pei say leh!! tink i created this fight on this thread
but.. personally.. i do agree on giving reasonable ang baos to all helpers who have extended their help in making our wedding joyous and memorable..
moreover.. it is a gesture of appreciation to them.. to show our graditude.. on how much the amount should be.. tink should measure by the effort contributed lor..
for brothers.. shld b more ba!! b'coz most likely most of them drive.. so have to pay for their petrol & car polishing.. and they're required to help out during the dinner time as well..
for jie mei.. tink lesser lor!! b'coz on top of wht we'll be giving to them, they'll get extra bonus from the groom when he comes picking up the bride in the morning..
so tht depends on how power they are liao.. hehehe
Hi mad...
"The goodwill and tradition of angbao giving has been ulterly destory. It has became a mockery of the chinese culture."
I dun agree!!! Wedding is a joyous occasion which is supposingly to get blissed and blessed by ur valuable guest.. not to create a negative hot topic to be discussed among ur guests!!!
If there is such topic, I rather it to be some good compliment on how we value our guests and treated those who helped out with high dignity & appreciation... and not simply exploiting them and arguing the fact that... friendship is not weighed by $$.. help shld be extended FOC.. bla bla bla..
If you value ur friends.. then tink for them!! They have all taken leave at this crucial economy moment.. where company strongly discourages.. at a point.. risking been black-marked.. waking up early in the morning.. spending 1 full day helping you in whtever you can name.... and end of the day.. still hv to fork out $$ for ang bao to us..
A reasonable token from the couple is juz an appreciation to show them your graditude.. not to show them how generous you are!!.. but of coz.. not to the extreme of giving an amt juz out of some formalities!!
If you have money to splurge on high class hotel, special arrangement etc etc.. dun tell me you dun hv enough to give to your helpers who went all the way to make your night perfect!!
If you say.. ang baos are out of goodwill, does tht mean tht.. presence w/o ang bao is good enuf??.. if you agree.. then I really SALUTE u!!