my red eye. It's bad... bad news. LOL~

She's definitely the sensitive type so far given her response. It's a hidden trait and will be a very tricky situation she'd put herself into if she marries like that.

I don't mind gamble with you for a cup of copi on this one. LOL~

I need a walk...

MissyYee,

Let me give you a simple, but often omitted, advise: Marry whom you truly love.

So... What if this future FIL of yours were to be a manslaughter criminal on the run... and he loves to chew up female graduates? Hehehe~

Go ahead, you should postpone the ROM. You are not prepared, don't jump. That's the point.

Alternatively...

Marry lah, then divorce because of his father. Then you come here, I'd 'slam' you (as other forumers will accuse me) that you married not out of true love.

LOL~

Use your brain, my dear.

missyyee

<u>Scope Guy (scope_guy)</u>

Thanks for the analysis.

You are right, I need not be as affected because I'll be marrying my BF, whom I truly love.

And delaying the ROM is not entirely based on BF's Father. Partly because my Father is a traditional man who strongly believes that once married, the couple must stay together. I will try my luck in convincing my Dad that staying apart is perfectly fine.

And I hope your eye will recover soon! Use warm compress, might help.

Why can't you find a rental place outside, if finance is not an issue?

I also don't understand the part about your father being traditional .. ROM and cannot don't stay together?

It is not as if you are staying together and not married - which I can understand..

In SG context, ROM is legal but many traditional parents will only regard ceremonial as the real marriage..

When I ROM, I did not even inform my parents.. and no relatives were invited.. I just had a couple of friends as witness (min 2).

missyyee

Erm, my bad for not elaborating better earlier on.

My BF and I would love to save up the money for our flat when it's built.

I too wish that my Father is not that traditional. But I will try to persuade him.

I'm not having an AD, just a ROM, together with the tea ceremony.

reddyredlee

missyyee: Remember that even though you are marrying your bf, you are still subjected to his family internal troubles. To be frank, although it's easier said than done, your bf should start standing up against your FIL.

I fear for you actually because if your bf is going to take the backseat to avoid confrontation, you have to be the villain. And it is likely you might suffer more emotional blackmail if your FIL still continue the way he is now and that your MIL in order to pacify him will use the 苦肉计 to make you not go against him.

But really, please stand up for your family if you continue to receive snide remarks from your FIL on your family.

missyyee

<u>Reddy Lee (reddyredlee)</u>

I really appreciate the thoughtful comment.

It is definitely difficult to avoid the family issues, especially when I'm married to my BF. But as long my own family is 'spared', I'll try not to interfere.

I had a short talk with my close Aunt earlier on. She advised me on delaying the ROM until our flat is ready, at least when keys collection is due. I think this is the best solution for me to avoid more conflicts with his Father and for my BF to be trapped between his parents and me.

But I will still talk to my BF with regards to this.

scope_guy

Reddy,

You are inciting the boy boy to be infilial... LOL~

OK. Joke only.

MissyYee,

Interesting you are. I am... ahem, quite interested really to... witness your marriage life. Which is, I am quite hoping you quickly married. LOL~

Reddy said something which is quite true... In-laws could be an issue. But still, you are right, it's your BF you are marrying.

But... you may not have gotten my full meaning... Hmmm...

Tell me, MissyYee... Why do you think you are soooooo in love with your BF and you are sooooo wanting to marry him...

...and you are here so fed up... before you even married?

And it's because of what... a FIL... LOL~

Luckily, it's not 'the other woman'. LOL~

But then... are you really sure you are prepared, my dear?

Do you... know what I am saying?

Don't try your luck... with your father or your FIL or marriage. Try your luck if you got spare money in casinos... That's called, techincally, gambling.

In Chinese: å赌ä¹è¾“.

I don't want you to come back like some assholes here, telling me all the fvck family stories later on, how you can't take it, how your beloved boy boy has his dick screwing other women... when before you are married, you are already so sianz here.

And yes... I'd then piss you hard on the ass and 'acuse' you for marrying without being truly in love. 丑è¯å…ˆè¯´åœ¨å‰å¤´â€¦â€¦hehehehe~

You are a smart girl, you should know what I am driving at. LOL~ Good night.

My specialist gave me alot of eyedrops... I really going to 'drop' liaoz~ LOL~ Thanks, with your concerns, my red eye will end up brighter than the stars. LOL~

missyYee,

I realize that the way u or bfren handle problems is to avoid, appease, adjust n hope for the best... I personally think that sucks in handling your FIL... Giving in to pple like this isn't exactly the best way and since nobody puts him in his place, this fella will think he's bigger than he is. Well, good luck...

I'm pretty darn sure the troubles dun end there and there will be more to come... The truth is that he is unreasonable, and u should never expect unreasonable Pple to be reasonably ok just cos u took 2 steps back. It will never happen that way cos it has never happened that way.

If he abuses your MIL, then I would think the police should be called in... This is not a secret socie and physical abuse should not be tolerated. Besides, I have little respect for guys who can't protect women, especially their mother and wives n daughters...

So u might like to consider that he is Unlikely to protect u should your FIL attack u further one day. Sorry, the truth hurts and so will his reluctance to stand up against his own father.. And by this he doesn't even need to resort to violences, but to to Reason.

octo

Hi MissyYee,

Any reason why you guys want to rom so soon? Frankly I don't understand the rational behind rom and staying apart after rom. Why rom and then stay apart? Isn't it just like before rom, except that you guys are legally married?

yes, powder &amp; Reddy....
I was wondering why no one else was even pointing that out to TS.

The constant reason that it was to protect his mum is really a lame one. It doesn't stop the abuse at all and he cannot be 24/7 with the parents. Continuing to grow that monster in him isn't going to help at all.

Maybe she would not agree with the term whimpy but surely, he will not be able to protect her from his own father. This is very evident.

I second Powder's observation that your bf is and will be unable to protect you should his father attacks you one day. In fact, I asked yesterday if your bf has kept quiet throughout all the tauntings and if he expects you to keep quiet, but you didn't answer me. If yes, then you better not move in to your FIL's house.

youngmother

Aiyo... what a jialat situation... If I am you, I will postpone.

Haben get married already got comments on soccer watching, ROM venue and location of BTO flat. What if there is kids in future? Will he comment on the name of the child, which hospital u going to give birth at and the brand of the milk powder he drink? Wah... totally cannot imagine.

missyyee, do you think your FIL like you?

mrs_chew

To rom now or later, is not a big issue.

I find that how to deal with your future FIL is a really BIG issue.

If you both do not learn how to stand up against his nonsense, it will break up your marriage sooner or later.

I don't think it is right to assume that bf will not protect TS. It is just speculation - based on his nature?

Sometimes not speaking out against parents does not mean we cannot have our own rights and we do not stand for our own rights.

Some people are unreasonable in nature. No point arguing and reasoning. Let them say what they want to say - they could be happy. As long as it does not affect us and we know how to handle, not speaking up is not necessary bad.

Just another perspective.

This reminds me of a saying - what others think of me is none of my business. By extension, what others think of my wedding, my choice of accommodation, etc. is similarly none of my business. Of course nor theirs... As long as he doesn't actively interfere in your affairs, he can say what he wants. And even if he interferes you can always politely say no. Don't start serving sharp retorts to your fil from the start of your marriage. Your dad is a big boy he doesn't need you to stand up for him. Your future fil sounds like he is over compensating for his lack of confidence and achievements in life, why stoop to his level?

missyyee

<u>doLL (sgbabydoll)</u>

Though my BF did not stand up for me, he did not expect me to keep quiet. I chose to keep quiet because like what <u>sm (simpleman)</u> said, it could be his nature and for some crude and ridiculous comments, I chose to ignore. Of course, there were many times when I was overwhelmed with anger and rude shock that

<u>Shir (octo)</u>

Ideally, we intend to ROM earlier because our flat will be due in 2012 and we did not want to plan our wedding and renovation at the same time.

<u>Missy Missy (youngmother)</u>

I'm not sure how much he likes me but on normal days, he treats me alright.

<u>To all</u>

Many thanks for the attention paid.
I really appreciate all comments. And yes, I will learn to stand up for myself and my family.

youngmother

If he treats you alright then ok la... not too bad.

Probably the FIL has got severe mood swings in nature. But his mood swings seemed making people miserable. Especially the MIL seemed suffering the most. :S

Situation is still not too bad since yur BF sounds reasonable and willing to move out of the family with you. I am more worried for your MIL who is a living abuse under your FIL...

scope_guy

MissyYee,

What is there to stand up for? LOL~
Who are you to stand up against? LOL~

You still don't get it. Interesting...

You should get married, and find out... more.

"I don't think it is right to assume that bf will not protect TS. It is just speculation - based on his nature?"

Sm, its not just a speculation. It is already happening... she already gotten a taste of what it is going to be like. Its not just letting him say what FIL wants. This man threaten to kick his son out of the house to force an obedience to his sudden impromptu ideas. We are talking about big purchases here. It would be disastrous to let him sponsor the COV. Pretty sure he would be citing it as a reason in every dispute to pressurize them to give in future.

The family cannot always give in to this kind of last minute impromptu request that expect press button instant reaction. One has to be firm on things that they cannot compromise in. It doesn't mean literally fighting him. But, he cannot just let his wife eat the humble pie for him while his father continue his terror over the entire family and DIL.