Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

gra

I'm meeting up with Elaine this coming Saturday to discuss on the theme (what flowers to use, colour of the table cloth and etc) for ballroom . I will be giving chocolates to my guests too (Ya, besides the chopstick holder). I will like to have white and champ roses but need to see how will the colour blend with the red chopstick boxes and the silver or gold organza that I intend to wrap my choc. OhAny suggestions ?

Reg
Gra

fang

Hi Gra,

When is your wedding? Is it next year?
Wah, so you pay extras for the chocs? or is it from Rasa?

Hmm...white and champ rose sounds great!
Silver is best...goes well with your white rose and red chopstick as well.

I might choose that as well.
Please share with us more info after your mtg with Elaine this coming Sat.

So ya doing food tasting as well?

cutiechar

hey all,

I intend to book rasa as well..my wedding will be in next year 2003.Can i know:

the food? the service of coordinator? transportation arrangment?

gra

Hi fang

My wedding will be on 14 Dec 2002 which is less than two months left. Kinda exciting about it. So far, I've enjoyed the preparation work.

We brought the chocs at our end. My FH and I like this brand of choco, thus would like to share with our guests. In addition, some of our friends like them too. In fact, I really felt heartchae that approx. 100 hundred of the chocs were spolit as my FH had left them in living room for the whole afternoon! With outside temp at about 35 degree celius, how can these 100 chocs still in good condition. In the end, he had to dispose all of them. Sign !

However, luckily at the end of the day, all the other chocs touch here "safely ". Right now, they were resting in the fridge. Only thing is that a day before my wedding I need to send the chocs to Rasa Sentosa and they got to store them well for the next day. Ai ya, the chocs are not so fragile lah, it's juct that I just want to be more careful.

In fact, I'm thinking of exchanging the chopstrick holders to other stuff (can't think of any now) but my FH is not in the favour. In anyway, I can't think of any other things to exchange for, probably more wine.

YA, I like silver organza too . Not only it will goes well with white and champ roses. It also goes well with the gold choc wrapper. (Well, my chocs again...). But my dark choco has sliver colour wrapper so I'm thinking of using gold organza. So I'm thinking of silver organza wrapping - gold organza wrapping - silver organza....

For food tasting, I've intend to arrnage it in November 2002. Need to meet up with Elaine earlier so that I can send my chocs for wrapping.

Will let you know after my meeting with Elaine .

Oh ya, I forgot, for those who hold weddings before, normally how many barrels of beer will guests consume ? I have about 25 tables. Not many heavy drinker.

Gra

catz

Hi Gra,

My wedding was also held during the Dec school hols.. a word of warning, the rooms are usually only ready at 3pm... no earlier as the whole hotel will be fully booked. if you've got overseas guests, it's best to reserve their rooms now.

i had exactly 25 tables and we used up 1.5 barrels.. not too bad 'cos we didn't have many drinkers at our wedding.

cutiechar, you can scroll up the archived threads to see.. i think you'll find no problems with the food.. however you've got to give some thought to transportation as some guests / relatives may find it 'ley chey'.
hope this helps!

totoro

Hi pple,

thanks for all the real good tips. i 'll be going to be married next year 2003. :eek:P

just need a recommendation.

shld i have a buffet or sit down chinese dinner at the pavilion.
really cannot make up my mind in this.
really concern in this issue

catz

Hi totoro,

Frankly speaking, I did hear about the buffet not being topped up (not just from the forum) so I would advise you to go for the Chinese sit-down dinner. You're so lucky to have gotten Pavilion!!! I booked late so could only get Siloso. But still very happy lah.

gra

Thks, Catz

Are your barrels 20L or 30L ? I've a 20L and 30L barrels. But intend to swap the 20L for wines. But no sure if they are enough.

In addition, I'm not too sure if any of the gals had brought in your own barrels. I could get them at a super low rates. But I got to see how much is the cockages fee. Well, well it may not be cost effetive after all. Just like the wine.

Gra

cutiechar

Hi Catz,

tks.. true enough my main concern is the transportation and sure i ganna get negative objections from my parents.see lah..hai*..but i havent decided yet.
Is it true that rasa will provide u with the coaches and let u arrange the pick up point urself?

hey, so u have gone thru ur customary oredi? mine is in next yr but have not decided on date yet.

totoro

hi catz...

thanks a million.
i really feel so loss. really dun know what to do?
what i am doing now is compliling all the msg here(well i printed it all out.heehee), then going to meet elaine and start to tell request certain stuff.

as i was reading, mabe i will design my own wedding cards...as in give ideas and get a designer to do it? anyone knows how much it costs for 250 pieces.

catz

gra, I think mine were the smaller barrels.. not sure leh... that night went back like a flash so don't remember much. :p might not be worth it to bring in your own barrels. i think the wine corkage will come up to quite a bit as well.

hi cutiechar, i've already been married for almost a year.. just hanging out here trying to help other brides. yah, we actually got a lot of negative comments from parents/relatives/friends but in the end, lots of people had a good time. we only invited 250 guests so it was quite an intimate affair.

yes, rasa will provide coaches to pick up your guests at any point you specify. i had the coaches at SPI building (just before the sentosa causeway) and didn't have any problems. we also hired a hyundai trajet (7 seater) to ferry our helpers and close families. it was really fun lah.. we had lots of people telling us that they really enjoyed the out of city experience so was quite happy.

hey totoro, elaine wasn't my coordinator so not sure how she is. if i'm not mistaken, rasa still has 2 versions of the wedding card - the seashell one (i chose that) and the red/gold one. we didn't want to spend too much on the invites so we just had quite a simple plain design with our names and a verse from our bible reading on the front page. we used inserts and had gold ties... think it didn't cost much per card. sorry.. can't quite remember how much we spent. i got such a bad memory sometimes. :p

hope this helps

totoro

yap..any advice or any threads for wedding package. i will be getting married in june 03..have not sign up in any package.
so many recommendations like shuangxi from IMM
Christian creation? seletar broadway??

well, i am more of the plump side heehee...
around 60 kg 1.62m...

any one had anything to recommend?

fang

My wedding package is from the promotion and hence beer is free flow. So I am not worry about the beer. But still thinking of how many red wine to open. I am afraid that I will spend hundreds on red wine alone. My biggest fear!

Actually, i dun really like the chopstick holder also...is there other gifts that I can consider other than chocs?

Transport is troublesome. But we will try to buy car passes for those that are driving lor.

fang

Hi Totonto,

I am with Lezen Creation. Just shifted to Singapore Mandarin. (beside Takashimaya)

I am very happy with their service.
They are frank and will let you know their opinions based on their experience in the line.

Look for either Ivy or Cecilia.
No prob abt ur size. They can alter one.

fifi

hiya,

I attended a wedding at Rasa about 2 mths ago. Did not really enjoy it and could tell many ppl were very uncomfortable. It was outside on the sand and a buffet dinner. The weather was very hot and many ppl quickly had their dinner and was ready to leave by 9pm, which was really early and the couple did not have time to go ard taking photos with everyone.

Some tables were sinking into the sand till everyone had to get up and stand instead. The waiters did nothing to help these guests.

But I must say that it looked really nice just before sunset.

fang

Hi totoro,

Last offer details were as followed:

We are located at Orchard now! In conjunction with ours moving to new
>premises, we have a limited period promotion package.
>
>our new address:
>333 Orchard Road #03-48
>Mandarin Shopping Arcade
>Singapore 238867
>Tel 68369100
>Fax 68363200
>
>Business Hours:
>11am to 8pm (Mon-Fri)
>11am to 7pm (sat)
>
>www.lezencreation.com
>Email:[email protected]
>
>
>promotion package $3,988.00 (till 15 September 2002)
>
>€ 1 set of MTM bridal gown on rental
>€ 1 set of MTM evening gown on rental
>€ 1 set of tea dress on rental (OTR)
>€ 1 set of MTM suit on rental (pants to keep)
>€ Make-over for day & night (trail, studio, day & night)
>€ Bridal bouquet (2 fresh bouquets & 6 corsages)
>€ Bridal car decoration
>€ Bridal car ( Merc E200)
>€ Accessories on loan
>
>Photography (indoor & outdoor) Linn Kong & Richard Kang
>€ 8² x 12² - 28 pieces
>€ 16² x 20² portrait (inclusive of framing)
>€ 3² x 5² - 24 pieces (4 poses)
>€ 8² x 10² - 1 piece (inclusive of framing)
>€ 1 wedding album
>
>
>Thank you and hope to see at our new boutique.
>
>
> >Best regards,
>
>Cecilia Neo

Their promo is over already but you may want to contact them for more details.

gra

I think that Singaporeans are still traditional. They are used to attending wedding in the mainland afterall. While such outdoor wedding in the nearby islands is very common in overseas. One of my firends' friend had their wedding at Batam and ferry is arranged. Feedback was good. Guests enjoy themselves. Coem to think about it, Sentosa is not really that far , after all. In anyway, coaches are arranged.

Well, knowing that, thus when I decided on Rasa Sentosa, I've chosen a combination of indoor and outdoor arrangement. Outdoor setting for cocktail reception and indoor setting for Chinese dinner. Yes, our weather is humid but with proper ventilation, it can be addressed too. Of course, we need to take care of some of the logistics issues, which apply whether it is in mainland or otherwise. I think it boils down to working closely with your co-ordinator.

It's good to hear the views from guests' pt.

Gra

fang

Hi fifi,

The wedding you attended is outdoor.
But i guess most of the wedding mates here opt for indoor wedding.

My cocktail reception will be at the lawn area at ard 7p.m..so it shouldn't be that hot. And if it rains, they will held it just outside the function room.

My room is the pavilion which is a room overseeing the sea with a clear glass and best of all pillarless.

So the settings is much different from the one you attended.

totoro

i am feeling really troubled.

Can anyone advice me on this.
I am thinking of having my solenization at the waterfront lawn and reception near there , then dinner at pavilion.

howver my solemization is not church- like and its like the ROM. i think its a short timing..maybe 15 minutes.

but we will like the guests to witness this (200 guests).

1. i think if we ask for chairs its going to cost us quite a sum right? tight budget

2. do u think its rude to make the guests stand for this affair?
follow by cocktail some more..more standing.

real troubled!

catz

Hi totoro,

You can ask your banquet manager to give you a quote for setting up some chairs. I'm not exactly sure how much mine cost but I think I had about 150 chairs plus stage, mikes, flower stands, signing table etc.. 'cos mine was a full Christian ceremony and it probably cost in the region of $800. If you have a simple setup, might be cheaper. You don't have to spend so much 'cos it's only a 15 minute ceremony... and I'm sure that your banquet manager can work within your budget so don't worry OK???
Worse come to worse, if you don't want to spend the money to have chairs, I'm sure your guests won't mind.

bobomagic

Gra, did Rasa throw in a complimentary 30L on top of the 20L there are giving? I only managed to get an additional 20L...maybe might negotiate further with Elaine. But ur suggestion to exchange ur 20L beer sounds good cos the previous wedding attended at Hyatt was great with all that free flowing wine

fang

tom i will have my photo shoot..and had chosen sentosa as the outdoor venue.

Called up Rasa to check if we can take the bridal suite shots and my coordinator not only gave me a free pass into sentosa, she also gave me a day use of the room at no charge. That's cool har..

Find that their service is splendid and for those who have not taken their pics may want to opt for Sentosa!

catz

Hi fang,

They did that for us too.. it was really good 'cos we could drive anywhere in Sentosa. However, we had our photoshoot during Dec so the bridal suites were all booked up (bridal suite = junior executive suite) so bopian, we took photos in a normal room.

Enjoy your PS!!!

3 inch dun rot tongue

I got a 30L + 30L on "si can lan ta" with Elaine. Last time only 20+20. But I pester her until she give in. Hahaha! Actually depends on their mood also.

totoro

hi pple,
me going to meet up elaine for the 2 nd time and will be signing the package liao.

how much do we have to pay for the first payment and what to ask for?
izzit ask her for everything then sign or can i sign first and request the rest of stuff later??
a bit lost!!

gra

Hi bobomagic

I got 30L plus 20L. Will like to convert the 20L to about 18 bottles of wine. I still need to get another five more botles. With 30L of beer plus 22 bottles of wine, do you thnk they are sufficient ? Anyone got better deals so that i could quote and bargain with Elaine again.

totoro

hi fang

hows ur photoshoot and who is your photographer..

i got the date on the friday..hmm..was hoping to get a sat, wondering if anyone will turn up early.

any suggestion what to look for before i sign the contract?

fang

Hi totoro,

my photographer is Andrew Tay from The Edge.
He is very professional and young.

We are very pleased wif him. He takes natural shots and always make us laugh thruout the photo shoots.

He is very creative and we had lotsa carrying here and there..kicking here and there. we even went down the water to take pics!

In short, we had lotsa fun and very comfortable wif him. In 2 weeks time, we can review the photos and each pic cost at 45 bucks and my frd said it was cheap. and if we choose 12, each pic cost only at 40 bucks.

fang

hi totoro,

having it during weekdays, ur guest may be late coz they need to go home and chg , etc so must participate some lateness lor.

As for before u sign the contract..check for the details even smallest things, make sure it is on teh contract black and white. double check on price...but most of the time hotel contract can be trustable.

totoro

hi fang,

thanks for the advice, anyway, where did u take ur bridal package from? ur gown and stuff? can share share?

Ps catz, how are u??

catz

hullo totoro,

i'm fine.. hehe.. just hanging around waiting for my name to be called.
glad that things are ok with you.

btw, my deposit was for $2000, for confirmed 20 tables. but in the end, i took 25 tables. hope this helps.

totoro

Thanks catz.

Aiya, did you mamnge to get free food tasting. Elaine told me no no only if i book 25 tables.
what about u. i am tryiong to bargain with her still.

what do u reckon?

catz

Hi totoro,

Yes, I got free food tasting and I only confirmed for 20 tables. My coordinator was Syafie.. I think he's less 'niao' than Elaine, from what I've heard.
He was really nice and arranged for the private room at the Seashells (?) Cafe for us on a Saturday night.

totoro

Hi catz.
thanks. i still trying to talk to her!
hope she agrees..sigh..
what else did u get. can let me know.
I quite worried ..dun really know what to do!

catz

Hi totoro,

How many tables are you confirming? Of course you will have more bargaining power if you've got more than 25 tables.

I didn't bargain for anything else. My hubby and I both quite sotong one and he's very anti-bargaining.. typical man.. he found it too troublesome. Hmm.. I guess we got all our invitation cards for free? That's about it. Will post when I remember anything else.

What are you worried about?

fang

Hi totoro,

my bridal studio is Lezen creation recently moved to Singapore Mandarin beside takashimya

gra

Oh, I supposed to give an update after my meeting with Elaine two weeks ago. (Well, was tied down by my work)

Food Tasting.
Free - as I'm getting 25 tables from them.

Carpark passess
Good news to some of you. As we all know there are limited carpark lots at Rasa Sentosa. Now the carpark lots can be extended to the Parade Squre. Rasa Sentosa can provide coaches to and from Rasa Sentosa. 1 coach can exchnage for 20 lots. (There are about 200 carking lots at PS) Too bad, I hd already printed my invitation cards. I tried to talk to Elaine to give us some free lots as we are not aware of this implementation. But ....
If any one of you managed to bargain for some free lots with your co-ordinator, cld you be so sweet to let me know...

Wine
20L beer exchange to 18 bottles of wine.

Gra

totoro

Aiya..
she refuses to give in to my exchange of wine..so sad!

anyway, she did give me the free food-tasting..
how catz and gra??? shld i talk to her again in regards to the wine thingy..

anyway,can i know what kind of gown did u gals wear?

Also how many times did u gals change into the EG??from most packages, there only provide 1 WG, 1 EG..

bobomagic

Hi Gra, sounds like a good bargain you have got there, I was supposed to fax my signed agreement with Elaine on fri, 25 Oct, to commit the $2K deposit but haven't done so yet. Seems like both you and '3 inch dun rot tongue' have got really good deals.

I did mention to Elaine once that i want to increase one complimentary 20L to 30L but she turned me down. Maybe I should try harder cos i think i'm going to have a lot of drinking guests. Esp my friends, colleagues and cousins cos as younger crowd, they r definitely into wine more than beer. So hopefully can have the wine exchange. I did ask Elaine abt the exchange, she said she will look into it. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Toronto, dun give up yet.

But I'm still keeping the beer for my older relatives and other beer advocates. Your 30L and 22 bott of wine sounds quite sufficient for table of 25, since most guest wouldn't mix wine n beer. How's your crowd's age group like?

Your big day is coming up real soon...so here's wishing u joy and happiness! And dun forget to enjoy urself that day!!

thedevil

my wedding was at rasa as well...my co-ordinator was syafie...n all i can say is he was really GREAT!!! everything went so well, of coz also we were vry much blessed by God
....on the day itself..we got so many surprises from syafie that we felt so touched.

feedback from guest were, food was good (but 1 table of friend commented the waiter was in a hurry!!), music was not loud enough for guest at the back and 1 thing abt Pavilion which really disapted me (din know till the actual day) is that the lights cant b dimed!! such a pity coz the candle settings were so beautiful... so during my march-ins, cldnt hv the the diming effect + the candle light, if not it'll b sooo beautiful (i din notice lights were not dimed during marchin till many of my friends feedback to me)....overall, we r vry happy with syafie

hi totoro,

yr situation on solemnization is similar to mine. i had it at the lobby lounge terrace n its a standing affair (no cost
) n cocktails are being served as early as 5pm+ coz my solemnisation starts 6pm. we had a table for us, witness, JP... n our guests stood around. 1 thing to note...we wanted our solemnisation to b vry private (only close friends n relatives) but to our horror, my parents in laws got alot of their guests(auntie n uncle) to attend!!! i knew it b4 the wedding n was really upset but nothing i can do
....then my friends told me during my solemnisation...those 'aunties n uncles' tt dont know us keep yaking yaking away n she was so pissed tt she felt like asking them shut up. i also noticed that my uncle was vry disturbed by pple who were yaking away (guest whom we dont know aka PIL's guests)...i cld see his facial expression, kept looking at those yaking pple n seem pissed off..... actually i was disappt n really pissed with my PIL!!!

but the arrangement at lobby lounge terrace by syafie was great...guests cldnt complain coz they din hv to walk so much n had drinks to keep them cool...anyway the weather was great tt day!!!

oh, i was with Divine Couture, n i must say they r fantastic
...till now i still felt i din wear my gowns long enough hehe. n my studio n outdr was studio d'fia by Kim....he's great too...many friends said my pics r great. actual day was choonhuat.... he was vry good as well...even my mum is full of praises for him.

totoro

Hi gals..

I think i will try to ask again..
the ultimate, i lost the contract, think my FH going to kill me..

I will try to ask for the 18 bottles of wine..
need to check the flower as well.

Sigh!
so much to do and i have yet to sign up any package, going to scout around in Nov, on diet at the moment!

fang

Hi Gra,

Want to know more about the carpark passes.
Where is parade square? Is it at the old building there?

If so, I believe it is quite a distance from Rasa sentosa leh.

I am having my wedding next yr and car park is a concern. Care to share more.

Btw, has anyone ever ask for complimentary wines on top of their package?? heee...just thinking.

gra

Hi totoro

Why not try again. I have got her to indicate this claue in our contract. HAve you paid the deposit.

Anyway, I intend to taste the wine before I confirm the exchanges with her. Well, if I can't serve presentable wines to my guests, I will rather not serve.

Hi bobomagic

About 60 to 70 % will be in the late 20s to early 30s. The rest about 40 - 50. So I believe that most of them will enjoy wine.

For my flower deco, I will be taking white and yellow roses.

Hi Fang

It is located at the muscial fountain (near the entrance of Sentosa).

fang

Hi Gra,

So how are they gg to rasa from the musical fountain?

Are we gg to use our coaches or they will provide us?

Thanks again...

totoro

Hi Gra,

Nope i have yet to pay the deposit.
Ya will try to talk to her again.

i am also interested in the carparks lot.

beanie

Hi all brides to be,

I am having my wedding at rasa in June 2003 too and my coordinator is Ethel. Have not heard much about her from this forum.

question

I am also having my wedding at rasa and my coordinator is Ethel. Dun seems to hear much about her too.....kind to share?