Shanghai Food & Shopping

hi sakurasan:
OH! You're gg ard the same time as tansy!

for shopping:
1) Nanjing Road,the No.1 Commercial Street in China - local brands and very touristy. Shanghai #1 Shopping Center
2) Huaihai Road - features so called top-end designer brands from all over the world. Parkson
Maison Mode, located at Huaihai Road sells all the luxury brands like Gucci etc.
Huaihai Zhong Rd - Isetan, Times Square (Lane Crawford), Pacific Taipingyang, Primtemps
3) North Sichuan Road offers good inexpensive merchandise and is always the first choice of ordinary people.
4) Yuyuan Shopping City - antiques, jade wares and gold and silver jewelry.
5) Xujiahui Shopping City - Xujiahui consists of large stores (e.g. Gang Hui) where you can obtain both costly and middle-range priced goods in abundance.
6) Raffles City (Remin Sq) - BORING
7) Super Brand City - Pudong side
8) 1st Yaohan - Pudong
9) Joinbuy Shopping Mall - SOGO's Jiuguang
10) Three on the Bund - Armani stuffs.
11) Friendship stores - Hongqiao, the Bund
12) Ruijin Rd vicinity of Ruijin Hotel
13) Hong Kong Famous Shops Street below Remin Rd station; Metro Shopping City
14) Xiangyang Road Market - for imitation goods aka "A" goods. For those factory overruns, or fashions that are imported from Canton/to be exported to Korea/HK/Jap/US/Epe, you got to walk out to the Shannxi Nan Rd, Fuxing Rd, Ruijin...

HOTWIND is the ubiquitous shoe shop all over the city. Their shoes are made in Dongguan.

For makan, what do u want to eat? They serve anything under the sun!!!

sakurasan

Yuletide, thanks!
I need to pring out your list before I go. I'm very keen on Xiangyang Market coz I've seen the good bargains that my friends brought back! I love those funky rings made of semi-precious stones. As for food, I want to eat xiaolongbao and mala steamboat! And everything local!!
I'm staying at Holiday Inn Downtown.

Tansy, I'm leaving on the same days as you..but coming back much earlier on the 27th of Dec. Which flight are you on? I'm on SQ. And I'll arrive in time to eat breakfast in SH.

smurfying

Hey same here, i'm on SQ, 4.55pm!!! But think urs shld b the 1am flight since u saying arriving to eat breakfast there haha...

Actually i dun really like xiangyang mkt, cos it's like pasar malam n replicas n replicas. But if u're 1st timer there, worthwhile to take a look. Can get fake adidas/nike/puma bags for RMB30. Try those small streets near xiangyang. Oh ya, can get quite alot of semi-precious stones there.

If u're bent on local stuff at local rate, i mean tourist wun go to tis place one, can try 七浦路. But like i say, tis place is really for locals n tourist usually dun go tis place. But having said, u probably can find a same ring for RMB10 there while at xiangyang for RMB20. But still, i oso dun really like tat place haha, cos it's so packed w the locals!!!

Hi sakurasan: AHAHH! You really aren't serious, are u? I hate Shanghainese Ben Bang cuisine ( 本 帮 èœã€•...so oily and sweet...Even the locals eat Canto and Sichuan foods!!! Anyway, since u r a tourist, u can go to these more popular Lao Zi Hao è€ å­— å· restaurants:
1) Meilongzhen (very historical)
2) Xiaonanguo (many outlets, incl in Central HK)
3) SH Laofandian (super historical)
4) WangBaoHe (MEGA historical!)
5) Jade Garden (many outlets too)
6) 1221 (expat's cuppa tea)
7) XianHeng (Shaoxin cuisine)
8) Yangzhou Restaurant (Yangzhou)
9) Lubolang

OK, don't forget to eat your Nanxiang xiaolongbao at Yuyuan. You can order the dimsum setlunch which includes 8-10 types of Jiangnan dimsum (diff from Cantonese dimsum) with Longjing green tea. And there are others at Xintiandi like Crystal Jade, etc.

Of course, I bet you'll puke after eating 3 meals of Shanghainese foods. Then you must go to those old Garden Houses/mansions in the French Concession like La Villa Rouge, Face Bar, M on the Bund. You can go to Jinmao Grand Hyatt to hv a drink to enjoy a panaromic view of the Bund. It's my stopover everytime I'm there

Do u club? Otherwise, no need to tell u where I club right???!!! If yes, PLEASE DRESS UP a little...else, malu in front of those Shanghainese models and er nai's!!! *GRIN*

smurfying

Yes!! If u're clubbing PLS dress up!!! Unlike sg, shanghainese dress up much more, more glam n more revealing, tho it's winter, u can expect them in super mini skirts n boots. They're quite glam glam kind lor. Somehow i find their fashion there pretty flamboyant kind, then u'll realise how boring are the dressings in sg... Chk out xing tian di n fuxing garden (can't rem if this is the one).

sakurasan

Hi Yuletide

Thanks very much for all your info! You go to SH very often? :D

I've never eaten Shanghainese food before!
So I have no idea what it tastes like. But I'm definitely a xiaolongbao fan..and the Lao Zi Hao restaurants and old Garden Houses sound good. Ok, need to go and do some research on what to do there :D

I don't club; I've only been to Mohd Sultan once.
. But I hear that the Shanghainese dress very well. Heehee...I have a couple of nice coats and I shall wrap myself in them to look abit more presentable lah.

Tansy, I'm taking the red-eye flights there and back. Going to be super tiring...

Hi sakurasan: prepare to grow fat, and kindly mark on your diary these "must-tries": Lion's head meatballs, Hong Shao tofu, Fried Nian Gao, Drunken chili shrimps, Hangzhou Dong Po braised meat and Dragon Well prawns, Yangzhou fried rice, Shaoxin smelly tofu, etc.

No!! Cannot wrap yourself in coats indoors! You've got to deposit your nice coats at the entrance, dearie!!! What we're trying to tell you is your inner wear must be presentable!! hohoho! Usually, I'll wear those fashionable winter tops (sometimes with faux fur!!) plus boots. Sekali bump into those HK stars how???!!!!

Tansy: The one at Fuxing Garden is Park97, Guangdi and Cash Boax LTV (Qian Gui). I've been to all!!! I'm sure your honey is always hanging out there?

smurfying

Heh heh, qian gui sounds familiar heh, think it's his n his gang fav hangout last nite whenever he's in SH (when he's still in SZ). Surprisingly, i really hear him club recently. Have been dating Ms Gao (golf) haha!!

Oh ya yule, where can i get cheap nice boots in SH? Regret not buying in dongmen last time round!!

smurfying

Yule: where can i get cheap nice boots in SH? btw, my feet are pretty small...only sz 3 or those small cut of sz 4.

sakurasan

Yuletide

No stylish inner-wear!! *sulks* I'm superbly casual when I travel...*stressed up now* Hah..still must wear boots ah! Die lah. Hehee..maybe this is the right time to get new clothes.

smurfying

Sakurasan, actually the weather there, wearing boots can keep ur feet warmer. I only hav those kind of canvas matertial kind of boots fr Tracce. Intend to go there get a leather pair tho cos it's cheaper. Wait for yule to revert where to get cheap nice boots heh heh...

Else can always settle with jeans n sneakers...since most of the time will b walking ard.

Hi Tansy:

In SH, most popular shoeshop is HOTWIND 热 风, which I mentioned above. It's been around since my time which is 4-5 years ago. All the shoes are made in Canton. It has several branches like:
1) diagonally opp Lippo Plaza
2) Huaihai lu
3) Below subway promenade of Renmin Sq
4) Xujiahui

Anyway, the boot designs in China are rather tacky becos they love to adorn them with studs and diamontes. The leather they used are also the leftover pieces or composite leather (mixed with synthetic PVC).

I prefer to buy boot in HK or Singapore from proper boutiques. Pay a bit more, you look a lot more glam than the locals!!!

smurfying

Eh u've a pt, the ones i saw in SZ all very lianish kind. hahahaha!!! But u see, a good pair fr URS are 100++
Eh otherwise jus make do w my casual pair fr tracce. Anyway most prob will b wearing long pants or jeans since it'll b so cold. Me not adventurous enuff to come out in short mini skirts in tat shivering weather neh... kekeke...

sakurasan:

No need to wear those fashionable winter tops actually!! Just buy a nice black turtle neck knit-top with a pair of nice corduroy bootcut pants plus boots, you'll blend in the disco crowd. If you dun even intend to club, then just wear a simple woolen jumper with a downfeather overcoat will be good enough!!!

yeah, "lianish" is the word!!!! But Tansy, the last time you wore this canvas boots was not in SH right? It could be too cold if you're walking a lot on the cold grounds!!!! BBRRRRRR...

I suggest you buy some cashmere, woollen socks from Marks and Spencer (AHAHAHHHRRGHHH!!!! There I go again!!! GRanny fashion!!!!!) which will insulate your poor cold feet from the thin insoles of your Tracce boots!

I do wear skirts in winters when I go to attend banquets, muscicals or gala functions. But need to insulate your "private parts" with woollen stockings and knee-length boots lor

smurfying

Hah, i jus bot tat Tracce boots not long ago. Only wore once or twice in sg.

And yah lar, u and ur fav Marks N Spencer. Usually i'll jus go there to buy chocolates n biscuits lor! Me thinking hard to bring any skirt there...most prob end up entertaining my FH, cos he'll be laughing away or suaning me to be so gey kiang...wear skirt in winter.

Dearie, don't wear skirts if you don't travel in a car or taxi from point to point. For office, we can wear becos it's from point to point, plus got heater indoors mah.

Actually, i super-hated M&S when I was living in UK...but later when I visited their HK outlets, I realised selective designs are pretty "English" or "Twiggy or Preppy" which are suitable for office wear. They are very durable too...I regret to inform u that they dun hv these young designs in SG's outlets....hence, the misconception by S'poreans!!

smurfying

Heh..so it's HK's Marks N Spencer that changes ur skeptical perception. OK, think i'll chk out the big outlet at Plaza Sing tis wkend. But their stuff are ex hah!!

ginn

Hi.. does anyone know whether in beg March, will the shops in shanghai still selling winter wear?
How's the fashion like there? Are their clothes like far east plaza kind or HK style kind or ??

smurfying

Hi ginn, in march wheather will not b as harsh as in Dec/Jan. It's turning to spring, so i estimate 10-20deg kind. Shiok!!

Fashion will b changing fr winter to spring/autumn wear and my fh is telling me boots are going on sales there already. Clothes there in general are loud n flamboyant. Yesh, quite like far east/ HK/ Jap influenced kind.

gosh, beijing is having a severe blizzard these few days! shanghai is also affected to some extent...

ginn: i think u might hv to search harder for winter stuffs. I believe most will be replaced in lieu of S/S06 fashion by March.

cecilialim

yule, when they start opening for business ah? my mum went SH, wanted to do CS for me, but no shops open. KNS.

suzhou is snowing... she say the weather very funny, suppose to be not that cold but now its colder then last time.

cecilialim

i tot no one rest for 15 days liao??? i told my mum by eighth day they should open.. but dunno if those masters will be back, cos they normally not from SH, but from other villages or towns... so i told her try her luck lor, by 3 days the CS should be ready... cos after CNY not much to do...

smurfying

yup u're rite, if they are returning to their hometowns, dun think they'll b back so soon. Jus try ur luck lor...bobian too...

ginn

hi thanks ladies...

Hope weather wont be too cold then, i'm going 1st wk of march.

Great if spring wear will be selling by March!

Which will be the place to shop for nicer and reasonably priced or cheap clothes? I have found a list of places to shop but not sure if i hv enuf time for all, so wanna shortlist the best places... Probably looking more for those Jap/HK influenced kind of fashion.

Oh do u gals know any good tailors/seamstress? Where and which area? Do they only do traditional type of CS or modern CS, can we choose cloth? I dont wanna those brocade type. Want to do a modern CS dress if they can....

Thanks again!

Aiya..ceci, you shd've asked us first mah...one mth before CNY, never visit the tailor. I kenna once cos the tailor couldn't cope with the increasing no of bills. So my dress was not ready by my CNY function. I only got it after CNY!!! Miserable

ginn

i'd like to recommend you the row of CS boutiques just opp Ruijin Hotel in SHanghai. You can buy some modern CS off the rack, provided you're of average built. They tailor make too but they charge quite a lot

smurfying

Ahh...i may be planning my one mth break in shanghai coming may hah...going there to nua and enjoy the goodness of spring...

Still dreaming...provided my one mth unpaid leave is approved haha!!

i know, I bought tonnes of VS
We were overloaded in terms of luggage as well as weight

I'm starting work next Mon at the new company so now getting ready...

cecilialim

*envy*

yule my mum still there la... see if she can get lor... tansy one month unpaid leave very shiok leh! but no income sian liao.. kekeke

smurfying

bobian...miss him then gotta make sacrifices... else we oso dunno when to meet again... so now planning towards May lor...

I guess if it were safe to have US merchandise delivered to me in China, I'd hv bought them on VS website liao. You guys are lucky!

smurfying

Yule, it's safe...my fh ordered fr website too and delieved to shanghai... but hor, he's complaining abt the taxes...quite lot! and best part it's made in china!!! LOL

ceci, dunno how long he'll b there.

yes, I avoided all Made in China stuffs in US...
The taxes are gonna kill me. I've been bitten once, and no more!

smurfying

Haha...think he was too cuckoo tat time, or too desperate to get me something cos it's our anni cum my birthday. so LL gotta pay the taxes...

cecilialim

haha!!! pay for taxes when orignated from china.. haiz... what if buy from china VS boutique? got to pay taxes also?

cecilialim

haha!!! pay for taxes when orignated from china.. haiz... what if buy from china VS boutique? got to pay taxes also?