Shanghai Food & Shopping

yanni

My mum is going there this friday.

Anyone know of any areas in Shanghai that sells dog clothes/beds etc?

newbride

I am going on a package tour to Jiangnan and Shanghai in Dec. Any recommendations on shopping and food especially in Shanghai?

For climate, the travel agent say will be around 0 to 5 degrees.

stnov

hi newbride juz to share wif u....we were in shanghai, suzhou and hangshou last dec....d weather is realli veri cold....at nite it can dipped to -3 to -5 degrees...u may wish to have sufficient winter clothings to keep u warm....but u can get there at real cheap price...imagine i bot a pc of winter jacket for SGD 8!!!!

gcherny

anyone going shanghai in nov? i've joined the 8D Jiangnan Gourmet Tour with ASA Holiday departing 5 Nov 06. last 2 days is F&E in Shanghai.

smurfying

Hi all, weather report for SHA now is cooling, excellent weather of 20-25 deg on average. However the weather can change drastically overnite. Nov weather shld b cooling too. Bring along a few jackets. If u stay indoor shopping, it can b hot if u wear too many layers.

As long as it doesn't rain, u wun feel tat cold.

smurfying

gcherny, if u're coming, pls wear more as it's getting colder. Walking on the street can b quite chilling. I usually wear normal office wear plus another jacket. Cardigan, unless it's wool or cashmere, otherwise not good enuff to block the wind. But no worry, plenty of trenchcoats available for grabs here.

People start to dress in trenchcoats and boots already. And the dressing here varies ALOT. Can b v fashionable n flamboyant. But u can find those dirty and worn jackets too. Today's temperature is 15-22 deg.

gcherny

hey. am back from Jiangnan & Shanghai. the package was good. we stayed in their local 5-star hotels and food were local delicacies. thumbs-up for ASA 8D Gourmet Tour. tour guide (Susan Su) is very good. mingle well with each of the tour participant & shared with us the do's and dont's & jokes onboard the coach. paid $1075 including SQ taxes.

Lyn - u joining the gourmet tour from ASA? guess ur package must be more expensive as it's peak season soon.

gcherny

Lyn - fyi shopping is now mainly winter wear. can get a nicely designed and below S$30 from Suzhou. not in Shanghai cos too ex. must bring lots of RMB. RMB2500 should be enough per person cos lots of things to buy - silk products especially quilt, longjing tea, jade, pearl, bottle painting, tips, optional tour, etc. bring ur credit card.

weather is cool. i only put on my jacket in Suzhou and Wuxi. not that cold in Nanjing, Hangzhou and Shanghai. but you can take it along as the weather changes.

gcherny

btw, pls bring a big luggage cos there are simply too many things to buy. bring extra empty baggage. i went with a 24inch luggage with 1/4 filled but returned with 1 extra baggage (bought one in cheng huang miao) and 2 haversacks all fully packed.

do let me know if u need more info.

mystique_

Hi gcherny,

Thanks for all the info
I going with CTC on garuda airlines. Mine also 8D tour but only staying at 3 star hotel. Package around $600 inclusive of taxes. CTC actually going to give us a briefing before the tour..

mystique_

Hi gcherny,

I will be going over next Tuesday.. Still haven packed or bought any winter clothings
So piled up with work lately. Sure.. will sure with you when I come back.

smurfying

Lyn, u can get winter wear cheaply in Shanghai. Jus get one fr SG and buy the rest here. It's rainy and groomy this whole wk. Temperature ard 13-16 deg in general.

snowy_casper

Lyn, jus came back frm my trip wif CTC.
weather cn be drastical.. so juz be prepare.
Overall, i only bring 1 wind breaker & i bought quite a few winter clothing there.... so no worries.

d1amonds

hi all, can anyone tell me whether will it snow in Jan? I'm planning to go Shanghai in Jan07 to visit my hubby (he's on a short working assignment there).
TIA!

smurfying

Shanghai usually wun snow leh. Last yr it snowed once or twice i think. Tat's all... I'm hoping for a snowy winter xmas but not too hopeful leh... But Jan will definitely be cold so b prepared.

d1amonds

hi tansy, i was in shanghai whole of last week..wanted to buy a winter jacket but couldn't find the right one for me...i'm very picky..keke..
Planning to buy winter wear on the 1st day there when i go in Jan... :p

smurfying

Alamak...did u check out the small shops along huai hai zhong lu? There're many of the boutiques kind of shops to buy the winter wear. Usually they'll have sales. Else dun buy cos it's not worth it lor.

I grab my bargain for a down feather jacket at 140RMB heehee....

d1amonds

got got, i got walk along huai hai zhong lu. Got see some nice ones but couldn't find cheap ones. Saw one tat's nice that cost RMB600...not cheap right...so wanted to think think and then i forgot about it..keke..
wah RMB140! so cheap, great bargain...
I was looking for those long type, u know those the length until nearly knee length.
tansy, are you working in shanghai? must ask your help to bring me shopping liao. since u got good eye for bargain... :D

smurfying

Wah 600RMB is ex. But i had spent 600RMB to tailor make one cashmere trench. Yah till the knee length kind.

The bargain i've bot at huai hai zhong lu was a steal. The shop is closing down, so storewide 80% off!! They've keen length kind, but the one i bot is somewhere ard the thigh length cos i've 2 at knee length already.

Yup i'm working in shanghai. Can PM me when u're coming then if time allows, I can bring u to cheapo local places hah!

stellarm

tansy? hey hey!! ltnc... hows things?

your nickname caught my eye, so i clicked this thread lor.. i tot u disappear liao leh, coz i like never see u around liao...

nowadays i'm a bit more bz so i dun come here to kaypo as often. haha..

so u working in shanghai now? u're there fulltime with your bf now?

smurfying

Keke...stella, bo eng to hang around MOTH cos it's too fast moving. Yup working in SHA already for coming 3mth liao. U're still in suzhou? still knitting boh??

mystique_

Hi snowy,
I heard many bad comments about the ctc tours... Did you buy many things from those "compulsory shopping" that they brought you there? Like tea, silk, medicine etc.... Also heard that the food is no good. I sort of prepare myself for the worst for this trip

stellarm

tansy, yup still in sz lor. knitting? boh lah... give up liao, finished up what i was doing and thats it. a bit too monotonous for me. but who knows maybe nextime will pick up again. keke.. i foresee that time will be when have baby that time lah. haha!

stellarm

hey lyn,

all tours more or less the same one lah, surely bring u go those 'extra shopping' places coz if u buy something then the tour guide or agent will earn commission mah... but not compulsory to buy definitely. and i wouldn't recommend buying unless u really like it very much coz outside normally can get cheaper. but sometimes on holiday no time to go look around elsewhere, so if like juz buy i guess.

i think hor.. these tours always like to target the older generation. my aunties went on the ctc tour before, they brought them go buy pearls. i nearly fainted when they happily show me the pearl pendant they bought for a few hundred bucks. i juz tiam tiam lor, didn't wanna tell them they were ripped off, afterall buy liao so no point saying liao.

gcherny

hi stella. can share more on being ripped off for buying pearl. i understand that natural pearl costs more than cultured pearl. the tour agent brought us to Taihu Pearl Centre, showing us the golden pearl. none of my tour members bought the golden pearl. most of them bought the white/pink pearls for abt RMB250-RMB850 with free gifts. they demo to us how to identify real pearl, i.e. rub the pearl against the mirror and you can see powder and pearl is still smooth.

how abt jade? they bought us to a jade factory at hangzhou and genuine jade can cut glass and maintain its smoothness. the jade bangles they show us range from RMB1000-1500. ex? i didnt get the bangle cos too "auntie" for me.

stellarm

hi gcherny,

i'm not really a pearl person so can't comment very much on pearls. but the pearls that are selling at these factories they bring you, mostly should be cultured pearls, natural pearls are suppose to be very rare. and cultured pearls should be cheap (ard rmb 200 or so maybe) since it is mass produced. the pendant my aunts bot got small cubic zircon with the pearl and i think should be sterling sliver. if i remember correctly they paid S$200+ for it. not sure if it came with any free gifts. but i really feel its overpriced. and when i ask them got bargain, they say no. *pengz........

jade is subjective. good jade.. really good ones can costs in the 10-20K rmb region. rmb1000-1500 probably are the average ones. but if u pay rmb1000 in such places or high end shops in china, its very likely u can find similar quality for half that price, i mean what do u expect, "kertok" tourist mah. :p

but I think u can actually bargain one and u must be aggressive, dun be shy. if they can sell u and still earn a small profit they will definitely sell it one. if u intend to buy things like pearls and jade in china, first check the price in s'pore lor. i think no matter what still cheaper in china lah coz in s'pore the shops overheads also factored into the price liao. :p

that time i went on tour and this hongkee lady bought a really expensive piece of jade, opening price 40K rmb. She very aggressive and managed to get it for 15K rmb. So u see.. scary or not? kekeke...

gcherny

hi stella. tks for the advice. our tour guide did tell us to slash the price and ask for free gifts.

i bought the cocoon quilt. lots of my tour members also bought the quilt. ended up with extra baggage to bring back.

mystique_

Hey.. I am back from my tour
The weather there was cold but lucky no rain throughout the 8 days. I think we went to about 7 shops that require us to listen to their very "enriching" and convincing sales talk.. need to spend at least 1 hour there. We are able to resist temptation, in the end buy from only one of the shops - 3 sets of teapots. The most terrible one is the one where they brought us for food massage and then the so called professor will sit beside us and convince us to buy their products. I kept quiet all the way and he gave up... Haha...
I enjoyed my F&E at Shanghai... especially at Chenghuang Miao... good shopping area and also famous restuarant "Nan Xiang" is there. Worth going

gcherny

hi lyn. welcomed back! wow - 7 sales shops. i also bought the zi sha hu (SGD60) for the green color one with frog and lotus design.

we were also brought to a foot massage (complimentary) at Shanghai. i think it is the same parlour (inside a hotel). made us dipped our feet into 80degree hot saffron water (claimed from tibet) and lots of physicians walking around looking at your palm and face and recommend medicinal product. we didnt bought any.

i also like chenghuang miao. nanjing lu are all selling winter clothing. only bought a piece from giordano. qipu lu is not my cuppa of tea.

how are the hotels and food provided by CTC?

mystique_

I bought 1 zi sha hu, the (yi xin yi yi) then he said gave me free the other 2 at RMB 1000. Actually later I found out all these can get from outside at a very cheap price only. They were quite dishonest, said they only produce 88 sets for this and that, but I really doubt so. We were actually paying for the signature of the person who made it. They actually told us if that master died, the value of the set of zi sha hu will shoot up... what a way to do business

We stayed at 3 star hotels but not bad lah, the bedsheet, towels etc all very clean. The first few days most of the dishes very salty but I think it is their style of cooking. Food at Shanghai much better. We went to a restaurant whereby the waiter will skate to you with the food. We tried their ("Da Zha Xie") hairy crab too, but had to pay a bit extra. Overall, I think very value for money.

gcherny

you got a better deal than me for the zi sha hu. i only get a free clay mug with cover. the master was an old lady right but hands shaking and cant make any teapot.

for my package the hairy crab is FOC. only 1 piece per person. all factored in the package price already.

did they made u join their optional in hangzhou to watch the "ge ju"? 45mins to 1-hr show in a theater. watched the live acrobatic show, liang shan bo and zhu yin tai, multiple hands guanyin. included in this optional tour also bring you to the shopping areas in suzhou, nanjing and hangzhou. paid RM400 each for this show + the shopping nites.

mystique_

Yes, we also paid RM400 for the optional tour, guess this is where the agent made some money, seems quite expensive but we didn't grumble lah.. cos in the first place, we paid only $488. For this one, they include cruise in wuzhen, Song Cheng (Is this the one that you went too?) and some night shopping areas so every night, we will reach hotel quite late around 10pm.
Then towards the second last day (suppose to be free and easy), we paid another RM200 for hairy crab + dinner + a very good acrobatic show (By ERA).
Currently updating my tour website, you may want to take a look http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/af7b2/f83a9/4/

gcherny

mine RM400 package only for the theater show + night shopping areas. our F&E day is really F&E. we didnt go to wuzhen for this entire tour. only covered suzhou, wuxi, nanjing, hangzhou and shanghai.

wow! ur photos were very well taken. it must be very cold from the way you dressed.

you actually updated all your travel photos. i dont hv the time to do that.

poohbear88

for shanghai,is it better to do it free and easy or with package tour?how is the transport system in shanghai like?they have mrt train or need to take public buses to get ard??

cacky

Hi Happy,

Basically, it's more worth it to take a package tour to Shanghai. Coz' they'll bring you to the towns which are nearby like Suzhou, Hangzhou, Nanjing and Wuxi. If you were to come free & easy, paying to go to these other places can be quite costly coz' you gotta rent a car and a driver and gotta seperately settle accomodation there.

Besides, going on a package, you will have a coach to take you around Shanghai. The traffic situation can be rather bad here thus if you take a taxi, you might end up spending a lot. The subway and public buses are decent but takes a bit of understanding to move around.

These days, these tour groups, they're very experienced and know where are the places to go eat and shop, so it's quite worth the money. I live in Shanghai so if you wanna know about the city or planning to take a trip here, just feel free to ask me questions.

cacky

Hi Fiona,

You can try looking at the fabric market which is located at 399å·é™†å®¶æµœè·¯. They have many stalls in there. Consists of 3 levels.

You basically can tailor almost anything you want there. But bearing in mind that for shirts and dresses, they usually require a week. Let them know you're traveling and need it earlier.

It's best to bring a replica of what you already have so that they can make it exactly the same as what you want. Usually, the stalls that make shirts and dresses are on the 2nd floor. Have fun exploring.

dingdang

Hi Cacky,

Thks for the info. Any particular stall that has tailor of good workmanship?

Approximately how much does it cost to tailor a shirt?