Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

pancakes

Hi all BTB, just want to share with you a recent engagement party(a huge one with 35 tables!) that i just attended on the 28 Dec.

First of all, the food is not bad, i must say, and the ambience is great! I love the intelligent lightings.
Service is efficient and fast. Really nothing to complain.

And it so happens that Lynette Koh was the coordinator for the wedding. I wasn't friends of the bride or the groom but my mother is a friend of the mother of the groom's. Apparently, the groom resides in USA and the coordination was done between the mother of the groom, the bride and Lynette. Upon learning that i will be having my wedding at ST, she commented at Lynette's fantastic job of handling their wedding, even though they had a number of last minute changes, she handled them well and promptly, and is very accomodating to their requests. She also mentioned that they were initially worried as there was a change in coordinators, but their worries were for nothing.

Looks like my HTB and i didn't make the wrong choice after all, and we are really looking forward to our Wedding! I hope this helps you all BTB out there to put your mind at ease!

rosewater

I've changed my coordinator from a senior sales manager to Valerie. All I can say is Valerie is a a great coordinator. She is accomodating, supportive, gives good advices. Although she is very busy as alot of couples look for her, she always reply emails.

Initially I was very disappointed with Sheraton towers service as I find them very rigid. But now I'm very happy to b a bride at Sheraton.

to many sales coordinator, it's just a job to them. But to us, it's once a lifetime experience only. I suppose we must stress that. I only have to meet Valerie twice. The rest are corresponded via email as it serves as a black and white n gives her time to reply. Overall, im thankful that I've changed to Valerie and most imptly after what koh had shared in this thread.

strikingreality

I just went for the wedding show yesterday and met up with Valerie, quite a nice lady.

Just wondering, if Sheraton v rigid in its perks? Are there anything we can bargain for??

Btw, Sheraton has 4 themes now. red and black, gold and black, white and gold, and pure white.

We were quite attracted by the package and have made a tentative booking. Still shopping around further.

weddingjoy

Hi Kass,

I wanted to drop by yesterday to take a look. but my bf was last minute recalled to work in the morning. i've placed a deposit with them last Oct. So now they have 4 themes? Would you like to share with me how the red/black and gold/black looks like? Or do you have pictures to share?

Also, did they do up the Topaz room becoz i booked that room for my wedding.

Sorry for so many questions. And yes, my coordinator is Valerie too..

strikingreality

The pictures are in my bf's phone. I need him to download them first. Will let u know once I have them.

http://www.sheratonsingapore.com/pdf/From%20Catering%20Sales%20-%20Wedding%20Themes.pdf

They also did up the Topaz room, but I didn't go in to see, as it is too small for my requirements.

Since u signed up already, u should ask Valerie when are the next weddings in the Topaz room, then you can go down like around 5-6pm to see the actual set up.

Is Valerie prompt in replying emails etc? My first email to the general email address went unanswered up till now..., so first impressions weren't that great. But HTB asks me to consider them again, that's why went down to the wedding show yesterday...

weddingjoy

Alamak...i should have gone down on my own to take some photos.

I should say Sheraton was not as efficient in follow-ups as most hotels. Similarly, Valerie wasn't very prompt in replies too. But i would get her replies in 2-3 days. I reckon she is really busy.

However, what lured me into signing with them are:

1) The food is reasonably good
2) The pricing is cheaper than my other hotels I'm eyeing; Regent, Four Seasons and Fullerton.
3) The hotel follows the standards of a 5* hotel. It was always very pleasant stepping in.
4) They already had a good package to start with, hence not much things to bargain for.
5) I'm holding my soleminization prior to dinner and i fell in love with the waterfall area. It provides an alternative to the usual function rooms offered by other hotels.

I can understand the anxiety of most brides when their co-ordinators are not responding to them. However, ultimately, the entire show is run by the banquet mgr and so far, as mentioned by other brides here, there are no complains with the mgr...so i guess we can be assured more or less on the day itself.

Now, I'm waiting for my food tasting and selection of favors and invites and that will not happen until June to July. So im waiting to see how's her reminders and follow ups.

Hope this is a good gauge for you.

occty

Kass, I've missed the wedding show, can you send me pix of the new theme once u got it? I've seen the black/red and white/gold theme only... Would be so keen to see the black/gold!!!

I've juz signed up with Sheraton. Previously I've quite -'ve feel abt the service level of Sheraton while coordinating with LK. Almost gave up the hotel coz of the bad experience but my Hubby ask me back off a while as he knew tat me being in CS line, I can be very yim Jim abt CS. Luckily I managed to find excuse to meet another person for discussion. Met SW, tat changes my experience. That's y I've signed up with them, they are not as rigid, depending on ur sales coordinator. So far the requests we've made,if reasonable,the hotel would accept it.

Just sharing my experience.
cross my finger, I hope I'll be assigned to good banquet mgr.

Btw, can Sheraton brides advise how many wedding favor can we choose? Are we restricted to only 1 type?

pancakes

Oh dear, OCCTY, im gettin confused as LK seems to be getting mixed reviews from the crowd. Care to share what was your experience, as i am getting slighly worried. I had quite a good experience with her, and so did my mum's friend. So just getting abit confused and concerned now. She is still very prompt in her replies, usually within the day, and i did ask her to send me the pictures of the different themes setup after the show as i wasn't able to attend, and almost immediately, she sent me an email. I was quite impressed by the efficiency.

jannchic

Hi, care to share more about the reviews of ST? What about the coordinators? I called last week enquiring about wedding lunch and Shirley quoted me $1168, same as dinner package! When i went to the wedding show on Sat, Lynnette attended to me and the price quoted was different again at $828!! What a big difference! It made me feel that Shirley isn't even aware of their pricings and is really not professional. Luckily, i visited the show, if not i may have been cheated! Lynnette seems very friendly and accomodating to our requests, and we felt very comfortable with her but how is her follow up? My htb and i are still deciding but we really like the food and ambience.

strikingreality

OCCTY >> I have a hotel industry background, hence I understand what you mean about being very particular about service. Lousy lousy service will really break the deal for me...
whereas, if the service is fantastic, I will still consider them even if some things/perks are not as good.

Who is SW? I only recognise LK.

Okay, I'll try to post the pictures once I have them!

occty

Kass-hi5! To me, service is really more important, even though how gd the perks are, i can't bring myself to take in lousy svc. SW is the person mentioned in Jules post.

Ashlee- As long as you are comfy with LK, pls do not think too much abt other pple experiences.
sometimes it may be just me or few BTB who met the person at the wrong time. Since you are very satisfied with her servicing so far, enjoy the process of your wedding planning. since you have the photo of the different wedding theme, would you mind sharing with me? please send to [email protected]

pancakes

OCCTY, i guess you are right, i must have faith in her. She's really quite good so far, no complains, guess im just worrying too much now.
Will try sending you tonight or tml night when im back at home! Its in my laptop.
Saw in the earlier post by Jannchic about Shirley, not a very good impression too, guess it really depends.

JannChic, like what OCCTY has mentioned earlier, it really depends, guess everyone has their own flaws and bad days, cannot really judge. In my own opinion, i guess Shirley seems quite unprofessional not knowing their hotel's products.

weifung89

I was at the wedding show as well :)
My co is Jimmy Xu & he is very prompt in replying emails thou.. Hmmm. The black & red theme is pretty!
One thing good about Sheraton is their intelligent lightings I guess. Pretty sum up to a nice ballroom depsite being L-shape& also the different level ceilings. Im holding 35tables-40tables. I signed up w them last Dec but I could say they dun have much perks...
I asked for free flow beer last year but now they got this perks when I went to their wedding show -__-" Quite regretted to sign up but no choice.. the date I chose alot hotels no more alr.

anzel

Anyone knows how we can customise the intelligent lightings? Can we have different tables different lightings the way it was done up at the wedding show?

Also, anyone requested for more than 70% of confirmed attendance wedding invitation cards directly from AWT and made to pay for them afterwards? =S Cos we can't really estimate the no. of guests so early right?

anzel

Also, wondering how many bottles of wine and barrels of beer to cater for 34 tables? Guests are 70% colleagues and 30% relatives.

dash80

Our coordinator allows flexibility on the invites and we took more than 70% of confirmed attendance...

In fact, our attendance were only confirmed 1 week before the actual day...

However, our coordinator is Michele, and she is no longer with Sheraton...

Nevertheless, I think Sheraton is quite flexible in this aspect and the complimentary parking as well...

You can try asking...

occty

Hi brides,
Any idea what hotel can swop for if we don't take the wedding favors?

Thinking of getting wedding favor myself..

weddingjoy

Hi Weifung,
U been to the show? mind to describe the gold and black theme....it sounds very glamourous.

From my coordinator, she says she will follow up with emails coming nearer to our AD. Eg, 2+ months prior, she will call or email you to select invites and favours. Prob this is the time to inform her you need more invites.

As for complimentary carpark, on the AD, we can ask from the banquet manager. My coordinator says definitely no problem in giving more coupons when i insist she put it into the contract.

OCCTY - we can select more than 1 favour. Normally they will allow 2 different kinds. But as for placement, standard, they will put alternate design on the guest seating.

occty

Joy, what I meant is not to take their wedding favor at all... Was thinking of other ideas if it can be swop to something valuable like suite stay or wines...

My additional complimentry parking was put into my signed contract. As well as well as all other items negotiated were put in contract wor...

weddingjoy

OCCTY - Oops sorry, i was mistaken
. I did ask the same thing too. But they said favours are very small cost items. Even if we do not take them, they will not be able to exchange for anything else. I ask twice on separate occasions and she gave the same reply. Btw how many nights of suite stay did they give in the recent wedding show?

Most of the things discussed and promised were placed in the contract. But things like teacup sets (tea ceremony), ang pao box and addtl carpark coupons she did not put in, saying it will definitely be provided on the day should we require. I took her word lor...

I was initially very relaxed about the whole affair but after reading brides' comments here made me abit anxious...am i too lax? <stressed>

anzel

Anyone knows if the only stage decor will be the fairy lights? Will there be flower stands or like those hotels have some big arch frame to hang candles or flowers etc.? Or basically, will there be stage decor in line with the themes we choose for the tables?

The wedding show only had the fairy lights, not sure how nice they will actually look cos the fairy lights look kinda too simple...

anzel

Hi again,

Would also like to know if anyone has checked out the three wine suppliers of Sheraton and has any opinions on any of them or any particular recommendation? I will also check them out myself but just wanted to hear others' experiences, if any. Thanks!

weifung89

Hi Joy, yepps :) I went to the wedding show.
The black &amp; Red is very elegant.. but depends on your families actually. Only the VIP table is pretty.. the gust tables so-so only. Thats what I think luh.. but the intelligent lights make it perfect thou. After that, all off light alr, cant see anything. HAHA

Hi Andie,
I tried the wine at the wedding show. I think not bad.. but most likely I will get from Carrefore bah. The unused wines can refund within 15days of purchase. Thats mean dun need sell off if you got alot of left overs since ST only giving 1wine per confirmed table.

carolinn

Hi All!

Sorry to disturb,

Have some wines leftover from my wedding luncheon ended early January. They are Pierre Jean Merlot (France) - 2008. Have about 33 bottles left. and some Pierre Jean White Wine left too.

Not too sure but heard this is the wine that Goodwood Park serves during wedding banquets. If you BTBs and GTBs are interested can let me know yah?

I am selling at $16 a bottle, but if you are getting them in bulk can negotiate slightly. Self collection.

Please email me at carolinn80@gmail as I do not check forum that often. Cheers!

anzel

Hi Weifung,

Thanks for your reply. If you get from Carrefour, it's not worth it right? Unless you got corkage waiver? Otherwise $25++ corkage makes it not worth getting the wines from anywhere else other than the supplier liao...

weifung89

Hi Andie,

My coordinator wavied off all the corkage fee for me.. I buy from anywhere else also wavied off :)
I managed to neg this from him

carebearz

Just attended a dinner at Sheraton and and I gotta say the service was really bad. The servers were pretty 'chor lor', kept banging the utensils and cultery, creating an atmosphere like not unlike Chinese restaurants. When they tried to serve the orh nee and coz it was too sticky, they actually bang the ladle several times against the small bowls to get the dessert in!

Food wise was hit and miss. Some dishes were good while some were pretty lousy.

weddingjoy

Hi Weifung, I think i saw the red/black theme last year. I'm more interested to find out more about the new gold/black theme which some other forumers said they saw. Hope it looks good too.

YOu are very lucky to manage to waive off the corkage charge. No matter how we negotiates, we just couldn't waive it off... you lucky thing.

anzel

Yes Weifung, you are really lucky!
Thanks for sharing though. BTW, where did everyone print their wedding cards? I'm thinking of hotstamping. Any recommendations? So far, Hi-Tech seems to be the cheapest. Anyone knows of any cheap hotstamping printers in Bras Basah? Or heard of Achieve Design and Print?

weifung89

Im looking for that as well! But how much you think will cost?
Joy, my wedding is on 13th Nov :) Guess I will only be going for FT in Aug or something. Let us know how your FT is like once you tried! So we can have an idea what to choose as well (:)

weddingjoy

Hi Weifung, no problem. Should i have gone for my food tasting, i will share with everyone on the taste. Hope by then you are still checking this thread...haha

Also, need some advice here from Sheraton brides. We have been given 2 contacts for the invitation cards. Is there a specific time given for selection or we can pop by anytime to select the design and proceed with printing. Coordinator suggest 2 months before AD. I thought i want some allowance.

anzel

Joy, I think 2 months before AD abit short. My AD in mid-May, I chose my cards mid-Jan. Better to choose early in case they have no stock and can wait up to 3 weeks cos shipment don't come in all the time. Then you can also take your time to design your card after you know what it really looks like. Got a lot to choose from!

Also, we can only choose from AWT, T-dragon is if you want to go there and print. So far my coord (LK) says Hi-Tech is the cheapest for hotstamping (dunno if it is also cheapest for printing). I am lazy to go Bras Basah...wondering if should go Hi-Tech straight. ;p

Anyone here had to pay extra if you get cards more than 70% of your attendance? My coord gave me a few extra after much bargaining. But I need more cos mainly colleagues attending, so 1 pax 1 card mah... extra cost again. Haiz...Weifung, you got corkage waiver really lucky!!!

I will let u know after my food tasting in March!

weifung89

I will check back this thread often cuz I think Im the last to be ST brides holding dinner this year! HAHA. So will need all of your advices on alot of things!! (:)

weddingjoy

Hi Anzel - Thanks for the great advice. I too wanted to select early in case of any hiccups in between. You mention there's alot of designs to choose from...Wow. That's good news coz those designs we saw during wedding shows are urmmm...disappointing.

Im a little confused here. We can go to AWT or T-Dragon to do the selection. Once we selected the design and indicated the qty we want, they will give us only the invite cards right. The inserts we will have to either print from them or print from other printers at our own cost. Correct me if i'm wrong

Many mention hotstamping. Is this necessary?

weddingjoy

Anzel, when we sign the agreement, we did not consider much if 70% is sufficient. Mainly our guest list is not ready yet, so we still can't gauge how many we require.

But in your case, since you are certain you will exceed 70% qty, you will prolly wana voice out to your coord. i think your reason is pretty a valid one. I don't think they turn down such a request bah...

anzel

Joy, oh well, our coord gave us some extra cards liaoz but still not enough. About 20+ short. She say at best she try to get discounted price for us to go buy if need be. But we think we will just give specially designed cards for our helpers ~ about 20+. More personalised anyway. BTW, I just collected my wedding cards, still researching on cheap printers. Probably can't get much cheaper but I find it quite fun to research around anyway. Will share my experience/findings once I finalised.

As for wedding cards, ONLY AWT is free. T-Dragon is just that Sheraton tie up with them for special printing/hotstamping price. T-Dragon cards NOT free. Anywayz, T-Dragon is not the cheapest for printing and think they take a bit long (check other forum threads), so you may want to look around when you've decided what type of printing you want. If it's hotstamping, then wait for my news! I'm hotstamping on my card itself cos I don't want inserts. ;p

As for the types of printing, few things to consider:

1) Inserts needed? - Some cards you can print on the card itself, some you need insert, or some you can have option of print on card OR insert (those traditional open-up type). But ribbons/gold strings all NOT provided by AWT, you need to get yourself, maybe buy from printer. Some say Hi-Tech provide free gold strings but not sure if they still do. In any case, tying the ribbons come at a cost, I think.

2) No. of sides to print - Some cards you need to print on 2 sides (cover and inside), the one I chose is 3 fold but is folded in such a way it opens to one LOONG side, so printing is done on a single side but in 3 sections - end up, I still have cover page, 1 English page and 1 Chinese page! *beams* Usu if you print one side, it's cheaper than 2 sides no matter what. =)

3) Type of printing - in order of cost, a) flat printing with matt ink, b) hotstamping, still flat but ink is shiny (gold/silver/sometimes bronze), c) emboss (protruding shiny ink). Different printers charge differently, so must decide on the type of printing you want, then get quotation. Also, usually if more than 1 colour of ink, higher cost. Some printers also charge more if you want to include little icons (like those Precious Moments cartoons), but it's a one-off cost of say, $10 per icon for the whole lot of cards, so not that bad la.

Yep, hope this info helps! =) When is your AD?

dash80

I used insert for my wedding cards...

I went to
JB for my printing, the price is really more affordable...

We went to T&amp;T at City Sq..

Also, we think that AWT cards are very nice and Shirley is a nice and patient lady...

Enjoy your cards selection

dash80

T&amp;T does not do hot stamping...they only print insert.

But, there is a shop doing hot stamping at city sq as well...

It is called Nagamas (if i get the name right

But when I queried the other time, they did mention that you have to cater for spare cards in case there is any error...

I finally settled for insert printing as I can print spare and not having to increase the no of my wedding cards...

You can try calling Nagamas, the contacts and website on their name card are as follows:

www.weddingcards2u.com
www.nagamasprinting.com

07-2260228, 07-2227228

This is the contact for City Sq br

weddingjoy

Anzel>> Wow...thanks for your detailed explanation on the types of printing services available. Now i have a better idea of what to expect for my printing. And I didn't know T Dragon doesn't offer free cards. If that's the case, i will prob go to AWT to choose my free cards. My HTB already said he doesn't believe in spending extras for invites since he thinks that ppl will throw away the cards once the dinner is over. But depending on design of the card, i may print my inserts in JB too since my bridal shop is taken from JB as well.

After hearing from you, im getting excited to go and select my cards already. At least with time allowance, i can think of what type of printing i can do with my design. My AD is Aug 10.

I like your idea of customizing a different design for your helpers. These helpers will more likely to appreciate your thoughts and will keep them as momentos..

weddingjoy

Bryce>> Thanks, i will look forward to my card selection day. Will prob go after CNY. Do i need to make an appt with Shirley prior to going down? And do i need to bring my contract along with me during selection?

And do you mind to share with you how much you pay for your insert printing in T&amp;T?

sweetestagape

Hi all, side track abit - may I find out whether your banquets are 10 or 12 to a table? Mine is 12 to a table, and my future mom-in-law attended a banquet at Sheraton that is 10 to a table. She felt 12 might be too squeezy if the table size is the same, wondering if any of you know it will be a different table size + food catered is for 12 not 10. Thanks!!

anzel

Joy, it's good to call them first. And I think you don't need to bring your contract. Just quote hotel and wedding date, they will open an invoice for you. And Shirley is very efficient. I asked her for extra cards and thought I will discuss with my Sheraton wedding coord a few days later when I meet her, but Shirley called her that very day and made it seem like I was sneakily getting extra cards without my coord's consent...haha...sigh...

Jia Jia, mine will be 12 per table. Did your future MIL attend the wedding at the function room? Otherwise, main banquet hall I think use 6-ft instead of 5-ft tables, hence 12 pax instead of 10. Since the contract lists 12 pax, I don't think the food will be meant only for 10? Will let you know more after my food tasting in Mar! =))