Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

littlepanda81

Hi Carol/Sassy_Girl, I got it from Lynch, the supplier that sheraton has recommended. U may find out more from them. No worries.

Hi Piglet, u are back! Hee. where are your AD photos?? My turn this thursday..very excited.. a lot of small small things still undone.. need to catch up these few days. Agree with Piglet, if u have the time, settle other big items asap.. if not, u be stress.. haha...just like my aunties, mum in law, last min buy clothes..now they very kan cheong..
Happy preparation.

Hanxi, maybe you should email sheraton co-ordinator? My package is the old one.. I think they have change the package.. its good to have the updated copy from them.

simplebridetobe

i PP!

Thanks for your email! It is very helpful! Btw, you got your wine from Lynch on consignment? So cannot return those unopen bottles? I don't know how much wine to order for my 8 tables?? Very small amt of guests but its a Sat dinner.....

Sassy_girl, my AD is jus 3 weeks before yours! But i am extremely slow in my preparation...like a snail...haven found a BS yet....

I hope almonddust has had a fantastic wedding! can't wait for her to come back n share share>!<

satinchris

I'm going for my food tasting soon. Am indecisive with some of the menu items. Hope to get some opinions. Thanks! : )

1) Steamed Star Garoupa 'Hong Kong' Style or
Steamed Canadian Cod with Garlic &amp; Spring Onion Sauce (or pan-fried better?)

2) Li Bai's Herbal Emperor Chicken or
Marinated Chicken smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaves

3) Stewed Ee-Fu Noodles with Chives &amp; Mushrooms or
Fish Noodles with Prawns 'Japanese Style'

I've tasted fish noodles before at Copthorne Waterfront and wasn't too keen coz it had a slight fishy smell. Wonder how's the Sheraton's standard with this dish??

yc_mw

Hi satinchris,

For me, I chose the following:
1) Steamed Canadian Cod.

2) For chicken, I tink is Marinated Chicken smoked with JT leaves.

3) Fish noodles.

For my banquet lunch, the Cod Fish received raves, the fish noodles were so-so.. Juz something different lor.

mzlt7879

Hi PP, Ok i will go over to say hi to you if I see u ok...

Hi carol,
I believe you can go in and take a look at the Topaz room..i only know the bride's parents cos they are my neighbour but not the bride... but I dont think they mind one. They are very nice..

almonddust

Hello Gals!!!

Thanks everyone for your well-wishes and blessings!

I'm so blessed to have an awesome wedding! WOW... What can i say, it was fantastic and I had a lot of fun and very good memories. Only problem is the Hotel promised to give us a decorated grand stairway with nice ribbons but it wasn't delivered on that day. Other than that, I'm pretty happy with their service (my banquet manager was Murugan, and he was efficient &amp; great!) and the food. I'm happy that even the vegetarians enjoyed the vegetarian food and said it was one of the best vege food they had for wedding. Other guests said the food was good too.

Now that I'm back, I hope to share and contribute back to this forum as I've benefited from it in the past. If I've missed out any questions, pls forgive me and just ask me again ok!

I got my wines from this supplier called Lynch. Need to call Clare (very nice lady boss, her hubby is french) before you go for wine tasting. They carry french wines and we got this wine called Shiras (sorry I can't rembr how to spell but think it's pronounced this way). Very smooth and not too siap-siap (dry). Cost me $19.80/bottle. No consignment allowed. My guests enjoyed it.

As mine was a Saturday lunch so the menu was different. Fish was not too bad during my food tasting, just that by the time I ate it during the actual day, I could taste the fishy smell (maybe cold liao that's why).

Hi Hanxi, I had 18 tables, they gave me Grand Ballroom 1 &amp; 2. I'm very happy to have this Ballroom as the ceiling is high and pillarless for my guests to witness my Solemnisation Ceremony. Think you can arrange a discussion with the wedding coordinator to see if they can package something for you.

sassy_girl

almonddust, thanks for sharing! Any idea if Lynch accept cr card for wine purchases?

Can also share with us your AD pics when it's ready? I'm sure most of us would like to take a look at the ballroom decor.

Btw ex ST brides who are still reading this thread... have any of you arranged with your coordinator for special rate to book the guest rooms for your relatives and friends on your wedding nite? If so, can share with me the price that ST offered you?

Carol, I just started my gown designing last wkend coz I plan to have my PS in July. Think most BS need ard 3 mths if you wana MTM. So better confirm your BS soon so you'll have enough time to do up your gowns.

simplebridetobe

Hi Sassy_girl,

Thanks for your advice. Will try to confirm my BS asap cos my FTB cannot decide if he wants to MTM his suit, so I still waiting for him to make up his mind before I began my BS hunting....then can bargain for better package mah if we know wat we wan.

Almonddust, welcome back!!! &amp; CONGRATS!!! You sound very happy, very glad for you! Must share your nice nice photos ok!

Hi May,

Thanks &amp; maybe will see you on Thursday too! If you happen to see a couple scooping around, dats me and my HTB haha! Anyone has used Topaz Room before?? Cos I think it has a pillar on the side in the middle room, dear May, can help me check if the pillars will block the view of the guests during march-in?? Cos we intend to have the stage at one end of the room rather than have it in the middle room so that we can have a longer march-in and in-room reception, more cozy.

mzlt7879

Hi Carol, sure I will check out for u....I will be w my sister in law bcos hubby out on business trip. But im not sure if my neighbour is having chinese dinner or western fare...shall try to find out!

simplebridetobe

Wow thank you so much May!

For those who have tried the Canadian Cod Fish, is it a whole fish or fish slices??? Hav anyone tried to change the dessert to something out of the menu like mango pudding??

Last but not least, anyone knows where to get cheap n good WG + EG + Suit only package?? No need PS, no need MUA etc etc. If hav lobang, pls share share or email me @ [email protected]

yc_mw

Hi Carol,

I tink the Cod fish is served in whole. As for dessert.. I changed mine to Mango Sago. :D

As for gowns, I took mine with Silverlining (WG + EG + Men Suit), for $2,980. HTHs!

simplebridetobe

Thank you piglet! Glad that the Cod Fish is served as whole cos FIL particular abt presentation so perferred groupa cos its definitely a "whole fish". Now, can persuade him to try Cod fish since its aso a whole fish hahaha! I think Cod fish tastes better ya, steamed or pan fired!

simplebridetobe

I went to check out the black &amp; red wedding theme of PP's wedding banquet yesterday.

PP, you are beautiful!!!
I saw your photo(think you still in your room when I was there around 6.30pm). I am sure your husband saw two suspicious looking ppl scooping around the ballroom. Hope we din give him a fright haha!

Your photos look really good, too bad i din get to see you in real person but I am sure you look stunning.
I love your red roses ya, very classy n romantic!

Remember to share your photos when they are ready!

mzlt7879

Hey Carol, I was there on thurs too but was late due to jam. I guess I didnt see anyone lurking around so u prob left..I also didnt see PP...

Anyway the topaz room decor was also great..I like the flowers that the used. Not sure issit red orchid...

simplebridetobe

Hi May,

Yup, it was raining that day.... nobody was at Topaz Room except for ppl setting up the place when i was there. I like the deco too, esp the VIP table with the red orchid, but i feel that there isn't a lot of "red color/deco" on the guests' tables.

What was your wedding theme when you had your banquet in sheraton? Can share?

A bit worried abt my march-in now as i realised most couple using the Topaz Room always put the stage in the middle for a short march-in, rather than putting the stage at the end of the room.

littlepanda81

Hi gals, our wedding finally over! hee.. Hey Carol, I should have given u my contact no...then u can come up to my suite to view.. for your reference. I was doing my makeup at 6.30. I went down only at 7.30..

Thanks for the compliments. U meant u saw my album or the LCD photos? Everything went well except for the first march in.. the live feed was not working. The relatives on the other side did not see us walking in.. a bit not happy.so I feedback.. and the co-ordinator might give us a high tea treat as apologies.

Well, I think we have really enjoyed that day although the weather is not really good..a few glitches..haha. and I got a lot of good compliments...hehe

Sure, will sharethe photos with all of u. hehe. So u guys have multiply account?

simplebridetobe

Hi PP,

CONGRATS!

Glad everything went well. I saw your LCD photos, you look very pretty! Too bad i din get to see you in person cos I think you will look very sexy in your black n gold EG.

I don't have a multiply ac leh, hee paiseh me not very IT savvy ya.

josvin

Any brides have photos of the ballroom to show me? I am torn between Sheraton and IC. I have around 22-24 tables only. Anyway, there is a wedding show coming up in April for ST(for those BTB who are keen)

josvin

Thanks Almonddust. It's lovely and looks grand. But I thought they have only 1 ballroom and one small fuction room that can take up to 12 tables? I am actually looking for a weekday dinner. Do you have more pictures to share with me? You can email me : [email protected] if you don't mind. Thanks.

almonddust

Hi Josvin,
My photographer didn't take a lot of the pictures of the Ballroom surrounding, instead he took a lot of close-up pics which may not be too useful for your reference.

Rather I decided to share with you my floor plan as this might be good for your decision planning.

I only use their Ballroom 1 &amp; 2. Do note that the Ballroom 1 &amp; 2 can accomodate up to 22 tables. From the floor plan, if you use Ballroom 1 to 4, the Hotel will open up the divider to link Ballroom 2 with 3, and it will be an L-shape setting.

Do have a good discussion with your Hotel coordinator before signing the contract on which Ballroom they are offering you. All the best!

633312.jpg

littlepanda81

Hi Gals, I agree with Almonddust.
Have a good talk with the co-ordinator and also work out the perks.. esp the alcohol.. I have around 28 tables. hence, I use the L shape settings. Good and bad.. L shape needs Live feed.. and of coz, the good thing is much more spacious and longer march in..

My live feed was not working well at the first march in.. after which still alright..

Josvin, you should attend their wedding show and have a feel on the setup.

Almonddust, where are your photos? hehe.. out in multiply yet??

mzlt7879

Hi carol... yep I like the floral setup at e VIP table..mine wasnt so nice then. I had red roses then..and using black theme.. you k view my photos in multiply (destinee7879) but not much photos of e setup though..I had 39+2 then.

kmkx

Hi Almonddust,

We'll be having a sat wedding lunch at Sheraton grandball room in July 08 as well. Appreciate if you can kindly share with us your schedule for the day, as we found it to be rather rush. haha..
Glad to know that you had a great wedding!!

Btw, how to get the live feed at the ballroom?

simplebridetobe

Hi May,

I tut red roses will be nicer than red orchid for the floral setup at the VIP table?? I wonder if Sheraton updates their wedding theme everynow n then.... hmmm must check with them....

agunesu

Hi Piglet, almonddust &amp; PP,

Congrats to all of you!!! Glad to hear that all went well for your BIG DAY.

I haven't been back to the forum for a while...haha..especially since my wedding is in Sep. But i guess time to get organised..cos time reli flies.

Can you all share your banquet pics with me? Would like to see the various themes...

Thx in advance!

almonddust

Hi KM &amp; KX,

Mine started with :
- 8am Hb reached my mum's place &amp; gate crashing,
- 9am Leave for hb's parent house,
- 10am Proceed to our matrimonial home,
- 10:30am To hotel for makeup touch-up and tea ceremony,
- 1pm ROM Ceremony and lunch banquet.

Will yours be this way?

We told the Banquet Manager to arrange for live feeding but we provide our videographer and video camera.

josvin

Thanks gals for your pointers. Had signed up for the wedding show. Hopefully it turns out well.

Does Sheraton looks 'old'?

kmkx

HI almonddust,

Thank you for your reply!!

Wow. seems like its rather tight on the schedule. but it should be possible..haha..well, think it'll depend on the distance between both parents' place and then the hotel. Should be similar to yours minus the ROM ceremony. After the lunch, should be going back for tea ceremony.

Thanks for the info on the live feed!!

almonddust

Hi Josvin,
I heard from my wedding coordinator that Sheraton had a major uplift sometime like 1-2 yrs ago. My personal take is that it is still "new" as compared to other "older" hotels like Hilton. The toilets are new too.
Can you advise how to sign up for the wedding show coz my galfriend is interested to check out Sheraton after attending my wedding.

Hi KM &amp; KX,
Initially we thot it's going to be rushy but it turns out well-paced. We had an advantage as my mum's house to his house is only 10 mins walking time... hee.. so driving there takes less than 5 mins. Our matrimonial home is in between our parents' house, so it's really convenient to shutter to difference houses. The drive to Hotel is only 10-15 mins. May I suggest that you appoint one of your bro to be your time-keeper? In this case, you won't overrun your schedule and that you can truly enjoy your wedding day.

When we finished our lunch at 3:30pm, we even took pictures in the Hotel and rested briefly before I changed to my kua and reached my mum's house at 5pm. I didn't regret having my wedding banquet over lunch as I really feel rested and relaxed throughout the day.

josvin

Hi Almonddust,thanks. How about the food there? Heard that it's really nice during food tasting but on actual day, usually it's not as good as what we expect. Abit worrying.

You can get your galfriend to call Sheraton at 68395832/46/31 or email [email protected]. $38 per couple or $28 for UOC CC card holders.

kmkx

Hi Almonddust,

So lucky for you..all within a short distance..Ya..need to keep track of the time on that day if wanna cover everything.

We might wanna have the tea ceremony in the hotel to save time and trouble for relatives. Wonder if the ballroom or if Sheraton can provide a small room for that purpose ;)

almonddust

Thanks Jovin! Will inform my galfriend about the wedding show.

Food wise you are right. We enjoyed the food tasting as every dish was served hot to us. But during the actual day, the dishes were a little cold, maybe the chief had too many dishes to prepare so it was a little disappointing as we tasted better ones during the food tasting. On the whole, it's still acceptable to us. Lucky for us, our guests said the food was good.

Hi KM &amp; KX,
We got our coordinator to provide a function room (FOC) for the tea ceremony. They also provide Red Dates Tea, 2 tea pots, 8 cups, a big bow to wash the cups, and 2 waitresses to assist.

satinchris

Just to share a little on our food tasting on Sat. We were all very pleased as the portion was big and the taste was good too.

The only dish that received mixed comments was the Marinated Chicken smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaves. Not that it wasn't good, but just that the elders didn't seem to appreciate it. The younger ones and myself found it unique and quite nice.

I only hope that the standard won't differ too much on the AD.

simplebridetobe

Hi satinchris,

Did you chose the cod fish or groupa? Hope it tasted great!

I am choosing Pi Pa Duck instead of chicken. What desert did you try? Or ya which wedding theme did you chose too?

satinchris

Hi Carol

We haven't met up with Michele to discuss about the wedding theme and other details yet.

We chose cod fish (steam) and everyone loved it. Desert, we chose 'bai nian hao he'. I chose that coz the name is good-sounding and symbolises blissfulness. Later during the food tasting, my SO's aunt commented that this is a good choice because gingko nuts and lotus seeds are more expensive stuff.

kmkx

Hi almonddust,

Thank you for that valuable info!!

We can still request for the function room (foc), even though it was not indicated in the contract?

Great! hope our coordinator can do likewise too :)

mzlt7879

Hi Carol, red roses are nice but I thought that the red orchids looks more unique..in fact I feel that the orchid setup is nicer than the rose setup I had. Just my personal feel (,")

I also saw your questions on the fish and meat dish. I had garoupa then &amp; it was ok. I tried the steam cod fish at my friend's wedding &amp; its good..

As for meat, I had smoke jasmine chicken during food tasting &amp; only I like it..all 11 others rejected it..so in the end we took pi pa duck... but nt much comments on the duck aso so I tink it taste ok onli..

almonddust

Hi KM &amp; KX,
Mine's Irene too.
The function room is not in the contract but she had given it to us. Had to confirm with her on the availability closer to the actual date.

simplebridetobe

My co-ordinator is Michele, anyone worked with her before??

Hi satinchris &amp; May

Both my HTB &amp; FIL prefer mango pudding (which is not on the menu) for desert, so i think we will just chose mango sago cream instead.

The Pi Pa Duck is chosen by my fil who is a chef and quite particular abt food, so we will see how it tastes during food tasting then decide.

May,

Actually I like both rose and orchid set up hahaha. But my bf prefers rose to orchid. Actually, I just feel that there is not enough red deco on the guests' tables in your neighbour's daugther wedding dinner or is such minimum deco for guests' tables a norm?

zu3108

I will be holding my wedding at sheraton too. Can i know if your coordinator is Irene too ? Personally my few encounters with her wasn't exactly satisfying.. anyone has any dealings with her ?

josvin

Hi Carol,

I tried to PM you but it was not activated. Would like to ask you afew things regarding Sheraton.

Kindly PM me.