Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

bonnie

you mean you have a buffet at the waterfront lawn area on 18 Oct and a chinese dinner on 12 Oct?

wow so you can stay at the bridal suit for 2 days rite? one on 12 and the other on 18 rite?....:D

vio

hi bonnie,

Unfortunately only 1 nite on e 12oct!
cos my buffet dinner @ the lawn on 18oct did not reach the required no. of guests they quoted - so can't give me bridal suite. Buffet dinner pkg deal not v.attractive noe, alot of 'cut, cut' here there

totoro

actually gals,
i dun really understand the card part..
do we have to pay for the wedding card??

lets say, i dun want to use their wedding card, can i exchange something for free??

vio

hi bonnie,

y 2 seperate dinner huh, well i've always wanted a beach wedding - relax, wine & champagne, musicians & losta fun ;p so u think those old folks appreciate?? hee....tt's y lor.

hey totoro,

apart fr chopstick, china doll chopstick holder & choco think there's potpourri.

u used Dang bridal svc? wat ur pkg incl. huh? how much?

totoro

hi vio,

yap ...my package $4488 with andrew choi..MTM gown and EG, men suit, make up artist..does not include car ...

fang

my wedding is at the pavilion.
other than chopsticks, u can choose chopsticks holder, potpourri, fruit cake, chocolate.

Ethel said she will send me the pics for the potpurri and chopsticks. I will send to you all when it arrives.

actually have a car in the bridal package is quite good. now i am sourcing out for car on my big day and the rental is sooo steep as high as 500 bucks!

bleuz

hi bonnie,

i had my wedding at the siloso ballroom last sept.

the setup was really nice too so no worries =)

blurblur

Have any one march in thru a long path in siloso ballroom? that mean for the bride and groom, instead of marching in, in the middle, you will march in the middle and turn straight to the other end?

Lastly, any one have sword bearer on your wedding day? How many sword bearer you have? did you take a longer march or shorter march?

leng

hello all

As I mentioned I was beri busy with my work project so didnt spend enuf time for my wedding preparation. So everything was beri last min, so 2 weeks b4 my wedding, we met up with our MC n program coordinator to discuss the program.

As mine was a sit down dinner, sigh... alot of things was quite 'traditional' , like cut cake, champagne, thanks guests, 1st & 2nd march in...so many things n only 8 dishes to go so have to send advance team to get the guests in the next table 2 get ready for picture taking. I almost fainted, so boh liao!

Alamak, I hated it beri much to b honest, beri diff from my idea, cosy n relax dinner. This really make me feel very frustrated n the program seem so rush n dont get to enjoy our wedding, disappointed is the word.

I didnt want the yim sang but friends said it is very hard n guests expect that when we were on the stage, kind of hard to tell them no.

I tried beri hard to accept it. I was kept thinking abt it for 3 days until my hubby suddenly burst out (he ususally quite chin chai wan)said he didnt like the 'procedure' for the dinner part. It was exactly wat I was thinking, I decided to call my MC & program coordinator to change the whole thing drastically.

We have decided to 'drop' the stage. I think the stage is the one that make plp feel 'formal' n expectation of yim sang, cut cake etc. Instead we have an open area after carpet n both vip tables were placed at where the stage is supposed to be (all same level).

I have oso decided to drop the 2nd march for the dinner bcos I oreli hv a march in during outdoor solemnisation. We preferred a more relax n cosy dinner, here is our program

7.45 1st March in (so lucky to b able to start on time)
7.50 Thanks the guests for coming, pop champagne. We poured champagne specially for both set of our parents, served them personally (give them abit of attention),a few words of thanks to our parents.
8.00 Dinner begin (beri relax from here on)
8.20 Change to EG n just walk in casually.

Rasa staff moved in the couch into the ballroom just b4 the floral arch. This was my idea as I do not want to go round every table for picture taking except for relative tables. As many of our friends r big groups, it will b more interesting to have some group photos at the open area where the couch was instead of table photos for all. The only thing is we were asking for 'troubles' since these group gathered together, more or less will saboh abit loh.

We have quite a bit time to mingle around, no hurry. As long as the 8 dishes r paced such that the last dish is served around 10pm, my MC & program manager also get to enjoy the dinner, no advance team so every1 can relax n eat their dinner.

We actually play a game with the guests as suggested by the MC since we have time. Not on the stage, so not so pie say lah, quite fun.

By then 10.15 dinner ended, we r by the door to thank the guests.

At least, I have somehting closer to wat we like n feel comfortable. So, my advice for u gals is there is no need to conform to traditional procedure, do wat u wish to, it is your wedding!!

catz

leng, your arrangement sounds very good! gosh, wish I'd thought of it!

blurblur, I had 8 swordbearers - just nice number 'cos for the wedding ceremony at waterfront, the aisle wasn't very long but it was still OK for the long march-in we had at Siloso ballroom. We marched in from the back but we requested no red carpet 'cos it's easy to trip!

Hope this helps...

vio

hey leng,

thks for sharing w us! agreed w catz tt ur arrangment was grest.

I like ur couch idea!! true, table photos really boring. u've abolished the traditional procedure yehh!!!

do u mind sharing ur wedding pic w us?
can email : [email protected]

Thks tks ;)

Hi Catz,

i'm having another dinner at e waterfront too. wat time did u start ur cocktail or dinner? i'm worried abt the lightings - not bright enough 4 pic taking!

can share ur pic w me as well?

thks very much ;)

thks thks ;)

catz

Sorry I don't have the pix of the Siloso ballroom scanned in. But honestly, Siloso ballroom is OK, esp 'cos you have the reception area.. So don't worry, yah?

vio, my ceremony lasted for 1 hour.. we had the guests seated by 4.50pm and started 5pm on the dot.. by the time we ended at 6, it was still bright.. 'cos if you end at 6.30pm, might be too dark for the photos to come out nicely. But also cannot start too early if not your guests will be really hot! After the ceremony, we served cocktails and light snacks before ushering the guests into the ballroom at about 6.30pm.

bobomagic

Hi Little lion

Ur tip in warding off the rain really interesting ...u mean u got the rasa staff to plant chilli n garlic in the soil?? Not just leave chilli n garlic on the ground? I think anything is worth a try for me...I am desperately hoping it eould rain on my WD in Dec...Sigh

vio

hi catz,

it's ok u dun've it scanned - no prob

i'll arrange to view e place (actual wedding set up) wen draw nearer to my big day - bonnie, u can arrange w ur coordinator too!

oh...so ur cocktail @ waterfront n dinner in ballrm - tt's nice!! i'm sure ur pic turned out great esp w swordbearer

mine will b outdoor for e whole evening (buffet), tt's y worry abt lighting

jewel

Yap,

Asked my co-ordinator to help .. think they planted too many chilli & garlic.. it was very hot that day.. we actually went down in the afternoon to observe the set-up, the poor staff all burnt by the hot sun..

Vio - you are having an outdoor dinner too? Where is the location?? If you are taking lots of photos during the dinner - best to ask for more lightings (I paid extra for lightings & despite that, the lighting was not sufficient... the background of my photos turned out dark)

vio

hi jewel,

hum.....so e chilli n garlic does help huh heee.....i'll try too

mine at the waterfront lawn - overlooking the sea. is urs there too? so u made arrangement w rasa or our own contact for e lightings? how much more u paid for tt?

one of e photographer told me if there's buildings in e bkground, pic will still turn out ok. but if it's e sea........it'll b DRAK!!

wen was ur wedding? any pic to share huh ;p

totoro

recenlt i just got chiz off by one of friend. he keeps using his wedding to compare to mine. i mean i really detest that ok..and the fact that he keeps saying that beautfort which is also in sentosa is much better than rasa...

like its more high class..and is it true that per table is more than one thousand, i refused to believe it.

so disgusted ;o(

catz

hi vio,
i think you'd better pay for the extra lighting 'cos your photos won't come out nice, if not. no buildings around the waterfront area leh!
swordbearers at a waterfront wedding was a bit unusual lor.. it was quite funny 'cos a lot of the hotel guests were standing around in their swimsuits watching our wedding! :p

totoro, don't be sad yah? it's true that beaufort is considered a higher-class hotel but it's no reason for your sickening friend to keep harping on it. per table is definitely not $1000.. lemme check with my friend yah? anyway, you can tell him that rasa sentosa is shangri-la group and the food is good! no point arguing with those stupid people. :p

fang

hi totoro,

dun be mad over tat frd who is out to ruin your biggest day. remember it is your wedding not hers. wat impt is both of you like it will do. period.

if it me, i will be disgusted too.
just tell her: watever then ...just remember yours is over and mine is coming soon and i looked foward to that day. TRUE friends will not complain even though it is held in a hawker centre.

ok, dun be mad. i just received the emails on the pics for the give-aways. give me ur email addr and i send over. same to the rest!

vio

hi catz,

yes, take ur advise - i better pay for xtra lighting cos no bldgs ard!! tks ;)

as 4 ur swordbearer - though unusual at the waterfront but it left u w gd momeries rite heee....itz always gd to b different fr other's wedding, i'm sure ur guests njoyed it ;)

hi bonnie,
no i dun hv swordbearer

hey totoro,
cheer-up, yah dun let his remarks affect u. so wat his at beautfort!! stay pretty yah ... anger only makes him more snob

hi fang,
i'd love to be incl. too! my email : [email protected]

thks thks ;)

bobomagic

Hi Fang, can send to me too? At [email protected]

Hi Totoro, Dun think it's very nice of ur 'friend' to keep putting ur wedding down..he insecured or wat? Dun be affected by him...Like wat catz said, Rasa is after all under the Shangri la group...standards should be good. Beaufort can be quite our of the way for ppl.

vio

thks fang.... got it!!!

it's potpourri, chopstick n .... tt box shld b for choco rite??

e chopstick looked better then e one my colleague got in nov - at least it'z gold color. quite nice!!

oct pooh

Hi rasa brides,

Wow.....it's been a week since i last entered the thread n saw such a long discussion. keep reading n reading ;p

Totoro, to update ur list....my wedding date is on the 11th Oct...one day b4 Bonnie =)

Yup Bonnie...mayb we shall do all the co-ordination thingy tog..at least we can remind each other wat have been done and wat have not ;p

Anyone got agnes (my co-ordinator) as their co-ordinator?? often heard ethel's name being mentioned but not my co-ordinator.

Vio,
is yr wedding an out-door or an in-door one? my co-ordinator din mentioned to me dat i can choose waterfront lawn. i only have 2 options leh...either @ the beachfront (which is not exactly BEACH but SWIMMING POOL front) and the other is @ the lawn area. If can choose beachfront that is facing the sea...will request to change. Leng & catz....any comments??

catz

Hi oct pooh,

Hmmm... not exactly sure but mine was Waterfront which is kinda in front of the beach (but not the centre front of the hotel which leads to the beach) and swimming pool... not sure about the other area your coordinator mentioned. Perhaps you could arrange to go down and have a look at the venues?? Would be a safer bet leh..

little lion

Hi Vio,

My wedding was last Sept. As mine was on the beach, I had to pay extras for venue rental, generator for the powerpoints, lighting, sound system plus lots of other logistics which I cannot remember now.

Sorry, think the website which I posted my pics is down. cos several of my friends cannot access it..

vio

hello oct pooh,

i'll hv chinese sit-down dinner on 12oct @ e pavilion & buffet dinner for abt 100 guests on 18oct @ waterfront lawn.

it's actually on the right end side of e hotel (beside sea)w white fence, there's a pub infront of e lawn! location is w/in rasa premises. if it's on the siloso beach in front of the hotel, like wat little lion had - u've to get approval
fr sentosa mgmt n pay extra for venue, tentage etc..

hi little lion,

it'z ok - no prob, but in any case it'z available do share k ;)

fang

Hi Tipper,

Sent! let me know if you do receive.

Hi Bonnie,

Yes if you want, you can still opt for the chopstick holder. I think i will have that as well.
Much presentable...cake and choc too common.
Chopstick somewhere i read said looks like buy from thailand. and the potpurri looks like a malay wedding give givers. so we have decided on the holder instead.

vio

hey fang,

i was e one mentioned tt e chopstick my colleague rec'd last nov fr a rasa dinner looked like holiday souvenir fr thailand. but they hv since improved to gold fabric w a tiny rose ;) nice

juz shown e pic u sent to tt colleague of mine - she agreed tis one so much more presentable!!

yah, me too felt potpurri looked like malay wedding heee.....

totoro

huh?? is there a chopstick holder??
what i saw in the pic is only a pair of chopsticks?

thanks for the attachment vio
hmm...

strawberry

hi totoro,
sorry to have miss your posting about the video yesterday, maybe you can give me your email so that i can tell you in details of what happened.

vio

hi totoro,

yah e china doll chopstick holder in a box was not in e pic Fang sent.

saw it last june wen met Elaine for discussion.
read somewhere they might discontinue tt - hope not as i quite like it though, esp for chinese dinner