Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

gs1979

icic..me dun mind L-shaped cos its oso L-shaped march in aisle @ Club Chinois. How many tables have u confirmed wif ST?? Confirmed the food served is from LI BAI restaurant right??

My parents r very particular wif food therefore i'm lookin ard hotel wif chinese restuarant serving the banquet. Do u have any recommendations??

preci0usm0ments

hiya Gintonic,

yup yup, the food is from Li Bai..so far, i think quite good comments from the brides here?
i've yet to sign the contract with them..will b meeting them on tues
so far, confirmed on 25 tables.. will try to ask if i can lower the number

i've heard good comments on Conrad too
you might wanna check them out?

teloli

hi redrum,
mine's oso dec 06, still scouting for hotels..such a headache cos all of them doesnt seem to suit wat i wan.. high ceiling, long march in, 25 tables, no pillars...so many..

preci0usm0ments

hi diamond,

i was just like you
only 25 tables very tough to find BR hor

so far, high ceiling with long marchin places are Intercon & Regent. which can accomodate 25 tables for weekdays. Is yours on weekdays?

I chose Sheraton cause it serve nice food and has high ceiling (although only on 1 side).. and has yet to decide if i wan long or short march in
most importantly, their service is the best which i have come across

tissuebox

Talk to roger this noon.he is a really nice chap.

Tentatively i will take up the package,now only waiting my in-laws to nod their head...

just to re-assure that i have made the right choice, have any of you heard any bad comments abt the food? roger actually encourage us to try those special dishes and he also assure us that the food is good but i really wan some assurance from some ex-ST brides or from those that have already went for the food-tasting

preci0usm0ments

hiya ..,
not sure if i can give comments? but i've dine at Li Bai before, their food is superb

i guess all hotels have incidents of ppl complaining food not nice? dun think any hotel can assure that 100% of their food are up to everyone's standards?

i think averagely, the comments for Sheraton should b not bad? (if you read past posts)

YupYup, Roger is really friendly huh
when's your big day?? I'll be signing my contract tmw~

tissuebox

hi purplenic

wow..so nice..tmr can sign conract...feels good to settle one major issue right?

guess i am not that lucky....just heard a bad news from my husband, my f-i-l have a corcern regarding the budget so...well..maybe...will hve to look at other place...

so sad...sob..sob...

hopefully my husband can convice my f-i-l that it is worth the $$$

preci0usm0ments

hiya ..,

yup it sure feels good to settle one issue, but the worrying part comes along.. i'm worried that we might not be able to meet the minimum required tables

are you looking at the package for weekday or weekend? i do understand the budget prob that you f-i-l is referring to
that's y i go for a weekday.. which is more affordable.. nowadays, weekend package are too ex

but for Sheraton, weekday package is actually quite worth it, cause less than 80/pax
and food from famous Li Bai..

do ask you f-i-l what's this budget like, then from there, can shortlist the venues
dun worry, you'll find one you like
we did ours like this too

good luck!!

preci0usm0ments

*faint* ya la, mine is weekday
but i think even weekend or fri, is the same everywhere?

i feel that now weekend weddings is not affordable anymore rite? esp when ang bao still stuck at $80/pax
pocket sure super big hole

winterbabylon

I am also holding my wedding banquet in Sheraton Towers this December. And I wonder if any of you have concerns regarding the L shaped ballroom?

As far as I understand, the groom and the bride will march in from the long end of the L shaped ballroom. Hence, the guests seated at the short end of the ballroom will not be able to see the march-in because their views are blocked?

Does any of you face this problem? And any remedies to it?

winterbabylon

hi purplenic,

yeah, in fact i do not think that it is a big problem, and Eunice (formerly from Sheraton) told me that most of the guests at the short end of the L shaped ballroom can also see the march in.

however, yesterday evening, when i meet a videographer, he told me that guests at the short end will have a problem seeing the couple. I am not sure how true it is.

But I also hope that i will not have not more than 30 tables, so that less tables will be put at the short end of the ballroom to allow a better view for the guests there.

Or do you think it is wise to get a live-feed system during march-in?

preci0usm0ments

hey Winterbabyloh,

that's wat my hubby was thinking too
he says it would be interesting if your guests can see the silly you outside waiting to march in :p

hmm..i think only few tables that are directly at the side of the wall @ the shorter L will be affected? perhaps you can put some of those not too close frens there?

dun worry too much
everything will be fine
anyway, i think they might be too busy eating to even notice us :p (mostly the case?)

sashay

dun worry abt de L shape ballroom gers, coz all of my guests say can see both of us hee~ Maybe fm the floor plan u may think tt the guests at the shorter end will "lose out" but then its not ture

purplenic, u so bad arh.. put de not so close frens at 1 "alien" corner hehehehe~

preci0usm0ments

hahah tat's wat i plan to do leh.. cause if put close frens there sure kena bash one :p

maybe can put my neighbours there loh keke not too close ma.. hahah

sashay

hi winter babylon, i have 30 tables. Lemmi go back tonite n see if i can still find my table list n layout heheheh~

tissuebox

hi purplenic

congrats..roger mention soemthing abt a wedding planning handbook. did u have it? is it useful?? i find that quite interested cos the other hotel dun have.

we have gotten the nod from my f-i-l liao but now having second thuts..

i love that place, i like the way roger handle things but thwe price..well...i need to confirm by this weekend so will update u all again.

preci0usm0ments

hi ..,

yup yup, i've got the nice wedding planning.. it's actually a note book, you can record the things you have done for your preparation
sweet to review few yrs later hahaha

are you looking into weekends or weekday?
cause mine is a weekday, and i think overall, the package really suits our budget and wat we're concern abt.. not to forget, the price is for 12 pax
actually it adds up to the same?

let Roger knows if you need anything
he will b able to work out something for you
like you said, he's very professional and we felt very comfortable with him too

if you're not particular with dates, maybe you wanna wait for wedding fair? usually they have some $ off per table? but usually those are for non-peak dates, cause peak dates would be grabbed already

not to worry
Sheraton should not b a bad choice hehe i can't say for sure :p i jus signed too keke

cheers_cheers

HI gals, wow u all moving very fast.. busy with work lately.. tt's y din get the chance to come in...

precious moments, yalor, i settled on tt liao so my hubby say now his ears free from the word wedding.. hahahha... cos most things settled liao.. wait for next yr then start with the AD stuff..

yes yes we can chk out with ST next yr on their favours :D hope will have nice nice ones...
maybe wyn52 will get the first batch for the new favours :D cos her AD in Feb next yr :D

wyn52 and precious moments, i am not sure whether can reduce tables anot.. cos last time Eunice told me have to take min 30.. cos nov and dec peak season...
tt's y we book 30 tables 1st.. also hope can fill up .. haven done out the exact guest list yet... but did count out the no of guests.. so agar agar shld be able to.. if not also headache liao...

preciousthots, the package i signed with ST is during the wedding show.. so they throw in quite good perks for us... but cos mine is in nov 06, so i dun get the perks for discount per table as it is oni valid for weddings before 31 May... i think u can call up Yan or Roger to chk out what is the current pkage and maybe can neg for some perks :D feel free to ask and neg anything :D hotels must bargain bargain with thick skin.. cos if they willingly to give u some perks, u can save on the cost too :D

preci0usm0ments

hiya cheers!
you haven't come in a long long time!!
can i know what's your corkage charges? i heard during the show they offer at 18nett? aiyo.. mine is $20+++ leh.. very ex huh?

cheers_cheers

Hi preciousmoments,

yah busy with work
so din get to come in...

yah i think is 18nett... dun realli rem liao.. need to chk my pkage... oic.. maybe can bargain with them?? last time i also bargain on the corkage charges... Eunice(she left ST liao) told me they see if we interested to sign with them ask me wat i look for in the pkage and neg, ... i raised some issuses like the beer, corkage, nite stay, invites etc... cos i signed during the wedding show, i think some perks are already throw in.. maybe u can try bargain with them and see how...

wat did they offer u?? u sign liao rite?

cheers_cheers

Hi preciousmoments, yah i think can neg one.. got to ask them abt it if can lower the price anot... maybe u call up Roger to ask ask? cos now ur contract sign liao.. i not sure can anot..

tissuebox

have u all tried during the negotiation stage, u tell roger one number of table but when really wan to sign the contract then have to reduce the number of tbles??

if i need to reduce abt 5 tables, do u think he will remove some of the perks that he has promis me?

preci0usm0ments

not too sure if he can help to reduce 5, it's quite alot of revenue for the hotels leh.. u can try to ask?
as for perks, i dun think he'll take off whichever he promised you

btw, u got special perks ah hehehe can share?

tissuebox

not really special perks but i ask him base on the previous things that u all have written.
like 1 more barrier of beer(cos he say i got 40 tbles so can give me one more), extra night stay, 1st 40 wine free corkage...

is urs somethings like that??

how many tbles did u sign up for??

preci0usm0ments

mine is weekday, so 25 tables
perks abt the same loh.. din ask to lower corkage charge leh
maybe i control my wine consumption loh

r u worried that he might not give you the extra beer if you lower?
dun think so la..anyway jus ask loh..he might?

preci0usm0ments

.. ah,
paiseh, i think if you have 40, and wanna reduce another 5.. still meet their minimum requirement rite? then should b no prob.. cause i thought will not meet requirement..
u can try

tissuebox

hehe...something like that lah.
anyway, meeting roger today for further dicussion. i have vegetarian and halal guest. need to check out the extra cost

anyone also having vegetarian and halal guest?

badgal

Hi OliO~Moo

Saw ur pics. Did u use the diagonal march-in (short one) or the long march-in? Can't really figure out from the pics. I need to confirm my theme, march-in songs, etc with them soon. But I'm really at my wits end as to which march-in is better. I hv abt 33-35 tables.

sashay

eh... din know there is a long one, roger din let me know the optional hahah~ but mine was diagonal, so should be de short one ba.

u can walk real slow for short march-in hee~ like me, my hubby complained tt ii walked too fast n force him out of the red carpet wahahah~