Shangri-la Hotel

sinplyme

can i ask, do we contact the florist on our own or wait for the coordinator to arrange?

babymarian

hello sinplyme

we have to contact the florist on our own

yup, we have to inform the florist about our theme...they can do any themes according to our budget...
the basic floral arrangement that shang provides is really basic...

sinplyme

hi marian, oh, so we have to top up $ based on our theme? hm.. so when do i contact the florist and how do i approach them? just let them know i am a shang bribe? cos i understand shang has it's own recommended florists.

babymarian

sinplyme,
yup, we have to top up money based on how elaborate we want the decor to be...
i think normally we should contact the florists 4-5 months before our wedding...
yup, just inform them you're a shang bride

babymarian

no worries

i'm still considering between fiore dorato and boenga...
however, both of them are not shang's florist so i'll have to exchange something with the floral value...

sinplyme

I see. I'm curious, usually if we dont take Shang's florist and engage an external floral + venue decor, roughly how much will that cost?

babymarian

hmmm...they can work something out according to your budget...it depends on the scale of your wedding and the elaborateness of the decor...
as an example, flower centerpieces for round tables start from $300...higher centerpieces will start from $400...

you can have a look at their creations on their websites and make an appointment with them to have a chat with them about your theme...
they will offer you some ideas...then you can think about it...there is no pressure at all...

www.boenga.net
www.fioredorato.com.sg

enimsaj85

hi all, im 80% going to be a Shang bride!
going to make the final decisiont hsi sat when i meet my wedding co-ordinator Veronica Ng. so far, she's been very nice and accommodating.
i'm in love with the Island ballroom so i cant wait!

dinitegrity

I guess this thread is still very slow and almost dead. LOL... But anw, on the topic of florist, I will be engaging an external florist for my event.

$300/$400 per table for a centerpiece? That is so damn crazy BLOODY EX. (Some of my research shows that a couple entire outdoor wedding flora deco is only $350!)
I would really urge you all to source external florist.

Just type 'florist' in the search bar here in SGbrides and you'll find yourself many choice. I am sure they are GOOD and CHEAP.
Well that's all for me..
Of course, my coordinator: Jennifer has been very coo-operative with me for the external florist etc.

I will be fixing a date down with Jennifer tgt with my florist soon.

Btw, as mentioned, I'm a Nov bride in Shang. Certainly, in the well-loved Pavilion.

It was really strange, in the past, Pavilion is like a nobody choice, many prefer the garden or waterfall one. But nowadays, suddenly more and more like Pavilion.. LOL

happylilone

Hi gals, though I'm not a bride of Shang, I would like to recommend a florist. I'm sure her charges are reasonable and v dedicated to suit your wedding theme.

I'm not related to her, just a student picking up lessons from her. However week in week out, I've seen her arrangments for weddings and they are beautiful. She even take the effort to go down to see the venue to advise abt arrangment.

She's oso not 'giam' with the type of flowers to use, on top of it her flowers are more lasting cos she has v good knowledge abt them.

I dunno if I can 'ad' for her here, interested brides can drop me an email at [email protected] .. I dun take anything seriously.. Jus to introduce my teacher to u gals..

dinitegrity

sinplyme, like i've shared with you.
Please just use the search tools here and type 'florist'. Many links'll pop out.

I dono which happylilone's shop is, perhaps she can just say the name here as is good to know which florist is good.

But just to let you all know that 'take e effort to go to the venue to advise' is the fundamental basic every florist should do if you engage their 'event deco' service. Of course they needed view the venue before hand la. Unless you engage those 'solemnisation table, theatre seating arrangement' all these standard lei. So of course no pt go dw the venue see.

What I meant was that the florist I found is really cheap and good. I did research on it and read reviews about it. So i guess is good brides also do reviews abt it.

Jus do a search here..

sinplyme

diane > thanks for the advise. will do a search here.

happylilone > got ur mail. thanks!

aside to all, I'm just curious why are you ladies *if you've done so* considering external florists?

dinitegrity

simplyme, basically bcos of the cost of Shang's internal florist. I ask my coordinator, normally what is the lowest-end of a venue deco, she quote me around 'few thousands' ok I phengz lo.

When I research ard here in SGbrides, I realise I've many other choices. Every good choices and best of all, price range, flexibility, very good service etc.

Not say in Shang do our event den die die must use Shang's florist den nice meh? No ma.

Is the same theory as my boutique shopping experience. Though I love Hermes and Chanel bags, but esp Chanel SA is damn LL de as compared to lower ends like erm Burberry SA? Is just whether that very high-end company heng to hire such nice serving SA a not lo.

So same goes for florist. Even though Shang's florist may be high-end or what (in-line with Shang's 5 boutique * hotel reputation) but it also depends on the florist's experience etc.

You may be surprise that those florists I have found did wonders and definitely do not need $300/$400 per table centerpiece. And these florists because dealing mostly with ppl like me of an avg budget, they really squeeze their brain juice to every details and you'll be surprised that this amount of money you spend can do SO MANY THINGS.

On the contrasts for those engaged Shang's internal florist.. They (i believe) normally deals with tais tais or ppl who earn slightly more than avg (hence these tais tais got $ also think won't bargain too much or can say just don mind spending the $ lo), so these internal florists don't really needa squeeze their brainjuice, just find whatever they can used since there's no budget concern (you get what i mean?) - like if I like this particular design alot, I show my florist I wanna do something similar, (of the that design is a rather sophisicated & ex one), so the florist'll really engaged here thinking cap and tink how to replace some of the items in the design to do something similiar to catch the feel I want and yet much much cheaper.

babymarian

sinplyme,
i've engaged an external florist under the advice of my coordinator and designer...i want to transform my room into something magical...
i'm looking for a decorator that can give me the same effect as Preston Bailey cause i love his creations!! :D

sinplyme

diane & marian > I see. So you ladies have consulted the internal florists before looking at external ones... cos I've thought of a theme too and was thinking of going to the internal ones to see how's the quotes and designs like 1st.. before deciding on external ones.
So normally how early do u engage the florists?

dinitegrity

simplyme, I did not consult internal florist but consult my coordinator what is the average or rather lowest end rate of venue deco (she mention few thousands), I got scare off.

I got my theme as well. But definitely I will be engaging external florists.

You really can try internal if you don mind wasting your time (depending when is your wedding, mine is this nov = no time to waste le) or if you have more $ to spend and don mind spending the extra. As you can read from above, 1 table centerpc ardy cost $300 cheapest. Imagine you got how many tables? And that is only the tables deco lei. Normally if got theme (like for me - i am doing the entire ballroom), much much more items needed lo.

You can try their internal florist and do share with me the price they quote you.. LOL

I wanna engage my florist now (i think still early for me) but reason being cos I have alot of other thing left undone. Wanna settled those can be done 1st de. Also book my date with them in case the date (mine is a particularly auspicious date), very easily kena booked de. Chop place 1st lo. Cos all the florist I've enquire don care whether you small case or big case, they go on 1st come 1st serve basis. Normally I guess is best to source for one 4-5 months before your wedding. 3months or shorter may be too rush and most of the florist may already be fully booked le.

enimsaj85

Hi Diane, do you mean the price of the table ($1400 per table let's say) does not include the cost of the floral arrangements? I thought the package comes with floral decorations already.

dinitegrity

jasmine, I am not sure about it. You may wanna check with the others as I am not taking the normal dinner package. I think aft 17% should be $1.6k per table le ba as per I last enquire.

Do check with your coordinator on that... I believe even if included in the package, only the VIP table ba? And the guest table will be average de lo..

yomeishu

does the flower so important for the tables? I didn't even bother to ask my coordinator for the flower/centre piece on my rom tables and l just used whatever they gave lol...not even any theme. Anyway, it's only 3 hours event, not really worth spending few thousand on the flowers. keep the $ to engage a good photographer or band. Isn't it worth? =)

sinplyme

qwerty > yah, there's some sense in what u said too.. i still cannot make up my mind in deciding to spend a little more on florist or not...

enimsaj85

Hi ladies, i'm meeting the Shangri-la florist Sing See Soon this weekend so wish me luck! Anyone knows which is the other affiliated florist by any chance?

sinplyme

qwerty > yah, that's true so I'm taking my time to decide,

Jasmine > when's ur wedding? do share about ur experience with SSS after this weekend k.

autumnvows

Hi, I am planning my wedding for 40 tables (+/-) end 2010 or early 2011. Anyone able to share their packages with me so I will have a better idea what to expect from Shangri-La when I meet up with the wedding coordinators?

yomeishu

Hi IsA, congrats to your wedding. have you booked shang? If not, you can consider Pan pac since your in laws more particular on food. l think pan pan food is nice as their hai tian lou famous on food