Shangri-la Hotel

chendol

Hi Wedding Girl!

Welcome to the Shang brides thread!
Wow - we are in three same threads!! Feel free to PM me if you have any queries.

Hi Pishako

Thanks for the PM!

chendol

Esther, no worries about florist since yours is on Christmas! I only met them nearer the wedding. When I met with Dolly from JM flowers, she said I could even decide the Tues before the wedding, and it'd be on time.

wedding_girl

hey twinkle,
thanks for the welcome. yep, we are in so many same threads!

esther,
i suppose the more popular places are always booked up fast.

btw, who are your coordinators?

cactus_79

Hi wedding girl, you mean there are only 2 coordinators? Jean and Melanie?

Melanie is really nice. I like her alot. She's professional and very friendly.

wedding_girl

cactus,
yup, Jean told me there're only 2 of them. Jean takes grooms with surname A-L/M i think. Melanie takes the rest.

Jean's ok. Professional too, and she was quite nice about all the changes my MIL wanted to make.

cactus_79

Hi wedding girl,

That's very nice to know!
I think the coordinators at Shang are great.

Oh! A belated warm WELCOME to this thread!!

yeet7

I am actually looking at both Shang and RTP for my wedding dinner in June 08. Wondering if anyone has any advice? I am also looking for the dinner packages for 2008, wondering if any kind soul can forward to me at [email protected]?

Will appreciate that a lot.

yeet7

Thank you wedding girl for the info.
But does anyone has the 2007 package? I just need to make a rough comparison as from what I understand changes are usually minimal except for the prices
Would appreciate if anyone can email me at [email protected]. Thanks a million.

deli_lambchop

Hi everyone, I'm new to Singapore Brides but wanted to take a look at everyone's comments on Shang. We've pretty much decided on Shang, and about to make the deposit payment... just trying to make sure that it will be the right choice... phew!

chendol

Welcome soon to the shang brides club!

When's yr AD? Shang is a 5* hotel, so you'll be getting quality.
My view is that chinese wedding banquets cost so much anyway, so paying marginally more for a hotel that you can rest easy with, is worth it.

deli_lambchop

thanks twinkle... we're kiasu, our AD is end of 2008

we thought shang's package was quite good, they give quite a lot of value-added stuff. and the menu looks more interesting than other hotels. hopefully food is nice! but the suite that comes with the package doesn't look that fab... sigh.

wedding_girl

hi tien and irene, you've got mail.

lambchop, welcome! i felt the most comfortable with Shang's service, incl service of the coordinator. and i've attended a wedding there before which i was most impressed with, so Shang is the one for me and FH. no worries, food is nice. i thought the suite seemed quite ok.

twinkle, could you share which florist you used? and how was the suite? i think i got the suite that's not in the valley wing - can't remember the name.

chendol

i used dolly and the suite was ok... it's the horizon premier something tower wing room. actually it was really convenient cos tower wing is nearest the ballrooms.

the suite was not as nicely done (e.g. no petals strewn over the bed etc) as some other hotels but it was spacious and comfy! i didn't even see it until the night itself so it wasn't a big part of my decision making process.

of course the valley wing is more luxurious (stayed there before when my friends got a room to party) but 2 ppl really don't need all that space lah.

wedding_girl

twinkle,
i'm getting that premier somthing tower wing too. i did try to ask for an upgrade, cos i'd heard that the valley wing is much nicer. they didn't really wanna give it to me, but i also figured a room near the ballroom might be better, won't waste so much time walking up and down especially since i have to rush back for photo taking.

did you have to top up for additional flowers?

deanaling

have u gals gotten ur invites yet?

i'm probably doing my own cos i need more than the 70% that Shangri-La provides.

anyone knows where i can buy square envelopes?

chendol

i spent AGES searching for sq envelopes!

In the end just ordered more from the place that did my church invites. 20 cents for one.

Ling, have you done an estimate? If you're inviting quite a few families, they will only need one card. but if mainly colleagues (i.e. one card each) then you'll need more. I had leftovers even though initially I thought we'd be short.

cactus_79

I'm getting my invites done in May.

Doesn't Shangri-la provide the envelopes? I thought they did provide the envelopes together with ribbons.....?

chendol

yah i oso like flowers, but decided to prioritise. so i got the flowers i wanted at church, and decided to limit myself at dinner.

quite a lot of my friends told me that for one night, it's really quite extravagent to blow so much on flowers. And i guess becos of the number of tables we have, topping up can amount to a lot.

the flowers on stage and along the aisles were definitely ample and lush!

cactus_79

which florist did you use, twinkle? I'm trying to decide which to use.. I'm not keen to top up also.

Some brides mentioned fairy lights. What are they? are they only placed on the stage? If have fairy lights, no more flowers is it?

chendol

Dolly, as mentioned a few posts ago.

fairy lights are a given. they are the christmas tree type of lights, but constant, not twinkling. u can choose between a few types of stage flower decor apart from the fairy lights.

cactus_79

Thanks for your reply, twinkle!

Is Dolly difficult to work with? My husband spoke with her recently and said she's quite cold. I'm not sure if she had a bad day.... we've not been down to meet her. Only met Sebastian.

chendol

nope. think she's nice! very experienced. and very very hip for her age. just prob busy when u called.

how's sebastian?

cactus_79

I'll ask my husband to try call her again. Maybe it was a bad day!

Sebastian is nice. We've not met with Florence or Dolly so can't compare. I guess Sebastian is not the very warm type but he knows what he is talking about and he is nice. Not warm but nice.

chendol

I met florence too! She's friendly, but we preferred dolly's set-ups. and it's quite hard to get to impact creative unless you drive. lots of heavy construction going on there.

cactus_79

Yeah, I know what you mean. I was just studying the map to get to Florence's place cos we're meeting her 2 weeks from now.. it's quite difficult to get there. Think it's where the circle line construction is taking place! Alot of roads are diverted..

Maybe I shld convince my husband to meet up with Dolly or maybe I should do the telephoning...

chendol

i went to meet dolly the first time myself.
cos hubby was busy... you are busier than him is it? or is this how u have divided out the recce?

cactus_79

we don't really have a fixed division of labour.. if you get waht I mean. Sometimes, I do the telephoning, sometimes he does it, for the initial fix ups of appointments lah... the division of labour comes naturally.. he decided to call Florence, so after he set up the appointment, I checked out the street directory so we would know how to get there.

but we always go down together to meet with people, to save time for them in the event we think we are able to come a decision there and then.

chendol

usually i go down to recce first, so if i dun like it, don't even have to ask hubby to go down...
if I like it will narrow down and then bring him together to make final decision.

actually preparing for a wedding really trains u to work as a team. if a couple can survive planning for a large-ish chinese wedding dinner and renovation of an apt, then i think that's really good marriage prep!

beautifulsnow

Hi Shang brides,

I'm also a shang bride but seldom comes in here to chat. But, what a lively discussion here! maybe I should come in more often..
I signed the contract in October last year, even though my AD is Feb 2008. So guess it's gd to book early, get the date you want.

Hi Esther and Cactus, my coordinator is Melanie too.
I specially requested for her after reading the rave comments about her in the forum. She's really nice and sweet. Very efficient and professional. So, not too worried about having the banquet in Shang. I'm also using the Tower ballroom.

I will be engaging a band for the banquet and will be using the Baby Grand piano. Melanie did mention that the tuning if required will be S$120+++, has any1 here opted for the tuning? cos' she also mentioned most of the couples didn't get it tuned.

Hi Pishako, is your wedding date 24th Feb? If so, it's really a coincidence. Mine's the same date but next year...

Regarding the prices at Shang for 2007 (til 31st Dec 2007), according to a bridal mag I bought recently, it's stated S$928+++ - S$988+++ for grand collection. However, try to get a more accurate price from either Melanie or Jean. Hope this helps.

deli_lambchop

MM, a Chinese dinner at Shang (Grand Collection) starts at $938+++ for Fris and Suns; $988+++ for Sats, Public Holidays and eve of public holidays.
That's their Silver package. The Tower ballroom takes 35 - 55 tables, while the Island Ballroom takes 55 to 100 tables. Hope this helps!

tulips02

Hi Sally, welcome.

Melanie is great. She will reply my questions promptly everytime thru email or whatever.
Is your package same as this yr price?