Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

beanie

Hi Questions,

What a coincidence! Finally I found one who shares the same coordinator. Have you been talking to her for long? Well, I have been and finally decided to confirm and will place the deposit soon. Have you placed your deposit? Did you manage to ask for freebies from her? I always have difficulty finding her cause she seems very busy.

totoro

Hi fang,
my wedding in june 20..friday leh..wanted to have it on sat but all booked in june. so sad. .you?
i very worried they will be late for my solemnisation.

what abt ur wedding boutique?

hi beanie,

what is ur date?

beanie

Hi Totoro,

Mine is on 29 June 2003, is a Sunday. I purposely wanted a Sunday cause some of my guests are coming from Malaysia and may need to work on Saturday. So Sunday is better as they do not need to rush from work.

So who is your coordinator? Elaine? Is she a easy person to talk to? BTW, have you place your deposit?

bummer

Hi ..

I just sign up with Rasa with Elaine. Hmm... looks like some of you got a really good deal.

I requested for free food tasting as well but was declined(I sign for 20 tables). No freebies or so. Everything as per leh. My bf lor... another person who doesn't like to bargain one. So sian. He also very lazy... Rasa was the first hotel we saw and he liked it already ( i think more like he didn't want to see any else!!!)

Anybody got any experience of bargaining after signing up? Err... esp with Elaine?

Actually... can tell she a bit the stingy but must say her service was kind, thoughtful and professional. She remembered little things that we liked and disliked. Went twice to see her before signing up.

Looking at the employer's point of view... I would like to employ this type of pple... then would Lugi lor.

totoro

Beanie,

yap, my co ordinator is elaine and i really like her, but ya she is a bit difficult to bargain..
i have not paid the deposit yet..heehee

maybe next week..

ya..i was hoping to get a sat.. 21 of june will be great!!

Bummer,
u must try harder lah...my FH also very lazy one..but i try to talk to her a few times..

beanie

Totoro,

Actually I wanted 22 Jun but already confirmed by another couple, so I ask for another date from my "priest" and was told to take 29 Jun, so I faster confirm with my coordinator Ethel before another couple grab this date.

Me too going to place the deposit next week cause my coordinator is not working tomorrow, so got to go next Saturday lor.

I will try to get more freebies from her if possible. Same thing, my hubby also very "green vegetable", anything will do with him, so I must do all the bargaining.

Hope you manage to get more freebies......

bobomagic

Hi Gra and Fang

I understand from Elaine that for cars parking at the new car park places, they will be providing free coaches to pick our guests from there. So we wouldn't have to pay for the extra coaches. As for the frequency, the coach will be ferrying and dropping guests continously so i gather it should be about 5 mins wait only.

Hi Bummer & totoro
Do press on. I also went to Elaine twice but not signed on yet...maybe cos dun feel the urgency cos my wedding's in Dec2003 and i want to negotiate for the wine exchange as well. But i do agree that Elaine is really thoughtful...i remember the 1st time i met her n told her my preferred date was in Oct..thou i didn't commit, she actually kept the date for me.

Do you gals have any concerns other than transport and parking places? Cos i can't think of any at the moment. Maybe u gals can share with me if you have any.

So far, i have been asking around for ppl who have attended dinner at Rasa for their feedback...Seems that response for food is quite good. Everybody liked the sharksfin...they feel that it really has a lot of liao. But i do have a frd who commented on the projection screen being on one end so it is quite difficult for ppl who are seated at the other end to see. Plus the dinner she attended started and ended very late so the hotel staff had to inform the Bride and groom that the coaches have to move out by 11.30 and there was quite a bit of rush. But everybody seem to agree the outdoor reception was very beautiful esp at the white fence area cos the amber sunset is quite a breath-taker. Hopefully when i hold mine in Dec it doesn't rain.

Hope i'm not being to lor sor here. Cos i may have repeated some comments alreadi mentioned before.

suggestion

Hi Girls!

I had my company retreat in Rasa Sentosa in June this year. My advice is to NOT hold a wedding in sch holidays at Rasa, coz there are SO MANY screaming kids around! and alot of screaming kids hopping all over the place, from the pool to the hotel and all that. The lifts and facilites are also very crowded.

Rasa is nice - just that if you can avoid the sch holidays would be better.

bobomagic

Hi Suggestion

Was it really very bad? My FH's relatives r situated in Canada and can only come back during that period cos they've got kids too.Actually intended it for Oct 2003...I sort of expected it too be crowded but now I'm thinking about worse. Anybody's been down for a wedding at Rasa in Dec? Is the situation about the same as in Jun? Now I have to worry about both rain and over-crowding.

totoro

Oh no...mine is during the school holiday in june....

Sigh.. but what to do..thats the best date for both myself and FH..

bummer

Hey Bobomagic...

thanks for your encouragement... geez... really gonna be hitting the rock asking Elaine for some freebies... hopefully at least get for free food tasting. I really dun like the idea of paying for that. So silly hor??!

Hey totoro..

please do update us about your haggling session with Elaine... wanna know the outcome so I also can haggle! hehehe! Though I think my chances are slimer since I already paid the deposit. sigh.......

catz

I had my wedding in December and yes, there will be lots of people around the swimming pool area. Luckily, the noise wasn't so bad 'cos the Waterfront Lawn area was blocked off by bushes. So don't worry.. but the only thing is that you will probably not get upgraded to presidential suite 'cos the hotel will be fully booked.

question

Beanie

so you have confirm your wedding? Have u paid your deposit? Mine is Oct 2003. did you manage to bargain anytings from her? how many table you have?

beanie

Questions,

I am going down to place my deposit this weekend. Have you place your deposit? I have not ask for many and will try to after reading so much in this thread. Is really helpful. Thank you ladies for sharing.
What have you bargain so far?

Mine is in end june and hopefully the crowd is lesser cause school term starts the following day (mine is on a Sunday). What do you think?

I will be having about 25 tables. How about you?

beanie

Hi Totoro,

Thanks for your reminder. Did you get yours? How many table did you book? I guess your coordinator is Elaine right? Mine is Ethel. Just wonder if it will be easy to get free food tasting.....

fang

Hi Totoro,

my weddding is on 9th Mar, 03. My coordinator is Ethel.

Hi Gra,

Thanks for the carpark thingy. I will let you guys know more when I start meeting up with her.
Anyone wed in Mar next yr??

beanie

Hi fang,

So you will be having your dinner at the siloso ballroom and not the pavilion right?

How do you find Ethel so far? You know we share the same coordinator.

fang

Hi Beanie,

I will be having at Pavilion as it has a better view. I like the clear glass facing the sea.

We recently had a request to take bridal pics in sentosa and Ethel gave us free admission to the island as well as a room for us to take pics and change. We had the room for the entire day which is cool. I changed my clothes there and did some cleaning up.

SO I guess Ethel was pretty good!

bobomagic

Hi Bummer
I'll be keeping my fingers crossed for both you and totoro. Tell us how it goes. I haven't start asking Elaine yet but hopefully will catch her in a good mood...heehee.

Thanks, catz, for the info...Now not so paranoid. will be having recep at white fence too so will be praying that it wouldn't rain..and also for all the brides having their wedding in Dec2003, that the weather will be great.

bonnie

Hi fang

By the way how does Ethel gave you the free admission? She will give you the ticket or you re-imburse u later? it is not in the package wan rite? you just request from her is it?

next did you saw for additional stuff?

Next, when you say you change your clothes there ? Do you mean that when you take your bridal pic, you change to different gown for photo session?

totoro

for the wedding dinner, how many gowns do u intend to change? I mean i will be wearing one for solemization and for dinner , i am not too sure leh.

catz, can advice also??

beanie
i got twenty tables. and i keep asking her and telling her there will be more tables.

Ya , i think elaine is nice and she did said that she will provide a room and free admission too for wed pic.

still trying for the wine.. heehee..

catz

Hi bobomagic,

What we did is that we had a weather call at 3pm ('cos our wedding ceremony was scheduled for 5.45pm) so if it looked bad, they would not set up the Waterfront lawn area but adjourn to the contingency location - Siloso ballroom. Luckily it drizzled slightly but we made the decision to go ahead and the rain held till our banquet was underway.

Hi totoro, I wore my wedding gown for the ceremony then went up to re-do makeup and have a quick shower then for dinner, I marched in with the same wedding gown, then once with evening gown and finally, in a kwa to send off my guests (easier to walk..hehe...
) 'Cos the walk from Siloso ballroom to the suite plus changing takes time, so no more than 2 - 3 costume changes lah. Hope this helps.

bummer

Hi Totoro...

that's nice of Elaine. I hope she'll do that for me too!! Actually... she quite cute hor...think my FH sign up with them 'cos she very kiddy looking...

Anyhow... as long as she is professional..that should be alright ultimately. I am so excited about have the wedding there!!

On the selfish side, I do hope that during my wedding nite, there is only one couple... if not, it is going to be very messy.

So all the best Totoro for your haggling session!

beanie

Hi fang,

I tot i have a friend who is getting married on the same day as you and in the pavilion too. Maybe there's changes to their plan.

I will be having my PS in sentosa too, how long did you take for your ps in sentosa cause i am planning for another venue. Who did your ps? mine is going to be utopia. can share share your photo when ready? btw, when will it be ready. u must be very tiring on the day itself right?

did you manage to exchange the beer for wine? and how much beer you manage to bargain for? also is rasa strict with their corkage charge?

sorry for asking you so much cause i will be heading down to place my deposit this saturday... wish me luck

Hi Totora,

good luck for your wine.... i got to try for mine too, but we share different coordinator, mine is ethel, otherwise, we can exchange tips hor...

gra

A point to clarify. I think I've caused some misunderstanding. Yesterday, I found out fm my FH that actually the exchange of wines were not based on direct exchange. He had also given up some other peaks to exchange for the wine. Not too sure what as he is uncontractable now.

Did you all read about today's news on the revised charges in sentosa.Good news, lah . But I had already printed my wedding cards. Not too sure whether I should add a separate sheet to include this amended information. Any one of you had printed the cards already ...

bobomagic

Hi Catz, thanks again for all your valuable information. You had your reception quite early then. What time did u start the banquet?

Hi 3 Inch dun rot tongue, is your package on a weekday or weekend? How many tables did you commit? Paiseh, ask so many questions. But i thot your deal for the 30L + 30L seem very good. Du think i can bargain that much cos even a 20+30L also cannot get so now, like Gra, i just hope to exhange the 20L beer for wine too. But maybe if you have nay special tactics can share..heehee

catz

Hey bobomagic,

No probs.. glad to be of any help. My ceremony started at 5.45pm and ended promptly at about 6.35pm (told my pastor to keep it snappy..hehe..
) Then we served cocktail at the Waterfront area until our helpers ushered the guests to the ballroom at 7.15pm. Banquet started at 7.45pm.. could've started earlier but I took a little longer than expected to re-do my hair!

3 inch dun rot tongue

Mine is on a weekend. 35 + 2 tables. Initially, given only 20 + 20. But roughly two months after I booked, DBS came up with a tie up with Rasa, and people get free flow beer. Then of coz I not happy, then complain to Elaine. She brought it up to management. Only after a long struggle, then we manage to get 30 + 30. :p

fang

Hi bonnie,

I asked for ethel thru the phone and i am given free admission at the gateway so there is no need to upfront. just gave ur name and they will call teh hotel to check out. it is not in the package :D ya just ask and u will be given.

no i didn;t ask for additional thing.
i wore my outdoor gown and then change to my kebaya for other shoots.

Hi totoro,

I will wear wedding gown, evening gown and then my kebaya for the hand-shaking part. as i am wearing kebaya for my tea-reception. i still have a MTM tea dress by my bridal studio..may plan to give my sis wear.

Hi Beanie,

Is your frd tong ping or elaine? they are actually my colleague and had passed me the dates.

I actually took at 3 places, sentosa for beach only, kebaya at Emerald Hill and green at Alexandra there. Mine is from The Edge. my photos are not ready yet. yes and it was super tired...i didn;t eat almost the whole day and when all is over, i feast like no man business :p

Fyi, i got my package at a seminar and my beer is FREE! so it is cool...for all who have to pay for beer, my advise is ask waiter not to refill so fast..last week i went to my cousin wedding and the waiter was very prompt to refilling the beer glass. in the end, with their free 20L beer, they charged another 4 barrels...whoa..that's EX mann!

my another colleague decided to start pouring beer ONLY after dinner commence. so it's really up to you lor. I have decided NOT to have wine. scary man. anyway since beer is free flow ...why NOT.

Ya i heard about the transport thing. It is really cool and unbelievable. Now our parents can finally SMILE!!!

good luck!

beanie

Hi fang,

i know elaine. i also got to know here from this forum and we have met only once. so you are colleagues. the world really small and i actually can remember her date. hee hee. but i wonder how come you liase with ethel and not elaine? i tot elaine was elaine's (your colleague) coordinator?

so happy you you got the beer free flow. i also worried about the consumption of my guests. i guess i will have to "vomit blood" to pay for the beer.

totoro

Wow,
thanks a lot for info.

you got free beer? How did that happen?
so envious. Amyway, what flowers you gals decide to use and what gifts will u gals be giving to the guests,

anyone has any idea when the MRT to sentosa will be completed?

I very worried about the date becos of its on friday and many will be late.Sigh!

thedevil

hi catz

glad to see u here again... hey tell u something stupid abt myself. we were given the wedding cake on the wedding night n it was sooo pretty. i love it alot. after the stay at rasa, we went back to my mother's place n i left the cake in the fridge. thinking that i hate sweet fruit cake, din bother to bring it back our hse. so my mum eat it n throw away the pretty deco...i was fine with it coz i tot i wont b eating it anyway.

later then i know the cake is for our 1st yr anniversay!!! we were suppose to keep the cake for 1 yr then bring it back to rasa (hv complimentary stay n meal) n cut it!!! i felt quite sad that the cake is gone
...too bad that no one told us when we got the cake.

catz

Hi thedevil!

Don't worry, my cake was eaten after the honeymoon too! Hehe.. my sweet-toothed Dad couldn't resist so we had it for dessert. Never mind lah.. the worse thing is that we didn't even take a photo of it! Sigh..

Oh, you know what was the stupidest thing that happened on our wedding? We forgot all the corsages! Only when we were checking out of the suite the next day, we realised that all the corsages were still in the fridge! :p Everyone was too excited about the beach party... Oh yah, not to mention that we left all our shoes back on the mainland and discovered it 1 hour before the guests' arrival! Heheheh.. So in terms of stupidity, cannot match mine.

beanie

Hi Questions,

I did not get free flow beer. It was Fang who got it cause she (her friend to be exact) signed the promo package during their wedding fair ealier this year and free flow beer is provided. How I envy her.

So, how's your package? Your coordinator is Ethel right? Will be meeting her soon and will share share with you what I gather during the meet.

bobomagic

Hi thedevil and catz, didn't know too that have to keep the cake for a whole year.hey i learn something new here every day...Dun think I can wait so long as well..I mean every day when u open ur fridge or cabinent, you see it or know it's there...too tempting.

Hi 3 inch dun rot tongue, thanks for sharing. I am also worried that the package that Rasa is going to throw for their 2003 wedding show would be much better than what i am given. But who call me so kiasu.I was worried that my date(Dec03) would be taken up so booked so early. I was asking Elaine abt last year's package n she was quite frank abt it: free flow beer n $20 off per table.then ask if she can give something similar anot...of course she say cannot...but hope to persuade her still..

catz

Hi bobomagic..

Yah, the cake was so pretty and yummy-looking. How to tahan for 1 year?

Bonnie, The hotel will give you a voucher for your anniversary stay and a dinner as well.. no need to produce the cake as proof. ;)

thedevil, how's married life?

fang

Hi beanie,

No elaine is not my colleague. Her hubby is actually.
my original date was meant to be 23rd of feb, 03. i gave up the date for the one in mar. not sure if anyone got it. back then my coordinator was ethel u see.

Ya i was pretty happy that it beer was free as my friends are all alcoholic!!
you must control the beer intake i guess.

Hi bonnie,

My wedding package is held during this year in conjunction wif DBS bank.
I am not sure if there is other promotion. You may call up rasa and enquire I guess.
But promotion is really a steal! i got free beer and also 2 nights stay at the bridal suite and also a free night stay at our first ur anniversary.

Hi totoro,

not sure abt the mrt ..but i know will not be in timw for my wedding in Mar. maybe end of the yr or 2004??
got my free stuffs all during promotion as mentioned above. I am choosing the chopstick holder but dun really like it. Not sure other than cakes , is there anythg else.?

thedevil

hi catz,

haha both of us also blur blur, yah man i din get a pic of the cake...it looks so pretty. nvr mind lah..already digested n 'released' liao hahaha. oh chk with u, after yr wedding, did u pay syafie a visit or send him any cards? we really appreciate him n even bought a gift for him from our honeymoon...but we vry busy so till now not yet visit him...was thinking if drag longer, will b lazy to travel there :p

married life ah? no fantastic coz now I M STAYING with my PIL!!! FIL is ok, but MIL...eeeerr....*sign*

hi bonnie,

yup catz' replied on my b1/2 (thnks catz)

hi toroto

me used champagne roses...vry common hor. coz i no balls (dont mind me
) to try other colour n combi.... after tt i regret alittle lah, shld hv asked for more unique colours...hehe but i m always the "shld hv" type...no good but cannot kick the habit.

as for gifts, we got something not in the pkg...long story... we loved the china dolls but 1 mth b4 were told we cldnt get it. so i asked for something from mainland shangrila (which my previous co-ordinator mentioned b4 is do-able)...but we were told its more exp coz mainland shang table more exp.... but somehow in the end we got it.

catz

Hi thedevil,

Hehe.. ^5! Yes, Syafie was such a dear. We did give him a call after the wedding but left it at that 'cos he's very busy. Don't forget that it's Ramadan for him now! Pooor guy.. last year our wedding was during Ramadan too.

Staying with PIL? Er.. OK, not an ideal situation but hey, better than being homeless right? When are you getting your own digs? We stayed with my parents for a month before we our place was ready.

We used the chopstick holders. People liked it - no complaints. At least it's not as common as choccies right? The potpourri seemed not bad too.

I used white roses.. also no balls to do colour-combi.

thedevil

hi catz,

u r right...its Ramadan for him now!! hmm yah he's always busy..wonder y none of the SB rasa brides has him for co-ordinator.

honestly i rather b homeless than to stay with PIL. hehe if i homeless, my parents sure take me in
!! 1 mth is ok..but we had to wait at least 1 yr!!! this wasnt the initial plan lah... but then the plan to pur our home changed n we got a place tt TOP early 2004!!! BIG mistake, anyway its due to our stupidity.

yup...tt's the one 1 loved, the chopstick holders but they werent available to us! yah choccies too ommon n 1 pop its gone

fang

Hi thedevil,

What is the gift from the mainland china?
is it nice?

if can, i want to request for it too.
i havent request anythg from ethel as yet just to ask her to allow me to sneak induty paid liquor.
ANd she agreed!

so maybe when i meet up wif her soon. i will try.
hmm..i think i will be the first bride to walk down the isle as compare to you guys. so scary!

but no worries, i will share all that i got even after my wedding

catz

Hi thedevil,
Yah, I think Syafie is higher ranked than the others.. if I'm not mistaken, he's the manager so he calls the shots. Was privileged to get him. Well, I guess you could pay him a visit after his Ramadan month.
I've still got my anniversary stay (gotta dig up the voucher!!!) but am going to England instead. Hope the voucher doesn't have any expiry!

As for your place, well, don't worry.. those developments will always TOP earlier than what they say. Which d'ment did you buy? We bought a TOP'ed place but we had to wait for the renovation to be completed thanks to our incompetent lawyer. :p