Shanghai Jiangnan Tour

barbie_doll

Need advice.

I am going to Shanghai Jiangnan Tour in Oct 07. Just wonder whether their 3 star hotels rooms are small or not. Three of us are sharing the room. The tour agent told us not small.

Also, we have 2 Days F&E in Shanghai. Need to advice where to shop, sightseeing and eat in Shanghai for that 2 days.

Awaiting for your favourable reply.

Thanks & Regards,
Barbie Doll

cassis

barbie doll

i find MOST Chinese hotels much more spacious than HK ones. all 3 of u shd find the room comfy enuff.

I just arrived in SH 2 days ago. All I can say, it depends on what u 3 like to buy, see and eat. of course, ur tour should already include the MUST-SEEs like The Bund, Nanjing Rd, Xintiandi, Dongdang MingZhu Tower, am i rite?

for shopping, u want cheap or high street ones? u can go to Huaihai Road, which is the shopping street. U can find H&M flagship store there. The reason why i tell u that is cos u can't find this chain in SG yet. And, i'm sorry to inform u that the famous xiangyang mkt is now closed.

For sightseeing, there are many old villas of famous pp, museums, shikumen, Raffles City, etc.

For eating, you must go to Chenghuang Temple and Yuyuan where u must eat the famous Nanxiang soup dumplings.

U didn't ask abt clubbing, so I won't advise.

barbie_doll

Hi Cassis,

Thank you for your advice.

Yes, the places that you have mentioned are already included in the package.

Actually our purpose of joining this tour is to enjoy the sceneries.

Of course some shopping will help to enhance the trip.

I will like to go some shopping areas whereby we can shop for cheap and good stuff. Hope you can advise on this.

It's a pity that xiangyang mkt is now closed. Is it for permanent?

Ya, I have intended to go to Yuyuan. Heard that there are a lots of eateries there.

Heard that the taxi in Shanghai is cheap. Is it true?

How about the food? Heard a lot of stories that the food is oily and not nice.

Thanks & Regards.

cassis

Hi Barbie doll

Me just finished a sumptuous dinner at Le Platane, by Singapore's Les Amis Group, at Xintiandi.

OK, I know what you're looking for liao. THen I think 上海七浦路æœè£…批å‘市场will be the place for you all. It's basically wholesale centre selling fashion apparel and accessories. http://www.7p.com.cn/

You can walk along little avant garde shops along å—京西路,陕西北路,新ä¹è·¯ï¼Œç‘žé‡‘1ï¼ï¼’路,You'll be thrilled by unique fashion items (sometimes branded overruns) found in those small boutiques. For shoes, it'll be the famous 热风 HOTWIND which has many outlets all over China.

Yes, sorry your Xiangyang Market 襄阳 is closed down forever. There are still touts around 淮海路asking you if you want to buy A 货 from their sources. I dun buy imitation stuffs, so I ignore them when they approach me.

For authentic xiaolongbao, it'll be Nanxiang å—ç¿” at Yuyuan 豫园. Go straight to Level 3 for Foreigners. Order the SET dimsum which costs RMB50 for 8 course. DUH, I won't say "a lot" of eateries lah. KFC, Starbucks, Haagen Daz, Good meh?!!

Taxi starting fare is RMB11. Yes, very cheap and safe. I take cab back to my hotel alone after midnight many times. No worries.

I had authentic Shanghainese food last night becos my Shanghainese friend recommended a family-run restaurant tucked at some ulu backlane. It is FANTASTIC but I doubt u'll go there. It is rather sweet becos they like to add Shaoxing rice wine and pretty oily. But I hardly eat SH food in SH. You can try those along 衡山路 or 茂民路.

Ask your tour guide to take you to eat HAIRY CRABS in OCT. It is the season for the delicacy.

Are you into massage and spa? You should becos it's cheap in SH. You can try DRAGON FLY by Singapore. Last time I tried Banyan Tree. I will try Apsara or Evian Spa @ Three on the Bund this time.

You can continue to ask me more questions as I'm here till end of the week.

Bye.

smurfying

To add on Cassie's elaborated details, the previous Xiangyang mkt has dispersed into several locations. U can chk out 上海科技馆 in pudong, u can take MRT Line 2. Otherwise over in puxi, u can chk out 陶å®åŸŽ along å—京西路ã€è¿‘æˆéƒ½è·¯.

barbie_doll

HI Cassis,

Do the taxis go to anywhere in Shanghai?

At the moment, I have no idea which hotel we will be staying in Shanghai.

Therefore, I must check whether the taxi service goes to everywhere.

No, I dont go for A and imitation stuff. I also dont go for branded stuff. To me, as long as I like it, I will buy but at a reasonable price.

How cheap is the spa in Shanghai and how long is per session? Where is this 'Dragonfly'

Does Shanghai have restaurants that serve not so sweet stuff? I dont really fancy sweet food.

Thanks & Regards,
Barbie Doll

cassis

Hi Barbie Doll

Yes, they go everywhere in SH. However, some Puxi cabbies may not be familiar with Pudong roads, likewise some Pudong drivers might decline to take u to Puxi cos they are not familiar either. But if they said they dun know, just hop on to another cab or take the subway.

Hasn't that agent booked a place for u all yet?

International spas I find are pricey, like SG rate. Banyan Tree, Evian Spa, Bund 5 Oasis Spa (http://www.bundoasisspa.com/en/about.asp), Mandara (http://www.mandaraspa.com), Apsara, etc. But if u dun mind those local ones, they can be very good too. Cheaper somemore. But the massage techniques are Chinese traditional type lor. Press press poke poke...not like your Thai/Balinese type we're more familiar with in SG.

You can check out DragonFly's website: http://www.dragonfly.net.cn/ The prices are reasonable. However, if u really are into massage, u shd go to real Chinese ones which are everywhere in SH. lifestyle spas are better at tropical beach resorts I feel, so dun waste ur money on them here.

Hahah! Of course dear. SH has many international cuisines that are not sweet. Just dun patronise SH-nese restaurants...What do u want to eat during those 2 days? Chinese or Western?

barbie_doll

Hi Cassis,

Ok, I will keep that in mind.

I believe the agent is in the process of booking the hotels for us. Heard that there will be a briefing before departure. By then we should be able to know. Or I can check with the agent when I go to pay the balance amount.

We prefer Chinese food. Any recommendations on good and reasonable priced restaurants?

Barbie Doll

fatcat

Hi Cassis

Do you know these 2 hotels, can you tell me which one is more convenient for shopping and sightseeing etc? And in fact do you have any recommendation for good, cheap & clean hotel in Shanghai?

上海å—浦瑞峰酒店
上海 é»ƒæµ¦å€ å—倉街118號
86-21-63771188

Express By Holiday Inn
PUTUO SHANGHAI
843 GUANGFU XI ROAD
SHANGHAI, 200063 CHINA
Hotel Front Desk: 86-21-61421818 | Hotel Fax: 86-21-61487999

Thanks in advance!!!

cassis

Hi Barbie Doll

I just had another yummy dinner at a Japanese restaurant at 桃江路 called Haiku by Hatsume, which my friends told me it's opened by Singaporean too. 超好åƒï¼èµžï¼ I can't sleep now becos the makis are still in my stomach...

OK, for Chinese, you need to specify which type, e.g. Beijing (京), Cantonese (粤), Hunan (湘), Sichuan (å·ï¼‰, Northeast (东北),Jiangnan (è‹æµ™ï¼‰ï¼ŒSH (本帮),Shantong (é²ï¼‰ï¼ŒTaiwanese (å°ï¼‰ï¼ŒChongqing (æ¸ï¼‰ï¼ŒGuizhou (贵),etc.

Since I usually eat Cantonese, I can rattle off my FAVOURITES that I think are affordable for a quick bite: 新旺茶é¤åŽ… (huaihai lu æ— æžé™ mall),采è¶è½© (Raffles Cityï¼XTD),翡翠 (Xujiahui 港汇/XTD),屋ä¼æ±¤é¦†ï¼ˆXujiahui 港汇),葡京茶é¤åŽ…(Times Square), Charmes Restaurant (Raffles City), Bellagio (Taiwanese)。These exclude some condemned ones which are popular among locals: é¿é£Žå¡˜ï¼ˆsucks! 骗上海人的粤èœ),永和 (Taiwanese - I dun like lor).

But then, I can name as many as possible but it still depends on where you are shopping at that time. It's hard to predict what you'll eat eventually, trust me!!

Maybe u can check with ur guide where u'll be hanging out at, then i can tell u the better eateries in that area. I'm a gourmet!! hehe

Cheers!!

cassis

hi fatcat

hv u googled the pictures yet? I'm afraid I have never heard of the hotels u named. I'd recommend that u use www.ctrip.com to search for your SH hotel. Select the district u prefer, the budget, the star-rating and they will give u a list of choices.

上海å—浦瑞峰酒店 seems to be near to all the MUST-SEEs and u can just take a cab to those places easily. Express seems newer/cleaner but location-wise, maybe so-so only.

Personally, I'm very impressed by MOTEL168 which is a chain available in SH. http://www.motel168.com/

Jin Jiang Inn is another budget chain but older than Motel168. http://www.jj-inn.com/

Homes Inn (by CTRIP founders) is another choice for budget travellers. http://www.homeinns.com/program/index.aspx

Actually, it depends on whether u wanna stay at a proper hotel or budget one.

melodykitty

Hi Barbie Doll,

Which agency did u book ur pkg with? care to share the costs n itenary? i'm looking at SH pkg too. i know Focal is offering 8 days tour to SH & Jiangnan + 2N stopover at HongKong!! cos its a Cathay Pacific promo. all this for about S$900. it seems like a really good deal but the departure dates are not my preferred departure so i'm still considering. Focal did mention that if i wish to travel on specific dates, i could travel by min 2 to go but need to pay about S$120 more per pax. we are travelling in grp of 4 so felt that the extra costs not that justified. can someone pls advise what is the difference b/w min 2 to go or min 10 to go tours? cos for the 2 to go, when we r in SH, we would be joined by tourists from around the world too. not that exclusive such that it warrants such a price diff isn't it?

sorry for the doubts cos its my first time joining tour. always an advocate of F&E :p

barbie_doll

Hi Cassis,

I will prefer cantonese food. Wow the names that you mentioned are well known ones like crystal jade and xin wang which here also have.

I will only know the hotels when I go down to pay the balance.

Is it alright for me to ask you again when I got the hotel names?

Really appreciate that you have given me lots of valuable tips.

Regards.

barbie_doll

Hi Melodykitty,

We are joining SA tours and it cost $954 per pax for 8 days travelling on SQ.

Actually within these 8 days we have 2 days free & easy in Shanghai.

The iternary is as below

Shanghai
Suzhou
Hangzhou
Wuxi

I had checked around a few tour agencies and compared the package. We did check with Focal as well. As it does not go to the places I want, I did not sign up with them. Also, cannot take so many days leave. For the cathay promo, it will need to take at least 10 days because they are giving you 2D Free & Easy in Hong Kong on top of the 8 Days.

The people in our tour group will all from SA Tours. At the moment, the group has got around 20 plus pple.

Oh......for min 2 to go, it means 2 persons can just book and go any time and usually will join other travel agencies pple during the tour.

As for min for 10 to go, the tour is confirmed departure when there is at least 10 persons.

As to why there is a need to pay more for 2 to go as compared to 10 to go, according to the tour agent, they can get a better price with airlines and hotels with more pple.

cassis

Hi Barbiedoll

OK, go for your briefing first, but I doubt they will confirm the hotels. most of the time, tour agencies cannot reveal the hotel names prior to departure cos they dun want tourists to demand they want to change this change that. maybe SA Tour might tell u.

btw, 新旺茶é¤åŽ… in SH is not by the same 新旺香港茶é¤åŽ… group in Singapore, I think. The Crystal Jade is our SG one of course.

smurfying

Cassis, é¿é£Žå¡˜ opposite portman quite nice mah... there're several fake é¿é£Žå¡˜ around the city tho. Hav tried all the restaurants u've named in canto categories and crystal jade is one of my favourite lunch canteens as it's rite within my office bldg haha.

Barbiedoll, do u like peanut ice shave? if so, it's a must eat at å°åŸŽæ•…事 (changshu lu MRT) or Bellagio (near XTD)

cassis

really? i tried a couple of times at é¿é£Žå¡˜ but i'm very disappointed leh
Maybe I'm very fussy!!
where is your office bldg? HK New World Tower? Ganghui? i can go and find u. whahahah!! *Kidding*

fatcat

Cassis: thanks for the info i also think the Express not so convenient. Will check out the 168 motel, by the way i'm a bit worry of the motel or inn coz i will be going with another female, that's why i would like a normal hotel but not the 5 star one la, any good 3 star you can recommand?
And so good to know so many SH experts out there to help.
Thanks everyone!!

cassis

hi tansy
I'm not working in SH. I'm here for some meetings till end of the week. HK New World...hmmm, Millenium Copthorne? 许留山is there!

cassis

fatcat:
the motel168 is clean, cheap and safe I heard from many friends who stayed there before.

tansy, do u hv any good recommendations since u r a resident there?

I find Huangpu district a bit messy and old and i dun really like to go to Yuyuan area. I prefer Xuhui, Jingan, Luwan districts.

smurfying

Erm...Xuhui is forever crowded so i seldom frequent there. Anyway wherever u are in SHA it's messy n crowded. I noe nuts for hotel leh cos i'm living in an apt lor LOL. But previously, my hb used to stay in tis hotel behind Raffles City, tink it's a 3/4 star. V gd location n decent.

Nope i'm not fr M&C. But should u noe there're openings PLSSSSS lemme noe keke!

cassis

i like hustle and bustle. tansy, i like those clothes at Xinle Rd, but I can't wear them in SG cos it's too loud and warm (autumn/winter). SAD.

oic, u hv an apt. hotel behind raffles city? zhongfu? i've some friends who work nearby stayed there and told me it's decent.

i am looking for an apartment here to buy. do u hv any recommendations?

not M&C...must be HK companies then. that bldg is full of HK companies.

i'll go and find another good restaurant to eat tonight.

smurfying

HAHAHA....not HK companies either lar. Stop guessing. Anyway, yah it's Zhongfu!!

New Apt ar, buy 8 Park by keppel land lor, at jingan district. Lotsa restrictions for foreigners here leh. Need to pay 30% cash upfront too. For investment purpose, u may consider Pudong areas, tat side is developing v fast and recent rentals can match the mature estate in Puxi.

cassis

okok, it's one of those lah...u know, i know can liao.

but zhongfu might be too run-down for some Signaporeans lor, so I just keep mum abt recommending it, though the location is excellent, u know rite?

8 Park is how much psm? RMB30K? Heard from my housing agent it'll go up to 50% soon. Need to work one yr min in SH too rite? sorry, I dun like Pudong...but æ±¤è‡£ä¸€å“ is really quite...ex. Frasers at Nanjingxilu is really very good. I dun mind secondhand ones like 5-yr-olds. Thks!

smurfying

Oh yah, Frasers is another recommended apt. But i find the location quite messy n crowded no doubt it's near to Line 2. Actually i'm not too sure about the SHA resi property leh, din keep track. Only trying to get a new HDB flat back in SG for the moment wahahhaa....

Not completely new properties but still ok, to name a few, One Park or Eight Park (Jingan), Top of the City (大沽路), Lakeville Regency (near XTD), I think got another new devp upcoming at XTD too, dunno the name tho. U wan to consider Hongqiao Gubei area?

My hb is not a particular person, so he is quite ok w Zhongfu. Plus the fact tat last time his office was at Raffles City. Haha...typicaly Sgrean, want cheap and good. Can always consider Le royal meridien too kekkekeke...

Ok getting serious, another one which my fren stayed in when he was on biz trip was tis Buiness Inn or something, it's near to One Park Ave, 15min walk to Jingan Temple. Cheap and good motel lo...

smurfying

fatcat, change in SG pls. Capital control in China, so changing of currency say in banks hav to bring passports. Not too sure about hotels tho.

cassis

hi tansy, thanks for your advice. I like Fraser's location very much becos it's near to Isetan, Meilongzhen Mall, Zara, Plaza66, etc. But it's sold out liao. Last heard RMB48K psm.

If u r staying in SH long-term, why not purchase one here?

Top of the City (大沽路). Is it the one opp the Malaysian restaurant downstairs. Got one amgmoh grocery store one? The facade is WAVE-like one.

Hongqiao Gubei. Is it the one connected to Shanghai City Mall, and built by Stanley Ho of Macau? I have been to that one. RMB3million for a 2-bedroom unit.

The Swee On property near XTD is very expensive. My gf got invitation to view the new Phase but it's really very pricey for me. RMB40K+ psm now.

Guess we'll wait for 2008 for the heat to die down.

cassis

fatcat:

Yes, change in SG. go to Chinatown, got better rates than Change Alley and Parkway I think :p

If u hv Citibank, Standard Chartered, HSBC a/cs, u can withdraw RMB at the ATMs everywhere in SH.

Airport and Hotel rates are no good. Worse than my Citibank ATM rate.

smurfying

Yah yah, Top of the City is the WAVE like one and Malaysian restaurant there. The environment quite okie, a row of eateries, near to Line 2, yet not in the buzzling street.

Actually we're not too sure if we will b here long term, but we're certain tat we wan a flat back in SG lor. SH housing is too ex to consider one i feel...at least for us at the moment.

fatcat

Tansy & Cassis: Thanks so much for all the useful info.

Tansy: the hotel behind Raffles City you mention, do you know the name?

cassis

The English name is CHARMS HOTEL (忠富?). It should be RMB400 thereabts for one night. Jiujiang lu is VERY EXCELLENT LOCATION, fatcat becos it's within walking distance to Nanking Shopping street and Raffles City (Renmin Square where the Lines 1 & 2 meet, so u dun hv to change here change there). Walk to end of Nanking Rd will be Zhongshan lu, i.e. THE BUND, liao.

tansy: My hb likes Top of the City. It's within walking distance to Huaihai lu.

barbie_doll

Hi Maggini,

Yes, it includes Wuzhen. However, get to know from agent that we need to pay extra RMB400 per person to travel in the boat ride and other shows and shopping in Wuzhen.

Barbie Doll

smurfying

400RMB??? tat's v ex!! It's a water town, nothing fantastic for the boat ride, save that 400RMB for other stuff unless u're feeling rich as a tourist keke!!

barbie_doll

Hi Tansy,

Check with agent again. Actually RMB400 is for 5 optional tours not only in Wuzhen. So shld be ok.

Barbie Doll

kkjc0517

is 5 days enough to cover shanghai?what are the places to visit and shop?what are the must buy in shanghai?